Marantz AV8805 15.2 XLR Pre/Pro Official Thread - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1850Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3971 Old 05-09-2019, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,339
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22194 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Hi guys - A friend gave me an AuraSound AST-2B-4 Pro bass shaker so I figured I'd check it out. I'm wondering what the best way is to connect it into my existing 8805. I'm already using both Subwoofer 1 and 2 XLR outputs. Connecting those to my SpeakerPower amp inputs. The SpeakerPower amp does have an XLR "Loop output". So I assume I can get an XLR out from there, and then send that to some external amp I add specifically for the AuraSound?

With that approach will there be a way for me to turn the AuraSound on and off easily? I'm sure something like this is fun for some content, but there'll be times when I want it off. If I wasn't using both XLR outputs then I could at least attached it on its own to Sub out 1 and then turn that on/off in the 8805 menu as needed.

Also while we're on the subject, any thoughts on a simple amp for the AuraSound? I feel like my friends gift may lead me down a deep rabbit hole here...

Thanks!
When bass shakers are used, as you wouldn't want them to be EQ'd by Audyssey (ie. wouldn't connect them independently to Sub pre-out 2 when only using one sub), after running Audyssey on the one or two subs, the standard configuration is to connect a "Y" splitter to sub pre-out 1 with one out going to a sub and the other going to the amp used for the bass shaker. The bass shaker amp could be powered off when not required.
_Vindicare_ likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3971 Old 05-10-2019, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Ediddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 142
First weekend with the 8805 and atmos! Coming from the Integra 80.3 and adding atmos is incredible. I waited for a few other processors to get going but I’m in love with this processor. Glad I finally pulled the trigger

Next step cleaning up cables


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

(2) GoldenEar References, GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL, (4) GoldenEar HTR 7000 (atmos), (2) GoldenEar SuperSat 50’s, (2) GoldenEar Triton 7 (rears), Dual Seaton Sumbersive HP (Master / Slave), JVC NX5, Dalite 119 inch UTC, Panasonic BP - UB 820, Marantz 8805, Emotiva XPR 2, Emotiva XPA 9 (gen 3) Panamax 5102, Harmony Elite, 4K Apple TV
Ediddy is offline  
post #3693 of 3971 Old 05-10-2019, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Ediddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 142



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

(2) GoldenEar References, GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL, (4) GoldenEar HTR 7000 (atmos), (2) GoldenEar SuperSat 50’s, (2) GoldenEar Triton 7 (rears), Dual Seaton Sumbersive HP (Master / Slave), JVC NX5, Dalite 119 inch UTC, Panasonic BP - UB 820, Marantz 8805, Emotiva XPR 2, Emotiva XPA 9 (gen 3) Panamax 5102, Harmony Elite, 4K Apple TV
Ediddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 3971 Old 05-10-2019, 11:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,701
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2301 Post(s)
Liked: 2839
^ sweet setup and welcome to the lounge
audiofan1 is online now  
post #3695 of 3971 Old 05-11-2019, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
 
leadliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: West Chester, Pennsylvania
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 37
8805

it must sound amazing can you tell me what movie gives a good work out to the atmos speakers.
leadliner is offline  
post #3696 of 3971 Old 05-11-2019, 05:01 AM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadliner View Post
it must sound amazing can you tell me what movie gives a good work out to the atmos speakers.
Sicario: Day of Soldado has some excellent Atmos. Especially the helicopter scenes.
dinamigym is online now  
post #3697 of 3971 Old 05-11-2019, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Ediddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
^ sweet setup and welcome to the lounge


Thank you gonna be in this thread a lot. Super stoked about the 8805


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

(2) GoldenEar References, GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL, (4) GoldenEar HTR 7000 (atmos), (2) GoldenEar SuperSat 50’s, (2) GoldenEar Triton 7 (rears), Dual Seaton Sumbersive HP (Master / Slave), JVC NX5, Dalite 119 inch UTC, Panasonic BP - UB 820, Marantz 8805, Emotiva XPR 2, Emotiva XPA 9 (gen 3) Panamax 5102, Harmony Elite, 4K Apple TV
Ediddy is offline  
post #3698 of 3971 Old 05-11-2019, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tigerhonaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN. USA
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ediddy View Post
First weekend with the 8805 and atmos! Coming from the Integra 80.3 and adding atmos is incredible. I waited for a few other processors to get going but I’m in love with this processor. Glad I finally pulled the trigger

