Marantz AV8805 15.2 XLR Pre/Pro Official Thread - Page 53 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1964Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 4250 Old 05-19-2018, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,758
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2342 Post(s)
Liked: 2917
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
whats the bet.... a true high end flagship classe processor is re born with the help of the denon & marantz side of things given all three brands now part of sound united....

all that said ... I wouldnt turn up nose so much at denon or marantz things... I remember a comparison i was part off with the classe ssp800 vs the denon avp-a1hd flagship...I was happy i had the denon and person demoing ended up getting the denon. we also compared at the time the 2ch pre in the very beautiful cp700 and classe cd player. that slaughtered both the denon and the classe ssp for 2ch and musicality
Flash forward more than a few years and I'm listing to my 2/ch via hdmi and find it some of the most pleasing , tonally rich,transparent and harmonic structure for music I've heard . I'm sensitive to jitter you know and the communication from the 8805 to my ears has me excited about next music selection

Is it for everyone ? Probably not but that's why we have choices still atleast
bearcat2017 likes this.
audiofan1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 4250 Old 05-19-2018, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,538
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6668 Post(s)
Liked: 6656
Quote:
Originally Posted by love_that_sound View Post
and why exactly is this? Is it because Classe sells 50 processors a year ..or maybe in 2 years? What do you think one of these Marantz processors would cost if they only sold 50?
True that, this unit is a beast......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1563 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,932
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1564 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Rack shelf for 8805?

For those of you that have your 8805 mounted in a rack. What shelf are you using? My shelf is slightly too narrow so I can't push the 8805 all the way in due the the extra width near the front face of the 8805.

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1564 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
BillJulyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Web control?

Previous Marantz preamp/processors could be controlled from a PC via built-in menus accessed by the IP address of the unit. When I try that with my new AV8805 I get "access forbidden", even though I have "Network Control" set to "Always On". I realize I can use a Marantz AVR app on my iPhone or iPad to control it, but I liked having IP control through a PC. Am I missing something? Is there a way to accomplish this?

Home theater: Sony XBR75Z9D, McIntosh MX122 & MC8207, B&W 804D3, HTM1D3, 805D2, SVS SB-13, Oppo UDP-203, Atmos 7.1.4;
Living room: Sony XBR65A1E, Marantz AV8805, MC8207, B&W 802D2, 804D2, HTM2D2, 805D2, SVS SB-13, Oppo UDP-203;
Bedroom: Sony XBR65X950B, Marantz AV8802a, MC8207, B&W 805D2, HTM2D3, Oppo UDP-203
BillJulyan is offline  
post #1565 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12280
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillJulyan View Post
Previous Marantz preamp/processors could be controlled from a PC via built-in menus accessed by the IP address of the unit. When I try that with my new AV8805 I get "access forbidden", even though I have "Network Control" set to "Always On". I realize I can use a Marantz AVR app on my iPhone or iPad to control it, but I liked having IP control through a PC. Am I missing something? Is there a way to accomplish this?
The "Web Control" feature was dropped on all HEOS capable models beginning in 2016; however, has been returned beginning again with the soon to be released 2018 models. A firmware update is expected to be released to the AV8805 sometime in 2019 to return Web Control to the AV8805 as well.
BillJulyan and Sam S like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1566 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 08:45 AM
Newbie
 
emiliocb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Dsd

Hi,


Someone knows if:


1. When I put in STEREO one SACD I listen DSD native or the AV8805 convert DSD to PCM (I know that, I listen DSD native in DIRECT or DSD DIRECT).
2. When the AV8805 convert the DSD signal to PCM, convert audio at 24 bit / 88 KHZ PCM? or other?

Thanks in advance
emiliocb is offline  
post #1567 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliocb View Post
Hi,


Someone knows if:


1. When I put in STEREO one SACD I listen DSD native or the AV8805 convert DSD to PCM (I know that, I listen DSD native in DIRECT or DSD DIRECT).
2. When the AV8805 convert the DSD signal to PCM, convert audio at 24 bit / 88 KHZ PCM? or other?

