Marantz AV8805 15.2 XLR Pre/Pro Official Thread - Page 56 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1993Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 4334 Old 06-04-2018, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,350
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22769 Post(s)
Liked: 12419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simple SU View Post
I'm a dealer for Marantz and I am upgrading our personal theater from an AV-8801 to the AV-8805. I am running all BG-Radia planar magnetic speakers for my 7 and I have some Martin Logan in-ceiling EMIC speakers for my wide heights. Thinking about installing some front heights as we did wire for them. I am also running 2 subs and 2 in-wall subs. All Parasound Halo Amps so the first upgrade will be this processor and I have heard a monumental sound difference from a show demo that I was at recently. Can I use the wide height speakers in the Atmos configuration? We are using a JVC RS-4810 on a 110" SI Black Diamond 2:35:1 screen. Next upgrade will be the Bluray player (currently running an OPPO BDP-205 with a Parasound Halo Integrated (using the theater bypass mode for movies) which I will keep for music streaming unless the TIDAL app in the AV-8805 sounds better than the OPPO) and the projector as this projector upconverts to 4K but was a year before the JVC projectors could take a true 4k signal. Looking forward to this upgrade but pissed that OPPO is out of the game. Thinking about the top of the line Sony (UDP-800?) for a 4k Bluray player. Thoughts anyone?
If by "wide height" you really mean "Surround Height", then no, rather the SH configuration is only supported by DTS:X/DTS Neural:X/Auro 3D/AuroMatic.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 4334 Old 06-05-2018, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,785
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6789 Post(s)
Liked: 6791
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
Is there a remixed Atmos or DTS:X version, or do you mean upmixed; if the latter, which one?
Atmos or DTS:X came out after the release of that movie, still it is very impressive....Its like the first 3 mins of the movie.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1653 of 4334 Old 06-05-2018, 01:43 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Seeing the 8805 thread here, I was looking for a 7705 model, has anyone heard anything?
BattleAxeVR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1654 of 4334 Old 06-05-2018, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 1,607
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1175 Post(s)
Liked: 570
[QUOTE=jdsmoothie;56288126]If you use either the MultEQ Editor app (iOS/Android) or a USB stick, it should only take about 1-2 minutes to switch between various "Audyssey EQ'd" configurations. However, note that a Front Height+Rear Height configuration can be used by all three audio codecs (Atmos, DTS:X, Auro 3D) thus requiring only a single EQ and no switching required.[/QU

What would you do if you have your atmos speakers in the ceiling already at 45 degrees in front and 45 degrees behind the MLP? Would you still configure it as front height and rear height even though it is in the top front and top rear position to get Auro 3D to work? I am a bit confused.

THANKS
Dave-T is offline  
post #1655 of 4334 Old 06-05-2018, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,350
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22769 Post(s)
Liked: 12419
Quote:
Originally Posted by BattleAxeVR View Post
Seeing the 8805 thread here, I was looking for a 7705 model, has anyone heard anything?
The AV7705 isn't likely to be released until around Sep (as opposed to the AV8805 which was released earlier this year) so spec information should be released in August.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1656 of 4334 Old 06-05-2018, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,350
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22769 Post(s)
Liked: 12419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave-T View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you use either the MultEQ Editor app (iOS/Android) or a USB stick, it should only take about 1-2 minutes to switch between various "Audyssey EQ'd" configurations. However, note that a Front Height+Rear Height configuration can be used by all three audio codecs (Atmos, DTS:X, Auro 3D) thus requiring only a single EQ and no switching required.
What would you do if you have your atmos speakers in the ceiling already at 45 degrees in front and 45 degrees behind the MLP? Would you still configure it as front height and rear height even though it is in the top front and top rear position to get Auro 3D to work? I am a bit confused.

THANKS
I would as I do just that.
vn800art likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1657 of 4334 Old 06-05-2018, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Marantz app sub level not adjusting 8805

Hey everyone. I am really enjoying the sound of my Marantz. I would put it just about on par with my previous Datasat LS10.

Having said that I am having a recurring problem that my Marantz app sub level control will not adjust the sub level on the 8805. When I adjust the sub level on the Marantz app it shows that it is adjusting it on the phone screen and on the projection screen. But the bass is not affected.

When I go into the Marantz menus using the Marantz remote under Audio and then Subwoofer, the level is not changed and I can adjust it correctly with the remote.

Due to the fact that the app is communicating with the Marantz just fine for everything else I believe this is a bug. This has happened since day one and continues to be an issue. My Marantz is hidden behind cabinet doors and controlled via Control 4 so it would be very nice to be able to make bass adjustments on the fly with the app.

