Marantz AV8805 15.2 XLR Pre/Pro Official Thread - Page 51 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2015Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 4387 Old 05-05-2018, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,556
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22887 Post(s)
Liked: 12508
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysticRiver View Post
Thanks. Yes, it was turned up to 71, per instructions from Marantz tech support.
Should be set to either 80 or 0dB depending on which scale you are using.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 4387 Old 05-05-2018, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
JosephTonyStark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Are people still waiting on 8805 orders to ship? If so, how long ago were they ordered? Thanks.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

TV: Samsung 65" UHD LED | Sources: PS4; Panasonic DMP-BT460; LG UB870; Dell 7010 SFF; Roku Ultra | AVP: Marantz AV8802A | Amps: Emotiva XPA-1L\100 (LR\C); Outlaw Audio 7125 | Front LR\C: JBL Studio 590\Studio 520C | Surrounds: JBL P520WS | Subs: PSA S1801 | Heights: JBL Pro Control CRV (2)
JosephTonyStark is offline  
post #1503 of 4387 Old 05-05-2018, 03:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Are you not concerned about heat build-up with the equipment stacked up the way you have it?
If free standing, does the 8805 need special cooling or exhaust ventilation?

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1504 of 4387 Old 05-05-2018, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Should be set to either 80 or 0dB depending on which scale you are using.
Yes, I had to turn up the volume to zero during my first set up to get the tones. Once I had the multieq app set up all was clear.

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #1505 of 4387 Old 05-05-2018, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary Bechtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post
If free standing, does the 8805 need special cooling or exhaust ventilation?

Nope. It works fine. My 8802A was fine also.

Home Theater 5.1 Setup: Marantz AV8805, Sunfire TGA-7401, Monitor Audio Gold GX300 Front/Rear, Monitor Audio Gold GXC 350 Center, Rythmik Audio G25HP, Oppo UDP-203, Samsung PN64F8500
PC Audio 5.1 Setup: Denon AVR-X3300W, Monitor Audio Gold GX100 Front/Rear, Monitor Audio Gold GXC 150 Center, Rythmik Audio F12SE
Gary Bechtold is online now  
post #1506 of 4387 Old 05-05-2018, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bigguyca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Turkestan
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1193 Post(s)
Liked: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat2002 View Post
Finally got the 8805 hooked up with the Marantz family of amps. Sounds amazing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Are you not concerned about heat build-up with the equipment stacked up the way you have it?

Why did you ask the question? In the picture it appears there are fans units (AC Infinity) located between the stacked units. Do you see that as a problem? Have you had problems with those fans or ...?
bigguyca is offline  
post #1507 of 4387 Old 05-05-2018, 08:41 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,120
Mentioned: 410 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11495 Post(s)
Liked: 6797
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigguyca View Post
Why did you ask the question? In the picture it appears there are fans units (AC Infinity) located between the stacked units. Do you see that as a problem? Have you had problems with those fans or ...?
Probably because I am unfamiliar with the AC Infinity units and did not know they were fans. My apology.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #1508 of 4387 Old 05-06-2018, 03:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,556
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22887 Post(s)
Liked: 12508
Quote:
Originally Posted by JosephTonyStark View Post
Are people still waiting on 8805 orders to ship? If so, how long ago were they ordered? Thanks.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
No reason to have to wait. Dealers have these in stock and ready to ship now.
gsr, audiofan1 and vn800art like this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-06-2018 at 04:06 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1509 of 4387 Old 05-06-2018, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,352
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Probably because I am unfamiliar with the AC Infinity units and did not know they were fans. My apology.
Jerry

I recently got 2 of them to sit on top of my 2 amps. Excellent build quality! Better than I've seen from similar companies. I have the rear exhaust model. They actually have some weight to them And do the job. I left mine set to the factory default of 85 F and the temp has yet to get higher than that. I bought the ones with the deluxe thermo control display - more flexible control settings than the standard model. I highly recommend for what they do.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #1510 of 4387 Old 05-06-2018, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6847 Post(s)
Liked: 6843
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat2002 View Post
Finally got the 8805 hooked up with the Marantz family of amps. Sounds amazing.
That is a nice rack ! Great set up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JosephTonyStark View Post
Are people still waiting on 8805 orders to ship? If so, how long ago were they ordered? Thanks.
The shortage is over, good dealers ship same or next day.....
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1511 of 4387 Old 05-06-2018, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,337
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 882
does marantz have any roadmap to 17 or 19 channels pre-pros or are they going to stop at 15 channels?