Thanks in advance
What is your source device and what imput is it connected to?
mlknez is online now  
post #1568 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MN and AZ USA
Posts: 2,593
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1221 Post(s)
Liked: 1830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
The shortage is over, good dealers ship same or next day.....
Just to clarify, the shortage isn't over. They are air-freighting in some product at the end of the month because they are way behind. i.e. If you placed an order today, zero are in stock at the factory. In about a month(ish), they should be falling off the shelf. But if a dealer placed an order today, I predict he would not get one for a solid month.

That info comes from the very top while I was at the Munich HiFi Show.
gsr likes this.

Steve (Owner) Sound Video
SteveH is online now  
post #1569 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MN and AZ USA
Posts: 2,593
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1221 Post(s)
Liked: 1830
As an interesting side note, read https://www.cnet.com/news/denon-and-...r-patent-case/

"Denon's parent company Sound United has announced it has reached a settlement with Sonos over potential patent infringement by Denon's HEOS wireless speakers."
gsr and jjackkrash like this.

Steve (Owner) Sound Video
SteveH is online now  
post #1570 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
ddgdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Auro 3d firmware update dates have been released:

· Denon AVR/AVC-X8500: May 24th, 2018

· Marantz AV8805: May 31st, 2018
ddgdl is online now  
post #1571 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
emiliocb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
What is your source device and what imput is it connected to?
Thanks Mlknez:

My player is oppo UDP-205, which has one HDMI output (Audio Only) with jitter audio reduction circuit. Over this HDMI, DSD data is output without any conversión (I suppose the AV8805 supports DSD over HDMI, I can not find that information in the User manual).


Thanks in advance
emiliocb is offline  
post #1572 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bigguyca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Turkestan
Posts: 1,758
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1095 Post(s)
Liked: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliocb View Post
Thanks Mlknez:

My player is oppo UDP-205, which has one HDMI output (Audio Only) with jitter audio reduction circuit. Over this HDMI, DSD data is output without any conversión (I suppose the AV8805 supports DSD over HDMI, I can not find that information in the User manual).

Thanks in advance

Just for information, this OPPO feature isn't of value with the Marantz AV8805 since the AV8805 has its own jitter reduction and local clocking circuitry for HDMI as do many other at least higher level Marantz and Denon AVR's and AVP's.

According to the OPPO paper on UDP-205 HDMI jitter reduction circuitry:

"If the decoder uses a completely new, locally generated clock to drive out the decoded data, then jitter reduction on the player side is not a benefit,..."
audiofan1 likes this.
bigguyca is offline  
post #1573 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 04:36 PM
Newbie
 
emiliocb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigguyca View Post
Just for information, this OPPO feature isn't of value with the Marantz AV8805 since the AV8805 has its own jitter reduction and local clocking circuitry for HDMI as do many other at least higher level Marantz and Denon AVR's and AVP's.

According to the OPPO paper on UDP-205 HDMI jitter reduction circuitry:

"If the decoder uses a completely new, locally generated clock to drive out the decoded data, then jitter reduction on the player side is not a benefit,..."
Ok thanks for the information.

The important thing about Oppo's HDMI is that it sends the native DSD decoding without conversion. Therefore, first of all: AV8805 supports DSD over HDMi ? I can not find that information in the User manual …

Thanks in advance
emiliocb is offline  
post #1574 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12280
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliocb View Post
Ok thanks for the information.

The important thing about Oppo's HDMI is that it sends the native DSD decoding without conversion. Therefore, first of all: AV8805 supports DSD over HDMi ? I can not find that information in the User manual …

Thanks in advance
Yup. DSD DIRECT (2CH) or DSD DIRECT (Multi CH), p. 315 Owner's manual.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1575 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddgdl View Post
Auro 3d firmware update dates have been released:

· Denon AVR/AVC-X8500: May 24th, 2018

· Marantz AV8805: May 31st, 2018
Anything else besides Aurora’s 3d?

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,
jmschnur is offline  
post #1576 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,769
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3768 Post(s)
Liked: 3378
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveH View Post
As an interesting side note, read https://www.cnet.com/news/denon-and-...r-patent-case/

"Denon's parent company Sound United has announced it has reached a settlement with Sonos over potential patent infringement by Denon's HEOS wireless speakers."
https://www.cepro.com/article/sonos_...atent_lawsuits

Yikes
Gooddoc is offline  
post #1577 of 4250 Old 05-20-2018, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
retate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
For those of you that have your 8805 mounted in a rack. What shelf are you using? My shelf is slightly too narrow so I can't push the 8805 all the way in due the the extra width near the front face of the 8805.

