NAD 758 v3 - Page 269 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6359Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8041 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1421 Post(s)
Liked: 1853
They've updated the manual with references to Neural:X upmixing too. Looks like Dolby signals are stuck with Dolby Surround, and DTS signals with Neural:X, and PCM can have either.


Page 24



Guess I'll still be outputting DTS as PCM and switching back to bitstreaming for DTS:X titles then :\
neo_2009 likes this.
richardsim7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8042 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
They've updated the manual with references to Neural:X upmixing too. Looks like Dolby signals are stuck with Dolby Surround, and DTS signals with Neural:X, and PCM can have either.


Page 24



Guess I'll still be outputting DTS as PCM and switching back to bitstreaming for DTS:X titles then :\
Why not just play everything in it's original format? What is the configuration you want? (i don't use any form of upmixing myself).

*First thing to do when i come home; check for update

NAD T758 v3 | Q Acoustics 3050 | Q Acoustics Concept centre | Q Acoustics 3020 | SVS SB-2000
LG OLED55C7 | Vero 4K+ | Xbox One X
timadriaans is offline  
post #8043 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1421 Post(s)
Liked: 1853
Quote:
Originally Posted by timadriaans View Post
Why not just play everything in it's original format? What is the configuration you want? (i don't use any form of upmixing myself).

I apply Dolby Surround to everything, I am yet to find a single piece of content that doesn't sound better with it enabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by timadriaans View Post
*First thing to do when i come home; check for update

I already did, nothing yet
richardsim7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8044 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,851
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Possible to watch video and listen to music?

Is it possible somehow to have an input showing a video or tv program (sports for example) on the tv without audio and have the NAD play music either through sonos connect or the BluOS?

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #8045 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 09:42 AM
Member
 
steve psu fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, it is. Go into set up for the input and look at something like video source. You can change what video is selected. Also, if you change from a video source to an audio only source the video stays.
steve psu fan is offline  
post #8046 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,102
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Is it possible somehow to have an input showing a video or tv program (sports for example) on the tv without audio and have the NAD play music either through sonos connect or the BluOS?

yeah you can define audio/video separately


I have a few inputs that use different audio sources and the same video source


it is pretty flexible
DonoMan is offline  
post #8047 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
xhattan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
I apply Dolby Surround to everything, I am yet to find a single piece of content that doesn't sound better with it enabled




I already did, nothing yet

Just called, DTS X upgrade coming this weekend probably, or next week tops.


Free throw from Messi, and SCORES!!!!!
xhattan is offline  
post #8048 of 10082 Old 04-04-2019, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,851
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonoMan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Is it possible somehow to have an input showing a video or tv program (sports for example) on the tv without audio and have the NAD play music either through sonos connect or the BluOS?

yeah you can define audio/video separately


I have a few inputs that use different audio sources and the same video source


it is pretty flexible
Thanks guys (both)-just tried it with both sonos and BluOS and it works great!

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #8049 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Hi,

Anyone here has a Rel subwoofer connected to their Nad avr through high level input?

Thanks.
blackspider is offline  
post #8050 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 12:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1421 Post(s)
Liked: 1853
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspider View Post
Hi,

Anyone here has a Rel subwoofer connected to their Nad avr through high level input?

Thanks.
Don’t do it. Use the LFE input and let the AVR do the bass management
neo_2009 and KenM10759 like this.
richardsim7 is online now  
post #8051 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 04:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,851
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Since I have a sonos connect as input 7 for mostly music and my main HDMI inputs 1-3 (Apple TV, Xbox blu ray and NIVIDEA shield) for video and atmos sources

If on occasion I wanted to have the video input play sound through the sonos connect so that if I’m watching a program or movie the sonos can send the audio to some of my other speakers in adjacent room (think of a sports game and a party environment)-could I do that and how would I set that up on the fly to switch to that?