I'm not sure why they haven't gone to tascam 8 channel XLR breakout cables yet. It is a much simpler solution to wiring.

8 channel tascam to 8 channel amps would be nice and simple.

I am hoping for a budget alternative to the Trinnov Altitude's of the world for my brother's place that is being designed right now.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #1512 of 4387 Old 05-06-2018, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 179
who buys 8 channel amps? trinnov may have a few hundred systems out there. I don't know what you mean about simple. Its a fairly complex task pushing in a xlr connector.
love_that_sound is offline  
post #1513 of 4387 Old 05-06-2018, 08:39 PM
Member
 
bearcat2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fremont, NE
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That is a nice rack ! Great set up.
The shortage is over, good dealers ship same or next day.....
Thanks...a nice upgrade from an SR7010.
bearcat2002 is online now  
post #1514 of 4387 Old 05-06-2018, 11:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
In a commercial cinema, the overhead arrays are lined up exactly in between the center channel and the L/R screen channels. Obviously you're dealing with a huge screen (big viewing angle) and also the surrounds on the side walls are elevated so having the narrower overhead arrays creates more separation from the surround effects.



For home as you know Dolby recommends lining them up with the FR/FL speakers.



However, I think this "rule of thumb" should be overruled depending on the room layout -- for example, if the surrounds are elevated on the side walls, you would also want to bring the overheads inward to maintain separation. If your room is narrow such that the L/R mains are pushed out to near the side walls, I wouldn't want the overhead arrays spread out so wide that they are near the side walls.

So I would consider the "in line with FR/FL speakers" the MAXIMUM spread you would want, but in many cases you'll want them slightly narrower. A few inches aren't going to make or break the sound quality, the key is that they have adequate angular separation from the surround speakers and are still wide enough to give stereo separation for overhead effects.
Stay inside your FL & FR for width on all Atmos speakers. Better to be too narrow than wide and on its limits and missing the full effects because your too far off axis for the speaker.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #1515 of 4387 Old 05-07-2018, 04:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,556
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22887 Post(s)
Liked: 12508
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post
does marantz have any roadmap to 17 or 19 channels pre-pros or are they going to stop at 15 channels?

I'm not sure why they haven't gone to tascam 8 channel XLR breakout cables yet. It is a much simpler solution to wiring.

8 channel tascam to 8 channel amps would be nice and simple.

I am hoping for a budget alternative to the Trinnov Altitude's of the world for my brother's place that is being designed right now.
Highly unlikely.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1516 of 4387 Old 05-07-2018, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
sthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthompson View Post
Did you ever find a solution for this? I've purchased an HDFury Linker to see if that can resolve it. It's frustrating as it's the only reason I bought a PS4 Pro.
I've made some progress using HDFury Vertex. One thing I've found is to not have an additional monitor connected to the receiver. I thought the monitor was capable of 4k/60 hz, HDR, 4:4:4 but it obviously wasn't. The receiver will use the lowest common denominator is this situation. I've attached the Vertex settings and what the PS4 was picking up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1384.JPG
Views:	78
Size:	729.0 KB
ID:	2400050   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1385.JPG
Views:	70
Size:	792.6 KB
ID:	2400052   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1388.JPG
Views:	77
Size:	1.52 MB
ID:	2400056  
sthompson is online now  
post #1517 of 4387 Old 05-08-2018, 12:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchomkara View Post
Has anyone tried hooking up a ps4 pro to the 8805 ? I can’t get my system to putput HDR. I was setting up God of war 4. The ps4 is saying it will output only at 2k. And I need to change my video output on my TV. I have a Sony 65A1E. All systems are up to date.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthompson View Post
Did you ever find a solution for this? I've purchased an HDFury Linker to see if that can resolve it. It's frustrating as it's the only reason I bought a PS4 Pro.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthompson View Post
I've made some progress using HDFury Vertex. One thing I've found is to not have an additional monitor connected to the receiver. I thought the monitor was capable of 4k/60 hz, HDR, 4:4:4 but it obviously wasn't. The receiver will use the lowest common denominator is this situation. I've attached the Vertex settings and what the PS4 was picking up.

