Onkyo TX-NR656 PC video and sound issues - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-09-2017, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
konjiki7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Onkyo TX-NR656 PC video and sound issues

I just purchased an Onkyo TX-NR656 its replacing a Yamaha rx series. I wanted hdr and [email protected] support...

Source = PC w/ gtx 1080
Display = oled55b7p TV

So I went threw the setup process and I saw video during the setup process and after it completed the video would no longer display? Tv simply states no signal received...

Tried the following
1. Hook hdmi directly to the TV works fine
2. Plugged cable into all HDCP 2.2 inputs 1-3
3. Changed resolution settings in windows 10 nothing will display
4. Reboot machine with different resolutions and refresh rates.
5. Enabled arc on both receiver and TV
6. Old receiver still works fine..
7. HDMI cables are old mono price active cables 10gbps(Figure is should at least get video and audio like the old system did)

Currently about to try some new 18gbps cables

Any suggestions?
konjiki7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-12-2017, 09:41 AM
Member
 
provels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by konjiki7 View Post
I just purchased an Onkyo TX-NR656 its replacing a Yamaha rx series. I wanted hdr and [email protected] support...

Source = PC w/ gtx 1080
Display = oled55b7p TV

So I went threw the setup process and I saw video during the setup process and after it completed the video would no longer display? Tv simply states no signal received...

Tried the following
1. Hook hdmi directly to the TV works fine
2. Plugged cable into all HDCP 2.2 inputs 1-3
3. Changed resolution settings in windows 10 nothing will display
4. Reboot machine with different resolutions and refresh rates.
5. Enabled arc on both receiver and TV
6. Old receiver still works fine..
7. HDMI cables are old mono price active cables 10gbps(Figure is should at least get video and audio like the old system did)

Currently about to try some new 18gbps cables

Any suggestions?
I just got one a few days ago and it seems to work fine with my old Win 7 HTPC (think it's a Geforce 9600), using a DVI->HDMI cable to PC HDMI and a Toslink optical to the CD input (reassigned to PC). Does your PC have dual display turned on?

__________________________________________
"How do I know what you hear?" - Firesign Theatre

Last edited by provels; 11-12-2017 at 09:45 AM.
provels is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-12-2017, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
konjiki7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I returned the unit and had the same issue with the replacement. I plugged in the cheap 18gbps cables I got off amazon and it works perfectly now.

I know there is a lot of marketing junk around hdmi cable and such.. however this unit would not work period with the old 10gbps cable I had laying around. It was definitely worth the effort it sounds better than the yamaha rx-675 it replaced and hdr and 4k work just fine with it.
konjiki7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off