NAD 758 v3 - Page 277 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6292Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8281 of 9912 Old 04-22-2019, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I notice in Marcus app there is a place to raise the surround settings but no option to raise the overheads/tops/heights. Am I missing something or does the surrounds raise all of them in a 5.1.4?

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8282 of 9912 Old 04-22-2019, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 1824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
I notice in Marcus app there is a place to raise the surround settings but no option to raise the overheads/tops/heights. Am I missing something or does the surrounds raise all of them in a 5.1.4?

All of them, I believe
richardsim7 is offline  
post #8283 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 04:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
I notice in Marcus app there is a place to raise the surround settings but no option to raise the overheads/tops/heights. Am I missing something or does the surrounds raise all of them in a 5.1.4?

All of them, I believe
Ok thanks. I didn’t know the NAD or the app has a way to control all surrounds together. Wish theee was a way to just change volume of overheads on the fly but it is not a deal breaker anyhow

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8284 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Setting Curtains

Am I understanding curtains correctly when i say it is a good idea to bring the low end curtain (from left to right) up to where the crossover is at (say it’s at 80...bring it to 70-80) for all speakers except the sub and keep the high frequency curtain to its max

And also is it wise to keep the low frequency curtain close to where the subs can play (my SVS PC4000 says 16 Hz in extended mode) so therefore I’d bring the left curtain left to right to about 16 Hz and bring the high freq curtain to 300 Hz for sub channel?

Please let me know if I’m doing it incorrectly or can do it better

Is putting curtains that way best to do on all Dirac slots?
LVS likes this.

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #8285 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Got the new firmware. Was playing around with Neural:X vs. Dolby Surround on my 5.1.4 system last night.

Using Game of Thrones S08e02 as an example, PCM surround 5.1 coming from an Apple TV 4k.
- Dolby Surround is much more relaxed/gentle about regarding the height channels. When I switch to Dolby surround there is almost no change in the sound from the mains, which is good.
- Neural:X does a better job of using the heights. BUT. When I switch to Neural:X the sound from mains changes significantly, which is BAD. Dirac is doing it's duty, and well. I am not sure why Neural X would mess with that.

I also enjoy Dolby Surround for electronic music, as it envelopes the listener quite well, and is gentle in it's implementation. Same issue as above with Neural:X, it is messing with the mains far too much (which is where 75% of my speaker money lies).

Anyone else find this to be the case?
richardsim7 likes this.
filamint is offline  
post #8286 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 1824
Quote:
Originally Posted by filamint View Post
Got the new firmware. Was playing around with Neural:X vs. Dolby Surround on my 5.1.4 system last night.

Using Game of Thrones S08e02 as an example, PCM surround 5.1 coming from an Apple TV 4k.
- Dolby Surround is much more relaxed/gentle about regarding the height channels. When I switch to Dolby surround there is almost no change in the sound from the mains, which is good.
- Neural:X does a better job of using the heights. BUT. When I switch to Neural:X the sound from mains changes significantly, which is BAD. Dirac is doing it's duty, and well. I am not sure why Neural X would mess with that.

I also enjoy Dolby Surround for electronic music, as it envelopes the listener quite well, and is gentle in it's implementation. Same issue as above with Neural:X, it is messing with the mains far too much (which is where 75% of my speaker money lies).

Anyone else find this to be the case?

Yup, describes my experiences perfectly
richardsim7 is offline  
post #8287 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, Utah
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Am I understanding curtains correctly when i say it is a good idea to bring the low end curtain (from left to right) up to where the crossover is at (say it’s at 80...bring it to 70-80) for all speakers except the sub and keep the high frequency curtain to its max

And also is it wise to keep the low frequency curtain close to where the subs can play (my SVS PC4000 says 16 Hz in extended mode) so therefore I’d bring the left curtain left to right to about 16 Hz and bring the high freq curtain to 300 Hz for sub channel?

Please let me know if I’m doing it incorrectly or can do it better

Is putting curtains that way best to do on all Dirac slots?
The curtains establish boundaries beyond which Dirac will not make corrections to the frequency response. In the case of all speakers that cross over to subs, it's probably best to let Dirac correct to at least an octave below the intended crossover frequency (which itself should be determined by looking at the in-room response of those speakers).

