NAD 758 v3 - Page 336 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6398Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10051 of 10163 Old 11-17-2019, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,293
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1834
In my experience, the number of HDMI channels has changed based on my speaker configuration and/or surround mode on the AVR. Have you checked that?

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10052 of 10163 Old 11-17-2019, 09:09 AM
Member
 
manstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
In my experience, the number of HDMI channels has changed based on my speaker configuration and/or surround mode on the AVR. Have you checked that?
Yep, nothing has changed. I even reloaded the Dirac filter. All 7 channels enabled.
manstretch is offline  
post #10053 of 10163 Old 11-17-2019, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1862
It's probably Nvidia's updates breaking things, rollback to a known working version
richardsim7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10054 of 10163 Old 11-17-2019, 09:37 AM
Member
 
manstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
It's probably Nvidia's updates breaking things, rollback to a known working version
I've tried a few different, older Nvidia drivers now... no luck. From what I've been reading could this be an EDID related issue?
manstretch is offline  
post #10055 of 10163 Old 11-17-2019, 09:58 AM
Member
 
snakster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lansdale PA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 33
My unit arrived yesterday. Unboxed this morning. Will likely install one night this week (wife works second shift, I don’t want to be too disruptive today). Quick question, is the microphone supplied with the unit generally thought of as adequate in this forum for Dirac?
snakster is offline  
post #10056 of 10163 Old 11-17-2019, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 6,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by snakster View Post
My unit arrived yesterday. Unboxed this morning. Will likely install one night this week (wife works second shift, I don’t want to be too disruptive today). Quick question, is the microphone supplied with the unit generally thought of as adequate in this forum for Dirac?
If it works, yes.
snakster likes this.

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.
tonygeno is offline  
post #10057 of 10163 Old 11-18-2019, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokestack View Post
Hi all.

I'm following up on my post about the messed-up soundstage after Dirac calibration. Dirac tech support responded in a timely manner and suggested that I take a single-point measurement. So I did, from the center seating position, head level. Once again I used the Umik-1 connected to the computer, using the 90-degree calibration file.

The result is the same as all the other calibrations I've done. Mono program components are strangely spread across the front speakers and somewhat biased to the right (probably temporally).

I made a binaural recording while switching Dirac on and off. Obviously you'll need headphones to check it out. The second transition back to Dirac is the best illustration of the problem, and it's actually worse than it seems in this recording. The recording's here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1L8...F23osYMgKIRelh

Also attached is a picture of the speaker arrangement and mic position.
Try moving L/R speakers away from the back wall (4-5 inches could do a lot for you) and toe them in. I bet the window on the right is playing a huge negative role in the calibration being off.
By toeing in the speakers you should hear the sound to be more elevated. Move the glass table away just for calibration time frame. Test

1. Samsung UN55MU7000, Yamaha A2070, KEF R700, R200c, 2x Kube 10b
2. Panasonic 50" (plasma), Yamaha A550, KEF R300s, Q100s, Kube 12b.
Jus32 is offline  
post #10058 of 10163 Old 11-18-2019, 07:24 AM
Member
 
manstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manstretch View Post
I've tried a few different, older Nvidia drivers now... no luck. From what I've been reading could this be an EDID related issue?
Followup... make sure CEC is disabled in the setup menu if you have any handshake issues! Turned all CEC related items off and handshaking now seems to be working.
manstretch is offline  
post #10059 of 10163 Old 11-18-2019, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Stokestack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thanks for the suggestions.

I didn't move the speakers forward because I don't want to throw the distance calculations off from where they'll actually reside.

On NAD's suggestion, I plugged the test mic into the BluOS hub instead of into the computer.

NAD also revealed the existence of a calibration file for the included NAD mic... which isn't mentioned in the manual. I thought it was pretty questionable to have a calibration mic with no calibration file in the first place. Even now there's only one calibration file for all these NAD mics. In scrolling through a Web page to acquire it, I also happened to notice a target-curve file, which is also not mentioned in documentation. It seems to me that NAD's biggest weakness is poor UI design and documentation. Why am I only finding out about this stuff weeks later?

I also moved the table away and closed the blinds over my sliding door. I also made sure I was distinguishing the center point of the listening area from the center of the couch, which is not equal. I was probably pretty close before, but this time I put the mic against my ear on its stand and then slid away.

The results are a lot better. The temporal issue seems to be gone, so the imaging is not ruined. The target curve saves a lot of time in establishing a pleasant tonal balance. I wish there were an easy way to match levels between Dirac on & off, to make comparison easier.

One bug I found in the Dirac software (aside from not-infrequent crashes) is that it fails to reset the receiver's volume if you return to the measurement page to take more samples after doing some listening tests. This is dangerous to your speakers and very unpleasant for you and your neighbors.