I’m guessing that there is no way to keep atmos sound coming through the 5.1.4 in the NAD while it is sending stuff to the sonos connect or can it do both? In a perfect world I’d love to keep the best sound on the main system but have the option through the connect (optical cable to the NAD) to be able to send the signal to the other 3 sonos one speakers I have in basement common area...

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #8052 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
rosstg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 161
I’m looking at this unit. Hoping someone can help me. I’m using a Denon now with XT32. Is there a flat EQ curve? Or is there just one house curve. Is the house curve similar to the Audyssey curve or does it roll off more.
rosstg is offline  
post #8053 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosstg View Post
I’m looking at this unit. Hoping someone can help me. I’m using a Denon now with XT32. Is there a flat EQ curve? Or is there just one house curve. Is the house curve similar to the Audyssey curve or does it roll off more.

Dude this unit can fit so many curves! In the Dirac setup you can customize individual curves for all speakers/subs, and when thats done you can upload three different corrections to the unit. So its all up to you, and how you want it.

You could have one curve with flat response, one +4db sub curve for movies, and one with whatever. And once you've uploaded the three custom filters, you can just switch between them in the NAD's menu.
[email protected] is offline  
post #8054 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
rosstg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Dude this unit can fit so many curves! In the Dirac setup you can customize individual curves for all speakers/subs, and when thats done you can upload three different corrections to the unit. So its all up to you, and how you want it.

You could have one curve with flat response, one +4db sub curve for movies, and one with whatever. And once you've uploaded the three custom filters, you can just switch between them in the NAD's menu.
Good. Do you know how the default curve compares to the Audyssey curve? Does it roll off HF more or less?
rosstg is offline  
post #8055 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 09:07 AM
Member
 
adg12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by sb01gt View Post
Just checked settings, it is already set to 'off'
I had this same issue, and so did someone else on the forum. I don't remember what I did to actually fix the issue. I think I did a factory reset and turned off some HDMI-related settings. Try clicking on my username and "Find More Posts" by me. You should see some of my original posts and replies to another user who was dealing with the same problem.
sb01gt likes this.
adg12345 is offline  
post #8056 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,203
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosstg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Dude this unit can fit so many curves! In the Dirac setup you can customize individual curves for all speakers/subs, and when thats done you can upload three different corrections to the unit. So its all up to you, and how you want it.

You could have one curve with flat response, one +4db sub curve for movies, and one with whatever. And once you've uploaded the three custom filters, you can just switch between them in the NAD's menu.
Good. Do you know how the default curve compares to the Audyssey curve? Does it roll off HF more or less?
Look up Dirac Live V2 on YouTube. Part of the setup process is to edit your curve.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
post #8057 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 132
I'm looking into this as a possible upgrade. I'm curious though, if I use my amp with the Front mains can I reassign the front channel amps to rear height?

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #8058 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
rosstg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Look up Dirac Live V2 on YouTube. Part of the setup process is to edit your curve.
Thanks, I guess I was looking for impressions on how both target curves sound. If Dirac has less high frequency compared to Audyssey. I’ve heard a few people say Audyssey Reference is more bright sounding than the Room Feel curve.
rosstg is offline  
post #8059 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimeran View Post
I'm looking into this as a possible upgrade. I'm curious though, if I use my amp with the Front mains can I reassign the front channel amps to rear height?
I missed the answer to this above. Thanks

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #8060 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,102
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Since I have a sonos connect as input 7 for mostly music and my main HDMI inputs 1-3 (Apple TV, Xbox blu ray and NIVIDEA shield) for video and atmos sources

If on occasion I wanted to have the video input play sound through the sonos connect so that if I’m watching a program or movie the sonos can send the audio to some of my other speakers in adjacent room (think of a sports game and a party environment)-could I do that and how would I set that up on the fly to switch to that?

I’m guessing that there is no way to keep atmos sound coming through the 5.1.4 in the NAD while it is sending stuff to the sonos connect or can it do both? In a perfect world I’d love to keep the best sound on the main system but have the option through the connect (optical cable to the NAD) to be able to send the signal to the other 3 sonos one speakers I have in basement common area...