Similarly, for the sub on its high end, it's probably best to allow Dirac to correct the sub up to an octave above the highest speaker crossover that is set. On the sub's low end, I think Dirac will do a good job of determining where the sub starts to roll off and not attempt to correct (boost) below that frequency. But it is good to check this and be sure Dirac isn't attempting to boost a sub several dB at 20 Hz if the sub is rolling off steeply starting at 30 Hz, for example.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
richardsim7 likes this.

System
Transducers: Revel Concerta2 F36 (3), M16 (4); Tannoy AMS 6DC (4); Rythmik F18 (2)
Front end: NAD T758 v3; Outlaw Model 7125
Sources: Panasonic UB820; Oppo BDP-103; Toshiba HD-A2
Projection: JVC DLA-RS440; Seymour CenterStage UF retractable 110" 2.35:1

bkeeler10 is offline  
post #8288 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by filamint View Post
Got the new firmware. Was playing around with Neural:X vs. Dolby Surround on my 5.1.4 system last night.

Using Game of Thrones S08e02 as an example, PCM surround 5.1 coming from an Apple TV 4k.
- Dolby Surround is much more relaxed/gentle about regarding the height channels. When I switch to Dolby surround there is almost no change in the sound from the mains, which is good.
- Neural:X does a better job of using the heights. BUT. When I switch to Neural:X the sound from mains changes significantly, which is BAD. Dirac is doing it's duty, and well. I am not sure why Neural X would mess with that.

I also enjoy Dolby Surround for electronic music, as it envelopes the listener quite well, and is gentle in it's implementation. Same issue as above with Neural:X, it is messing with the mains far too much (which is where 75% of my speaker money lies).

Anyone else find this to be the case?
Interesting, because in the past, using DTS: Neo to mix stereo to 4.1 (don't kill me) was more natural sounding than any of the Dolby options.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Emotiva E2 (2) | Rythmik Audio F12 (2)
Soulburner is offline  
post #8289 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Dropped my unit off for repair with the Atmos issue. Should have it back in 3 to 4 weeks! Hope it is fixed fully!

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #8290 of 9912 Old 04-23-2019, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
sb01gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 67
After doing a factory reset, and trying to load the firmware by USB stick using the BluOS update, I still can't get sound from my height channels with DTS tracks. Everything still works fine with Atmos though. Any suggestions on where else to look at what the issue might be?

Panasonic EZ1000 65" OLED / Panasonic DMP UB400 / NAD T758v3 / Nvidia Shield TV
5.1.2 speaker setup - KEF R300 / R600c / Q50a / Focal Chorus SR800V / HSU ULS-15 mk2
sb01gt is offline  
post #8291 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 04:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Found a bug in Dirac. Just got a sub that goes down to 7 hz and when I run Dirac at a normal level it affects the low frequencies on all speakers by giving a huge boost in the lows. When I run at LOW volumes it works normally but I get higher low cutoff points. 10 goes to 21hz.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dirac1.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	184.6 KB
ID:	2557528   Click image for larger version

Name:	dirac.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	196.7 KB
ID:	2557530  
Parrotheads is offline  
post #8292 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 1824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrotheads View Post
Found a bug in Dirac. Just got a sub that goes down to 7 hz and when I run Dirac at a normal level it affects the low frequencies on all speakers by giving a huge boost in the lows. When I run at LOW volumes it works normally but I get higher low cutoff points. 10 goes to 21hz.



Wouldn't worry about it, it's below your curtains so Dirac isn't going to apply correction there, and it's well below where you'd set your crossover anyway
richardsim7 is offline  
post #8293 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Wouldn't worry about it, it's below your curtains so Dirac isn't going to apply correction there, and it's well below where you'd set your crossover anyway
Totally agree BUT it should not be there and corrected or not +12 at 10hz in all speakers will affect the amp.
Parrotheads is offline  
post #8294 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
New 758 v3 owner here. I loaned one for a while so I'm fairly familiar but I have a few questions.

