NAD 758 v3 - Page 303 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6834Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9061 of 11303 Old 07-19-2019, 12:52 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpoOokY83 View Post
Would'nt it be possible to just move the Dirac target curve for the heights up by 3 dB?
That is what I did just applied NAD room feel curve to my atmos heights - seems to work for me.
d_c likes this.

LG C9 | NAD T777v3 | NAD M25 | Monitor Audio Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9062 of 11303 Old 07-19-2019, 01:51 AM
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have wanted the V3 for over a year now. I recently spotted some refurbished models on eBay.ca selling for $1125 Canadian. Then the price was lowered by $100 and I couldn’t resist. It turns out that the seller was Lenbrook, the parent company of NAD. The last time I checked they were still two units available.

Cosmetically, the unit and remote had a few fingerprints on it but was otherwise perfect. I was very disappointed in the packaging though. It was some kind of spray foam encased in thin plastic foil. The top fell apart when I unpackaged it, so it will be useless if I ever have to repack it.
ajaxmike is offline  
post #9063 of 11303 Old 07-19-2019, 05:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 2048
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaxmike View Post
I have wanted the V3 for over a year now. I recently spotted some refurbished models on eBay.ca selling for $1125 Canadian. Then the price was lowered by $100 and I couldn’t resist. It turns out that the seller was Lenbrook, the parent company of NAD. The last time I checked they were still two units available.

Cosmetically, the unit and remote had a few fingerprints on it but was otherwise perfect. I was very disappointed in the packaging though. It was some kind of spray foam encased in thin plastic foil. The top fell apart when I unpackaged it, so it will be useless if I ever have to repack it.

Interesting, that's certainly not the standard packaging. Oh well, let us know if you have any questions
tjcinnamon likes this.
richardsim7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9064 of 11303 Old 07-20-2019, 03:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1521 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpoOokY83 View Post
Would'nt it be possible to just move the Dirac target curve for the heights up by 3 dB?
That is what I did just applied NAD room feel curve to my atmos heights - seems to work for me.
I am interested in boosting my heights as well. I currently use the flat DIRAC response, the room
Feel and the bass boost 6 dB presets. I prefer the room feel one. If I wanted to do a preset with extra heights that was already room feel do I just select room feel for all speakers like I do now and then manually pull the overheads up even higher? How do I know how much higher to pull the graph and do I pull the whole overhead graph up by that amount or just some of it??

I want to try out all room feel but notice extra overhead presence for some movie nights 🙂

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #9065 of 11303 Old 07-20-2019, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
I am interested in boosting my heights as well. I currently use the flat DIRAC response, the room
Feel and the bass boost 6 dB presets. I prefer the room feel one. If I wanted to do a preset with extra heights that was already room feel do I just select room feel for all speakers like I do now and then manually pull the overheads up even higher? How do I know how much higher to pull the graph and do I pull the whole overhead graph up by that amount or just some of it??

I want to try out all room feel but notice extra overhead presence for some movie nights 🙂
Hi - I only boost my 4 heights. The other speakers I have only adjusted by following the natural speaker response above 5khz. I'm waiting for the Dirac Bass modules to tweak the bass a little - until then I'm fine with what I have - George

LG C9 | NAD T777v3 | NAD M25 | Monitor Audio Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #9066 of 11303 Old 07-20-2019, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Shenandoah Valley VA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by xhattan View Post
The T758 will decode Atmos from Netflix and Amazon Prime Video (HBO GO doesn´t support Atmos yet) in two cases:


1. XBox One (any of them) console with Dolby Atmos app enabled.
2. Apple TV 4K.


Regards.
Roku (built in to TCL 65R617) streams in Atmos from VUDU.
richardsim7 likes this.

Arcam AVR850 - Polk Audio LSIM707 - LSiM706c - LSiM703 - 700-LS ceiling Atmos speakers - Subs TBD - Sony UBP-X700 - TV TBD
tparm is offline  
post #9067 of 11303 Old 07-20-2019, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1927 Post(s)
Liked: 2114
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
....... I'm waiting for the Dirac Bass modules to tweak the bass a little.....

