Marantz AV8805 15.2 XLR Pre/Pro Official Thread - Page 98 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1812Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2911 of 3879 Old 12-15-2018, 12:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Bielfelt View Post
New to the forum and have a question for current owners of the 8805.

I just received my unit tonight, and swapped out the 7703 I've been enjoying the past 2 years in my main setup. The issue I noticed is that my TV will randomly go black, like it's lost video signal, and the return within a second or 2. No impact at all to audio. It does this on all the sources I have hooked up and tested.

I've never once had this issue with my 7703. I even took my Denon 3300 from my bedroom and swapped out and there is no issue.

So, I'm just wondering if I have a defective unit or if there is something else I might be missing?

Thanks!
You might need to upgrade the HDMI cables to the certified ones if you haven't done so already.

- AUDIO: (7.2.4 Atmos) EMOTIVA RMC-1 | McIntosh MC-8207 + CROWN XLS 2502, 1502 | KEF LS50, SVS Prime Elevations, RYTHMIK G25HP + L22
- VIDEO: SONY OLED 65A1E | Panasonic UB820 | 44TB Synology DS1815+ | Dune Solo 4K | XBOX ONE X SCORPIO | PS4 PRO | Apple TV 4K | HTPC/Gaming Rig (Ryzen 3700X, GIGABYTE X570 I AORUS PRO WIFI, 16GB, STRIX OC 1080TI, Auzen HDMI XFi)
Geronimo.USMC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2912 of 3879 Old 12-15-2018, 01:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,671
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2285 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
I read/heard something awhile back, don't recall where, that the players do not need to be updated. Which is nice. Although Oppo is giving us HDR10+. Not that it matters. But I digress, as for Sony, not sure what they're thinking. The X1E processor has the power as evidenced by another set with the X1E getting the update. Maybe an email campaign to Sony saying, hey, how about a little something for the effort?
Yup! lets bug them till they let us have it

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
I tried the A Beautiful Planet disk today from my Pioneer LX-500 player without any issues and IMAX DTS:X lit up on the 8805.

Only difference I see is on the App when I check Input I see the speaker channels lit up which is not something I normally see for an Atmos or DTS:X track on that Input screen. It does however show them for non object based formats.

I didn’t watch much but the shots of the earth are amazing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I picked it up as well and will give it a go tomorrow, glad to hear it looks good.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #2913 of 3879 Old 12-15-2018, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,985
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6390 Post(s)
Liked: 6389
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2914 of 3879 Old 12-15-2018, 11:10 AM
Rise & Grind
 
dinamigym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SW Burb of Chicago
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Bielfelt View Post
New to the forum and have a question for current owners of the 8805.



I just received my unit tonight, and swapped out the 7703 I've been enjoying the past 2 years in my main setup. The issue I noticed is that my TV will randomly go black, like it's lost video signal, and the return within a second or 2. No impact at all to audio. It does this on all the sources I have hooked up and tested.



I've never once had this issue with my 7703. I even took my Denon 3300 from my bedroom and swapped out and there is no issue.



So, I'm just wondering if I have a defective unit or if there is something else I might be missing?



Thanks!


Did you check your settings. Make sure it’s on enhanced if devices support?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Trinnov Altitude 16, Magico A3, Magico ACC, Magico A1s, Dual Rythmik FV25HP
Amps- ATI AT523NC, AT524NC, AT528NC
Kaleidescape Terra Server/Strato, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV4k, XFinity X1
Sony VPL-VW5000, 136" 2.35:1 Stewart Studiotek 100 screen, Lumagen Pro 4242
dinamigym is online now  
post #2915 of 3879 Old 12-15-2018, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,913
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3639 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Bielfelt View Post
New to the forum and have a question for current owners of the 8805.

I just received my unit tonight, and swapped out the 7703 I've been enjoying the past 2 years in my main setup. The issue I noticed is that my TV will randomly go black, like it's lost video signal, and the return within a second or 2. No impact at all to audio. It does this on all the sources I have hooked up and tested.

I've never once had this issue with my 7703. I even took my Denon 3300 from my bedroom and swapped out and there is no issue.

So, I'm just wondering if I have a defective unit or if there is something else I might be missing?

