Marantz AV8805 15.2 XLR Pre/Pro Official Thread - Page 109 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1812Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by george1906 View Post
The 2i does decode and stream MQA and DSD files.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I believe the Node 2 does also, correct?
bambam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
I believe the Node 2 does also, correct?


I think when they released their firmware update for the Node 2, that enabled those to have the same functionality as the Node 2i.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
george1906 is online now  
post #3243 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by uberanalyst View Post
My original "old" 35-foot HDMI cable (actually only a year old) to the TV now works perfectly with the new AV8805 firmware, so I'll find another use for my new cable. The AV8805 previous software was obviously the problem, likely a side-effect of Marantz's initial eARC implementation (my 2018 LG OLED TV supports ARC but not eARC).


That’s interesting as switching to an HDMI cable I knew was certified from one that wasn’t fixed the audio issue for me in November and my run is only 15 feet. This latest update had no negative or positive impact on my setup.

In the end I think you’d be better off using the certified cable but whatever works. I’m still surprised the old 35 foot cable ever worked but as long as it does.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3244 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Do any settings need to be updated after the update.

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #3245 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeliemix View Post
Just to clarify, the analogue XLR input does AD/DA conversions no matter what even in DIRECT/PURE DIRECT modes?
Just want to know for sure because i was told when buying the unit that using DIRECT(PURE) would keep the signal analogue all the way through.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Correct.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3246 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Thank you jdsmoothie. Sort of defeats the purpose of the XLR inputs that if there is only RCA (on the 7.1 inputs) which can keep things purely analogue.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is online now  
post #3247 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct.
What is the purpose of the additional conversion from analog to digital if you are not doing room correction of any type?

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Pioneer SX-N30, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is online now  
post #3248 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
What is the purpose of the additional conversion from analog to digital if you are not doing room correction of any type?
Good question.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3249 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 27,548
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6957 Post(s)
Liked: 5935
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
What is the purpose of the additional conversion from analog to digital if you are not doing room correction of any type?
Bass management, time alignment, etc.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #3250 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Bass management, time alignment, etc.
I believe he was specifically asking about DIRECT and PURE DIRECT in which case neither of the above is enabled.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3251 of 3880 Old 02-08-2019, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,671
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2285 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The IMAX Enhanced DTS:X feature which was previously added in November 2018, was updated today to now include the "Manual" Audio Settings (High Pass filter, Lower Pass filter, Subwoofer mode). While the IMAX DTS:X disc is playing, select Audio Settings - Surround Parameter - IMAX Audio Settings - Manual to gain access to these settings.

Also included in this update was access to the last two remaining Web Control menus (GENERAL and NETWORK).
Thanks to this update and dialing in the same already crossover points, I popped in "Beautiful Planet" and found the audio so good I rewatched the whole thing
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3252 of 3880 Old 02-09-2019, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 1,547
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1129 Post(s)
Liked: 528
To get Auro 3D 10.1 what would you do if you have your atmos speakers in the ceiling already at 45 degrees in front and 45 degrees behind the MLP? Would you still configure it as front height and rear height even though it is in the top front and top rear position to get Auro 3D to work? and where do you connect your RCA for top center if you currently have a 5.2.4 Atmos setup. Also has anybody tired Auro 3d with top front and rear not height channels listed as height channels to get Auro 3d to work and how does it sound? I have a extra channel on my amp for another channel so why not add another speaker is my thinking.

THANKS
Dave-T is online now  
post #3253 of 3880 Old 02-09-2019, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave-T View Post
To get Auro 3D 10.1 what would you do if you have your atmos speakers in the ceiling already at 45 degrees in front and 45 degrees behind the MLP? Would you still configure it as front height and rear height even though it is in the top front and top rear position to get Auro 3D to work? and where do you connect your RCA for top center if you currently have a 5.2.4 Atmos setup. Also has anybody tired Auro 3d with top front and rear not height channels listed as height channels to get Auro 3d to work and how does it sound? I have a extra channel on my amp for another channel so why not add another speaker is my thinking.

THANKS
As noted on p. 305 in your Owner's manual, Auro 3D does not accept any of the Atmos "Top" speaker settings.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3254 of 3880 Old 02-10-2019, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I believe he was specifically asking about DIRECT and PURE DIRECT in which case neither of the above is enabled.

I'd guess noise floor? Its still a fully balanced connection.

JBL Array 1400, 880, & 800s on custom sound anchors / Revel C763L x4
Marantz AV8805 / TEAC NT-505 / Oppo 205 / Emotiva XPA DR3 / Emotiva XPA-7 Gen3
PSA S1801 x2
Bob Carver Crimson 350 tube monoblocks
JBL Everest DD67000s (awaiting amplification)
love_that_sound is offline  
post #3255 of 3880 Old 02-10-2019, 07:06 PM
Member
 
ekohn00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
AppleTV or ???????

So here’s the scenario: I have a plex server and view 1080 and 4K rips via an appletv to my 8805.
The RIPS have trueHD 7.1 or AC3 5.1 for the most part. But because of the appletv, everything is passed to my 8805 as PCM.

The 8805 then select multi-Chan in for movie sound processing. The sound is great!

The question is, should I be replacing the appletv with some thing that would allow the 8805 to process the trueHD or AC3 and possibly get better results??

Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ekohn00 is offline  
post #3256 of 3880 Old 02-10-2019, 10:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quick question because this tread moving so fast...If I'm watching Atmos movie are all six channels active top front, top middle, & top rear.

