StormAudio I.ISP 3D.16.12 16-Channel Integrated AV Processor Hands-On - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 451Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 904 Old 04-09-2019, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blair, NE
Posts: 3,786
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1527 Post(s)
Liked: 1856
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
Looks like JTR will be using a StormAudio Processor for their room at Axpona.

https://www.avnirvana.com/threads/jo...ona-2019.4354/
I just packed up my StormAudio ISP this morning and am heading to Wisconsin in a few minutes. I'd be glad to meet anyone at AXPONA and answer questions about the StormAudio.

Ponderosa Theater
High Impact AV
- ISF Level III Video Calibrator, THX-HAA HT3 Audio Designer/Calibrator
desertdome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 904 Old 04-10-2019, 03:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
well, I just installed my SP4 (Storm). Still haven’t i put it through its paces enough to form an opinion on the sound, but the basic operation is smooth. Thus far perfect HDMI switching, pretty slick setup. The assignable outputs is nice. I had swap cables reversed and rather than pulling out my mess of wires just swapped outputs from my ipad.



more to come....
That sounds similar to what Anthem does if I understand what you're saying correctly
Apgood is offline  
post #663 of 904 Old 04-10-2019, 04:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
That sounds similar to what Anthem does if I understand what you're saying correctly


whoops - i should have clarified I meant the speaker outs, not the HDMI

Selling in AVS Classifieds
FS: Trinnov Altitude 16
madhuski is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #664 of 904 Old 04-10-2019, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
whoops - i should have clarified I meant the speaker outs, not the HDMI
That's pretty handy.

Can you use that for multiple speaker profiles. E.g. in a Atmos layout have speakers labelled as say Front Top and the in another for DTS-X as Front Height to account for different designation but at very similar angle / position?
Apgood is offline  
post #665 of 904 Old 04-10-2019, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
That's pretty handy.

Can you use that for multiple speaker profiles. E.g. in a Atmos layout have speakers labelled as say Front Top and the in another for DTS-X as Front Height to account for different designation but at very similar angle / position?
The Storm will route the signals to the correct speakers regardless of name in that scenario, no need for another profile.


As for assigning/re-assigning outputs, it's a lot more flexible than the Anthem. Any output can be easily assigned to any channel. IOW, any output could be Front Left, Rear Top Right, a sub, etc. Note that the outputs have no channel name, just a number. Very different ballgame from the Anthem.
Apgood likes this.

HT/Music Atmos setup with Scaena line arrays and Storm Audio processor

http://www.outreachav.com
Dealer for Paradigm/Anthem, NAD, Hegel, Storm Audio, PS Audio, more... PM about demos/specials

Last edited by rblnr; 04-22-2019 at 05:02 AM.
rblnr is offline  
post #666 of 904 Old 04-21-2019, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 78
@madhuski How has the SP4 been performing? Any issues?
Apgood is offline  
post #667 of 904 Old 04-22-2019, 01:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've been using my Storm for a couple of weeks now, and I've always felt the excitement of voice playback.
[email protected] is online now  
post #668 of 904 Old 04-22-2019, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1286 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
@madhuski How has the SP4 been performing? Any issues?
Thus far it’s been pretty smooth. Day to day reliability (hdmi, codecs) has been solid. I still haven’t run dirac yet so can’t give a a complete opinion.

Only issue thus far is control scheme. Like a lot of these more expensive processors, there’s not good IR options. So, I can’t use my trusty URC CCP remote. While i look at these IP remotes i’ve been using a harmony elite which is very “meh” - bunch of issues which anger and upset my family. (lots of “Daaaad!” calls....)
madhuski is online now  
post #669 of 904 Old 04-22-2019, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
Thus far it’s been pretty smooth. Day to day reliability (hdmi, codecs) has been solid. I still haven’t run dirac yet so can’t give a a complete opinion.