Next step cleaning up cables


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Ediddy,

Excellent choice my Good-Man see link below.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-ge...l#post58031826


Terry

JVC RS4500 Laser Projector:
My "New" Home Theater Up-Dates with Pictures, August 20th 2019 .
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-ge...st-2018-a.html
tigerhonaker is offline  
post #3699 of 3971 Old 05-11-2019, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Ediddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerhonaker View Post
Ediddy,



Excellent choice my Good-Man see link below.



https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-ge...l#post58031826





Terry


Kudos to you very nice setup


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
tigerhonaker likes this.

(2) GoldenEar References, GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL, (4) GoldenEar HTR 7000 (atmos), (2) GoldenEar SuperSat 50’s, (2) GoldenEar Triton 7 (rears), Dual Seaton Sumbersive HP (Master / Slave), JVC NX5, Dalite 119 inch UTC, Panasonic BP - UB 820, Marantz 8805, Emotiva XPR 2, Emotiva XPA 9 (gen 3) Panamax 5102, Harmony Elite, 4K Apple TV
Ediddy is offline  
post #3700 of 3971 Old 05-12-2019, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by leadliner View Post
it must sound amazing can you tell me what movie gives a good work out to the atmos speakers.
Try The MEG Bluray, one of the best Atmos mixes out there. The underwater scenes, etc are great. Be sure to select the Dolby Atmos track in the options, on startup it defaults to the DTS M mix.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD-BD, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satalites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Clementine bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #3701 of 3971 Old 05-12-2019, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,216
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6517 Post(s)
Liked: 6490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ediddy View Post
First weekend with the 8805 and atmos! Coming from the Integra 80.3 and adding atmos is incredible. I waited for a few other processors to get going but I’m in love with this processor. Glad I finally pulled the trigger
Next step cleaning up cables
Did you decide on a projector?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3702 of 3971 Old 05-12-2019, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Ediddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Did you decide on a projector?
I’m leaning strongly towards the NX5
_Vindicare_ likes this.

(2) GoldenEar References, GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL, (4) GoldenEar HTR 7000 (atmos), (2) GoldenEar SuperSat 50’s, (2) GoldenEar Triton 7 (rears), Dual Seaton Sumbersive HP (Master / Slave), JVC NX5, Dalite 119 inch UTC, Panasonic BP - UB 820, Marantz 8805, Emotiva XPR 2, Emotiva XPA 9 (gen 3) Panamax 5102, Harmony Elite, 4K Apple TV
Ediddy is offline  
post #3703 of 3971 Old 05-13-2019, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
rerickso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is 100BaseT the normal speed for the 8805?

I was reworking my home network and noticed that the link on my D-Link dumb switch for the ethernet wire to the 8805 was yellow/orange and not green.

I have hooked the 8805 to a TrendNet smarttweb switch and a Edgerouter Lite. Both also yield 100BaseT and when I try to force speed to 1000BaseT from those devices the ethernet port on the switches reverts back to 100BaseT.

I believe my master bedroom Marantz is running at 1000BaseT as it's link light is yellow-greenish like the XBox on the same dumb switch (Netgear).

I cannot change the speed/duplicity from the front GUI of the 8805 either.

Thoughts? Thanks.
rerickso is offline  
post #3704 of 3971 Old 05-13-2019, 11:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Question re: Audyssey and wireless speaker kit

Hey guys -

Every time I run Audyssey, it sets the distances for my rears at like 28-33 feet. I'm using a wireless kit for them (I rent, wood floors that I can't carve), so I'm assuming the kit is causing a slight delay. Should I adjust this distance and then the levels accordingly? or should I just leave it as detected by Audyssey? Just not sure if its changing the way the rears are supposed to produce sound. Hope this makes sense. Thanks for any input
Ethos4Lyfe is offline  
post #3705 of 3971 Old 05-14-2019, 01:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethos4Lyfe View Post
Hey guys -



Every time I run Audyssey, it sets the distances for my rears at like 28-33 feet. I'm using a wireless kit for them (I rent, wood floors that I can't carve), so I'm assuming the kit is causing a slight delay. Should I adjust this distance and then the levels accordingly? or should I just leave it as detected by Audyssey? Just not sure if its changing the way the rears are supposed to produce sound. Hope this makes sense. Thanks for any input