IIRC, the modules won't be compatible with the 758 v3.
tjcinnamon likes this.
zeus33 is offline  
post #9068 of 11303 Old 07-20-2019, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 2048
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
IIRC, the modules won't be compatible with the 758 v3.

I think he has a 777
richardsim7 is online now  
post #9069 of 11303 Old 07-20-2019, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
I think he has a 777
Yes I do - but I thought most people were speculating on the exclusion of the NAD receivers based on the fact that they want EQ 2 Subs - I thought if you wanted to use the new Dirac bass modules on 1 sub you should be fine - but you are right until more news is available - hard to state one way or the other

LG C9 | NAD T777v3 | NAD M25 | Monitor Audio Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #9070 of 11303 Old 07-20-2019, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1979
Like the 758, the 777 only has 1 sub channel, so it would need a replacement board to make multi-sub calibration work.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is offline  
post #9071 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 06:10 AM
Member
 
telon175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So if i get the 2x4 HD i can run two subs correctly withe the NAD 758?
telon175 is offline  
post #9072 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 2048
Quote:
Originally Posted by telon175 View Post
So if i get the 2x4 HD i can run two subs correctly withe the NAD 758?
Yup
richardsim7 is online now  
post #9073 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1521 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
I am interested in boosting my heights as well. I currently use the flat DIRAC response, the room
Feel and the bass boost 6 dB presets. I prefer the room feel one. If I wanted to do a preset with extra heights that was already room feel do I just select room feel for all speakers like I do now and then manually pull the overheads up even higher? How do I know how much higher to pull the graph and do I pull the whole overhead graph up by that amount or just some of it??

I want to try out all room feel but notice extra overhead presence for some movie nights 🙂
Hi - I only boost my 4 heights. The other speakers I have only adjusted by following the natural speaker response above 5khz. I'm waiting for the Dirac Bass modules to tweak the bass a little - until then I'm fine with what I have - George
Could you explain what you mean when you say adjust the natural speaker response above 5 Hz?

Also, I have heard that the DIRAC bass module will not work with the 758...have to use the MiniDSP HD instead...

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #9074 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Mickeyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
It's in the Dirac installation directory. In version 1, it would open a window and allow you to click on it.

I haven't done a V2 calibration yet.
Thanks, SoulBurner. I reinstalled Dirac Live today and located the settings.ini file. Sure enough, it used the U-MIK-1 calibration file.

Does anyone know how to get the calibration file for the mic supplied with the T758 and force its use?
Mickeyboy is offline  
post #9075 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Could you explain what you mean when you say adjust the natural speaker response above 5 Hz?

Also, I have heard that the DIRAC bass module will not work with the 758...have to use the MiniDSP HD instead...
Hi - I just mean add some breakpoints above 5 KHz (you just right click the default Dirac curve) and adjust the breakpoint up or down depending on your speaker's response - George

LG C9 | NAD T777v3 | NAD M25 | Monitor Audio Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #9076 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,290
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2025 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Like the 758, the 777 only has 1 sub channel, so it would need a replacement board to make multi-sub calibration work.
I've heard it's going to sum the results anyways. If that's the case, I'm wondering if they would just run the subs one at a time via turning them on and off. People who benefit the most from multiple subs would be people running more than 2 subs and there are very few AVR's with more than 2 sub outs.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.6.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM + B6 OLED 65
Speakers: Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
Subs1: 2x LRK Build Thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged); retired: VRK Build thread
Subs2: 2x Rythmik LVX12; 2x Dayton HF 12's Ultra-NearField + Crown XLS 2002
MiniDSP HD & Non; DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #9077 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1979
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
I've heard it's going to sum the results anyways. If that's the case, I'm wondering if they would just run the subs one at a time via turning them on and off. People who benefit the most from multiple subs would be people running more than 2 subs and there are very few AVR's with more than 2 sub outs.
I had that thought, too - doing some sort of time modulation to separate the channels for measurements. The user would be required to physically turn on/off subs though. I'll let the engineers figure that out.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is offline  
post #9078 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1521 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Could you explain what you mean when you say adjust the natural speaker response above 5 Hz?