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #3257 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,552
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct, and as a result, no surround mode (eg. PURE DIRECT) can be selected.
You can use Pure Direct on an input that is using the 7.1 analog inputs.
Sam S is offline  
post #3258 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 04:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post
You can use Pure Direct on an input that is using the 7.1 analog inputs.
Indeed. Wasn't aware of that. Apparently to just cut out the analog video and front panel display.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3259 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,552
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Indeed. Wasn't aware of that. Apparently to just cut out the analog video and front panel display.
Yup. My preferred setting for listening to LPs!
Sam S is offline  
post #3260 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
DOC1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekohn00 View Post
AppleTV or ???????

So here’s the scenario: I have a plex server and view 1080 and 4K rips via an appletv to my 8805.
The RIPS have trueHD 7.1 or AC3 5.1 for the most part. But because of the appletv, everything is passed to my 8805 as PCM.

The 8805 then select multi-Chan in for movie sound processing. The sound is great!

The question is, should I be replacing the appletv with some thing that would allow the 8805 to process the trueHD or AC3 and possibly get better results??

Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
The odds are pretty high that you'd "hear" no difference at all. Decoding must be performed (and converted to PCM) before being passed to the DAC and your AppleTV 4K is more than capable of performing that task.

The only results that you could expect to be different is whether the display on your 8805 says "Multi-Channel" or "TrueHD" as the input format. With the display door closed, you wouldn't know the difference...
DOC1963 is online now  
post #3261 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 07:23 AM
Member
 
ekohn00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DOC1963 View Post
The odds are pretty high that you'd "hear" no difference at all. Decoding must be performed (and converted to PCM) before being passed to the DAC and your AppleTV 4K is more than capable of performing that task.

The only results that you could expect to be different is whether the display on your 8805 says "Multi-Channel" or "TrueHD" as the input format. With the display door closed, you wouldn't know the difference...


I understand what your saying.
My thought was either my appleTV is doing the decide or the 8805.

I just find it “strange” that the appletv decoding would be the same quality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ekohn00 is offline  
post #3262 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
DOC1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekohn00 View Post
I understand what your saying.
My thought was either my appleTV is doing the decide or the 8805.

I just find it “strange” that the appletv decoding would be the same quality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
The "decode" is a fairly straight forward process. The "quality" of the sound will still come from your 8805...
DOC1963 is online now  
post #3263 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 07:38 AM
Member
 
ekohn00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DOC1963 View Post
The "decode" is a fairly straight forward process. The "quality" of the sound will still come from your 8805...
So here's a trick question. AppleTV has the option to convert to Dolby 5.1 would this be better than PCM?
My thought is have it go to straight to PCM and not remix anything to a new 5.1 track?
ekohn00 is offline  
post #3264 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
DOC1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekohn00 View Post
So here's a trick question. AppleTV has the option to convert to Dolby 5.1 would this be better than PCM?
My thought is have it go to straight to PCM and not remix anything to a new 5.1 track?
No... "Best Quality" (which is presented as PCM) is always the best audio output option if you want a straight decode of the original native content.

Choosing "Dolby Digital 5.1" would decode the native content, then re-encode to 5.1 and pass along a DD stream. Any "hi-rez" formats like TrueHD or DTS-MA would be degraded...
batpig and ekohn00 like this.
DOC1963 is online now  
post #3265 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Question. If I run my Node 2i into one of the optical or coax digital inputs on the back of my 8805, the DAC in the 8805 will be used, correct? If so, which input or type should I use for no pure audio processing?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
george1906 is online now  
post #3266 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 08:01 AM
Member
 
mitohobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Harker Heights, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekohn00 View Post
So here's a trick question. AppleTV has the option to convert to Dolby 5.1 would this be better than PCM?

My thought is have it go to straight to PCM and not remix anything to a new 5.1 track?


Think of Dolby 5.1 as a compression format for “any” 5.1 PCM signal.
Pretty much all files look the same once uncompressed. Like a zip or arj file format.
However, they do allow for different efficiencies in reduction in file size.
Hence, Dolby ≠ DTS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mitohobe is offline  
post #3267 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekohn00 View Post
I understand what your saying.
My thought was either my appleTV is doing the decide or the 8805.

I just find it “strange” that the appletv decoding would be the same quality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
In this case, "decoding" is nothing more than "unzipping" the DD/DTS file to PCM. It doesn't matter whether the source or the AVP does the "unzipping", the end result is the same PCM file.
DOC1963 and ekohn00 like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3268 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 08:14 AM
Member
 
ekohn00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by george1906 View Post
Question. If I run my Node 2i into one of the optical or coax digital inputs on the back of my 8805, the DAC in the 8805 will be used, correct? If so, which input or type should I use for no pure audio processing?
definitely the 8805's DAC, which makes me ask what's the value of the Node 2i?
ekohn00 is offline  
post #3269 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekohn00 View Post
definitely the 8805's DAC, which makes me ask what's the value of the Node 2i?


Just want to see how the 8805 DAC sounds in this way. The DAC in the Node 2i is definitely outstanding but I need to connect it to the 7.1 inputs when I get back from vacay.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
george1906 is online now  
post #3270 of 3880 Old 02-11-2019, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Additional change log information for the recent update:

- While AVR displays Title/Artist/Album by status display, AVR will display "Spotify" after "Volume change, Mute, INFO, Sound Mode change, SLEEP, ZONE2 ON/OFF" operations.
- Audio is cutting out when using ARC via Low Quality Cable (Long Cable) after installing U18 firmware.
- Update the firmware version to 1.493.180 Music files in USB stick memory formatted with NTFS cannot be played on HEOS products.
audiofan1 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off