The auto setup/audyssey is very good at distances and levels so usually best to trust it. -unless something sounds wrong then better double check. Wireless speakers and many newer subs do have extra delay from processing.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is online now  
post #3706 of 3971 Old 05-14-2019, 04:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,627
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1959 Post(s)
Liked: 3732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethos4Lyfe View Post
Hey guys -

Every time I run Audyssey, it sets the distances for my rears at like 28-33 feet. I'm using a wireless kit for them (I rent, wood floors that I can't carve), so I'm assuming the kit is causing a slight delay. Should I adjust this distance and then the levels accordingly? or should I just leave it as detected by Audyssey? Just not sure if its changing the way the rears are supposed to produce sound. Hope this makes sense. Thanks for any input
Leave it. Audyssey is really measuring the delay, not the distance. Wireless always adds a delay. That's also why subwoofers are usually "wrong", as there is generally a small delay in the subwoofers electronics.
audiofan1 and Sal1950 like this.

My World Beating System!
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #3707 of 3971 Old 05-14-2019, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
Leave it. Audyssey is really measuring the delay, not the distance. Wireless always adds a delay. That's also why subwoofers are usually "wrong", as there is generally a small delay in the subwoofers electronics.
Yeah that's I figured...been running wireless for 3 years and same issue always. Thanks
Ethos4Lyfe is offline  
post #3708 of 3971 Old 05-14-2019, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 16,644
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6934 Post(s)
Liked: 15544
Looks like Onkyo is now part of the family.

Quote:
Already the parent company of an impressive family of premium audio
brands, Sound United announced a major move that will add another big
name in the space to its portfolio. The group has entered into a term sheet
with the Onkyo Corporation that will give Sound United ownership of
Onkyo’s consumer audio division—including the Onkyo, Pioneer, Pioneer
Elite, and Integra brands.
https://www.dealerscope.com/article/...ign=2019-05-14
gsr likes this.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is offline  
post #3709 of 3971 Old 05-15-2019, 12:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,627
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1959 Post(s)
Liked: 3732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
Looks like Onkyo is now part of the family.



https://www.dealerscope.com/article/...ign=2019-05-14
I'm not sure what the point is, unless they are planning on shutting down competitor brands. They don't need Pioneer or Onkyo, they have Denon. They don't need Integra, they have Marantz. I guess we'll see. Although(assuming Pioneer is still using D class amps, not up to date on that) it would be interesting to bring Audyssey to cool running AVRs.
gsr likes this.

My World Beating System!
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #3710 of 3971 Old 05-15-2019, 04:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
zimmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: montreal quebec
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 114
WOW now sound united not have compétition whit onkyo and pioneer .

marantz av 8805, 13 chanels, emotiva 2 xpa 5 gen1,1 emotiva xpa3 gen3, 7.4.6,4 speakers monitor 11 ,2 paradigm studio 100 v2,4 ceillings speakers ss82w sweet spot earthquake ,2 earthquake ecs-8.0,1 center Paradigm cc390,4 subs klipsch r-sw112 sw.antimod 8033 perfect bass kit paradigm, Buttkicker amplificateur lfe 1000 watts, , tv oled 65e6p,, room 12x25x7,bluray player oppo bdp 203,4coolers ac infinity s9 fan.
zimmo is offline  
post #3711 of 3971 Old 05-15-2019, 04:28 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,241
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 2290
^ Even though it's interesting, I'd suggest we move any further discussion of the Onkyo acquisition to a separate thread.
gsr is offline  
post #3712 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
OCLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Recently upgraded from the AV8801 to the AV8805.

Love the processor......movies sound even better than with the 8801, but I'm having a problem that I need some help with.

Not sure how else to explain it, but I'm living in HDMI hell since I switched processors.

Every time I sit down to watch Cable TV (Comcast 4k cable box) or 4k Apple TV, I have to reboot my cable box or Apple TV to get audio and video. Once I do that everything is ok and then later that day or the next day, I have the same problem.

I've tried switching out the HDMI cables. I'm now running the Belkin cables recommended for the 4K Apple TV. I've tried restoring the TV (Sony XBR65X900F) to factory settings. I've tried disconnecting the HDMI cables instead of rebooting the source devices, but that doesn't seem to do the trick. I'm really not sure what to try next. Is there a setting on the PrePro that will help with this?

