Dirac Live using a computer - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By rboster
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 06:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Just north of the Sagamore Bridge
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Dirac Live using a computer

I am thinking about trying Dirac Live in my system and am looking for some advice. I have a Mac Mini and was thinking of utilizing an external sound card such as the Tascam 16/08. I have a Yamaha 5100 processor. The idea is to output the Yamaha into the sound card and then output from the sound card into my powered speakers. Thus I would maintain all of my sources.

Would this setup work?

Thanks in advance.

PS: I have a UMIK mic and owned a DDRC-88A so am familiar with Dirac. I kind of miss it and rather than order another from Hong Kong was wondering if this set up is even possible.

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.
tonygeno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Just north of the Sagamore Bridge
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I have communicated with Dirac and what I want to do is not a supported configuration. But, there is a plug in from RogueAmoeba called SoundSource that may work. So I'm going to give it a go this weekend.

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.
tonygeno is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 123 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2044 Post(s)
Liked: 834
The Savoy uses a MOTU 1248 with Audiolense. 34 channels in and 32 channels out.
(or was that 32 in and 34 out?)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Savoy hidden entry.JPG
Views:	86
Size:	150.6 KB
ID:	2305304  
Tedd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Just north of the Sagamore Bridge
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedd View Post
The Savoy uses a MOTU 1248 with Audiolense. 34 channels in and 32 channels out.
(or was that 32 in and 34 out?)
Was this a response to my question?

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.
tonygeno is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 24,795
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1600 Post(s)
Liked: 2178
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonygeno View Post
Was this a response to my question?
I don't think so, since the image was meaningless relative to the discussion
rboster is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Just north of the Sagamore Bridge
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post
I don't think so, since the image was meaningless relative to the discussion
I thought there was some hidden meaning.

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.
tonygeno is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dirty South Jersey
Posts: 2,099
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post
I don't think so, since the image was meaningless relative to the discussion
Sure it is (tangentially) -- the image says that Audiolense and JRiver in combination is a Dirac-like solution that was deployed.
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Just north of the Sagamore Bridge
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
Sure it is (tangentially) -- the image says that Audiolense in a Dirac-like solution that was deployed.
Got it.

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.
tonygeno is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 24,795
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1600 Post(s)
Liked: 2178
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
Sure it is (tangentially) -- the image says that Audiolense and JRiver in combination is a Dirac-like solution that was deployed.
My bad, I didn't read the corresponding paragraph below the image. I stand corrected.
DreamWarrior likes this.
rboster is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 10-26-2017, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 123 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2044 Post(s)
Liked: 834
I'm confused.

I should have pulled the image from the text perhaps?

It goes way beyond JRiver and Audiolense being a Dirac like solution. The Motu could replace a sound card and use the
USB 2.0/3.0 input. and there's lots of analog inputs leftover, for other sources.

Took me awhile to get my head around this, but my front end is now a Kaby Lake Win10 GTX 1060 and 4K netflix streaming is
apparently an option. Affordable 4K optical drives are hitting North America now too....

Now my Oppo 105 was looking for a reason to stay put, and it's ability to rip SACD and DVD-A to ISO might be that reason.
The 1248 can handles it's eight analog inputs, and maybe a Panasonic 9000's eight inputs too, if I want a 4K backup solution.

What I really find interesting is that htpc + MOTU 1248, might just cover every base I need, and then to input into powered speakers,
might be the dream "minimalist" system.
Tedd is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 10-27-2017, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dirty South Jersey
Posts: 2,099
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedd View Post
*snip*
What I really find interesting is that htpc + MOTU 1248, might just cover every base I need, and then to input into powered speakers,
might be the dream "minimalist" system.
I really wish one could purchase an affordable HDMI "input" card for a PC and there were Dolby Atmos and DTS:X decoders publicly available. It'd be awesome to leverage the processing power of a PC against an arbitrary HDMI stream (for both video and audio).
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 10-27-2017, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 103
That comes up from time to time. It's just not worth it IMO. You'll never get the reliability, simplicity, and quality out of a HTPC pre-pro. Blame DMR, Dolby, Microsoft, or pick your own. It doesn't really matter. You'll probably spend way more after factoring in the cost of the computer parts, software licenses, etc. Not to mention all the time wasted troubleshooting when Microsoft pushes a bad update or some software randomly starts glitching. You'll always be behind the eight ball when the next HDMI spec or whatever comes out.