Thanks!
Very likely to be your HDMI cable from the AVR to your display. What length and what cable are you using now? If you decide to go with Celerity HDMI 2.1 fiber cable let me know.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #2916 of 3879 Old 12-15-2018, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hey guys,

I have a question in regards to amp assignment & speaker layout on the 8805.

Im planning to have Front heights & rear heights with top middle in ceilings. So for Dolby, I would be doing a 7.2.6, pretty straight forward.

Is the marantz smart enough to let me assign the two top middle in-ceiling speakers as Voice of God channel (phantom VOG) to run a 12.1 Auro 3D setup ?

So in essence, 12.1 channels but 13 speakers, the voice of God channel will be done by the two in-ceiling TML & TMR speakers. Is this possible ?

Thanks in advance !

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
lampsy is offline  
post #2917 of 3879 Old 12-16-2018, 12:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by lampsy View Post
Hey guys,

I have a question in regards to amp assignment & speaker layout on the 8805.

Im planning to have Front heights & rear heights with top middle in ceilings. So for Dolby, I would be doing a 7.2.6, pretty straight forward.

Is the marantz smart enough to let me assign the two top middle in-ceiling speakers as Voice of God channel (phantom VOG) to run a 12.1 Auro 3D setup ?

So in essence, 12.1 channels but 13 speakers, the voice of God channel will be done by the two in-ceiling TML & TMR speakers. Is this possible ?

Thanks in advance !

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
No, the TS (VOG) audio would pass to the TML speaker only or you could install a dedicated TS speaker in between the two TM speakers. Additionally, you will need to use either a USB thumb drive or the MultEQ Editor app ($20 iOS/Android) to SAVE a copy of each Audyssey EQ for each of the two configurations (ie. FH+TM+RH and FH+TS+RH).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2918 of 3879 Old 12-16-2018, 12:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No, the TS (VOG) audio would pass to the TML speaker only or you could install a dedicated TS speaker in between the two TM speakers. Additionally, you will need to use either a USB thumb drive or the MultEQ Editor app ($20 iOS/Android) to SAVE a copy of each Audyssey EQ for each of the two configurations (ie. FH+TM+RH and FH+TS+RH).
Ah bummer !!

Tks.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
lampsy is offline  
post #2919 of 3879 Old 12-16-2018, 04:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
locutus2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Just received my new 8805. Setup was a breeze, first impression on AQ is very positive. Now i would like to enter service menu to test my HDMI cables for 4k 12 bit etc. Can someone please recall the procedure to enter the hidden service menu? Thanks
locutus2k is offline  
post #2920 of 3879 Old 12-16-2018, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,323
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4660 Post(s)
Liked: 4846
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No, the TS (VOG) audio would pass to the TML speaker only or you could install a dedicated TS speaker in between the two TM speakers. Additionally, you will need to use either a USB thumb drive or the MultEQ Editor app ($20 iOS/Android) to SAVE a copy of each Audyssey EQ for each of the two configurations (ie. FH+TM+RH and FH+TS+RH).
Why would he need to save the configs separately? He can select the "7ch" height layout with FH+TM+RH+TS.

Or are you specifically referring to the scenario of trying to repurpose the TM speaker as VOG vs. installing a dedicated TS speaker?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #2921 of 3879 Old 12-16-2018, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
liltalkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Coral Springs,FL, USA
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
I tried the A Beautiful Planet disk today from my Pioneer LX-500 player without any issues and IMAX DTS:X lit up on the 8805.

Only difference I see is on the App when I check Input I see the speaker channels lit up which is not something I normally see for an Atmos or DTS:X track on that Input screen. It does however show them for non object based formats.

I didn’t watch much but the shots of the earth are amazing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Does the 8805 already pass HDR10+ or will there be a firmware update for it?

Edit, NM I figured out that it doesn't yet. I hope it does get an update as I would rather one HDMI cable and not split the audio.

(Theater)Speakers: Martin Logan Expression 13A, Stage X, Dual Depth I Subs, Vanquish in ceiling (surrounds) | Processor: Marantz 8805 | Amp: Three Moon Simaudio 400m monoblocks,One Moon Simaudio 330a, PS Audio Directstream | Sources: DirecTV HR17, Mac Mini, PS4 Pro, Xbox One X, Panny UB820| Television: Samsung 75Q9FN | Remote: Logitech Harmony Elite
(Loft) Anthem MRX 520, LG 77G6P, Oppo UDP-203, Martin Logan Montis, Harmony Elite.