Only issue thus far is control scheme. Like a lot of these more expensive processors, there’s not good IR options. So, I can’t use my trusty URC CCP remote. While i look at these IP remotes i’ve been using a harmony elite which is very “meh” - bunch of issues which anger and upset my family. (lots of “Daaaad!” calls....)
That's good to hear. I'd seen a post suggesting the Stormaudio ISP at AXPONA had audio drop outs during the demo so was curious.

Yeah. Only thing I use Harmony remotes for is turning devices on and off as part of Google Home routines. After that I prefer a more traditional remote or app. Been playing around with the Q-sys UCI but take a bit of programming.
Apgood is offline  
post #670 of 904 Old 04-29-2019, 05:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
That's good to hear. I'd seen a post suggesting the Stormaudio ISP at AXPONA had audio drop outs during the demo so was curious.

Yeah. Only thing I use Harmony remotes for is turning devices on and off as part of Google Home routines. After that I prefer a more traditional remote or app. Been playing around with the Q-sys UCI but take a bit of programming.
I have had my Storm ISP Elite installed more than a month and I have not had audio dropouts. Just for your information.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #671 of 904 Old 04-29-2019, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I have had my Storm ISP Elite installed more than a month and I have not had audio dropouts. Just for your information.
Good to know.
Bigmoviefan likes this.
Apgood is offline  
post #672 of 904 Old 04-29-2019, 10:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Storm runs very reliable, no sound or picture (hdmi) problems.
[email protected] is online now  
post #673 of 904 Old 05-08-2019, 12:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,265
Mentioned: 230 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5277 Post(s)
Liked: 4796
What is the lower limit for the manual EQ filters? 20Hz? 10Hz?
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #674 of 904 Old 05-08-2019, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
16Hz
[email protected] is online now  
post #675 of 904 Old 05-13-2019, 09:58 AM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Just purchased a SP4 coming from a Marantz 8805. When integrating dual subs (Rythmik FV25s) is it better to run them as two separate outputs from the Sp4 or consolidate into one sub out into a minidsp 2x4 balanced prior to Dirac calibration. Any help/recommendations would be greatly appreciated. TYIA - Paul

Ps I do have a decent amount of experience with Dirac just not integrating dual subs with it and, obviously, the SP4 specifically is new to me.

Trinnov Altitude 16, Magico A3, Magico ACC, Magico A1s, Dual Rythmik FV25HP
Amps- ATI AT523NC, AT524NC, AT528NC
Kaleidescape Terra Server/Strato, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV4k, XFinity X1
Sony VPL-VW5000, 136" 2.35:1 Stewart Studiotek 100 screen, Lumagen Pro 4242
dinamigym is online now  
post #676 of 904 Old 05-13-2019, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,265
Mentioned: 230 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5277 Post(s)
Liked: 4796
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinamigym View Post
Just purchased a SP4 coming from a Marantz 8805. When integrating dual subs (Rythmik FV25s) is it better to run them as two separate outputs from the Sp4 or consolidate into one sub out into a minidsp 2x4 balanced prior to Dirac calibration. Any help/recommendations would be greatly appreciated. TYIA - Paul

Ps I do have a decent amount of experience with Dirac just not integrating dual subs with it and, obviously, the SP4 specifically is new to me.
The argument for using a miniDSP is to utilize BassEQ. Are you familiar? If you have no interest in BassEQ there is no reason to use the miniDSP in your case.

I am hopeful that StormAudio/Bryston allow for the use of BassEQ internally (Trinnov does now).
dinamigym likes this.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #677 of 904 Old 05-13-2019, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
When configuring the speakers, you can enter the number of subs, which are all measured by the Dirac. MiniDsp is no longer needed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	storm.png
Views:	37
Size:	283.7 KB
ID:	2566262  
kimg1453 and dinamigym like this.

