Official Yamaha RX-V*83 Owners Thread - Page 27 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 988Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 825 Old 07-13-2019, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack42 View Post
Good to know, thank you.

Regarding V1.18, are their any known issues with this version? Is it missing any important and/or interesting features?

Thanks,

Jack
Check post #1 (if it's my thread, firmware update notes are posted when I'm able to), or browse/search the thread.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 825 Old 07-16-2019, 09:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1.13 strikes another, 1.08 saves the day

Thanks for this thread. I just updated my RX-V383 that wicked 1.13 version today, and immediately encountered the intermittent sound. Most sad.

After a bit of searching I found this thread, read a bit, and then submitted a support request to Yamaha for the 1.08 version firmware. Then I read on further and I found the most recent link provided by @a_kraker99 . Thank you so much! Your link was still alive, and sound was quickly restored to my system.

If I get a reply with a newer for downloading the 1.08 firmware, I’ll return to post it here, to keep another round of victims alive with a quick fix.
Brent_D is offline  
post #783 of 825 Old 07-17-2019, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
New Link

I restored my RX-V383 to version 1.08 using the link provided by a_kraker99. Thanks again.

Before the unfortunate update to 1.13 my system was running version 1.09. I sent in a support request to Yamaha requesting a copy of 1.09. They responded that they do not have a copy of 1.09 (strange) but sent me a link to 1.08. It is good for a few weeks longer than the prior link - accessible until August 10.

This forum will not allow me to post links until I have made 5 posts. This is my 4th so I will post the link in a post to follow.

I just did a search on the Yamaha support site. It seems that 1.13 is no longer available. Good!
mreasier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #784 of 825 Old 07-17-2019, 06:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Here's the link:

https://yamahafiles.egnyte.com/dl/l9PVKwoZWr

Password: MwVfq3yv
mreasier is offline  
post #785 of 825 Old 07-24-2019, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know if the RX-V683BL supports Airplay 2? I would like to playback music to the Yamaha and my Apple HomePod in another room.
Eric Neumann is offline  
post #786 of 825 Old 08-07-2019, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New to the forum! It seems like my Yamaha rx-v683 also have problem with the new 2.70 update. Intermittent sound from ARC.. Is there any way to downgrade? And how can we reach out to yamaha to let them know about the issue?
Jonas Hedlund is offline  
post #787 of 825 Old 08-07-2019, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas Hedlund View Post
New to the forum! It seems like my Yamaha rx-v683 also have problem with the new 2.70 update. Intermittent sound from ARC.. Is there any way to downgrade? And how can we reach out to yamaha to let them know about the issue?
Reach out to Yamaha support via chat on their website. I also have an RX-V683 and I was able to roll back from 2.70 to 2.60 after getting in contact with them. For some reason mine wouldn't roll back to 2.65 but 2.60 worked. You do it via USB stick like you would a standard USB update (hold Straight then press Power and navigate from there). My issue was with lip sync with streaming sources being out of whack since the 2.70 update, rolling back seems to have helped.
cemetery55 is offline  
post #788 of 825 Old 08-12-2019, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Slaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quick question about YPAO calibration - I've run this a few times and every time it has set my in ceiling surrounds to 'large'. Now granted, they are fairly beefy (Polk 70-RT), but my default reaction was to set them manually to 'small' and dial in what I thought was the appropriate cross-over frequency. Was never sure if that was the right thing to do however.

Just curious if other people had the same experience and if so did you leave the YPAO results as is, or manually adjust them to what you thought were appropriate settings?
Slaine is online now  
post #789 of 825 Old 08-12-2019, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,857
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5335 Post(s)
Liked: 3849
It is safe and often advised to change a "large" speaker finding to "small". This is properly called "Turning on bass management". It has several advantages. The other direction is not a good idea.

As for crossover frequency: It is generally OK to move it upwards from that found by the auto system, e.g., up to the more optimal one used by both commercial cinemas and the THX standard: 80 Hz.