Last edited by liltalkm; 12-16-2018 at 05:56 PM.
liltalkm is offline  
post #2922 of 3879 Old 12-17-2018, 04:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Why would he need to save the configs separately? He can select the "7ch" height layout with FH+TM+RH+TS.

Or are you specifically referring to the scenario of trying to repurpose the TM speaker as VOG vs. installing a dedicated TS speaker?
The former.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2923 of 3879 Old 12-17-2018, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by liltalkm View Post
Does the 8805 already pass HDR10+ or will there be a firmware update for it?

Edit, NM I figured out that it doesn't yet. I hope it does get an update as I would rather one HDMI cable and not split the audio.
As a "flagship" model which will be around for 3 years, it will most likely receive the update, although no confirmation at this point in time.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2924 of 3879 Old 12-18-2018, 11:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
locutus2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Possible HDMI I/O issue

I have a brand new 8805 and i'm experimeting what could be an issue with the HDMI video I/O. The source is a Cambridge CXUHD player (an Oppo clone but -imho- better pq). The vpr is an "old" Jvc RS-57E, the new 4k native Jvc is on my list as soon as it will be available. The 8805 is connected to the vpr with a 66ft HDMI fiber cable Ruipro. The CXUHD is connected to the 8805 with a very short hdmi premium certified cable. The RS-57 even if not native 4k can accept 4k signals (no hdr 10/12bit etc.). This is the issue i'm experimenting:

- Cambridge CXUHD directly connected to vpr with 66ft fiber cable= 4K OK
- 8805 connected to vpr with 66ft fiber cable= 4K upscaling of 1080p input signals OK
- Cambridge CXUHD connected to 8805= not possible to select a 4k output on the player, it keeps saying that the connected gear is not 4K capable, only on start screen it works, on video reproduction it reverts to 108024p and there's no way to force it

Before you ask i have epxerimented with a variety of "premium 4K" hdmi cables from player to receiver (max 5ft lenght).

Any suggestion? I'm posting this on the CXUHD thread too
locutus2k is offline  
post #2925 of 3879 Old 12-19-2018, 12:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by locutus2k View Post
I have a brand new 8805 and i'm experimeting what could be an issue with the HDMI video I/O. The source is a Cambridge CXUHD player (an Oppo clone but -imho- better pq). The vpr is an "old" Jvc RS-57E, the new 4k native Jvc is on my list as soon as it will be available. The 8805 is connected to the vpr with a 66ft HDMI fiber cable Ruipro. The CXUHD is connected to the 8805 with a very short hdmi premium certified cable. The RS-57 even if not native 4k can accept 4k signals (no hdr 10/12bit etc.). This is the issue i'm experimenting:

- Cambridge CXUHD directly connected to vpr with 66ft fiber cable= 4K OK
- 8805 connected to vpr with 66ft fiber cable= 4K upscaling of 1080p input signals OK
- Cambridge CXUHD connected to 8805= not possible to select a 4k output on the player, it keeps saying that the connected gear is not 4K capable, only on start screen it works, on video reproduction it reverts to 108024p and there's no way to force it

Before you ask i have epxerimented with a variety of "premium 4K" hdmi cables from player to receiver (max 5ft lenght).

Any suggestion? I'm posting this on the CXUHD thread too
Try connecting to one of the HDMI inputs closer to the Zone 2 HDMI monitor output (ie. Media Player, Aux 2, or CD). Note when using the "CD" input, the INPUT ASSIGN setting must be changed from the factory default "Analog" to "HDMI."
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2926 of 3879 Old 12-19-2018, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,323
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4660 Post(s)
Liked: 4846
While the JVC RS57 accepts 4K signals, it does NOT have HDMI 2.0a / HDCP 2.2 inputs.

The 4K upscaled signals from 1080p are NOT copy protected 4K content, so there isn't any issue with the AVR scaling to 4K output and sending to the PJ.

However, when you actually try to select 4K from the player, it "knows" that the projector is not HDCP 2.2 certified so it steps down to the 1080p output.