You could connect the analog inputs of your Sonos Connect up to your front speaker pre-outs, and you'd get most of the important stuff, but not everything. You should be able to use zone 2 output with 5.1.4 but as far as I'm aware you can't use zone 2 for a stereo downmix of what zone 1 is doing, so I'm not aware of a good way to capture all of your audio for that. The manual on page 16 says "Digital audio sources connected via HDMI, digital optical and digital coaxial input ports cannot be downmixed and used as Zone 2 audio source." So maybe using your front pre-outs is the best you can do? Also I've never used a Sonos product personally so I can't comment on anything on that side of the equation.


I think the lack of zone 2 being able to do a stereo downmix version of zone 1 is actually a rather huge limitation here. A bit disappointing.
DonoMan is offline  
post #8061 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
xhattan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimeran View Post
I'm looking into this as a possible upgrade. I'm curious though, if I use my amp with the Front mains can I reassign the front channel amps to rear height?
You can not.
xhattan is offline  
post #8062 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 01:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspider View Post
Hi,



Anyone here has a Rel subwoofer connected to their Nad avr through high level input?



Thanks.


Me. Two of them in stereo. Work great with my 777. Setup is as follows. Red and yellow wires together to the positive, and black to the negative (for each channel). Simultaneously I have subwoofer out to each rel for the .1 channel - using rca subwoofer cables with ground wires (rel ground screw to 777 chassis screw). Note that I also Bi-amp my fronts using the 777. It sounds better, not because of increased sound quality, but indirectly because the extra amp power benefits my particular front speakers. Make sure to disconnect the high level rel connections when running Dirac (leaving only the sub .1 channel connected). Happy to share my experience thus far.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #8063 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganross View Post
Me. Two of them in stereo. Work great with my 777. Setup is as follows. Red and yellow wires together to the positive, and black to the negative (for each channel). Simultaneously I have subwoofer out to each rel for the .1 channel - using rca subwoofer cables with ground wires (rel ground screw to 777 chassis screw). Note that I also Bi-amp my fronts using the 777. It sounds better, not because of increased sound quality, but indirectly because the extra amp power benefits my particular front speakers. Make sure to disconnect the high level rel connections when running Dirac (leaving only the sub .1 channel connected). Happy to share my experience thus far.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I would emphasize that I very happy with the two channel music this way and when watching TV, the 777 handles all the bass management.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #8064 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganross View Post
I would emphasize that I very happy with the two channel music this way and when watching TV, the 777 handles all the bass management.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hmmm, so you change the speaker config to small & with a crossover set on the T777 when watching movies? & use speaker config large when listening to music?
blackspider is offline  
post #8065 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
ttn333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by sb01gt View Post
I'm trying to figure out if my current Netflix issue is to do with my Panasonic TV or my NAD receiver. Using the internal TV app, when I'm in the netflix menus, I get 2.0 sound playback when the little preview clips play. When I actually select a program however, I lose sound playback. If I then go to the audio&subtitle options and select "original" I again get 2.0 sound playback, which displays Stereo PCM on the receiver. If I select original - 5.1 I lose sound playback again. Any ideas why this might be happening?



when I play files from my network using the TV's media player the receiver shows - Dolby Digital HDMI ARC or Dolby Atmos HDMI ARC

when I use amazon prime the receiver shows - Dolby Digital+ HDMI ARC
When I enabled quick start (not sure exactly what it's called), I had volume loss as well. The apps are pretty glitchy. Sadly, it's the only app that has hdr optimization. So I continue to use it.