Anyone else have this issue?

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1658 of 4334 Old 06-06-2018, 02:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,350
Mentioned: 751 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22769 Post(s)
Liked: 12419
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Hey everyone. I am really enjoying the sound of my Marantz. I would put it just about on par with my previous Datasat LS10.

Having said that I am having a recurring problem that my Marantz app sub level control will not adjust the sub level on the 8805. When I adjust the sub level on the Marantz app it shows that it is adjusting it on the phone screen and on the projection screen. But the bass is not affected.

When I go into the Marantz menus using the Marantz remote under Audio and then Subwoofer, the level is not changed and I can adjust it correctly with the remote.

Due to the fact that the app is communicating with the Marantz just fine for everything else I believe this is a bug. This has happened since day one and continues to be an issue. My Marantz is hidden behind cabinet doors and controlled via Control 4 so it would be very nice to be able to make bass adjustments on the fly with the app.

Anyone else have this issue?
Can you use the app to adjust the speaker volume levels? Try doing a "soft reset" of the AVP by simply powering it off and unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1659 of 4334 Old 06-06-2018, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 5
This evening the processor has downloaded another update. No notes available, but now the firmware version coincides with the one reported on the Japanese Marantz website.
audiofan1 likes this.
Australopitecus Erectus is offline  
post #1660 of 4334 Old 06-06-2018, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Simple SU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Hey everyone. I am really enjoying the sound of my Marantz. I would put it just about on par with my previous Datasat LS10.

Having said that I am having a recurring problem that my Marantz app sub level control will not adjust the sub level on the 8805. When I adjust the sub level on the Marantz app it shows that it is adjusting it on the phone screen and on the projection screen. But the bass is not affected.

When I go into the Marantz menus using the Marantz remote under Audio and then Subwoofer, the level is not changed and I can adjust it correctly with the remote.

Due to the fact that the app is communicating with the Marantz just fine for everything else I believe this is a bug. This has happened since day one and continues to be an issue. My Marantz is hidden behind cabinet doors and controlled via Control 4 so it would be very nice to be able to make bass adjustments on the fly with the app.

Anyone else have this issue?
Wow, you put the 8805 on par with the DataSat?? That's impressive!! Now I can't WAIT for mine to come in!!
Simple SU is offline  
post #1661 of 4334 Old 06-06-2018, 11:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 17,082
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7190 Post(s)
Liked: 16333
Another update tonight. This one was 16 minutes. Two updates in less than a week. Marantz engineers are cooking with gas now.

Firmware changed from:

Version 7740-4060-5151-2044
DTS Version 3.90.50.00

To:

Version 7740-4060-5132-4054
DTS Version 3.90.50.00
audiofan1 likes this.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #1662 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 05:14 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,332
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1961 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
Another update tonight. This one was 16 minutes. Two updates in less than a week. Marantz engineers are cooking with gas now.

Firmware changed from:

Version 7740-4060-5151-2044
DTS Version 3.90.50.00

To:

Version 7740-4060-5132-4054
DTS Version 3.90.50.00
If this really is an upgrade, their versioning scheme is really weird - 5151 is (obviously) a bigger number than 5132...
gsr is offline  
post #1663 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
Another update tonight. This one was 16 minutes. Two updates in less than a week. Marantz engineers are cooking with gas now.

Firmware changed from:

Version 7740-4060-5151-2044
DTS Version 3.90.50.00

To:

Version 7740-4060-5132-4054
DTS Version 3.90.50.00
Yes. I have that now as well. It would be useful for the changes to be explained and the suggestions for a 5.4.2 amp assignment consistent with Aural 3D.

4 top does not give auro 3D; 4 height does.

Thanks
farsider3000 likes this.

Sony A1E, Marantz 8805, Montis, Bryston,

Last edited by jmschnur; 06-07-2018 at 12:28 PM.
jmschnur is offline  
post #1664 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
If this really is an upgrade, their versioning scheme is really weird - 5151 is (obviously) a bigger number than 5132...


The last numbers in any version are what matters but I get your point...makes you wonder how many versions they went through before releasing this one


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is online now  
post #1665 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 04:33 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,332
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1961 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
The last numbers in any version are what matters but I get your point...makes you wonder how many versions they went through before releasing this one
Usually the higher number earlier in the sequence is the higher version number, so 10.1 should be newer than 9.5, for example. Or 10.0.0.0 should be newer than 9.99.99.99. Essentially like real numbers, but with more than one decimal point available.
gsr is offline  
post #1666 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post
Yes. I have that now as well. It would be useful for the changes to be explained and the suggestions for a 5.4.2 amp assignment consistent with Aural 3D.



