NAD 758 v3 - Page 300 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6334Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8971 of 10018 Old 07-04-2019, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,098
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLuggage View Post
This is such a bummer. I can't really do much with my new toy. I really wanted to get it all set up today. I guess I have to wait.
Dirac is run with a computer. A receiver has no way for you to interact with that kind of interface nor does it have the processing power to create the filters - it only stores them. It might have been a good idea to acquaint yourself with this before purchasing. With that said, I'm sure you'll get it figured out. There is plenty of help here.

For the record, I have had no problem with Wi-Fi, in a room on the 2nd floor. Router is on the first floor, in the room below.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8972 of 10018 Old 07-04-2019, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLuggage View Post
Hi,

I just bought this receiver yesterday and it is missing the wifi usb adapter. Very frustrating. I've updated the firmware via usb stick, but i'm not sure if I have the latest version of everything. The upgrade said it was for BluOS. But I think it *may* have also updated the other firmware.

This is what I have for version numbers:

MCU: 2.13
DSP: 1.15
Video: 1.09
BluOS/OSD 3.4.13


Can anyone please confirm if these are the most up-to-date versions?

Also, is it worth upgrading to the Dirac Live full frequency software? Or is the free one good enough?

Thanks!
IMO yes, the full version of Dirac Live is WELL worth the $99!!!
tparm and Jakub Hyzyk like this.

Vizio M55-e0 Display Oppo 103D
NAD T758v3
SVS PB-1000 Sub
Wharfedale Diamond 220, 220c 210 system
carminepesce is online now  
post #8973 of 10018 Old 07-04-2019, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,098
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
I think it is, too. Even though some of the experts argue that well-designed speakers with smooth frequency response shouldn't be corrected, many of us have speakers that are imperfect and could benefit.

There are valid concerns about whether they should be corrected in-room or anechoically. Ideally they have smoothed response before being put into the room. I don't know enough about acoustics or speaker design to say either way, I just know that I benefit from Dirac.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8974 of 10018 Old 07-04-2019, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
theLuggage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
May I recommend a USB to Ethernet adapter, way better than WiFi anyway
I tried that, but it didn't work. Thanks for the suggestion.
theLuggage is offline  
post #8975 of 10018 Old 07-04-2019, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
theLuggage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Dirac is run with a computer. A receiver has no way for you to interact with that kind of interface nor does it have the processing power to create the filters - it only stores them. It might have been a good idea to acquaint yourself with this before purchasing. With that said, I'm sure you'll get it figured out. There is plenty of help here.

For the record, I have had no problem with Wi-Fi, in a room on the 2nd floor. Router is on the first floor, in the room below.
I think you missed the point I made in my original post: the wifi usb adapter is missing. It did not come in the box as it should have.
theLuggage is offline  
post #8976 of 10018 Old 07-04-2019, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,098
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLuggage View Post
I think you missed the point I made in my original post: the wifi usb adapter is missing. It did not come in the box as it should have.
Sorry, I missed that part.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
post #8977 of 10018 Old 07-04-2019, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 1852
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLuggage View Post
I tried that, but it didn't work. Thanks for the suggestion.

This is a known working model
pixphipau likes this.
richardsim7 is offline  
post #8978 of 10018 Old 07-05-2019, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3452 Post(s)
Liked: 1931
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLuggage View Post
I think you missed the point I made in my original post: the wifi usb adapter is missing. It did not come in the box as it should have.
It's a rare occurrence, so are you quite sure it's not buried in some soft foam packaging or stuck somewhere else? It is a tiny little thing, after all.
pixphipau likes this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red. Guest room: Hafler 300 L-R, KEF Reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, modded M&K V-90 sub, Bluesound Vault 2.
KenM10759 is online now  
post #8979 of 10018 Old 07-05-2019, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So does anyone know if nad is releasing any new avrs soon?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Raiders4life12 is offline  
post #8980 of 10018 Old 07-05-2019, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trpltongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen1254 View Post
A few weeks ago users were reporting that the latest BluOS update was causing issues, with popping noises from the speakers when powering down, as well as other weirdness. Is that still the case, or has the issue been solved? I've held off doing the upgrade.


That was me. It is resolved. Root cause was my digital amp for Atmos was plugged into the NAD auxiliary power outlet. When I plugged the Atmos amp into a separate outlet, no problem.
richardsim7 and KenM10759 like this.
trpltongue is offline  
post #8981 of 10018 Old 07-06-2019, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
theLuggage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
First, thanks to everyone for their help and suggestions.