Thanks,
Steve
OCLV is offline  
post #3713 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,767
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1428 Post(s)
Liked: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCLV View Post
Recently upgraded from the AV8801 to the AV8805.



Love the processor......movies sound even better than with the 8801, but I'm having a problem that I need some help with.



Not sure how else to explain it, but I'm living in HDMI hell since I switched processors.



Every time I sit down to watch Cable TV (Comcast 4k cable box) or 4k Apple TV, I have to reboot my cable box or Apple TV to get audio and video. Once I do that everything is ok and then later that day or the next day, I have the same problem.



I've tried switching out the HDMI cables. I'm now running the Belkin cables recommended for the 4K Apple TV. I've tried restoring the TV (Sony XBR65X900F) to factory settings. I've tried disconnecting the HDMI cables instead of rebooting the source devices, but that doesn't seem to do the trick. I'm really not sure what to try next. Is there a setting on the PrePro that will help with this?



Thanks,

Steve

This sounds similar to my issue before my entire HDMI board failed. Hopefully this is an easy fix issue but it is odd that it works for a while and then has an issue. The only thing that should change over time is the temperature as the unit heats up. Assume the 8805 is in the same location as your 8801? Is there enough ventilation?

Have you tried an extremely short cable or fiber optic? I have some extra ruipro fiber optic cables I am not using and would sell them at half price if you are interested. Use it and see if it helps and then pay me... return them if it does not help. Just an option I am offering to try and help. (Assume you are in the USA).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator S2, JTR Captivator S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (dual 15")
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #3714 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,339
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22194 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCLV View Post
Recently upgraded from the AV8801 to the AV8805.

Love the processor......movies sound even better than with the 8801, but I'm having a problem that I need some help with.

Not sure how else to explain it, but I'm living in HDMI hell since I switched processors.

Every time I sit down to watch Cable TV (Comcast 4k cable box) or 4k Apple TV, I have to reboot my cable box or Apple TV to get audio and video. Once I do that everything is ok and then later that day or the next day, I have the same problem.

I've tried switching out the HDMI cables. I'm now running the Belkin cables recommended for the 4K Apple TV. I've tried restoring the TV (Sony XBR65X900F) to factory settings. I've tried disconnecting the HDMI cables instead of rebooting the source devices, but that doesn't seem to do the trick. I'm really not sure what to try next. Is there a setting on the PrePro that will help with this?

Thanks,
Steve
Try each of the other HDMI inputs on the AVP to see if one works better than the current one. Also, to mitigate HDMI handshake issues, power on the TV first, pause 5 seconds, AVP, pause 5 seconds, source.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3715 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
OCLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
This sounds similar to my issue before my entire HDMI board failed. Hopefully this is an easy fix issue but it is odd that it works for a while and then has an issue. The only thing that should change over time is the temperature as the unit heats up. Assume the 8805 is in the same location as your 8801? Is there enough ventilation?

Have you tried an extremely short cable or fiber optic? I have some extra ruipro fiber optic cables I am not using and would sell them at half price if you are interested. Use it and see if it helps and then pay me... return them if it does not help. Just an option I am offering to try and help. (Assume you are in the USA).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Yes, the 8805 sits in the same location as the old 8801. I'm currently running class D amplification so nothing around it is getting warm, but just in case I have a small computer fan running on low speed behind it blowing air under the 8805 and I have lots of open space around the back. I do have a glass door in front, but tend to keep that slightly open when I'm running things at a spirited level. I check occasionally and I've never noticed it warm enough that I'd have any concerns. I don't believe heat is an issue.

I've tried a couple of 1m and 2m HDMI cables from different companies.

Haven't tried the optical route for a couple of reasons. The 4K AppleTV is HDMI only. Same story when I switched to the 4K Comcast box. They seem to have dropped everything but HDMI. I appreciate the offer for the cables. I have a couple of SPDIF and Toslink cables around the house.....but all of my current sources have dropped them.

