Marantz AV8805 15.2 XLR Pre/Pro Official Thread - Page 123 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1964Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 4250 Old 04-30-2019, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ediddy View Post
Can anyone recommend reasonable XLR cables for my new Marantz?
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
It depends on your definition of reasonable but I use Canare Star Quad and Mogami Gold microphone cable.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Good advice, Belden also offers great cables at reasonable prices. Those three are what you'll find in most recording studios. Bluejeans cable will custom terminate with high quality Neutrik connectors at honest costs.
https://www.bluejeanscable.com/store...udio/index.htm


At a little less cost are imported cables from Monoprice. In all likelihood a transparent quality cable.
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=33837
Ediddy likes this.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Sony UBP-X800M2 UHD-BD, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC

Last edited by Sal1950; 04-30-2019 at 05:37 PM.
Sal1950 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 4250 Old 05-01-2019, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
DAlba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Baton Rouge, LA USA
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have a 5.2.4 setup. I noticed when playing DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD and press receiver info button it shows the input signal correct but the active speakers shows that height speakers are also active. Is it always upmixing to include heights? On my 8802A if i played Dolby TrueHD the heights would not show active unless I selected Dolby TrueHD+Surround mode. Image attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1707.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	976.8 KB
ID:	2561046  
DAlba is offline  
post #3663 of 4250 Old 05-01-2019, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Feeling Victorious!

I've owned the 8805 for a short while. Got it set up for my main zone pretty quick. But, I have a Denon AVR-S740H 7.2 Ch AV Receiver in my backyard and another in my garage (man cave). I finally figured out a way to play music in all three locations using the new Marantz. I have an HDMI cable out from Zone 2 HDMI, which is set for HDMI pass through. The cable goes in to an HDMI splitter (J-Tech Digital JTD0102/4K). Out from the splitter are two HDMI cables (one to backyard receiver and one to garage receiver). Guess what? Full hi-rez multi channel audio in all three locations!

All music is output to the 8805 via HDMI from my Home Theater computer using JRiver Media Center. I have no plans for video in the backyard or garage.

Marcus
audiofan1 likes this.
Desert Pilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3664 of 4250 Old 05-01-2019, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Pilot View Post
Feeling Victorious!



I've owned the 8805 for a short while. Got it set up for my main zone pretty quick. But, I have a Denon AVR-S740H 7.2 Ch AV Receiver in my backyard and another in my garage (man cave). I finally figured out a way to play music in all three locations using the new Marantz. I have an HDMI cable out from Zone 2 HDMI, which is set for HDMI pass through. The cable goes in to an HDMI splitter (J-Tech Digital JTD0102/4K). Out from the splitter are two HDMI cables (one to backyard receiver and one to garage receiver). Guess what? Full hi-rez multi channel audio in all three locations!



All music is output to the 8805 via HDMI from my Home Theater computer using JRiver Media Center. I have no plans for video in the backyard or garage.



Marcus


If all of those devices are on your home network, you would not need the HDMI cables to connect them. Roon Labs software is so much better than JRiver Media Center for music file playback.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
george1906 is offline  
post #3665 of 4250 Old 05-01-2019, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,546
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4851 Post(s)
Liked: 5172
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAlba View Post
I have a 5.2.4 setup. I noticed when playing DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD and press receiver info button it shows the input signal correct but the active speakers shows that height speakers are also active. Is it always upmixing to include heights? On my 8802A if i played Dolby TrueHD the heights would not show active unless I selected Dolby TrueHD+Surround mode. Image attached.
It's a weird display bug. Nobody really knows why it happens.

Are you sure it's happening with TrueHD also? IIRC it only happens with DTS-HD.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #3666 of 4250 Old 05-01-2019, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Ediddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 150
It’s official proud owner of the 8805. I have my new amp and speakers being delivered next week. Getting the additional 4 speakers wired next week as well. I’ll be 7.2.4 in the next 8 days