I was able to get a WiFi usb stick from the stereo store I bought it from. They just gave me one from their demo unit. So I was able (finally) to run the Dirac setup. It sounds great!

I’m having a weird issue though. I bought a Sony UBP-X800M2 and when I connect it directly to my LG OLED tv I am able to have the player output to 4K. But when I connect the Blu-ray player to the receiver it will only do 1080p. I tried swapping out cables and all the ones I have tried work fine if I directly connect to the tv. But not when I go through the receiver.

I have made sure both the Blu-ray player and receiver has the most recent firmware.
richardsim7 likes this.
theLuggage is offline  
post #8982 of 10018 Old 07-07-2019, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
theLuggage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Light has dawned on marble head.

I just realized the Blu-ray player has 2 hdmi outputs. One is audio only. So I can connect the audio only to the receiver and the other directly to the tv. That should fix me up. Now I just need to get another cable
richardsim7 and KenM10759 like this.
theLuggage is offline  
post #8983 of 10018 Old 07-07-2019, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
sb01gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLuggage View Post
Light has dawned on marble head.

I just realized the Blu-ray player has 2 hdmi outputs. One is audio only. So I can connect the audio only to the receiver and the other directly to the tv. That should fix me up. Now I just need to get another cable

That type of cable setup is usually for when you have a new 4K tv with an older non-4k receiver though. You should be fine as long as you have the correct HDMI cable for 4K speeds from your ARC input on the TV to your ARC output on the NAD. Then a cable from the audio+video output of the Sony player (again, certified for 4k hdmi cable) into one of the NAD inputs.

Panasonic EZ1000 65" OLED / Panasonic DMP UB400 / NAD T758v3 / Nvidia Shield TV
5.1.2 speaker setup - KEF R300 / R600c / Q50a / Focal Chorus SR800V / HSU ULS-15 mk2
sb01gt is offline  
post #8984 of 10018 Old 07-07-2019, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLuggage View Post
Light has dawned on marble head. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/wink.gif[/IMG]

I just realized the Blu-ray player has 2 hdmi outputs. One is audio only. So I can connect the audio only to the receiver and the other directly to the tv. That should fix me up. Now I just need to get another cable
But this shouldn’t be necessary as the NAD is supposed to pass 4K directly through its output to your OLED tv. Something is not configured properly. I have my Roku Ultra 4K connected to the NAD as well as my UHD Blu-ray player & the signal output from the NAD to my TV is pure 2160....

Vizio M55-e0 Display Oppo 103D
NAD T758v3
SVS PB-1000 Sub
Wharfedale Diamond 220, 220c 210 system
carminepesce is online now  
post #8985 of 10018 Old 07-08-2019, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,973
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked: 495
Anyone else ever have an issue the AVR freezes when powering on?

I could not turn it off with the on unit power button nor adjust the volume via the volume knob. I had to unplug it. Then it worked fine (I.e turned on and off via the remote and buttons).

Anyone else had this happen? So far this was the first time.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is online now  
post #8986 of 10018 Old 07-08-2019, 10:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Anyone else ever have an issue the AVR freezes when powering on?

I could not turn it off with the on unit power button nor adjust the volume via the volume knob. I had to unplug it. Then it worked fine (I.e turned on and off via the remote and buttons).

Anyone else had this happen? So far this was the first time.
I haven’t witnessed this but wouldn’t be too concerned unless it becomes frequent...
richardsim7 likes this.

Vizio M55-e0 Display Oppo 103D
NAD T758v3
SVS PB-1000 Sub
Wharfedale Diamond 220, 220c 210 system
carminepesce is online now  
post #8987 of 10018 Old 07-09-2019, 09:34 AM
Member
 
pixphipau's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Every time i try to load a project it comes up with ..
The file harman+8.liveproject could not be opened.THis is usually caused by lacking write privileges or by file system errors.
Try copying the project file to another location and opening it from there.

Any tips?
pixphipau is offline  
post #8988 of 10018 Old 07-09-2019, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, Utah
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 310
^^ This was a bug in a prior version of Dirac Live 2.x, IIRC. What version are you running? If not the latest, try upgrading the software.

Edit: I got this error when trying to save a project, not load one, so it may be different - not sure.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

System
Transducers: Revel Concerta2 F36 (3), M16 (4); Tannoy AMS 6DC (4); Rythmik F18 (2)
Front end: NAD T758 v3; Outlaw Model 7125
Sources: Panasonic UB820; Oppo BDP-103; Toshiba HD-A2
Projection: JVC DLA-RS440; Seymour CenterStage UF retractable 110" 2.35:1

bkeeler10 is offline  
post #8989 of 10018 Old 07-09-2019, 01:34 PM
Member
 
pixphipau's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post
^^ This was a bug in a prior version of Dirac Live 2.x, IIRC. What version are you running? If not the latest, try upgrading the software.