As to why it worked with the CXUHD connected directly to the PJ, I'm assuming it's doing some kind of handshake and automatically stepping down the output to a "legal" signal, but with the AVR in the middle as a switch it isn't able to do so. When you connect the CXUHD directly to the PJ, and try to play a 4K BD, what does the projector report as the input signal?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #2927 of 3879 Old 12-20-2018, 12:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
locutus2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
While the JVC RS57 accepts 4K signals, it does NOT have HDMI 2.0a / HDCP 2.2 inputs.

The 4K upscaled signals from 1080p are NOT copy protected 4K content, so there isn't any issue with the AVR scaling to 4K output and sending to the PJ.

However, when you actually try to select 4K from the player, it "knows" that the projector is not HDCP 2.2 certified so it steps down to the 1080p output.

As to why it worked with the CXUHD connected directly to the PJ, I'm assuming it's doing some kind of handshake and automatically stepping down the output to a "legal" signal, but with the AVR in the middle as a switch it isn't able to do so. When you connect the CXUHD directly to the PJ, and try to play a 4K BD, what does the projector report as the input signal?
The vpr report the direct CXUHD signal as 4K 2K 24 YUV 8bit and i can tell that the input signal is a real 4K in resolution because the eshift circuit is greyed out; If i ipass through the 8805 it reports 1080p24 YUV 12bit and the eshift is working to "upscale" to 4K.
I think that the HDCP 2.2 is the culprit. Well, i must wait for the true 4K to come out ...
locutus2k is offline  
post #2928 of 3879 Old 12-21-2018, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
locutus2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I'm planning to expand my home theater in the next moths, adding speakeers to complete a Dolby Atmos/DTS:X configuration. In the meantime i have the "classic" 5.1 setup that i'm using with my new Marantz 8805. In the owner's opinion what is the most effective way to listening to "virtual X" surround modes? DTS Virtual or Neural X, Auro Surround simulation Or just plain DTS-HD/Dolby TrueHD decoding? I've noticed that with DTS: Neural X The Cinema EQ is greyed out, is this normal?
locutus2k is offline  
post #2929 of 3879 Old 12-21-2018, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by locutus2k View Post
I'm planning to expand my home theater in the next moths, adding speakeers to complete a Dolby Atmos/DTS:X configuration. In the meantime i have the "classic" 5.1 setup that i'm using with my new Marantz 8805. In the owner's opinion what is the most effective way to listening to "virtual X" surround modes? DTS Virtual or Neural X, Auro Surround simulation Or just plain DTS-HD/Dolby TrueHD decoding? I've noticed that with DTS: Neural X The Cinema EQ is greyed out, is this normal?
The only "virtual height" mode would be "DTS Virtual:X" (only works on DTS and PCM audio). The other modes are simulation modes that would simulate 2.0 up to 5.1.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2930 of 3879 Old 12-21-2018, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Chokurei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Does it matter if I connect a Roku ultra directly to my 8805 or go through the Oppo? Is there a benefit from doing one over the other? Thanks.
Chokurei is offline  
post #2931 of 3879 Old 12-22-2018, 08:38 AM
Member
 
ShotFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm very confused, haha, some times it dosn't take much. I ordered a AV8805. I'm running a 7.2.4 system right now with the atmos in the front and rear positions. My question is with the AV8805 I can add two more sets of speakers, where should I put them? I read through the 8805 manual on speaker placements and became even more confused with all the different placement options and different decoders using different sets of speakers. HELP? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

9.2.6 - Using - Marantz AV8805, Titan 630lx's-LCR "Dual 15's", HTM-12's-Surrounds, Volt10's-Atmos
4x-UM-18-22 in Full Marty's
ShotFire is offline  
post #2932 of 3879 Old 12-22-2018, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chokurei View Post
Does it matter if I connect a Roku ultra directly to my 8805 or go through the Oppo? Is there a benefit from doing one over the other? Thanks.
The Oppo may provide better upscaling. Try it both ways and decide which you prefer.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2933 of 3879 Old 12-22-2018, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShotFire View Post
I'm very confused, haha, some times it dosn't take much. I ordered a AV8805. I'm running a 7.2.4 system right now with the atmos in the front and rear positions. My question is with the AV8805 I can add two more sets of speakers, where should I put them? I read through the 8805 manual on speaker placements and became even more confused with all the different placement options and different decoders using different sets of speakers. HELP? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
You could add Front Wide and Top Middle speakers noting the current 11 speaker limitation with DTS audio and 13 speaker limitation with Atmos and Auro 3D. For additional options, refer to p. 310 of the Owner's manual.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2934 of 3879 Old 12-23-2018, 01:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
locutus2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The only "virtual height" mode would be "DTS Virtual:X" (only works on DTS and PCM audio). The other modes are simulation modes that would simulate 2.0 up to 5.1.
Is it normal that on "DTS Virtual:X" the dynamic EQ is greyed out? Anyway the online manual is very poor on info.
locutus2k is offline  
post #2935 of 3879 Old 12-23-2018, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by locutus2k View Post
Is it normal that on "DTS Virtual:X" the dynamic EQ is greyed out? Anyway the online manual is very poor on info.
Yup, normal.