4 top does not give auro 3D; 4 height does.



Thanks


If I have 6 Atmos ceiling speakers is there a way to assign these that satisfies both Atmos and auro ? I don’t think there is.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1667 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Usually the higher number earlier in the sequence is the higher version number, so 10.1 should be newer than 9.5, for example. Or 10.0.0.0 should be newer than 9.99.99.99. Essentially like real numbers, but with more than one decimal point available.


Yeah but when the beginning numbers are the same the last numbers are what matters and we have no idea what transpired between 2044 and 4054.

They could have rolled back 5151 to 5132 as part of this update and implemented different changes that were part of 5151 in 4054 giving is the new features as part of the overall 7740


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is online now  
post #1668 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Can you use the app to adjust the speaker volume levels? Try doing a "soft reset" of the AVP by simply powering it off and unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes.
The soft reset did not work. Is everyone else able to adjust the subwoofer lever with no issues? Can I get a show of hands

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1669 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simple SU View Post
Wow, you put the 8805 on par with the DataSat?? That's impressive!! Now I can't WAIT for mine to come in!!
I had my Datasat for about a year. It sounded terrific but the 8805 offered me the ability to run 6 atmos ceiling speakers or wides. I do have to clarify that Dirac does sound better in my opinion than Audyssey but not its not a huge difference. The Marantz sounds terrific and I am very critical of my components. If I can just get the marantz app to function better regarding subwoofer level changes I will be 87.5% satisfied ( I still want Dirac and the ability to run 6 Atmos ceiling speakers, wides, and have even better control using the Audyssey app).

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1670 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 06:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,622
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4904 Post(s)
Liked: 5286
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
If I have 6 Atmos ceiling speakers is there a way to assign these that satisfies both Atmos and auro ? I don’t think there is.
Auro3D only supports "height" speakers (front / surround / rear). The only "top" speaker it supports is the "top surround" (aka the "Voice of God" speaker).

So if you currently have 6 Atmos configured ceiling speakers (front/middle/rear) you can use 4 of them with Auro3D by assigning them as Front Height + Top Middle + Rear Height. In this config Atmos/DSU will use all 6, whereas Auro3D and DTS:X/Neural:X will use the Front/Rear Height speakers.

You can actually configure 8 height speakers if you want to expand Auro3D further, adding a "Center Height" speaker in between the front heights as well as the VoG speaker directly above. Unfortunately, you can't use the "Top Middle" speaker pair as a VoG speaker (dual mono) with Auro3D, that kind of dynamic remapping based on surround mode is something a (much) more expensive processor like Datasat can do though.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #1671 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Auro3D only supports "height" speakers (front / surround / rear). The only "top" speaker it supports is the "top surround" (aka the "Voice of God" speaker).



So if you currently have 6 Atmos configured ceiling speakers (front/middle/rear) you can use 4 of them with Auro3D by assigning them as Front Height + Top Middle + Rear Height. In this config Atmos/DSU will use all 6, whereas Auro3D and DTS:X/Neural:X will use the Front/Rear Height speakers.



You can actually configure 8 height speakers if you want to expand Auro3D further, adding a "Center Height" speaker in between the front heights as well as the VoG speaker directly above. Unfortunately, you can't use the "Top Middle" speaker pair as a VoG speaker (dual mono) with Auro3D, that kind of dynamic remapping based on surround mode is something a (much) more expensive processor like Datasat can do though.


It’s funny you say that since my previous processor was a Datasat LS10. It did not have enough channels for me though. I know the Trinnov will do it as well.

It’s too bad that Auro won’t use my two middle. Will there be any negative effects for Atmos or DTS:X if I set up my speakers within the 8805 like you have suggested ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1672 of 4334 Old 06-07-2018, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
retate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The AV8805 is now in the Logitech Harmony remote device database. When I had checked previously it was not available.
rickcfer and JosephTonyStark like this.

Bob
retate is offline  
post #1673 of 4334 Old 06-08-2018, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Youg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Auro3D only supports "height" speakers (front / surround / rear). The only "top" speaker it supports is the "top surround" (aka the "Voice of God" speaker).

So if you currently have 6 Atmos configured ceiling speakers (front/middle/rear) you can use 4 of them with Auro3D by assigning them as Front Height + Top Middle + Rear Height. In this config Atmos/DSU will use all 6, whereas Auro3D and DTS:X/Neural:X will use the Front/Rear Height speakers.