The latest issue shown in the photo attached. This is netflix stream of Highway Men. There's two rectangular horizontal boxes in the middle of the screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190403_181148[1].jpg
Views:	48
Size:	384.6 KB
ID:	2549412  

NAD T758v3, Emotiva XPA-3, XPA-5, UPA-5, JTR Triple 12 LP L/C/R, Htm-6 surrounds, Volt 6 atmos, SVS PC13 Ultra and JTR Cap 2400 ULF - Denon x2400h, Elac Debut F5, Elac Debut C5, Elac Debut A4, Klipsch r-12swi - Stereo Totem Mite
ttn333 is offline  
post #8066 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 03:33 PM
d_c
AVS Forum Special Member
 
d_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 247 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
Bad news and good news for my 758:

I had the Atmos static so they covered replacement of the am230 card under warranty. My local repair shop installed it within a few weeks, and the static was gone, but so was the sound with any media with Atmos content. Went back and forth for about a month with NAD trying to troubleshoot the issue, never to find a fix. Now the unit is months out of warranty. Called SafeandSound whom I guess called the right person at NAD, because their rep called me right away and dug in to find me a solution.

The good news: NAD is replacing the unit! SafeandSound and NAD really pulled through on this one for me.
d_c is offline  
post #8067 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackspider View Post
hmmm, so you change the speaker config to small & with a crossover set on the T777 when watching movies? & use speaker config large when listening to music?


Correct. NAD presets tied to each input let this happen automatically (setup once and forget it). For Apple to, Blu-ray, and video games, they are set to small. For BluOS (I use for critical music via Roon), I use large. For other streaming services and background music it doesn’t matter to me so they just run through Apple TV.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #8068 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
sb01gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub Hyzyk View Post
Well my friend, I have good news for you!

Last night I spent a good deal of time playing with the various HDMI and CEC/ARC settings on both devices, suspecting this may be a handshaking issue. The good news is, I found a fix!!

Here is what fixed the issue for me: I went to the video output settings on the Shield, and began cycling through the supported display modes (I believe the Shield determines this by polling the monitor for supported resolutions/refresh rates/colour depths). I changed the default choice (which the shield called '1080p @ 59.97 fps - recommended') to 1080p @ 60fps, and the dd+ stream was immediately detected. By switching back and forth between the video settings, I was able to repeatably replicate/remove the issue.

Obviously this may not work for everyone, as others will have different display devices. For the record, my display is a Panasonic Plasma Model#PN60F5300BFXZC. Even so, I do believe it may help some people, because it shows that the NAD can be picky about the format of the video stream accompanying the bitstream audio. I will do some more testing tonight, but for anyone having similar issues, play with the refresh rate/color depth/resolution settings on your video source and see if it helps.

Now, in the process, I have found two other issues, but I will document those in separate posts

I've been trying to fix the same issue. I don't have an external player like a shield though, just using the internal apps on my Panasonic OLED. The weird thing is only the netflix app has this sound playback issue, and not the Amazon Prime app or the internal media player. Any suggestions?

Panasonic EZ1000 65" OLED / Panasonic DMP UB400 / NAD T758v3 / Nvidia Shield TV
5.1.2 speaker setup - KEF R300 / R600c / Q50a / Focal Chorus SR800V / HSU ULS-15 mk2
sb01gt is offline  
post #8069 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,203
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosstg View Post
Thanks, I guess I was looking for impressions on how both target curves sound. If Dirac has less high frequency compared to Audyssey. I’ve heard a few people say Audyssey Reference is more bright sounding than the Room Feel curve.
Audyssey is generally brighter than the Room Feel curve, which I feel rolls of the highs too much - but keep in mind that is a NAD-designed curve and not necessarily a part of "Dirac", of which the point is to make your own curve that best suits your system. You can start with that and see what you think, but if you're picky, you will probably change it.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
post #8070 of 10082 Old 04-05-2019, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,203
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1781
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganross View Post
Correct. NAD presets tied to each input let this happen automatically (setup once and forget it). For Apple to, Blu-ray, and video games, they are set to small. For BluOS (I use for critical music via Roon), I use large. For other streaming services and background music it doesn’t matter to me so they just run through Apple TV.
How do you tackle bass modes (causing + and -) when you listen to music with the mains as large? If you have subs why not benefit from them?
richardsim7 likes this.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off