The end result of Dirac in my case is primarily reduced shrillness in my listening area. I don't hear much if any difference between filters generated from a single measurement location and those with five sample locations (that's all I have the patience for); I wonder how Dirac uses the additional data in creating the final filter.

Anyway, thanks for the participation everybody.

Last edited by Stokestack; 11-18-2019 at 06:22 PM.
Stokestack is offline  
post #10060 of 10163 Old 11-18-2019, 06:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokestack View Post
I put the mic against my ear on its stand and then slid away

Just to note you should have the mic between where your ears will be, not next to one of them
richardsim7 is offline  
post #10061 of 10163 Old 11-18-2019, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Stokestack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Just to note you should have the mic between where your ears will be, not next to one of them
JEEZ you nitpickers!

I bop from side to side when listening, so at least I'll pass through the sweet spot occasionally.
KenM10759 likes this.
Stokestack is offline  
post #10062 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,857
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1473 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokestack View Post
Thanks for the suggestions.

I didn't move the speakers forward because I don't want to throw the distance calculations off from where they'll actually reside.

On NAD's suggestion, I plugged the test mic into the BluOS hub instead of into the computer.

NAD also revealed the existence of a calibration file for the included NAD mic... which isn't mentioned in the manual. I thought it was pretty questionable to have a calibration mic with no calibration file in the first place. Even now there's only one calibration file for all these NAD mics. In scrolling through a Web page to acquire it, I also happened to notice a target-curve file, which is also not mentioned in documentation. It seems to me that NAD's biggest weakness is poor UI design and documentation. Why am I only finding out about this stuff weeks later?

I also moved the table away and closed the blinds over my sliding door. I also made sure I was distinguishing the center point of the listening area from the center of the couch, which is not equal. I was probably pretty close before, but this time I put the mic against my ear on its stand and then slid away.

The results are a lot better. The temporal issue seems to be gone, so the imaging is not ruined. The target curve saves a lot of time in establishing a pleasant tonal balance. I wish there were an easy way to match levels between Dirac on & off, to make comparison easier.

One bug I found in the Dirac software (aside from not-infrequent crashes) is that it fails to reset the receiver's volume if you return to the measurement page to take more samples after doing some listening tests. This is dangerous to your speakers and very unpleasant for you and your neighbors.

The end result of Dirac in my case is primarily reduced shrillness in my listening area. I don't hear much if any difference between filters generated from a single measurement location and those with five sample locations (that's all I have the patience for); I wonder how Dirac uses the additional data in creating the final filter.

Anyway, thanks for the participation everybody.
You should remeasure DIRAC with room changes that you did (blinds, table) as this will change the accuracy of your original measurements in the same way as it would if you move your speakers into the room

You can measure with DIRAC n and off, just press the button to do it on the remote or in the OSM

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos

Last edited by Chirosamsung; 11-19-2019 at 05:30 AM.
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #10063 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Stokestack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
You should remeasure DIRAC with room changes that you did (blinds, table)
I did; that was the whole point.

Also I don't think you can measure with Dirac on...
Stokestack is offline  
post #10064 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Do I need to remeasure to get the improved phase corrections from Dirac 2.3? Or can I just reload my old target curve?

NAD T758 v3 - KEF LS50 - SVS SB16 Ultra - HECO On wall - LG C8
HT: NAD T758 v3 - Audiovector S3 signature - S3 Signature Center - SVS PC13 Ultra - SVS Prime Elevation - Polk S15 - Optoma UHD40

Last edited by AVTimme; 11-19-2019 at 01:06 PM.
AVTimme is online now  
post #10065 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I can't upgrade Dirac on my Mac

I have never had a problem before :/ My Mac says

"DiracLive v2.3.0 Setup Darwin” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software."

does any body now have to solve this?

NAD T758 v3 - KEF LS50 - SVS SB16 Ultra - HECO On wall - LG C8
HT: NAD T758 v3 - Audiovector S3 signature - S3 Signature Center - SVS PC13 Ultra - SVS Prime Elevation - Polk S15 - Optoma UHD40
AVTimme is online now  
post #10066 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 01:11 PM
Member
 
pixphipau's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVTimme View Post
I can't upgrade Dirac on my Mac

I have never had a problem before :/ My Mac says

"DiracLive v2.3.0 Setup Darwin” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software."

does any body now have to solve this?
I opened ithe download in finder i think then agreed the check box and it worked
pixphipau is offline  
post #10067 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 01:21 PM
Member
 
pixphipau's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Im on catalina, worked fine.
AVTimme likes this.
pixphipau is offline  
post #10068 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Stokestack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by flax View Post
That probably happens because you updated to Catalina and Dirac Live 2.3 isn't ready yet for its new strict security control.
I think that you'll have to wait for the next update that is expected soon.
I'm running the latest Dirac app under Catalina without a problem.
pixphipau and AVTimme like this.
Stokestack is offline  
post #10069 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,293
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1834
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVTimme View Post
Do I need to remeasure to get the improved phase corrections from Dirac 2.3? Or can I just reload my old target curve?
I highly doubt that more data collection would be needed; it's most likely just a tweaked correction algorithm.
AVTimme likes this.
Soulburner is online now  
post #10070 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
flax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokestack View Post
I'm running the latest Dirac app under Catalina without a problem.