You can actually configure 8 height speakers if you want to expand Auro3D further, adding a "Center Height" speaker in between the front heights as well as the VoG speaker directly above. Unfortunately, you can't use the "Top Middle" speaker pair as a VoG speaker (dual mono) with Auro3D, that kind of dynamic remapping based on surround mode is something a (much) more expensive processor like Datasat can do though.
I was planning for this exact setup (6 in ceiling)...do you think adding a 7th in ceiling speaker for VOG would be a nice addition? Is it worth it? Or if instead of the VoG\Center height, wides would be a better used?
Youg is offline  
post #1674 of 4334 Old 06-08-2018, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Youg View Post
I was planning for this exact setup (6 in ceiling)...do you think adding a 7th in ceiling speaker for VOG would be a nice addition? Is it worth it? Or if instead of the VoG\Center height, wides would be a better used?


There is very little content for Auro and now Apple is supporting Dolby Atmos so Atmos is the market leader now and the only challenger would be DTS:X but they don’t support nearly as many speakers and it seems that many of the mixes are not truly object oriented. I would focus on building your system around the market leader but hey it could not hurt to put in a VoG speaker.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #1675 of 4334 Old 06-08-2018, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
ronfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Kissimmee, fl
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I just got my 8805 in thanks to SteveH. I have a question regarding speaker set up and which XLR from the amps go into the pre outs on the 8805 for atmos / auro 3D. i got off the phone with Marantz and i want to verify what they told me. i have 5 ceiling speakers not 6 as most would have so i'm not sure the best route to take besides getting another ceiling speaker. What's the best pre out config for atmos? Marantz told me to use 2 of the surrounds as rear heights but that makes no sense to me. the part that has me confused is the height config on say page 224 or 227 of the manual. If i use the 5CH config what's the best combo of pre outs to use?
ronfla is offline  
post #1676 of 4334 Old 06-08-2018, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Youg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
and what about upmixing content? any benefits?
Youg is offline  
post #1677 of 4334 Old 06-08-2018, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Patrick20100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Youg View Post
and what about upmixing content? any benefits?

Not intending to interfere with another convo but just my $0.02


I was considering a VOG but I think I've decided against it. I just wanted something to play around with but with knowledge that:


1. There was little true Auro 3D content in the US.
2. Dolby has sent a notice (from what I've read elsewhere) that indicated Dolby would not allow up-mixing of any source using a Dolby track to anything other than a Dolby up-mixer.



If that is true, Auro up-mixing won't be available for much other than music in the US and even that assumes OEM's decide to leave that option in place.


I think if I do anything I'll just install a top middle pair (I have top front and top rear now) that I can run as a mono pair for a pseudo VOG when I want to play with Auro 3D and call it a day. I'm not even convinced I'll do top middle at this point since I just have single row seating and it may do more harm than good in my space when using Atmos.






farsider3000 likes this.
Patrick20100 is offline  
post #1678 of 4334 Old 06-08-2018, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary Bechtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I got another update and took about 10 minutes. It was pretty quick. It was a "stability" update.

Current Firmware...

Firmware Version: 7740-4060-5132-4054
DTS Version: 3.90.50.00





Old (Auro 3D update)...
Firmware Version: 7740-4060-5151-2044
DTS Version: 3.90.50.00
audiofan1 likes this.

Home Theater 5.1 Setup: Marantz AV8805, Sunfire TGA-7401, Monitor Audio Gold GX300 Front/Rear, Monitor Audio Gold GXC 350 Center, Rythmik Audio G25HP, Oppo UDP-203, Samsung PN64F8500
PC Audio 5.1 Setup: Denon AVR-X3300W, Monitor Audio Gold GX100 Front/Rear, Monitor Audio Gold GXC 150 Center, Rythmik Audio F12SE
Gary Bechtold is online now  
post #1679 of 4334 Old 06-11-2018, 01:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
There is very little content for Auro and now Apple is supporting Dolby Atmos so Atmos is the market leader now and the only challenger would be DTS:X but they don’t support nearly as many speakers and it seems that many of the mixes are not truly object oriented. I would focus on building your system around the market leader but hey it could not hurt to put in a VoG speaker.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
what does Apple have to do with anything?
love_that_sound is offline  
post #1680 of 4334 Old 06-11-2018, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1621 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by love_that_sound View Post
what does Apple have to do with anything?


Apple is a massive force in music and movies. If they have chosen Dolby Atmos over DTS and Auro it further cements Dolby’s position in the market and reduces revenue for the other two players.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5/P5 in-wall
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off