I tried calling Marantz support a couple of weeks ago, but that wasn't not helpful. Interesting to hear you had a similar problem and then the board failed. I have to reboot my cable box almost every time. I think maybe once every two weeks it will work without a reboot and I can't ever remember not needing to restart the ATV.
OCLV is offline  
post #3716 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
OCLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try each of the other HDMI inputs on the AVP to see if one works better than the current one. Also, to mitigate HDMI handshake issues, power on the TV first, pause 5 seconds, AVP, pause 5 seconds, source.

Thanks, I'll give that a try. I'm using a Harmony Elite and haven't paid attention to the order or tried any delays. I believe the cable box it always on, but I'll see what I can find. Will be able to text with ATV easily.
OCLV is offline  
post #3717 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
DOC1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCLV View Post
Recently upgraded from the AV8801 to the AV8805.

Love the processor......movies sound even better than with the 8801, but I'm having a problem that I need some help with.

Not sure how else to explain it, but I'm living in HDMI hell since I switched processors.

Every time I sit down to watch Cable TV (Comcast 4k cable box) or 4k Apple TV, I have to reboot my cable box or Apple TV to get audio and video. Once I do that everything is ok and then later that day or the next day, I have the same problem.

I've tried switching out the HDMI cables. I'm now running the Belkin cables recommended for the 4K Apple TV. I've tried restoring the TV (Sony XBR65X900F) to factory settings. I've tried disconnecting the HDMI cables instead of rebooting the source devices, but that doesn't seem to do the trick. I'm really not sure what to try next. Is there a setting on the PrePro that will help with this?

Thanks,
Steve
Do you have “4K Signal Format” (found under HDMI Settings) set to “Enhanced”...? Older Marantz units didn’t have this setting, and you might have missed it, but is important to have set correctly. “Standard” is the default.
audiofan1 likes this.
DOC1963 is offline  
post #3718 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,011
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCLV View Post
Recently upgraded from the AV8801 to the AV8805.



Love the processor......movies sound even better than with the 8801, but I'm having a problem that I need some help with.



Not sure how else to explain it, but I'm living in HDMI hell since I switched processors.



Every time I sit down to watch Cable TV (Comcast 4k cable box) or 4k Apple TV, I have to reboot my cable box or Apple TV to get audio and video. Once I do that everything is ok and then later that day or the next day, I have the same problem.



I've tried switching out the HDMI cables. I'm now running the Belkin cables recommended for the 4K Apple TV. I've tried restoring the TV (Sony XBR65X900F) to factory settings. I've tried disconnecting the HDMI cables instead of rebooting the source devices, but that doesn't seem to do the trick. I'm really not sure what to try next. Is there a setting on the PrePro that will help with this?



Thanks,

Steve


If you’re using a XG1v4 4K DVR this is a know issue stemming back almost a year that Comcast has not been able to fix. I believe it’s an HDCP issue. Try another box from Comcast. I had same issues with my 8805 and finally the fourth one seems more stable. I don’t know if it helps but I have HDMI pass through on set to my CBL/Sat input which has my Xfinity box connected.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN2, Hi-Cap DR, ND5XS2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Emit 10, 2X JTR S1, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz C2 Power Distribution,X Power and speaker cables
jnelson2000 is offline  
post #3719 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
OCLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DOC1963 View Post
Do you have “4K Signal Format” (found under HDMI Settings) set to “Enhanced”...? Older Marantz units didn’t have this setting, and you might have missed it, but is important to have set correctly. “Standard” is the default.
Thanks......I do have it set to Enhanced.
OCLV is offline  
post #3720 of 3971 Old 05-19-2019, 06:17 PM
Newbie
 
OCLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson2000 View Post
If you’re using a XG1v4 4K DVR this is a know issue stemming back almost a year that Comcast has not been able to fix. I believe it’s an HDCP issue. Try another box from Comcast. I had same issues with my 8805 and finally the fourth one seems more stable. I don’t know if it helps but I have HDMI pass through on set to my CBL/Sat input which has my Xfinity box connected.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am indeed using the XG1v4 box. I believe its still the only Comcast 4K DVR.

I've reprogrammed my Harmony Elite based on jdsmoothie's suggestions on the startup order and delays. Seemed to work for ATV when I tried it. I'll know for sure in the morning once its had a change to sit for a few hours unused. Really hope that fixes my problem since I wasn't only having the issue with the cable box, but also the ATV.

If not, I guess I can try another XG1v4, but I'd like to get the ATV working consistently before I go down that path.
OCLV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off