Also, I have heard that the DIRAC bass module will not work with the 758...have to use the MiniDSP HD instead...
Hi - I just mean add some breakpoints above 5 KHz (you just right click the default Dirac curve) and adjust the breakpoint up or down depending on your speaker's response - George
What do you mean adjust up or down depending on my speakers response. I have all monitor audio gold-how would I know how much to adjust up or down?

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #9079 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Could you explain what you mean when you say adjust the natural speaker response above 5 Hz?

Also, I have heard that the DIRAC bass module will not work with the 758...have to use the MiniDSP HD instead...
Hi - I just mean add some breakpoints above 5 KHz (you just right click the default Dirac curve) and adjust the breakpoint up or down depending on your speaker's response - George
What do you mean adjust up or down depending on my speakers response. I have all monitor audio gold-how would I know how much to adjust up or down?
Do a close mic measurement, about a foot or two from your speaker & what displays in the Dirac Live measurement window will be a very close representation of your speakers natural response. REW is actually better for this purpose but the Dirac measurement should be close enough.

Vizio M55-e0 Display Oppo 103D
NAD T758v3
SVS PB-1000 Sub
Chane A2.4 L-C-R
carminepesce is online now  
post #9080 of 11303 Old 07-21-2019, 11:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
What do you mean adjust up or down depending on my speakers response. I have all monitor audio gold-how would I know how much to adjust up or down?
I have monitor audio’s as well - a mixture of golds and platinums. What I mean is if your frequency response curve for your speaker goes up or down (above 5khz) and the Dirac target curve is straight - add a breakpoint and move the Dirac curve up or down as appropriate to follow your speaker response. You can do as carmin suggested below but I haven’t done that.

LG C9 | NAD T777v3 | NAD M25 | Monitor Audio Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #9081 of 11303 Old 07-22-2019, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1521 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
What do you mean adjust up or down depending on my speakers response. I have all monitor audio gold-how would I know how much to adjust up or down?
I have monitor audio’️s as well - a mixture of golds and platinums. What I mean is if your frequency response curve for your speaker goes up or down (above 5khz) and the Dirac target curve is straight - add a breakpoint and move the Dirac curve up or down as appropriate to follow your speaker response. You can do as carmin suggested below but I haven’️t done that.
I’m confused...I thought the whole point of DIRAC was supposed to listen to your speakers, in your room (with or without custom curves like harman) and make the best sound from the speakers you have...?

Isn’t that what the room correction does? Why would/should I change the values above 5Hz when DIRAC has already adjusted?

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #9082 of 11303 Old 07-22-2019, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
DaveyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
I’m confused...I thought the whole point of DIRAC was supposed to listen to your speakers, in your room (with or without custom curves like harman) and make the best sound from the speakers you have...?

Isn’t that what the room correction does? Why would/should I change the values above 5Hz when DIRAC has already adjusted?
I believe Dirac EQ's higher frequency flat. Some people prefer it to angle down a tad. It's just preference. Same as the way Dirac will EQ the sub frequencies pretty flat... most people are going to want to 200hz and below higher like a ski slope.


This guide might help with visuals:


Custom Dirac Target Curves
DaveyMac is offline  
post #9083 of 11303 Old 07-22-2019, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
DaveyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 143
omg..... So I go tonight and load a project. With the hope of creating a new curve. And inexplicably there is no "CALCULATE FILTER" anywhere to be found.


I'm on the editor screen with speaker groups on right. Where I can adjust curve, create waypoints, etc.


There is no calculate filter????? I can click the box to see what the 'corrected spectrum' will look like, but nothing to calculate?


Any idea what the hell is going on??
DaveyMac is offline  
post #9084 of 11303 Old 07-22-2019, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 2048
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
omg..... So I go tonight and load a project. With the hope of creating a new curve. And inexplicably there is no "CALCULATE FILTER" anywhere to be found.