Setup Menù > Video > 4K Signal Format > Enhanced

PS4 Pro and Xbox One X works to 4K/60 HDR 10
Australopitecus Erectus is offline  
post #1518 of 4387 Old 05-08-2018, 02:24 PM
Member
 
bearcat2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fremont, NE
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennynike1 View Post
Time stamp is unknown, but near end of movie when PT Barnum rides the elephant over to his family. He gets off the elephant and says something to the animal. I would like to know if what he says is clearly intelligible to you on the 8805, or if it comes across as garbled or difficult to understand. Could be just the way it was filmed/recorded.

Trying to determine if what I am hearing is 8805 specific, if this may be a difference in utilizing hdmi vs coax cord when comparing to my old processor, just source material related, or related to some other issue.
He say's "that's a good girl." I can hear it nice and clear on my 8805.
audiofan1, hgosmelbfl and vn800art like this.
bearcat2002 is online now  
post #1519 of 4387 Old 05-10-2018, 02:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 17,160
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7230 Post(s)
Liked: 16442
FYI, there's a 7 minute update. Says it improves performance and stability.
audiofan1 and NJ_Audio like this.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #1520 of 4387 Old 05-10-2018, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Short Hills NJ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
FYI, there's a 7 minute update. Says it improves performance and stability.
Whats the firmware version? Dont seem to have an update on mine and the auto update is off.

Last edited by NJ_Audio; 05-10-2018 at 06:01 AM.
NJ_Audio is offline  
post #1521 of 4387 Old 05-10-2018, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 17,160
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7230 Post(s)
Liked: 16442
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ_Audio View Post
Whats the firmware version? Dont seem to have an update on mone, and the automupdate is off.
My firmware version remained unchanged. They must have found something that needed attention under the "improve performance and stability" banner but not significant enough to change firmware versions. I dunno?
NJ_Audio likes this.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #1522 of 4387 Old 05-10-2018, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
sthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Australopitecus Erectus View Post
Setup Menù > Video > 4K Signal Format > Enhanced

PS4 Pro and Xbox One X works to 4K/60 HDR 10
What are you outputting the video signal to? The JVC RS500, at least for me, has been a pia to get working with the marantz for full 4k/HDR
sthompson is online now  
post #1523 of 4387 Old 05-10-2018, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Short Hills NJ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Is anyone else having any issues with airplay sounding tinny and hollow? I upgraded from the 7012 which sounded great with airplay. When compared, the 7012 was running as a preamp, and all the setings were set to default. Same with the 8805. The only way to get the same sound out of the 8805 is to use an apple tv and to airplay Through that, otherwise it sounds aweful. Niether of them had audyssey running either. I feel like the 8805 should sound as good if not better out of the box. I did have a lot of issues connecting to the wifi in the beginning compared to the 7012. Maybe wifi board is having problems? Im starting to think i got a bummed unit. Am I missing something here?

Last edited by NJ_Audio; 05-11-2018 at 06:28 AM.
NJ_Audio is offline  
post #1524 of 4387 Old 05-11-2018, 09:58 AM
exm
AVS Forum Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ_Audio View Post
Is anyone else having any issues with airplay sounding tinny and hollow? I upgraded from the 7012 which sounded great with airplay. When compared, the 7012 was running as a preamp, and all the setings were set to default. Same with the 8805. The only way to get the same sound out of the 8805 is to use an apple tv and to airplay Through that, otherwise it sounds aweful. Niether of them had audyssey running either. I feel like the 8805 should sound as good if not better out of the box. I did have a lot of issues connecting to the wifi in the beginning compared to the 7012. Maybe wifi board is having problems? Im starting to think i got a bummed unit. Am I missing something here?