It is risky, however, and not advised to go in the other direction and change a higher frequency finding down to 80Hz. If, for example, the YPAO mic finds that "these speakers can't really do much below 100Hz in their current location" then you should trust YPAO even if the owner's manual or advertisements suggest the speaker can go lower. That manufacturer doesn't know how the current room position alters the sound whereas YPAO does: it measured it.
Blorton, Slaine and ChromeJob like this.
m. zillch is offline  
post #790 of 825 Old 08-12-2019, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Blorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Official Yamaha RX-V*83 Owners Thread

Agreed on the crossover thoughts. Personally, I would rather see surrounds default to 80 or higher unless they are the same as the mains.

On a related note, I’m really impressed with how well YPAO tuned the PA mains + budget sub in my large, open living room. The mains have 15” drivers but are designed for high volumes at midrange and high efficiency. Ypao crossed them at 80Hz, which is the recommended setting. I was recently able to give them a bit more of a workout and had always thought the sub just wasn’t going to be able to keep up. It never could with the old receiver that relied on manual measurements. On this? Wow, the whole set really rocked the house. Really impressed, especially given how inexpensive the receiver was.

And I haven’t even updated the firmware. Don’t really see the need since the latest version has issues. I know I could manually go to a known stable version but eh, I got enough projects already.

- Born half deaf in the 60's and cranking it to 11 ever since.
Living Room: Audio: Pioneer Elite VSX-26tx in 2.1 with Behringer B215XL and Dayton SUB-1500, Video: Roku Ultra and PS4 to an XBR65X930E
Home Gym: Denon DRA-395 in 2.0 with Klipsch KLF-10
wishlist - new LR AVR and Rythmik sub

Last edited by Blorton; 08-12-2019 at 07:16 PM.
Blorton is online now  
post #791 of 825 Old 08-22-2019, 05:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
New Version 1.14

Yamaha has just posted a new firmware release for the RX-V383. Version 1.14 can be found here: https://usa.yamaha.com/support/updat..._htr-3071.html.

I'm going to give it a try later today. I have a copy of 1.08 for fallback in case there are still problems with this new version.
Blorton and ChromeJob like this.
mreasier is offline  
post #792 of 825 Old 08-22-2019, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Jon Appleyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mreasier View Post
Yamaha has just posted a new firmware release for the RX-V383. Version 1.14 can be found here: https://usa.yamaha.com/support/updat..._htr-3071.html.

I'm going to give it a try later today. I have a copy of 1.08 for fallback in case there are still problems with this new version.
Would you be able to share 1.08 with me? I can't seem to find it online.

I installed 1.14 to try and resolve audio stuttering but the issue has remained (possibly worsened). I forget what version I was on before. Perhaps 1.04.


Thanks
Jon Appleyard is offline  
post #793 of 825 Old 08-24-2019, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Appleyard View Post
Would you be able to share 1.08 with me? I can't seem to find it online.

I installed 1.14 to try and resolve audio stuttering but the issue has remained (possibly worsened). I forget what version I was on before. Perhaps 1.04.


Thanks
Unfortunately, the link I posted earlier earlier is no long valid. This forum will not let me PM you until my post count reaches 15. Send me a PM with your email address, and I will email you back with a copy of 1.08.

Sorry you are still having problems. So far, 1.14 is working fine for me. I had sound drop outs with 1.13.
mreasier is offline  
post #794 of 825 Old 08-26-2019, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Appleyard View Post
Would you be able to share 1.08 with me? I can't seem to find it online.

I installed 1.14 to try and resolve audio stuttering but the issue has remained (possibly worsened). I forget what version I was on before. Perhaps 1.04.


Thanks
I just emailed you a copy of 1.08. I'm amazed that Yamaha does not provide both the new and the prior release on their site.
mreasier is offline  
post #795 of 825 Old 08-26-2019, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Blorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Anyone else finding 1.14 to be good?