(2) GoldenEar References, GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL, (4) GoldenEar HTR 7000 (atmos), (2) GoldenEar SuperSat 50’s, (2) GoldenEar Triton 7 (rears), Dual Seaton Sumbersive HP (Master / Slave), JVC NX5, Dalite 119 inch UTC, Panasonic BP - UB 820, Marantz 8805, Emotiva XPR 2, Emotiva XPA 9 (gen 3) Panamax 5102, Harmony Elite, 4K Apple TV
Ediddy is offline  
post #3667 of 4250 Old 05-01-2019, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by george1906 View Post
If all of those devices are on your home network, you would not need the HDMI cables to connect them. Roon Labs software is so much better than JRiver Media Center for music file playback
What you are saying may be true. But, I already had the receivers and hdmi cables in place. Plus, I have no brain bytes to learn a new system like Roon. I've got 5.1 hi-rez (192Khz) playing through my Garage and Backyard 5.1 set up now. I am happy.
Karl Maga and george1906 like this.
Desert Pilot is offline  
post #3668 of 4250 Old 05-02-2019, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 70
What's the product cycle for Marantz Preamps? About 3 years is it?

Mains: Revel Salon2's powered by ATI AT6002
Center: Revel C208
Surrounds: Revel F208
SW: SVS PB 13 Ultra
Amp: Emotiva XPR5 (surrounds & center)
LG 65 B6P & EF9500
steady teddy is offline  
post #3669 of 4250 Old 05-02-2019, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,546
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4851 Post(s)
Liked: 5172
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post
What's the product cycle for Marantz Preamps? About 3 years is it?
Depends what level.

The less expensive 770x models are mostly on the annual refresh cycle with the rest of the Denon/Marantz lower level models.

The flagship 880x is on more of a 3 year refresh cycle. The 8802/8802A (and its AVR sister the Denon X7200W) lasted about 3 years, with an optional hardware upgrade to HDMI 2.0a / HDCP 2.2 to keep them current.

The current 8805 (and Denon X8500H) came out less than a year ago and will likely be on a similar timeline, with an HDMI 2.1 upgrade available at some point (probably 1-1.5 years way) to keep them current.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #3670 of 4250 Old 05-02-2019, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 70
^Thank you

Mains: Revel Salon2's powered by ATI AT6002
Center: Revel C208
Surrounds: Revel F208
SW: SVS PB 13 Ultra
Amp: Emotiva XPR5 (surrounds & center)
LG 65 B6P & EF9500
steady teddy is offline  
post #3671 of 4250 Old 05-02-2019, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post
What's the product cycle for Marantz Preamps? About 3 years is it?
The AV7705 is likely to not be replaced this year, but instead be replaced in 2020 due to HDMI 2.1 being available. The AV8805 not likely to be replaced until 2023 due to the HDMI 2.1 board upgrade likely next summer.
steady teddy and audiofan1 like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3672 of 4250 Old 05-02-2019, 05:46 PM
Member
 
bitzerjdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Video Switching

Simple question - Does the 8805 allow for video switching while in standby mode? We have a separate TiVo for the kids so they don't fill the primary one up with their stuff and they like to watch things without the HT engaged.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by bitzerjdb; 05-02-2019 at 05:47 PM. Reason: Spelling
bitzerjdb is offline  
post #3673 of 4250 Old 05-02-2019, 09:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitzerjdb View Post
Simple question - Does the 8805 allow for video switching while in standby mode? We have a separate TiVo for the kids so they don't fill the primary one up with their stuff and they like to watch things without the HT engaged.

Thanks in advance!
Yes.

The <RC Source Select> setting (p. 195 Owner's manual) factory defaults to "Power On + Source." Change this setting to "Source Select Only" and then they can use the remote to select other sources while the AVP is in Standby.
giomania likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3674 of 4250 Old 05-03-2019, 04:24 AM
Member
 
bitzerjdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes.

The <RC Source Select> setting (p. 195 Owner's manual) factory defaults to "Power On + Source." Change this setting to "Source Select Only" and then they can use the remote to select other sources while the AVP is in Standby.
Great!!! Thanks. I almost pulled the trigger yesterday on one, but the sales guy told me it didn't do it.

Will order it today.

Thanks again
bitzerjdb is offline  
post #3675 of 4250 Old 05-04-2019, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
staaled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
If you're only correcting up to 600Hz, there is no difference between the Reference and Flat curves.