Last edited by [email protected]; 05-13-2019 at 01:07 PM.
[email protected] is online now  
post #678 of 904 Old 05-13-2019, 02:00 PM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Thanks a ton guys much appreciated! First time going dual subs and new processor. Both delivered within an hour of each other today. Shipped the 8805 to the buyer just now so I’m all in! Ha, should make for an interesting evening!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Trinnov Altitude 16, Magico A3, Magico ACC, Magico A1s, Dual Rythmik FV25HP
Amps- ATI AT523NC, AT524NC, AT528NC
Kaleidescape Terra Server/Strato, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV4k, XFinity X1
Sony VPL-VW5000, 136" 2.35:1 Stewart Studiotek 100 screen, Lumagen Pro 4242
dinamigym is online now  
post #679 of 904 Old 05-13-2019, 02:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinamigym View Post
Thanks a ton guys much appreciated! First time going dual subs and new processor. Both delivered within an hour of each other today. Shipped the 8805 to the buyer just now so I’m all in! Ha, should make for an interesting evening!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Enjoy it, I think you’ll find it a big upgrade over the 8805. And Dirac will have a multisub module out sometime this yr (hopefully) which will give you some additional setup options.
Bigmoviefan and dinamigym like this.

HT/Music Atmos setup with Scaena line arrays and Storm Audio processor

http://www.outreachav.com
Dealer for Paradigm/Anthem, NAD, Hegel, Storm Audio, PS Audio, more... PM about demos/specials
rblnr is offline  
post #680 of 904 Old 05-13-2019, 04:22 PM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by rblnr View Post
Enjoy it, I think you’ll find it a big upgrade over the 8805. And Dirac will have a multisub module out sometime this yr (hopefully) which will give you some additional setup options.
Thank You! Looking forward to diving into it.

Paul
Bigmoviefan likes this.
dinamigym is online now  
post #681 of 904 Old 05-20-2019, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 171
BTW, there's new beta firmware out; the most significant upgrade is visualization of EQ curves created for any channel, and for all the channels overlayed. This is very useful readout for those using the extensive EQ abilities of the piece. Further, you can import filters created in REW. Some other updates as well. The platform keeps getting better.

HT/Music Atmos setup with Scaena line arrays and Storm Audio processor

http://www.outreachav.com
Dealer for Paradigm/Anthem, NAD, Hegel, Storm Audio, PS Audio, more... PM about demos/specials

Last edited by rblnr; 05-20-2019 at 11:14 AM.
rblnr is offline  
post #682 of 904 Old 05-20-2019, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,265
Mentioned: 230 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5277 Post(s)
Liked: 4796
A Bryston SP4 is on its way to my door step.

I've been skeptical of StormAudio's viability for years. however, their perseverance seems to be paying off. It is evidenced in their recent partnerships with Bryston and Focal. I've experienced the Storm units at Starke Sounds demo room as well as the JTR & Focal at Axpona 2019. I was won over This leap is based on the evidence, not faith.

StormAudio and Bryston both have big, exciting plans for 2020. This platform should fulfill my needs for the next 5-10 years.
G-Rex, Mike_WI, HTNUT1975 and 1 others like this.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #683 of 904 Old 05-21-2019, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
A Bryston SP4 is on its way to my door step.

I've been skeptical of StormAudio's viability for years. however, their perseverance seems to be paying off. It is evidenced in their recent partnerships with Bryston and Focal. I've experienced the Storm units at Starke Sounds demo room as well as the JTR & Focal at Axpona 2019. I was won over This leap is based on the evidence, not faith.

StormAudio and Bryston both have big, exciting plans for 2020. This platform should fulfill my needs for the next 5-10 years.
Enjoy it Marc. I'm not much on 'faith' in the A/V world -- that's not at all how I got behind the Storm.

HT/Music Atmos setup with Scaena line arrays and Storm Audio processor

http://www.outreachav.com
Dealer for Paradigm/Anthem, NAD, Hegel, Storm Audio, PS Audio, more... PM about demos/specials
rblnr is offline  
post #684 of 904 Old 05-21-2019, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Irwinroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
A Bryston SP4 is on its way to my door step.