Marantz has a rack mound kit "RMK8003AV" that works for an AV8801, AV8802, AV8805, and some other Marantz models. It has worked well for me. I especially appreciate that I have not had to get a new custom rack mount when I have upgraded processors. I got my rack mount kit five years ago from SteveH.

Bob
retate is offline  
post #1578 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 03:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MN and AZ USA
Posts: 2,593
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1221 Post(s)
Liked: 1830
Quote:
Originally Posted by retate View Post
Marantz has a rack mound kit "RMK8003AV" that works for an AV8801, AV8802, AV8805, and some other Marantz models. It has worked well for me. I especially appreciate that I have not had to get a new custom rack mount when I have upgraded processors. I got my rack mount kit five years ago from SteveH.
The part number "RMK8003AV" for the rack mount is a bit confusing. As in, every person who has ever ordered over the past few years has to double check. In fact, if you google the part, http://us.marantz.com/us/Products/Pa...ctId=RMK8003AV the info is dated: it says: Rack Mount Kit for SR7010, AV8802A, and AV7702mkII. Of course it works for the AV8805 too and many many more receivers and processors.

Some fun background into the naming. Way back when in the late 90's, Marantz released a couple of preamp processors. One was called the AV500 and later updated to the AV550 (See https://hometheaterhifi.com/volume_5...processor.html ) By the way, both sounded TERRIBLE! Put 10 blankets over your speakers and you understand the sound quality. As a side note, it got good reviews. Rest assured, it sounded heavily veiled. I digress. But when they placed a large bet and decided to come back into the prepro area 7 years later, they changed to the sculpted cheek look that you still see today.

In 2007, Marantz came out with the AV8003 http://us.marantz.com/us/Products/Pa...oductId=AV8003 which was a really good sounding prepro but it lacked DSP horse power and the GUI was not nearly as good as the Denon counter parts. A major leap forward since the AV500/550. Again, I digress. But they needed a rack mount. So they called the rack mount kit the "RMK8003".

So for the prepro's, the RMK8003AV works and is dedicated for the AV8003, AV7005, AV7701, AV8801, AV7702, AV8802A, AV7702mkii, AV7703, AV7704 and now the AV8805. Additionally the RMK8003AV works for nearly all of the Marantz receivers too.
bigguyca and hgosmelbfl like this.

Steve (Owner) Sound Video

Last edited by SteveH; 05-21-2018 at 03:06 AM.
SteveH is online now  
post #1579 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
emiliocb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. DSD DIRECT (2CH) or DSD DIRECT (Multi CH), p. 315 Owner's manual.

Thank you very much for the reply.

Yes, it is 100% correct. In fact, p. 303 Owner's manual says that, via HDMI it supports DSD (2 ch and 5-1 ch) at 2.8 MHZ.
emiliocb is offline  
post #1580 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6,845
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2633 Post(s)
Liked: 1265
I have two rows of seating.

Per Dolby Guidance, I should have 2 sets of surround speakers, 1 set of rear speakers, and 3 sets of ceiling-bounce atmos speakers (I have low ceiling), plus LCR and subs.

Can this processor handle this?


I always struggle with how to place atmos in my setup. I have back row only 2ft from rear wall, and am currently using bipolars for both rears and surrounds. Using direct radiating surround speakers really complicates things both because of localization and # needed to address both rows and I'm not sure how I'd rectify it. Even if I moved the rows forward (which I could do, but would cosmetically look poor as it would interfere with the entry of the room) to reduce rear localization, it would still require two rows of surround channels if I am to adequately address both the first and second row with direct radiating speakers - plus the rears and heights which equals a lot of channels. Until I can solve this, in the meantime DPLIIz Height 9.2 w/ 1 set of bipolar surrounds & 1 set of bipolar rears seems to make more sense in still providing some height sensation and no localization without all the placement issues atmos would bring. I also fear spending all this money on extra speakers, amps, new processor - and the result is no better or worse than DPLIIz 9.2 height in my specific room setup.