1) How to toggle through Dirac filters and off via the AVR4 remote? I did it before now I can't remember which button even though I've tried them all.
2) Can you delete a Dirac filter to make a slot empty again?
3) Is there way to set volume limit on the receiver itself? I see BlueOS an set volume limits but I want an internal limit so my gf doesn't accidentally crank it too loud.
4) If I want to hardwire ethernet do I have to go through the dongle or can I go direct USB?

Loving this AVR and now that I just calibrated with Dirac I finally got the bass from my KEF 700s under control
LVS likes this.
Derek Morais is offline  
post #8295 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 02:40 PM
TMQ
Member
 
TMQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I have some bad news for those who's waiting for Dirac bass management module. First i read information from Dirac website (12.2018)

" Dirac Live Bass Management also offers potential savings for consumers who can now achieve enhanced bass performance from a single subwoofer, and therefore do not need to invest in a second device.

Jakob Argren, Dirac Head of Product Management, explained that the new Dirac Live Bass Management Module will launch in three tiers aimed at specific market segments.

Tier 1 allows management of any number of subwoofers, analyzing each one to create a single-optimized sub channel that drives each subwoofer. It also enables precise control of frequency cutoffs for all speakers. Tier 2 offers advanced setup for a single subwoofer, while also providing control over parameters and applying frequency filters to all speakers based on measurements. Tier 3 is a free module for all current Dirac Live customers and OEMs, permitting standard bass management with the added benefit of predictive results."

I know that 758V3 has one sub output so i hoped for tier 2 and 3 and asked NAD about release date. Answer from NAD " Please be advised that the AM230 cannot support the new Dirac bass module."

So it looks like this AVR cannot suport upcoming Dirac 2.0 add-ons. Very disappointing
TMQ is offline  
post #8296 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Mickeyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Best way to connect jRiver output to NAD T758 v3 ?

I'm a new user with both jRiver and T758 v3 (awaiting shipment.) Is there a preferrer way to connect my desktop with jRiver to the NAD? I kind of remember reading that if I use USB no sound card is necessary. But would there be advantages to hdmi or optical? Thanks for any suggestions.
bommai likes this.
Mickeyboy is offline  
post #8297 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 03:36 PM
Member
 
pixelknave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMQ View Post
Answer from NAD " Please be advised that the AM230 cannot support the new Dirac bass module."
I wonder if it'll even work with the T777v3's dual-sub outs and VM300…?

Last edited by pixelknave; 04-24-2019 at 08:30 PM.
pixelknave is offline  
post #8298 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
This may be how they better differentiate the T777 and higher products.

Us T758 users will just rely on MiniDSP.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Emotiva E2 (2) | Rythmik Audio F12 (2)
Soulburner is offline  
post #8299 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 1824
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelknave View Post
I wonder if it'll even work with the dual-sub outs on the sister VM300…?

The dual sub-outs are on the T777 itself, not the VM300 card
richardsim7 is offline  
post #8300 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 08:27 PM
Member
 
pixelknave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
The dual sub-outs are on the T777 itself, not the VM300 card
Well, yeah. I over-edited…since rephrased for clarity.
pixelknave is offline  
post #8301 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ttn333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrotheads View Post
Totally agree BUT it should not be there and corrected or not +12 at 10hz in all speakers will affect the amp.
Why would it affect the amp if the speakers will not be playing at 10hz? It won't affect the speaker or the amp since neither will be doing anything at 10hz.

NAD T758v3, Emotiva XPA-3, XPA-5, UPA-5, JTR Triple 12 LP L/C/R, Htm-6 surrounds, Volt 6 atmos, SVS PC13 Ultra and JTR Cap 2400 ULF - Denon x2400h, Elac Debut F5, Elac Debut C5, Elac Debut A4, Klipsch r-12swi - Stereo Totem Mite
ttn333 is offline  
post #8302 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMQ View Post
I have some bad news for those who's waiting for Dirac bass management module. First i read information from Dirac website (12.2018)

" Dirac Live Bass Management also offers potential savings for consumers who can now achieve enhanced bass performance from a single subwoofer, and therefore do not need to invest in a second device.