HDMI makes it difficult to get any external source into the PC. Even if you did, then you have to worry about the latency or you're going to have lip-sync problems. If you are willing to live with all your content coming from the computer, then that simplifies. Of course, then several streaming sources are crippled on the PC. Check out the HTPC forum here and the replace your home theater pre-pro with a HTPC thread.

-tm
millst is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 10-27-2017, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dirty South Jersey
Posts: 2,099
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by millst View Post
That comes up from time to time. It's just not worth it IMO. You'll never get the reliability, simplicity, and quality out of a HTPC pre-pro. Blame DMR, Dolby, Microsoft, or pick your own. It doesn't really matter. You'll probably spend way more after factoring in the cost of the computer parts, software licenses, etc. Not to mention all the time wasted troubleshooting when Microsoft pushes a bad update or some software randomly starts glitching. You'll always be behind the eight ball when the next HDMI spec or whatever comes out.

HDMI makes it difficult to get any external source into the PC. Even if you did, then you have to worry about the latency or you're going to have lip-sync problems. If you are willing to live with all your content coming from the computer, then that simplifies. Of course, then several streaming sources are crippled on the PC. Check out the HTPC forum here and the replace your home theater pre-pro with a HTPC thread.

-tm
Make it Linux based and some of that goes away.

I don't really see the HDMI spec going higher than the HDMI 2.1 spec for quite some time. I believe it reaches the bandwidth limits of what can be sent through copper over typical distances.

I also highly doubt I'll ever see an HDMI 2.1 input card for a PC, so it really won't matter, lol.
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-27-2017, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 103
True, but then you're just trading for a different set of problems

-tm
millst is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-27-2017, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 123 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2044 Post(s)
Liked: 834
Wouldn't a hdmi input card kind of defeat why hdmi is here in the first place?

So I doubt we'll see a hdmi input card for a computer also. And while there are HDCP strippers out there,
I'd be worried about latency too, with a capture card and high resolution input.


Isn't hdmi 2.2 out, 2018?


I can't say I am into streaming services, but Netflix is a possibility, in a htpc with suitable hardware. I do
have enough content already that hard drive $$$ would seriously compete with "media acquisition" funds.
Tedd is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 10-28-2017, 12:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,150
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Linux is grading a whole new set if problems, notably neutering the HDMI card since you can't do the required drm if you want to do HDCP. And yes, you'd want to do HDCP.
Worf is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 10-31-2017, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tonygeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Just north of the Sagamore Bridge
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I spent the weekend trying to integrate Dirac Live with a Tascam 16-08 interface. Source was a Yamaha CX-A5100 feeding the Tascam with the Tascam outputs going to Genelec powered speakers. In order for it to work, you need additional software to interface the Yamaha and the Genelec. For the Mac I tried RogueAmoeba Soundsource (two channel only). It worked but I want 7.1.

I then tried RogueAmoeba Loopback. That worked but set up was complicated and I don't think it would be a reliable setup, at least it appeared a little too much work to get it going and I did get some very odd noises out of the setup.

So, I guess I'm back to the Minidsp DDRC-88A which I sold in July. Time to order up a new one I guess. I don't get why Dirac doesn't support the setup I am trying to achieve with a USB interface. If it had worked, I probably would have upgraded to a Focusrite Scarlett 18/20. Thanks to everyone for your suggestions.

Tony

In search of the Holy Grail.

Last edited by tonygeno; 10-31-2017 at 12:15 PM. Reason: typo
tonygeno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
computer , dirac live , sound card



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off