- Born half deaf in the 60's and cranking it to 11 ever since.
Living Room: Audio: Pioneer Elite VSX-26tx in 2.1 with Behringer B215XL and Dayton SUB-1500, Video: Roku Ultra and PS4 to an XBR65X930E
Home Gym: Denon DRA-395 in 2.0 with Klipsch KLF-10
wishlist - new LR AVR and Rythmik sub
Blorton is online now  
post #796 of 825 Old 08-26-2019, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blorton View Post
Anyone else finding 1.14 to be good?
Still stable for me after 4 days.
Blorton and ChromeJob like this.
mreasier is offline  
post #797 of 825 Old 08-27-2019, 06:28 AM
Member
 
Jon Appleyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mreasier View Post
I just emailed you a copy of 1.08. I'm amazed that Yamaha does not provide both the new and the prior release on their site.
Or name their download correctly for that matter!

Thanks again
Jon Appleyard is offline  
post #798 of 825 Old 09-02-2019, 04:39 PM
Member
 
a_kraker99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone try 1.14 yet? Supposedly some stability improvements.
a_kraker99 is offline  
post #799 of 825 Old 09-02-2019, 10:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1095
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_kraker99 View Post
Anyone try 1.14 yet? Supposedly some stability improvements.
Try reading the previous page or two of posts.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #800 of 825 Old 09-03-2019, 05:16 AM
Member
 
a_kraker99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Try reading the previous page or two of posts.
Ahh. I see. I was getting notifications for this thread with the whole 1.13 issue but I hadn't seen anything in a while. Just noticed the newer firmware. Guess I will give it a shot.
a_kraker99 is offline  
post #801 of 825 Old 09-03-2019, 01:12 PM
Member
 
a_kraker99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another things that is confusing to me is whether or not the projector I run through needs to support eARC or not. Initially I thought this was the case since I has the skipping audio problem but obviously that ended up being more widespread.
I talked with BenQ support and they seemed like they had no idea what I was talking about.
a_kraker99 is offline  
post #802 of 825 Old 09-10-2019, 02:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
auto low latency mode

Dose RX-V583 support auto low latency mode?(HDMI 2.1 specification featuring)
f16leon is offline  
post #803 of 825 Old 09-12-2019, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,100
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3462 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
The TSR-5830 is the Costco version of the RX-V583. Other than the name, it’s the same AVR.

If “nothing’s broke” with the firmware yours shipped with, consider just staying on that. Wait until Yamaha corrects their cranio-rectal inversion and the bugs in the last released firmware.
My old Yamaha receiver for the downstairs HTS system just died. We didn't need anything heavy duty as the downstairs LCD system is just for local HDTV and some occasional streaming. The big boy is upstairs. However, looking around I found the TSR-5830, which is more than I need but the price was hard to beat. Anyway, I bought the receiver at a local AVR store, not Costco. And you can still find the TSR-5830 on the Yamaha site. If it is a Costco-specific version, then one shouldn't be able to purchase it anywhere else but Costco, and the model number would not be listed on the Yamaha site.

EDIT: After further research I discovered that they in fact are almost identical, so my apologies to ChromeJob for questioning him. Now, if I can just figure out how to set individual x-overs..........

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.

Last edited by Otto Pylot; 09-13-2019 at 09:14 PM.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #804 of 825 Old 09-14-2019, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
My old Yamaha receiver for the downstairs HTS system just died. We didn't need anything heavy duty as the downstairs LCD system is just for local HDTV and some occasional streaming. The big boy is upstairs. However, looking around I found the TSR-5830, which is more than I need but the price was hard to beat. Anyway, I bought the receiver at a local AVR store, not Costco. And you can still find the TSR-5830 on the Yamaha site. If it is a Costco-specific version, then one shouldn't be able to purchase it anywhere else but Costco, and the model number would not be listed on the Yamaha site.