The only difference between the default Reference/Flat curves is:
1. The Reference curve includes the MRC dip (~2kHz), the Flat curve doesn't
2. The Reference curve includes a high freq roll-off (starting around 4kHZ), the Flat curve doesn't

In other words, the Flat curve is FLAT (duh) all the way from 20Hz-20kHz, whereas the Reference curve includes two adjustments (MRC dip and high freq roll-off) which BOTH occur well above the 600Hz cut-off you've selected.

I've got some lovely placebo pills to sell you though

I was strolling through this topic since my 7703 might be up for a replacement , the 8805.


Reference vs flat is in the high frequency roll-off. Both have the MRC dip.
staaled is offline  
post #3676 of 4250 Old 05-04-2019, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,758
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2342 Post(s)
Liked: 2917
Quote:
Originally Posted by staaled View Post
I was strolling through this topic since my 7703 might be up for a replacement , the 8805.


Reference vs flat is in the high frequency roll-off. Both have the MRC dip.
No! only the reference curve has the MRC dip.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3677 of 4250 Old 05-04-2019, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,546
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4851 Post(s)
Liked: 5172
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
No! only the reference curve has the MRC dip.
Just a heads-up for those using the Audyssey App -- an Audyssey employee has been participating on the dedicated thread for the App and actually clarified that IF you are using the App to calibrate, then the MRC dip WILL apply to the Flat curve if enabled in the App!

All the other App adjustments (like target curve changes, filter frequency range, and the high-freq roll-off shape) only apply to the Reference curve. However the MRC on/off toggle in the App does apply to both Flat and Reference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by j_at_audyssey View Post
Can confirm, MRC occurs in flat when using the app if you have MRC enabled.
In the non-app calibration MRC does not occur in flat and cannot be toggled.

Edit: Visual of Off vs Flat with MRC https://imgur.com/a/ABoe0ci
giomania likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #3678 of 4250 Old 05-04-2019, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,758
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2342 Post(s)
Liked: 2917
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Just a heads-up for those using the Audyssey App -- an Audyssey employee has been participating on the dedicated thread for the App and actually clarified that IF you are using the App to calibrate, then the MRC dip WILL apply to the Flat curve if enabled in the App!

All the other App adjustments (like target curve changes, filter frequency range, and the high-freq roll-off shape) only apply to the Reference curve. However the MRC on/off toggle in the App does apply to both Flat and Reference.
Just saw that! Interesting! wonder if further tweaking will be enabled as well?
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3679 of 4250 Old 05-04-2019, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
audiomanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hi all,

I finished setting up my new AV 8805. All is great so far. Had a slight delay in the Marantz detecting my ethernet connection and then the remote wouldn't work on it as well. Couldn't get the OSD to work so I finally unplugged it and plugged it back in and everything is working as it should. Just been listening to 2 channel music in Pure Direct mode via HDMI from my computer and it sounds great. I'm sure in time it will open up fully after its burned in. Audyssey was also setup with no issues.

I was wondering what the latest firmware version is for this unit. If someone can forward it to me that would be great. How do I know if I have IMAX Enhanced already on this unit?

Thanks again all.

audiomanz.
audiomanz is offline  
post #3680 of 4250 Old 05-04-2019, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomanz View Post
Hi all,

I finished setting up my new AV 8805. All is great so far. Had a slight delay in the Marantz detecting my ethernet connection and then the remote wouldn't work on it as well. Couldn't get the OSD to work so I finally unplugged it and plugged it back in and everything is working as it should. Just been listening to 2 channel music in Pure Direct mode via HDMI from my computer and it sounds great. I'm sure in time it will open up fully after its burned in. Audyssey was also setup with no issues.

I was wondering what the latest firmware version is for this unit. If someone can forward it to me that would be great. How do I know if I have IMAX Enhanced already on this unit?

Thanks again all.

audiomanz.
My Verizon net scanner just said the my 8805 has a vulnerability and that I should change its and the access password from the default.

Is this true and if so, how do I change the default password?

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #3681 of 4250 Old 05-05-2019, 12:39 AM
Senior Member
 
staaled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
No! only the reference curve has the MRC dip.



Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Just a heads-up for those using the Audyssey App -- an Audyssey employee has been participating on the dedicated thread for the App and actually clarified that IF you are using the App to calibrate, then the MRC dip WILL apply to the Flat curve if enabled in the App!

All the other App adjustments (like target curve changes, filter frequency range, and the high-freq roll-off shape) only apply to the Reference curve. However the MRC on/off toggle in the App does apply to both Flat and Reference.



Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Just saw that! Interesting! wonder if further tweaking will be enabled as well?

This was my info as well :
https://audyssey.zendesk.com/hc/en-u...-Target-Curves



I use flat with MRC off and some lift in the bottom end. Sounds excellent to my ears.
staaled is offline  
post #3682 of 4250 Old 05-07-2019, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,538
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6668 Post(s)
Liked: 6656
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The AV8805 not likely to be replaced until 2023 due to the HDMI 2.1 board upgrade likely next summer.
That a long way, I would hope/bet it will happen before that.
TL5 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3683 of 4250 Old 05-07-2019, 11:38 AM
TL5
Advanced Member
 
TL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That a long way, I would hope/bet it will happen before that.
I would bet the 8805 is replaced in 2021. Why should upgrading the 8805 to have hdmi 2.1 compatibility determine when a newer model is released? This wasn’t the case when Marantz upgraded the 8802 to the 8802A.
TL5 is offline  
post #3684 of 4250 Old 05-07-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 View Post
I would bet the 8805 is replaced in 2021. Why should upgrading the 8805 to have hdmi 2.1 compatibility determine when a newer model is released? This wasn’t the case when Marantz upgraded the 8802 to the 8802A.
There was only a 4 month gap from the AV8802 to the AV8802A. There will be over a 2 year gap from the AV8805 to the AV8805A. Unless there is newer technology released soon after the HDMI 2.1 upgrade, not likely to see a successor model until several years later.
T-smith and audiofan1 like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3685 of 4250 Old 05-09-2019, 04:34 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,873
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 398
I am really hoping the 8805 gets DTS: X Pro in a firmware update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
wyliec2 likes this.

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #3686 of 4250 Old 05-09-2019, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi to all compared to 8802 the 8805 sound has more heat and body ??? in the past I sold av 8802 because having previously had 8801 the latter seemed fuller in the low range, then I switched to yamaha cx-a 5100, now I have the cxa-5200 but I'm not satisfied with music and stereo, I would a more refined sound but at the same time with a warm tone, the new top of the range marantz has these qualities ?
vipkekko is offline  
post #3687 of 4250 Old 05-09-2019, 05:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipkekko View Post
hi to all compared to 8802 the 8805 sound has more heat and body ??? in the past I sold av 8802 because having previously had 8801 the latter seemed fuller in the low range, then I switched to yamaha cx-a 5100, now I have the cxa-5200 but I'm not satisfied with music and stereo, I would a more refined sound but at the same time with a warm tone, the new top of the range marantz has these qualities ?


You might want to look into a 2ch pre-amplifier with Home Theater bypass that has the sound you are looking for.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is offline  
post #3688 of 4250 Old 05-09-2019, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I wanted to know if in general the musical timbre was warm as av 8801 also in multichannel sacd -dvdaudio
vipkekko is offline  
post #3689 of 4250 Old 05-09-2019, 05:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The AV8805 not likely to be replaced until 2023 due to the HDMI 2.1 board upgrade likely next summer.

Super bummed about this news! I was hoping by late 2020 I'd be rocking an AV8806 with Dirac in leui of Audyssey!
boe likes this.
JonnyFive54950 is offline  
post #3690 of 4250 Old 05-09-2019, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,930
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3659 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Question on adding a audio transducer (bass shaker)

Hi guys - A friend gave me an AuraSound AST-2B-4 Pro bass shaker so I figured I'd check it out. I'm wondering what the best way is to connect it into my existing 8805. I'm already using both Subwoofer 1 and 2 XLR outputs. Connecting those to my SpeakerPower amp inputs. The SpeakerPower amp does have an XLR "Loop output". So I assume I can get an XLR out from there, and then send that to some external amp I add specifically for the AuraSound?

With that approach will there be a way for me to turn the AuraSound on and off easily? I'm sure something like this is fun for some content, but there'll be times when I want it off. If I wasn't using both XLR outputs then I could at least attached it on its own to Sub out 1 and then turn that on/off in the 8805 menu as needed.

Also while we're on the subject, any thoughts on a simple amp for the AuraSound? I feel like my friends gift may lead me down a deep rabbit hole here...

Thanks!
lovingdvd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off