This is why using bipolar speakers has been so useful in my setup to date, and what has held me back from Atmos, even though I really want to try it.

Last edited by Ruined; 05-21-2018 at 11:30 AM.
Ruined is offline  
post #1581 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 12:19 PM
Member
 
hgosmelbfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 4
So I just received my 8805 and I am upgrading from the Anthem AVM 60. My question is I am using a Oppo 205 blu ray player and should I run the hdmi cable via the video output to the 8805, and is there any difference running the hdmi audio only output? And what is the correct setting auto, bitstream or PCM. Thanks in advance.
hgosmelbfl is offline  
post #1582 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliocb View Post
Thank you very much for the reply.

Yes, it is 100% correct. In fact, p. 303 Owner's manual says that, via HDMI it supports DSD (2 ch and 5-1 ch) at 2.8 MHZ.
Just remember that when you output via HDMI, you bypass the DACs in the Oppo and use the DACs in the Marantz processor.
mlknez is online now  
post #1583 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12280
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
Just remember that when you output via HDMI, you bypass the DACs in the Oppo and use the DACs in the Marantz processor.
Which the vast majority of owners likely prefer as Audyssey is enabled.
mlknez and hgosmelbfl like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1584 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,932
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1564 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post
I have two rows of seating.

Per Dolby Guidance, I should have 2 sets of surround speakers, 1 set of rear speakers, and 3 sets of ceiling-bounce atmos speakers (I have low ceiling), plus LCR and subs.

Can this processor handle this?


I always struggle with how to place atmos in my setup. I have back row only 2ft from rear wall, and am currently using bipolars for both rears and surrounds. Using direct radiating surround speakers really complicates things both because of localization and # needed to address both rows and I'm not sure how I'd rectify it. Even if I moved the rows forward (which I could do, but would cosmetically look poor as it would interfere with the entry of the room) to reduce rear localization, it would still require two rows of surround channels if I am to adequately address both the first and second row with direct radiating speakers - plus the rears and heights which equals a lot of channels. Until I can solve this, in the meantime DPLIIz Height 9.2 w/ 1 set of bipolar surrounds & 1 set of bipolar rears seems to make more sense in still providing some height sensation and no localization without all the placement issues atmos would bring. I also fear spending all this money on extra speakers, amps, new processor - and the result is no better or worse than DPLIIz 9.2 height in my specific room setup.

This is why using bipolar speakers has been so useful in my setup to date, and what has held me back from Atmos, even though I really want to try it.
If your back wall is that close to your rear speakers then you don't need an additional set of surround speakers. That is a lot of speaker congestion in your second row. I only have one row of surround speakers in a 24ft deep room and the back of my second row chair is about 3 ft from my back cabinets. I would suggest a diffuse in ceiling Atmos speaker even if your ceilings are low. How low are they? Look at the two rows of seating. You need to create an elongated "sound hemisphere" around this area, so position the speakers to best do this while trying to adhere to the Dolby guidelines. I found that I like my Atmos speakers a bit closer in towards the center of my room vs. exactly aligned with my front L/R speakers.

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is online now  
post #1585 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question 8802A vs 8805

I know this has been hashed a few times...But it sounds like the sonic qualities are identical for the 8802A vs 8805. I don't need HEOS.



System:
Dual Classe M400 mono for front
Paradigm Signature 100 fronts with active paradigm center
4 ceiling speakercraft speakers powered by an old Citation 4 channel amp

1 Rel Gibraltor sub
Oppo205 4k
Optoma native 4k projector (laser)



I am looking to replace my Classe SSP800 AV with either the 8802A or 8805. Outside of the HEOS, I am just not seeing a reason to pay the extra $$ for the 8805 other than future proofing it with an HDMI2.1 board. Neither have a USB digital input either. I'll pay for quality and sonic/processing upgrades, but I am not seeing it unless someone can shed some light on the subject that I may be missing!!! Thanks for the help everyone!!!
aggiebob98 is offline  
post #1586 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Are video settings based on input? I want processing for the Fios input and pass through for the Roku (media) Hdmi input.
I checked the manual .It is based on input.