Are you using the same M-Dax settings?
exm is offline  
post #1525 of 4387 Old 05-11-2018, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dirty South Jersey
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ_Audio View Post
Is anyone else having any issues with airplay sounding tinny and hollow? I upgraded from the 7012 which sounded great with airplay. When compared, the 7012 was running as a preamp, and all the setings were set to default. Same with the 8805. The only way to get the same sound out of the 8805 is to use an apple tv and to airplay Through that, otherwise it sounds aweful. Niether of them had audyssey running either. I feel like the 8805 should sound as good if not better out of the box. I did have a lot of issues connecting to the wifi in the beginning compared to the 7012. Maybe wifi board is having problems? Im starting to think i got a bummed unit. Am I missing something here?
The WiFi board isn't your issue, either packets get there and you get music or they don't and you get stutters or nothing at all. Nothing in the WiFi board can cause the sound to degrade unless there are network congestion issues causing sluggishness and the service you're using transcodes the audio to "fit" the available bandwidth. However, I don't believe Airplay does, from what I've read it always decodes to lossless before streaming. So, either you have the bandwidth to stream the lossless data or you don't and it stutters or just doesn't play. The stream is sent, encrypted, over UDP. Thus, the receiver needs to decrypt the stream and, as such, if bytes are mangled it won't decrypt correctly and will likely sound nothing like music, not a degraded version of the music you're trying to play. Thus, I conclude, there is nothing wrong with your WiFi board -- whatever's causing your distaste for the musicality of your Airplay streams is a setting in the 8805 or caused by some perception bias.
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #1526 of 4387 Old 05-11-2018, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ_Audio View Post
Is anyone else having any issues with airplay sounding tinny and hollow? I upgraded from the 7012 which sounded great with airplay. When compared, the 7012 was running as a preamp, and all the setings were set to default. Same with the 8805. The only way to get the same sound out of the 8805 is to use an apple tv and to airplay Through that, otherwise it sounds aweful. Niether of them had audyssey running either. I feel like the 8805 should sound as good if not better out of the box. I did have a lot of issues connecting to the wifi in the beginning compared to the 7012. Maybe wifi board is having problems? Im starting to think i got a bummed unit. Am I missing something here?


Hate to somewhat derail but there has to be a better way to play the music you are trying to play as Airplay will never give you the best quality or anywhere close to it.

I’m assuming this is your iTunes music, is it stored on a computer that you can stream from using DLNA?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is online now  
post #1527 of 4387 Old 05-11-2018, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dirty South Jersey
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
Hate to somewhat derail but there has to be a better way to play the music you are trying to play as Airplay will never give you the best quality or anywhere close to it.

I’m assuming this is your iTunes music, is it stored on a computer that you can stream from using DLNA?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It is limited to 44.1khz CD-quality, but unless his source files are better than that, it's no different than DLNA so far as SQ. Of course, I'm not going to delve further down the hi-res rabbit hole, so....if you want that and believe you can hear the difference, then, true, Airplay will not allow it. If you're listening to your iTunes music library, which is likely going to be 44.1khz or less (how much HD music is available on iTunes? any?) and probably lossy, then it's more than adequate.
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #1528 of 4387 Old 05-11-2018, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6847 Post(s)
Liked: 6843
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat2002 View Post
Thanks...a nice upgrade from an SR7010.
LOL, that looks like a whole new level, not just an upgrade.....
bearcat2017 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1529 of 4387 Old 05-11-2018, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Short Hills NJ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
The WiFi board isn't your issue, either packets get there and you get music or they don't and you get stutters or nothing at all. Nothing in the WiFi board can cause the sound to degrade unless there are network congestion issues causing sluggishness and the service you're using transcodes the audio to "fit" the available bandwidth. However, I don't believe Airplay does, from what I've read it always decodes to lossless before streaming. So, either you have the bandwidth to stream the lossless data or you don't and it stutters or just doesn't play. The stream is sent, encrypted, over UDP. Thus, the receiver needs to decrypt the stream and, as such, if bytes are mangled it won't decrypt correctly and will likely sound nothing like music, not a degraded version of the music you're trying to play. Thus, I conclude, there is nothing wrong with your WiFi board -- whatever's causing your distaste for the musicality of your Airplay streams is a setting in the 8805 or caused by some perception bias.
Its not perception bias. I still have my 7012 and I'm a able to A-B compare them side by side and the results are night and day, not nuanced. Now I know airplay is not the best solution for streaming music but it was fine for me on the 7012. It was enjoyable, not harsh and tinny. I have a ad7200 nighthawk router so I'm sure its not bandwidth. Further more, if bandwidth was an issue the apple tv would suffer from the same issue when streamed to it and then to the 8805. So it either has to be settings or something is wrong with the unit. If it is getting where should i start?
NJ_Audio is offline  
post #1530 of 4387 Old 05-11-2018, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Short Hills NJ
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by exm View Post
Are you using the same M-Dax settings?
I'm going to check right now, but believe both were set to off.
NJ_Audio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off