EDIT: After further research I discovered that they in fact are almost identical, so my apologies to ChromeJob for questioning him. Now, if I can just figure out how to set individual x-overs..........
You can find the Costco models on Accessories4less and other vendors. The change in model number is to prevent price-matching at big box and other vendors with a model that Costco sells at an established lower price. Doesn’t mean that can’t be resold elsewhere as first sale or second sale purchases., as you discovered.

This last year, with the 7850, they seem to have provided Costco with a model that isn’t available elsewhere; it seems like a mongrel mix of the RX-v685 and RX-a780 (the chassis, detachable power cord, and front faceplate are clearly in common with the RX-A model). But I’m sure it’ll turn up elsewhere, particularly after they offered double-digit rebate discounts over the holidays and early 2019.

If you’re referring to bass mgmt crossovers for each pair of speakers, I believe you have to get an RX-A model. But I don’t have ready access to your OM where I am at the moment, so I may be wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by f16leon View Post
Dose RX-V583 support auto low latency mode?(HDMI 2.1 specification featuring)
Probably not, unless Yamaha has specified that any of the older *83 series AVRs will get HDMI 2.1-ish features via firmware update. Search this thread and others, I believe we’ve posted a link to a Yamaha page that identifies what new features will be offered in what AVRs via firmware. I think only the highest *83 models got new features, lower models like the 683, 583, et al would not.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.

Last edited by ChromeJob; 09-15-2019 at 01:28 PM. Reason: LINK ADDED
ChromeJob is offline  
post #805 of 825 Old 09-14-2019, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,100
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3462 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
You can find the Costco models on Accessories4less and other vendors. The change in model number is to prevent price-matching at big box and other vendors with a model that Costco sells at an established lower price. Doesn’t mean that can’t be resold elsewhere as first sale or second sale purchases., as you discovered.

This last year, with the 7850, they seem to have provided Costco with a model that isn’t available elsewhere; it seems like a mongrel mix of the RX-v685 and RX-a780 (the chassis, detachable power cord, and front faceplate are clearly in common with the RX-A model). But I’m sure it’ll turn up elsewhere, particularly after they offered double-digit rebate discounts over the holidays and early 2019.

If you’re referring to bass mgmt crossovers for each pair of speakers, I believe you have to get an RX-A model. But I don’t have ready access to your OM where I am at the moment, so I may be wrong.
Thank for replying. Yeah, I'm familiar with dealer-specific model numbers and why they are done but I guess the 5830/583 are about to be discontinued so maybe that's why my local brick and mortar had the "Costco" model in stock. The price was good for what I need it to do with the downstairs HTS so I'm happy. The A-780 is upstairs with the 65 C8 , that's why I asked about individual speaker x-over settings. Sure does make a difference with good speakers. The speakers I'm using the 5830 with are just from the original Yamaha HTiB (the "dead" receiver) but they serve their purpose well for local tv and occasional streaming. I will probably upgrade them someday to better bookshelf speakers.

I can adjust the individual level settings which is something but that's about it. 4k upscaling is Off because the downstairs tv is 1080 only and the feed is legacy Comcast, which is 1080.

I do have a question though if you have time. I prefer to use Straight, so if select Straight, will the 5830 keep that setting across the other HDMI inputs so I don't have to select it each time I turn on the receiver or switch inputs? I use Scenes for the A-780 so I know I can adjust it there but Scenes on the 5830 seems very basic and I'd prefer not to mess with that, and I don't think Straight is an option anyway.

I also updated the firmware from 1.03 to 2.70 but I don't know what the changes are.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #806 of 825 Old 09-14-2019, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,857
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5335 Post(s)
Liked: 3849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I prefer to use Straight, so if select Straight, will the 5830 keep that setting across the other HDMI inputs so I don't have to select it each time I turn on the receiver or switch inputs?
I'm not Chrome, and I can't speak to necessarily all models but my TSR-7810 in front of me I just tested. [I'd think all recent Yamahas act similarlly.] It memorized surround mode per input selected, not just Scene, so if you want "Straight" for each one you'll need to initially set that per input and then you should be good to go.
ChromeJob likes this.