Edit: I got this error when trying to save a project, not load one, so it may be different - not sure.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Thank you, 2.2.3.

Ah i have not updated my nad since the troubles began doh...ill do that.

Last edited by pixphipau; 07-09-2019 at 01:37 PM.
pixphipau is offline  
post #8990 of 10018 Old 07-09-2019, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, Utah
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Not sure if 2.2.3 is the latest, but it might be. I rather doubt it has anything to do with the NAD firmware or BluOS but it doesn't hurt to have everything up-to-date.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

System
Transducers: Revel Concerta2 F36 (3), M16 (4); Tannoy AMS 6DC (4); Rythmik F18 (2)
Front end: NAD T758 v3; Outlaw Model 7125
Sources: Panasonic UB820; Oppo BDP-103; Toshiba HD-A2
Projection: JVC DLA-RS440; Seymour CenterStage UF retractable 110" 2.35:1

bkeeler10 is offline  
post #8991 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 06:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Shenandoah Valley VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Update from Dirac (after much back and forth and their developers weighing in); they believe DSP in my SVS sub is causing all speaker distance measurements to be set to the maximum of 25 ms (hence measurements being grayed out, basically didn't measure) and are recommending, as a step in trouble shooting, I run a test with the sub out of the loop. I use an SVS SB12-NSD. Same results with my sub 2' and 11' from my main listening position.

Anyone else have this issue? Other recommended work-arounds?

Everything else (Ethernet adapter, ARC, etc) working beautifully!

Arcam AVR850 - Polk Audio LSIM707 - LSiM706c - LSiM703 - 700-LS ceiling Atmos speakers - Sony UBP-X700 - TCL 65R615
tparm is online now  
post #8992 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
sb01gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by tparm View Post
Update from Dirac (after much back and forth and their developers weighing in); they believe DSP in my SVS sub is causing all speaker distance measurements to be set to the maximum of 25 ms (hence measurements being grayed out, basically didn't measure) and are recommending, as a step in trouble shooting, I run a test with the sub out of the loop. I use an SVS SB12-NSD. Same results with my sub 2' and 11' from my main listening position.

Anyone else have this issue? Other recommended work-arounds?

Everything else (Ethernet adapter, ARC, etc) working beautifully!

Have you tried a different calibration microphone yet, or asked DIRAC support if that could be the cause of the issue? Maybe contact NAD support as well to see if a new mic can be sent to you at no charge if you don't want to spend the money on purchasing a UMIK-1. Another thought that just occurred to me, since I've never used the included NAD microphone for calibrating... that mic plugs physically into the front of the AVR, whereas the UMIK-1 plugs into my PC. Could there be a physical issue with the microphone input on the NAD receiver I wonder, or is that very unlikely?
richardsim7 likes this.

Panasonic EZ1000 65" OLED / Panasonic DMP UB400 / NAD T758v3 / Nvidia Shield TV
5.1.2 speaker setup - KEF R300 / R600c / Q50a / Focal Chorus SR800V / HSU ULS-15 mk2
sb01gt is offline  
post #8993 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Shenandoah Valley VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sb01gt View Post
Have you tried a different calibration microphone yet, or asked DIRAC support if that could be the cause of the issue? Maybe contact NAD support as well to see if a new mic can be sent to you at no charge if you don't want to spend the money on purchasing a UMIK-1. Another thought that just occurred to me, since I've never used the included NAD microphone for calibrating... that mic plugs physically into the front of the AVR, whereas the UMIK-1 plugs into my PC. Could there be a physical issue with the microphone input on the NAD receiver I wonder, or is that very unlikely?
All good suggestions. I asked about the mic (or adapter) being the issue and they didn't feel that is the case. Also the NAD supplied mic plugs into the USB output on the back of the receiver or directly into a computer, not the front of the receiver. Thought about ordering a UMIK-1 but if it is truly DSP then that won't make a difference. When I used Audyssey on my Marantz prepro (via the app) I always had to go back in and adjust the level as it was set wayyyyy too low according to my ears and SPL meter. It also measured at 24' from my listening position and it was 2' (behind sofa of main listening position) so they may be on to something......