My bad... I wasn't aware of the above, excellent
pixphipau likes this.

Warning: My posts might be biased even if in good faith, I work for Dirac Research :-)
flax is offline  
post #10071 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1862
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVTimme View Post
Do I need to remeasure to get the improved phase corrections from Dirac 2.3? Or can I just reload my old target curve?

What improved phase corrections? Not seeing that in the changelog?
richardsim7 is offline  
post #10072 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixphipau View Post
I opened ithe download in finder i think then agreed the check box and it worked
it worked now when I did that! Thank you!
richardsim7 likes this.

NAD T758 v3 - KEF LS50 - SVS SB16 Ultra - HECO On wall - LG C8
HT: NAD T758 v3 - Audiovector S3 signature - S3 Signature Center - SVS PC13 Ultra - SVS Prime Elevation - Polk S15 - Optoma UHD40
AVTimme is online now  
post #10073 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 10:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
What improved phase corrections? Not seeing that in the changelog?
Here:

https://live.dirac.com/download/

I dont know how big of a difference this is though or how I apply it? Only reload my target curves?

NAD T758 v3 - KEF LS50 - SVS SB16 Ultra - HECO On wall - LG C8
HT: NAD T758 v3 - Audiovector S3 signature - S3 Signature Center - SVS PC13 Ultra - SVS Prime Elevation - Polk S15 - Optoma UHD40
AVTimme is online now  
post #10074 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 10:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,293
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1834
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVTimme View Post
Here:

https://live.dirac.com/download/

I dont know how big of a difference this is though or how I apply it? Only reload my target curves?
I think that is just comparing V2 vs V1.

The changelog says:

Dirac Live v2.3 Changelog [Latest]
2019-11-13

Added
Allow to load project created by another user
Allow to load project on same model and configuration but different device
Chinese language support
Accessibility option for colour vision deficiency
Quick commands (visible in menu)
Exit option in menu


Fixed
Will no longer crash when selecting device using a MacBook older than 2013
Some input devices were listed more than once in Select recording device page
richardsim7 and AVTimme like this.

HT: Samsung PN64H5000 (recommended settings) | NAD T758 V3 | Buchardt S400 (2) | Polk LSiM 702 F/X (2) | Infinity RS152 (4) | Subs TBD (2)
PC: Micca OriGen G2 | Mackie MR624 (2)
Soulburner is online now  
post #10075 of 10163 Old 11-19-2019, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
I think that is just comparing V2 vs V1.

The changelog says:

Dirac Live v2.3 Changelog [Latest]
2019-11-13

Added
Allow to load project created by another user
Allow to load project on same model and configuration but different device
Chinese language support
Accessibility option for colour vision deficiency
Quick commands (visible in menu)
Exit option in menu


Fixed
Will no longer crash when selecting device using a MacBook older than 2013
Some input devices were listed more than once in Select recording device page
ah I see!

Thanks!
richardsim7 likes this.

NAD T758 v3 - KEF LS50 - SVS SB16 Ultra - HECO On wall - LG C8
HT: NAD T758 v3 - Audiovector S3 signature - S3 Signature Center - SVS PC13 Ultra - SVS Prime Elevation - Polk S15 - Optoma UHD40
AVTimme is online now  
post #10076 of 10163 Old 11-20-2019, 04:03 PM
Member
 
theriverlethe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Any idea what’s changed in the 2.16 MCU?
theriverlethe is offline  
post #10077 of 10163 Old 11-20-2019, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,857
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1473 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by theriverlethe View Post
Any idea what’s changed in the 2.16 MCU?
Does anyone ever know what’s changed in the MCU??
richardsim7 likes this.

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #10078 of 10163 Old 11-20-2019, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1431 Post(s)
Liked: 1862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Does anyone ever know what’s changed in the MCU??
Last I checked, Spider-Man went to Europe
AVTimme likes this.
richardsim7 is offline  
post #10079 of 10163 Old 11-20-2019, 08:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,857
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1473 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chirosamsung View Post
does anyone ever know what’️s changed in the mcu??
last i checked, spider-man went to europe [img class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/tongue.gif[/img]
lool

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #10080 of 10163 Old 11-21-2019, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
last i checked, spider-man went to europe
AHHAHAHA xD

NAD T758 v3 - KEF LS50 - SVS SB16 Ultra - HECO On wall - LG C8
HT: NAD T758 v3 - Audiovector S3 signature - S3 Signature Center - SVS PC13 Ultra - SVS Prime Elevation - Polk S15 - Optoma UHD40
AVTimme is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off