Last edited by m. zillch; 09-14-2019 at 02:01 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #807 of 825 Old 09-14-2019, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,100
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3462 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I'm not Chrome, and I can't speak to necessarily all models but my TSR-7810 in front of me I just tested. [I'd think all recent Yamahas act similarlly.] It memorized surround mode per input selected, not just Scene, so if you want "Straight" for each one you'll need to initially set that per input and then you should be good to go.
Thanks. That's what I was hoping for. I think my now dead V371 worked the same way but that was a 7-year old receiver so I wasn't sure. The A-780 upstairs allows you to save that to a Scene (along with a lot of other options) so once you configure and save a Scene, it's set and forget.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #808 of 825 Old 09-15-2019, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
... I do have a question though if you have time. I prefer to use Straight, so if select Straight, will the 5830 keep that setting across the other HDMI inputs so I don't have to select it each time I turn on the receiver or switch inputs? I use Scenes for the A-780 so I know I can adjust it there but Scenes on the 5830 seems very basic and I'd prefer not to mess with that, and I don't think Straight is an option anyway....
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I'm not Chrome, and I can't speak to necessarily all models but my TSR-7810 in front of me I just tested. [I'd think all recent Yamahas act similarlly.] It memorized surround mode per input selected, not just Scene, so if you want "Straight" for each one you'll need to initially set that per input and then you should be good to go.
YEP, bullseye. All the Yamahas I've had remembered the last set surround/playback mode per input. This is how you can handily always have SUR DECODE selected for the L/R output of a CD or DVD player that you use for music, and STRAIGHT for the Blu-ray Disc player. OR ... just choose the preferred playback mode in each SCENE button, and use that to start up or select what you want to listen to/watch.

Also: I'm pretty sure that Scene buttons can duplicate inputs. If, say, you only have one single BD player that you use for music and movies, you could have SCENE 1 ("Music Discs") set to play CDs from the HDMI 1 input in Straight or 2ch Stereo mode, and SCENE 2 ("Movie discs") set to play DVDs and BDs from HDMI 1 in Sur Decode mode (for movie soundtrack upmixing). Make sense?

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.

Last edited by ChromeJob; 09-15-2019 at 01:25 PM. Reason: why can't I type coherently today? :(
ChromeJob is offline  
post #809 of 825 Old 09-15-2019, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1095
Quote:
Originally Posted by f16leon View Post
Dose RX-V583 support auto low latency mode?(HDMI 2.1 specification featuring)
As posted in the first post of this thread:

https://europe.yamaha.com/en/product...te_models.html

See also: https://europe.yamaha.com/en/product...583/specs.html

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #810 of 825 Old 09-15-2019, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,100
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3462 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
YEP, bullseye. All the Yamahas I've had remembered the last set surround/playback mode per input. This is how you can handily always have SUR DECODE selected for the L/R output of a CD or DVD player that you use for music, and STRAIGHT for the Blu-ray Disc player. OR ... just choose the preferred playback mode in each SCENE button, and use that to start up or select what you want to listen to/watch.

Also: I'm pretty sure that Scene buttons can duplicate inputs. If, say, you only have one single BD player that you use for music and movies, you could have SCENE 1 ("Music Discs") set to play CDs from the HDMI 1 input in Straight or 2ch Stereo mode, and SCENE 2 ("Movie discs") set to play DVDs and BDs from HDMI 1 in Sur Decode mode (for movie soundtrack upmixing). Make sense?
Excellent. Thanks to both of you. Any idea what the 2.70 update I just did does?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
5.1.2 , arc , atmos , auto , cec , control , google play music , hdmi , headphone jack , headphone line out , musiccast , noise , rx-v383 , setup , sound modes , switching , Yamaha , yamaha tsr 5830

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off