Here is a good video while you wait for your SP4

Marc Alexander and G-Rex like this.
Irwinroad is offline  
post #685 of 904 Old 05-21-2019, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 2,351
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 676
I wonder if the Bryston can be ordered in a 20 XLR output configuration (like the Storms can)? The back plate above the main XLR bank is missing for the 4 additional outputs, but the center plate is still there. Is Bryston only releasing one model with a 16 XLR output configuration?
G-Rex is offline  
post #686 of 904 Old 05-21-2019, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,265
Mentioned: 230 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5277 Post(s)
Liked: 4796
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
I wonder if the Bryston can be ordered in a 20 XLR output configuration (like the Storms can)? The back plate above the main XLR bank is missing for the 4 additional outputs, but the center plate is still there.
Here is my understanding based on info from @rblnr and the folks at Bryston.

Storm and Bryston are both developing audiophile add-ons for 2020. StormAudio will be bringing out a higher end XLR-4 out (like the Theta Premium and Xtreme DAC options). Consider the current one the premium. The extreme equivalent would be 2020.

Bryston's offering will likely be different than StormAudio's. Bryston would like to cater to their core market, audiophiles. What is most probable seems to be a 2-in 2-out XLR high-end DACS with analog bypass. Essentially a 2ch pre-amp on a module. It could possibly have AES/EBU and USB inputs as well. I love the idea and it helped confirm my decision to go with the Bryston SP4.

The expansion capabilities of the SP4 are a bit confusing to me. The ISP chassis has 1 full-width slot and 2 half-width slots. The SP4 has only a single full-width slot. However, their brochure has a picture that appears to have to half width slots. It could just be a photo of a prototype/preliminary design or a actually full-size motherboard to support half-width daughters. I will ask if no-one here knows.
G-Rex likes this.

Last edited by Marc Alexander; 05-21-2019 at 02:14 PM.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #687 of 904 Old 05-21-2019, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 171
FYI, an improved 4 channel output stage for the Storm is already out. I’ll be installing mine this wk.

I know that Storm also has plans for other super high end input/output boards and other things as well. This is not to say that the present boards aren’t excellent — anything but — just that the company is well aware of possible demand for more and is more than capable of meeting it. They wanted to hit a particular price point with their initial iteration of the component, but always planned for improvement/expansion. Note that the Storm is a 4U height unit vs 3U for the Bryston so there’s simply more room for future expansion.
Marc Alexander and G-Rex like this.

HT/Music Atmos setup with Scaena line arrays and Storm Audio processor

http://www.outreachav.com
Dealer for Paradigm/Anthem, NAD, Hegel, Storm Audio, PS Audio, more... PM about demos/specials

Last edited by rblnr; 05-21-2019 at 02:33 PM.
rblnr is offline  
post #688 of 904 Old 05-21-2019, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,265
Mentioned: 230 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5277 Post(s)
Liked: 4796
Quote:
Originally Posted by rblnr View Post
FYI, an improved 4 channel output stage for the Storm is already out. I’ll be installing mine this wk.
This what I referred to as the Premium using Theta speak.
Quote:
I know that Storm also has plans for other super high end input/output boards and other things as well.
Extreme
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #689 of 904 Old 05-22-2019, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I noticed that the I.ISP is no longer on StormAudio's product page. Anyone know why that is?
Apgood is offline  
post #690 of 904 Old 05-22-2019, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
This what I referred to as the Premium using Theta speak.
Extreme
In Theta speak, I'd consider the 'stock' output stages shipped in the ISPs to be Premium. The new 4 channel would likely be considered Superior or Extreme in Thetaspeak.

HT/Music Atmos setup with Scaena line arrays and Storm Audio processor

http://www.outreachav.com
Dealer for Paradigm/Anthem, NAD, Hegel, Storm Audio, PS Audio, more... PM about demos/specials
rblnr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
auro-3d , dolby atmos , dts:x , i.isp , stormaudio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off