Jakob Argren, Dirac Head of Product Management, explained that the new Dirac Live Bass Management Module will launch in three tiers aimed at specific market segments.

Tier 1 allows management of any number of subwoofers, analyzing each one to create a single-optimized sub channel that drives each subwoofer. It also enables precise control of frequency cutoffs for all speakers. Tier 2 offers advanced setup for a single subwoofer, while also providing control over parameters and applying frequency filters to all speakers based on measurements. Tier 3 is a free module for all current Dirac Live customers and OEMs, permitting standard bass management with the added benefit of predictive results."

I know that 758V3 has one sub output so i hoped for tier 2 and 3 and asked NAD about release date. Answer from NAD " Please be advised that the AM230 cannot support the new Dirac bass module."

So it looks like this AVR cannot suport upcoming Dirac 2.0 add-ons. Very disappointing

Well, actually I do not see the point in implementing something like to new Modules into the 758 or 777. Both offer fullrange Dirac correction including the subwoofer and both have bass management for all speakers.


"Tier 2 offers advanced setup for a single subwoofer, while also providing control over parameters and applying frequency filters to all speakers based on measurements"


This is exactly what I can do with the current Dirac Software and my NAD 758 V3.

TV: Panasonic 65DXW904 || Receiver: NAD T758 V3 || Console: Sony PS4, Nintendo Switch || Front: Dynaudio Special Forty || Rear: Canton GLE 410 || Sub: Klipsch R-115 SW
SpoOokY83 is offline  
post #8303 of 9912 Old 04-24-2019, 11:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttn333 View Post
Why would it affect the amp if the speakers will not be playing at 10hz? It won't affect the speaker or the amp since neither will be doing anything at 10hz.

100% true! When the speakers are set to "small" it does not make sense to use the "left curtain". Only if the fronts are set to large it might harm the speakers if very low frequencies are being amplified.

TV: Panasonic 65DXW904 || Receiver: NAD T758 V3 || Console: Sony PS4, Nintendo Switch || Front: Dynaudio Special Forty || Rear: Canton GLE 410 || Sub: Klipsch R-115 SW
SpoOokY83 is offline  
post #8304 of 9912 Old 04-25-2019, 12:56 AM
TMQ
Member
 
TMQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpoOokY83 View Post
Well, actually I do not see the point in implementing something like to new Modules into the 758 or 777. Both offer fullrange Dirac correction including the subwoofer and both have bass management for all speakers.


"Tier 2 offers advanced setup for a single subwoofer, while also providing control over parameters and applying frequency filters to all speakers based on measurements"


This is exactly what I can do with the current Dirac Software and my NAD 758 V3.
No, you can't. Read this article : https://www.dirac.com/news/dirac-liv...gement-ces2019
This is optimization tool. First listening tests are very promising but as NAD statement not for 758V3 users.
TMQ is offline  
post #8305 of 9912 Old 04-25-2019, 03:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttn333 View Post
Why would it affect the amp if the speakers will not be playing at 10hz? It won't affect the speaker or the amp since neither will be doing anything at 10hz.
Of course it will is' a huge infrasonic boost at all channels that will affect the lows and above frequencies and phase response.
Parrotheads is offline  
post #8306 of 9912 Old 04-25-2019, 04:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrotheads View Post
Of course it will is' a huge infrasonic boost at all channels that will affect the lows and above frequencies and phase response.

Not if the speakers are set to small with a certain crossover frequency which certainly is above 10 hz . All signals below that frequencies are being redirected to the subwoofer.

TV: Panasonic 65DXW904 || Receiver: NAD T758 V3 || Console: Sony PS4, Nintendo Switch || Front: Dynaudio Special Forty || Rear: Canton GLE 410 || Sub: Klipsch R-115 SW
SpoOokY83 is offline  
post #8307 of 9912 Old 04-25-2019, 04:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpoOokY83 View Post
Not if the speakers are set to small with a certain crossover frequency which certainly is above 10 hz . All signals below that frequencies are being redirected to the subwoofer.
Run them large for music.
Parrotheads is offline  
post #8308 of 9912 Old 04-25-2019, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMQ View Post
I have some bad news for those who's waiting for Dirac bass management module. First i read information from Dirac website (12.2018)

" Dirac Live Bass Management also offers potential savings for consumers who can now achieve enhanced bass performance from a single subwoofer, and therefore do not need to invest in a second device.