DTS Virtual:X - simulates height/surround from DTS/PCM audio when no Height/Top/Dolby speakers are configured; able to use Audyssey MultEQ XT32 (lower level models cannot even use Audyssey at all), but unable to use any other Audyssey feature (ie. Dynamic EQ, Dynamic Volume, LFC))
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2936 of 3879 Old 12-24-2018, 06:04 AM
Member
 
acidjazz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi together, does anybody know, what the max sampling rate on the Toslink input is? I onky get 24Bit/96khz through (MacMini build in output), is this correct? Thanks a lot!

Gesendet von meinem SM-G960F mit Tapatalk
acidjazz1 is offline  
post #2937 of 3879 Old 12-24-2018, 12:29 PM
Member
 
ShotFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I received my AV8805 today or what I thought was a AV8805. The package was unopened and the packing material was factory original, but what was in there was a AV8801. The remote and all the accessories are for the AV8805. Even the sticker on the lower right side says AV8805. Someone at Marantz screwed up. I'm bummed. Bought from Amazon, now I have to return it and wait for another one. !!!!!!!!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2695.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	2500502   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2696.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	1.21 MB
ID:	2500504  

9.2.6 - Using - Marantz AV8805, Titan 630lx's-LCR "Dual 15's", HTM-12's-Surrounds, Volt10's-Atmos
4x-UM-18-22 in Full Marty's
ShotFire is offline  
post #2938 of 3879 Old 12-24-2018, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,940
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1430 Post(s)
Liked: 2187
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShotFire View Post
Well I received my AV8805 today or what I thought was a AV8805. The package was unopened and the packing material was factory original, but what was in there was a AV8801. The remote and all the accessories are for the AV8805. Even the sticker on the lower right side says AV8805. Someone at Marantz screwed up. I'm bummed. Bought from Amazon, now I have to return it and wait for another one. !!!!!!!!!!!
I wouldn't buy from that seller ever again. That is outright fraud. There is ZERO chance this happened directly from Marantz--none at all.
audiofan1, audiofan1 and drh3b like this.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

For Sale: JVC X750R Projector (RS500 Equivalent) https://www.avsforum.com/forum/252-f...l#post58241092
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #2939 of 3879 Old 12-24-2018, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,953
Mentioned: 700 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21986 Post(s)
Liked: 11925
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShotFire View Post
Well I received my AV8805 today or what I thought was a AV8805. The package was unopened and the packing material was factory original, but what was in there was a AV8801. The remote and all the accessories are for the AV8805. Even the sticker on the lower right side says AV8805. Someone at Marantz screwed up. I'm bummed. Bought from Amazon, now I have to return it and wait for another one. !!!!!!!!!!!
Amazon may have shipped it, but who was the seller? Amazon? Amazon Warehouse? 3rd party dealer?

As Dave noted, highly unlikely that Marantz would somehow place a 7 year old model in with the 2018 model line.
audiofan1 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2940 of 3879 Old 12-24-2018, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1409 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShotFire View Post
Well I received my AV8805 today or what I thought was a AV8805. The package was unopened and the packing material was factory original, but what was in there was a AV8801. The remote and all the accessories are for the AV8805. Even the sticker on the lower right side says AV8805. Someone at Marantz screwed up. I'm bummed. Bought from Amazon, now I have to return it and wait for another one. !!!!!!!!!!!


My guess is that someone bought an 8805 from Amazon and returned it with the 8801 inside. Maybe they opened the box from the bottom and resealed it? That is terrible that someone would do that and I am sure amazon will make it right.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator S2, JTR Captivator S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (dual 15")
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off