I'm on the editor screen with speaker groups on right. Where I can adjust curve, create waypoints, etc.


There is no calculate filter????? I can click the box to see what the 'corrected spectrum' will look like, but nothing to calculate?


Any idea what the hell is going on??

In Dirac 2 it calculates automatically after each change
richardsim7 is online now  
post #9085 of 11303 Old 07-22-2019, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
DaveyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
In Dirac 2 it calculates automatically after each change
Thanks. I was really suffering. I do notice as I pull the line around, it was 'calculating' at bottom of screen. I guess I'm just too used to the older programs and optimize button.
DaveyMac is offline  
post #9086 of 11303 Old 07-23-2019, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,858
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaxmike View Post
I have wanted the V3 for over a year now. I recently spotted some refurbished models on eBay.ca selling for $1125 Canadian. Then the price was lowered by $100 and I couldn’t resist. It turns out that the seller was Lenbrook, the parent company of NAD. The last time I checked they were still two units available.

Cosmetically, the unit and remote had a few fingerprints on it but was otherwise perfect. I was very disappointed in the packaging though. It was some kind of spray foam encased in thin plastic foil. The top fell apart when I unpackaged it, so it will be useless if I ever have to repack it.
All NAD refurbs are packed that way.

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #9087 of 11303 Old 07-23-2019, 05:05 PM
Member
 
seiji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a NAD T758V3 and a TLC 4k TV, I can't seem to get the HDMI CEC or ARC mode to work correctly. Is there a setting on the NAD that works?
seiji is offline  
post #9088 of 11303 Old 07-23-2019, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 2048
Quote:
Originally Posted by seiji View Post
I have a NAD T758V3 and a TLC 4k TV, I can't seem to get the HDMI CEC or ARC mode to work correctly. Is there a setting on the NAD that works?

Disable "BluOS/CEC/LAN in Standby" and see if ARC works then
richardsim7 is online now  
post #9089 of 11303 Old 07-24-2019, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1521 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Could you explain what you mean when you say adjust the natural speaker response above 5 Hz?

Also, I have heard that the DIRAC bass module will not work with the 758...have to use the MiniDSP HD instead...
Hi - I just mean add some breakpoints above 5 KHz (you just right click the default Dirac curve) and adjust the breakpoint up or down depending on your speaker's response - George
Is it possible to post or PM me what the custom height boosts look like that you edited to make the heights a bit louder?

Also, would doing a standard flat Dirac curve on the main speakers with a harman boost just added to the heights accomplish the same thing? Could I try that to make them sound louder on one preset or would that sound off?
pixphipau likes this.

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos

Last edited by Chirosamsung; 07-24-2019 at 05:07 AM.
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #9090 of 11303 Old 07-24-2019, 06:37 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Is it possible to post or PM me what the custom height boosts look like that you edited to make the heights a bit louder?

Also, would doing a standard flat Dirac curve on the main speakers with a harman boost just added to the heights accomplish the same thing? Could I try that to make them sound louder on one preset or would that sound off?
Ok when I am back from work tonight I'll post the Dirac curve for the Atmos speakers (which have the boost via the NAD Room Feel Curve) and another for the surrounds that I pretty much left as is apart from the preference tweak to the higher (above 5Khz) frequencies - but what you could do is use 2 Dirac slots - one for the boosted Atmos heights and another for the unboosted Atmos heights - I find that simpler than using Presets.

Update - just looked at the corrected curves for the Atmos Heights vs the Surrounds - they don't look too different to me - so I have asked Dirac 2 questions 1) Is this the best approach to boost the heights 2) How do I know I have applied a curve to a set of speakers (e.g. Atmos heights) - George

LG C9 | NAD T777v3 | NAD M25 | Monitor Audio Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12

Last edited by ggrossen; 07-24-2019 at 01:38 PM. Reason: To provide an update
ggrossen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off