Jakob Argren, Dirac Head of Product Management, explained that the new Dirac Live Bass Management Module will launch in three tiers aimed at specific market segments.

Tier 1 allows management of any number of subwoofers, analyzing each one to create a single-optimized sub channel that drives each subwoofer. It also enables precise control of frequency cutoffs for all speakers. Tier 2 offers advanced setup for a single subwoofer, while also providing control over parameters and applying frequency filters to all speakers based on measurements. Tier 3 is a free module for all current Dirac Live customers and OEMs, permitting standard bass management with the added benefit of predictive results."

I know that 758V3 has one sub output so i hoped for tier 2 and 3 and asked NAD about release date. Answer from NAD " Please be advised that the AM230 cannot support the new Dirac bass module."

So it looks like this AVR cannot suport upcoming Dirac 2.0 add-ons. Very disappointing [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG]
Absolutely BRUTAL. Huge fail NAD

Was really looking forward to the DIRAC sub module and disappointed our AVR cannot accommodate it
gumpy2u likes this.

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos

Last edited by Chirosamsung; 04-25-2019 at 07:30 AM.
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #8309 of 9912 Old 04-25-2019, 07:48 AM
Member
 
adg12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickeyboy View Post
I'm a new user with both jRiver and T758 v3 (awaiting shipment.) Is there a preferrer way to connect my desktop with jRiver to the NAD? I kind of remember reading that if I use USB no sound card is necessary. But would there be advantages to hdmi or optical? Thanks for any suggestions.
I think your best option will be to use the TOSLINK (optical) connection from your motherboard, if it has one. Whenever I upgrade the motherboard on my PC, I always get one with a TOSLINK connection. You could also use HDMI if you're interested in pushing video to the NAD as well. I'm not sure if there are different technical considerations between the HDMI vs TOSLINK. Unless your PC is a HTPC, I would use TOSLINK so you could keep all three HDMI video inputs available for other uses.

I don't think there is a way to use the NAD as a USB DAC.
adg12345 is offline  
post #8310 of 9912 Old 04-25-2019, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMQ View Post
I have some bad news for those who's waiting for Dirac bass management module. First i read information from Dirac website (12.2018)

" Dirac Live Bass Management also offers potential savings for consumers who can now achieve enhanced bass performance from a single subwoofer, and therefore do not need to invest in a second device.

Jakob Argren, Dirac Head of Product Management, explained that the new Dirac Live Bass Management Module will launch in three tiers aimed at specific market segments.

Tier 1 allows management of any number of subwoofers, analyzing each one to create a single-optimized sub channel that drives each subwoofer. It also enables precise control of frequency cutoffs for all speakers. Tier 2 offers advanced setup for a single subwoofer, while also providing control over parameters and applying frequency filters to all speakers based on measurements. Tier 3 is a free module for all current Dirac Live customers and OEMs, permitting standard bass management with the added benefit of predictive results."

I know that 758V3 has one sub output so i hoped for tier 2 and 3 and asked NAD about release date. Answer from NAD " Please be advised that the AM230 cannot support the new Dirac bass module."

So it looks like this AVR cannot suport upcoming Dirac 2.0 add-ons. Very disappointing [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG]
Absolutely BRUTAL. Huge fail NAD

Was really looking forward to the DIRAC sub module and disappointed our AVR cannot accommodate it
I fail to see how this is a “huge fail” for NAD. You are aware that NAD & Dirac are 2 totally different companies? NAD cannot predict what future offerings will be introduced by Dirac. Is it Sony or Samsung’s fail that their TV’s from 20 years ago could not be magically updated to accept HDMI?
Just my 2 cents.....
richardsim7 and KenM10759 like this.

Vizio M55-e0 Display Oppo 103D
NAD T758v3
SVS PB-1000 Sub
Wharfedale Diamond 220, 220c 210 system
carminepesce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off