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,

Last edited by jmschnur; 05-21-2018 at 05:59 PM.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1587 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
emiliocb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
Just remember that when you output via HDMI, you bypass the DACs in the Oppo and use the DACs in the Marantz processor.


Thanks very much one more time


I imagine that the Marantz DAC will be much better than the OPPO one and therefore, in this way, the sound also ...

Having said that, I have another question, the OPPO service answered the following:

"Under Audio Output Setup change SACD Output from AUTO to DSD The player will then output DSD through HDMI and analog without a PCM conversion first."

Is that to say, for what they are telling me, oppo can send DSD natively, both by HDMI and by analog, without conversion in both cases ....

So, what is the difference, if it is sent by HDMI or analog?

Thanks in advance
emiliocb is offline  
post #1588 of 4250 Old 05-21-2018, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
MBrown2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveH View Post
The part number "RMK8003AV" for the rack mount is a bit confusing. As in, every person who has ever ordered over the past few years has to double check. In fact, if you google the part, http://us.marantz.com/us/Products/Pa...ctId=RMK8003AV the info is dated: it says: Rack Mount Kit for SR7010, AV8802A, and AV7702mkII. Of course it works for the AV8805 too and many many more receivers and processors.

Some fun background into the naming. Way back when in the late 90's, Marantz released a couple of preamp processors. One was called the AV500 and later updated to the AV550 (See https://hometheaterhifi.com/volume_5...processor.html ) By the way, both sounded TERRIBLE! Put 10 blankets over your speakers and you understand the sound quality. As a side note, it got good reviews. Rest assured, it sounded heavily veiled. I digress. But when they placed a large bet and decided to come back into the prepro area 7 years later, they changed to the sculpted cheek look that you still see today.

In 2007, Marantz came out with the AV8003 http://us.marantz.com/us/Products/Pa...oductId=AV8003 which was a really good sounding prepro but it lacked DSP horse power and the GUI was not nearly as good as the Denon counter parts. A major leap forward since the AV500/550. Again, I digress. But they needed a rack mount. So they called the rack mount kit the "RMK8003".

So for the prepro's, the RMK8003AV works and is dedicated for the AV8003, AV7005, AV7701, AV8801, AV7702, AV8802A, AV7702mkii, AV7703, AV7704 and now the AV8805. Additionally the RMK8003AV works for nearly all of the Marantz receivers too.

I had a Marantz AV-9000?? I think it was. I used it for what seemed like forever before HD and HDMI came out. Where did that fit in with respect to the AV500 & AV550(I don't remember them). Thanks.

Display: LG 65" OLED C7P + OPPO UDP-203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
Processor: Marantz AV8802a & Dual DDRC-88a BM 7.1.4 ATMOS Setup
Speakers: (6) B&W 685 S2 - L,R,SR,SL,SBR,SBL + (1) B&W HTM61 S2 - Center + (4) B&W CCM 682 - Atmos
Amps: (1) Rotel RMB-1585 + (3) Rotel RB-1582 MKII Subs: (4) SVS PC-2000's
MBrown2020 is offline  
post #1589 of 4250 Old 05-22-2018, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 490 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliocb View Post
Thanks very much one more time


I imagine that the Marantz DAC will be much better than the OPPO one and therefore, in this way, the sound also ...

Having said that, I have another question, the OPPO service answered the following:

"Under Audio Output Setup change SACD Output from AUTO to DSD The player will then output DSD through HDMI and analog without a PCM conversion first."

Is that to say, for what they are telling me, oppo can send DSD natively, both by HDMI and by analog, without conversion in both cases ....

So, what is the difference, if it is sent by HDMI or analog?

Thanks in advance
If you use HDMI, you use the DAC in the Marantz, if you use analog, you use the DAC in the Oppo
emiliocb likes this.
mlknez is online now  
post #1590 of 4250 Old 05-22-2018, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
emiliocb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
If you use HDMI, you use the DAC in the Marantz, if you use analog, you use the DAC in the Oppo
Thanks again mlknez,

So, if with analog, the DAC (digital analog CONVERTER) of the OPPO is used, how is that OPPO service tells me, that with the analog signal the DSD is sent to Marantz, natively, without conversion? If so, what does the OPPO DAC do?

Thanks in advance
emiliocb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off