Arcam AVR850 - Polk Audio LSIM707 - LSiM706c - LSiM703 - 700-LS ceiling Atmos speakers - Sony UBP-X700 - TCL 65R615
tparm is online now  
post #8994 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 6,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Although I have a 777, I think my questions/comments re the NAD mic vs the Umik-1 are germane. The Umik-1 comes with a calibration file, while the NAD mic does not. Is this due to the tight tolerances in the NAD mic, or does calibration not really matter?

When using the NAD iPhone app, there is no way to load the Umik-1 calibration file, at least that I can find. I would think this affects calibration, maybe not.

Is mic calibration necessary or are any differences swamped by room effects?

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.
tonygeno is online now  
post #8995 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
sb01gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by tparm View Post
All good suggestions. I asked about the mic (or adapter) being the issue and they didn't feel that is the case. Also the NAD supplied mic plugs into the USB output on the back of the receiver or directly into a computer, not the front of the receiver. Thought about ordering a UMIK-1 but if it is truly DSP then that won't make a difference. When I used Audyssey on my Marantz prepro (via the app) I always had to go back in and adjust the level as it was set wayyyyy too low according to my ears and SPL meter. It also measured at 24' from my listening position and it was 2' (behind sofa of main listening position) so they may be on to something......

I've never had an issue with measurements and I also use an SVS sub. I'm sure it would be quite easy to find lots of other users in this thread using SVS subs as well with no issue. I'm skeptical the sub would have anything to do with your particular problem.
richardsim7 likes this.

Panasonic EZ1000 65" OLED / Panasonic DMP UB400 / NAD T758v3 / Nvidia Shield TV
5.1.2 speaker setup - KEF R300 / R600c / Q50a / Focal Chorus SR800V / HSU ULS-15 mk2
sb01gt is offline  
post #8996 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Shenandoah Valley VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sb01gt View Post
I've never had an issue with measurements and I also use an SVS sub. I'm sure it would be quite easy to find lots of other users in this thread using SVS subs as well with no issue. I'm skeptical the sub would have anything to do with your particular problem.
Me too but I'm kind of shrugging my shoulders and raising my hands at this point. Not sure what to do... I replied to Dirac asking for further clarification and also sent a note to SVS. We'll see......

Arcam AVR850 - Polk Audio LSIM707 - LSiM706c - LSiM703 - 700-LS ceiling Atmos speakers - Sony UBP-X700 - TCL 65R615
tparm is online now  
post #8997 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Shenandoah Valley VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Additional info. The plot thickens.

From SVS: While it's normal for sub distance to be reported as further than the physical distance due to crossover latency, the DSP latency in the sub itself is only 1-2ms.
richardsim7 likes this.

Arcam AVR850 - Polk Audio LSIM707 - LSiM706c - LSiM703 - 700-LS ceiling Atmos speakers - Sony UBP-X700 - TCL 65R615
tparm is online now  
post #8998 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,098
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1715
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonygeno View Post
Although I have a 777, I think my questions/comments re the NAD mic vs the Umik-1 are germane. The Umik-1 comes with a calibration file, while the NAD mic does not. Is this due to the tight tolerances in the NAD mic, or does calibration not really matter?

When using the NAD iPhone app, there is no way to load the Umik-1 calibration file, at least that I can find. I would think this affects calibration, maybe not.

Is mic calibration necessary or are any differences swamped by room effects?
The NAD mic does have a calibration file, and it should be used. If you've installed Dirac Live for NAD, you already have it on your computer. It needs to be loaded at the beginning of Dirac.
richardsim7 likes this.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
post #8999 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Shenandoah Valley VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
The NAD mic does have a calibration file, and it should be used. If you've installed Dirac Live for NAD, you already have it on your computer. It needs to be loaded at the beginning of Dirac.
Yep, done and displayed when choosing the recording source.

Arcam AVR850 - Polk Audio LSIM707 - LSiM706c - LSiM703 - 700-LS ceiling Atmos speakers - Sony UBP-X700 - TCL 65R615
tparm is online now  
post #9000 of 10018 Old 07-10-2019, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Shenandoah Valley VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
The NAD mic does have a calibration file, and it should be used. If you've installed Dirac Live for NAD, you already have it on your computer. It needs to be loaded at the beginning of Dirac.
Yep, done and displayed when choosing the recording source.

SVS suspects it is due to using their wireless adapter for my sub. Will connect via "hard wire" LFE and retest.
richardsim7 likes this.

Arcam AVR850 - Polk Audio LSIM707 - LSiM706c - LSiM703 - 700-LS ceiling Atmos speakers - Sony UBP-X700 - TCL 65R615
tparm is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off