Hooking up a second AVR for extra speakers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
  • 2 Post By PioManiac
  • 1 Post By PioManiac
  • 1 Post By Madmax67
  • 1 Post By PioManiac
  • 1 Post By PioManiac
  • 1 Post By SuperFist
  • 1 Post By ta-kid
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 12-27-2017, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ta-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hooking up a second AVR for extra speakers

So Having always used one AVR for my home theater system, I have always wondered how to use the Preamp outputs to add more speakers,like for Atmos effects.
So I bought a Yamaha 3070 which is replacing my aging 3900 AVR,for the added sound decoding,but the 3070 only has 9 channels and I will need 11.So instead of selling my 3900 I would like to use it to power some of the speakers but be controlled by the 3070 AVR.
So here are my assumptions and questions for those in the know to help me out.

1--I will just use the RCA pre out speaker outputs on 3070 to the corresponding RCA preout inputs on the 3900,correct?

2--Run the speakers wires from the 3900 corresponding speaker hookups(that match the RCA preout input) to the speakers.

3--Set the volume on the 3900 to what?Halfway or will 3070 set the preout output properly so it matches?Once I run mic setup.

4--What settings in 3900 should I default to before I run setup or use?

5--What speakers should I let the 3900 handle,Surrounds,presence speakers or maybe just the fronts?

6--How will I turn on the 3900 automatically when I turn on the new 3070.Can I use the trigger hookups for this or??

Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.

Last edited by ta-kid; 12-27-2017 at 10:09 PM.
ta-kid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 12-27-2017, 10:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 306 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3370 Post(s)
Liked: 8597
Quote:
Originally Posted by ta-kid View Post
So Having always used one AVR for my home theater system, I have always wondered how to use the Preamp outputs to add more speakers,like for Atmos effects.
So I bought a Yamaha 3070 which is replacing my aging 3900 AVR,for the added sound decoding,but the 3070 only has 9 channels and I will need 11.So instead of selling my 3900 I would like to use it to power some of the speakers but be controlled by the 3070 AVR.
So here are my assumptions and questions for those in the know to help me out.

1--I will just use the RCA pre out speaker outputs on 3070 to the corresponding RCA preout inputs on the 3900,correct?
Yes, 3070 Pre-Outs to 3900's Multi-Channel Inputs with RCA jacks

2--Run the speakers wires from the 3900 corresponding speaker hookups(that match the RCA preout input) to the speakers.
Yes

3--Set the volume on the 3900 to what?Halfway or will 3070 set the preout output properly so it matches?Once I run mic setup.

4--What settings in 3900 should I default to before I run setup or use?
Do a Factory reset, Set input to Multi-Channel, Set Initial on Volume to 0, Set Remote Code to ID 2, Run YPAO on the 3070.
If more Volume is required, YPAO will let you know by indicating +10 on the Presence speaker levels


5--What speakers should I let the 3900 handle,Surrounds,presence speakers or maybe just the fronts?
You only have 3 options in the 3070 Amp Assignment menu, Front, Rear Presence, or Front Presence + Rear Presence
(I chose Front Presence + Rear Presence and used the Front Left/Right and Surround Left/Right Multi-Channel inputs on the 3900)


6--How will I turn on the 3900 automatically when I turn on the new 3070.Can I use the trigger hookups for this or??
After you change the remote ID, use your old remote to power on/off. There is no trigger input for either unit, only trigger out.

Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.
Answers in Bold above,

I chose to have all 4 ATMOS speakers powered by the same unit
because some titles can use a little extra output on the upper channels,
a simple 2dB or 3dB volume bump on the 3900's Master Volume adjusts all 4 speakers at the same time.
Madmax67 and SuperFist like this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 12-27-2017 at 11:21 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 12-27-2017, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ta-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Answers in Bold above,

I chose to have all 4 ATMOS speakers on the same unit
because some titles can use a little extra output on the upper channels,
a simple volume bump on the 3900 adjusts all 4 speakers.
Thank you very much.Gives me the basics to roll with once I set up my 3070.Now can I find room to put both amps in my cabinet.That will probably be my biggest challenge and keep them both running cool.
ta-kid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 12-27-2017, 10:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 306 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3370 Post(s)
Liked: 8597
Quote:
Originally Posted by ta-kid View Post
Thank you very much.Gives me the basics to roll with once I set up my 3070.Now can I find room to put both amps in my cabinet.That will probably be my biggest challenge and keep them both running cool.
Yamaha AVR's run pretty cool, even at reference levels, but I still like to have them exposed and open on top.





Front Height


Rear Height


Rear Subs (behind the MLP) seat pulled out to vacuum popcorn crumbs before laying new area rug
jorgebetancourt likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 01-12-2018 at 11:33 AM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 12-28-2017, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,191
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2348 Post(s)
Liked: 2645
@PioManiac Those subwoofers are a work of art.
PioManiac likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html

Last edited by Madmax67; 12-28-2017 at 03:27 AM.
Madmax67 is online now  
post #6 of 17 Old 12-29-2017, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ta-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So while looking at my 3900 Pre ins I see the surround inputs left and right but the Surround back input shows Front marked above the left channel??The 3070 has left and right for both, for outputs, so am I right to assume the 3900 input for surround back will accept the left and right SB signals anyways using both left and right inputs???
ta-kid is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 12-29-2017, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 306 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3370 Post(s)
Liked: 8597
As long as your 3900 is in the default 6Ch mode, no problem.
(8Ch pre-outs are possible by adding a CD input)



SuperFist likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 12-29-2017, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 306 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3370 Post(s)
Liked: 8597




SuperFist likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 01-13-2018 at 04:19 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 12-29-2017, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SuperFist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,263
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked: 6037
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Answers in Bold above,

I chose to have all 4 ATMOS speakers powered by the same unit
because some titles can use a little extra output on the upper channels,
a simple 2dB or 3dB volume bump on the 3900's Master Volume adjusts all 4 speakers at the same time.
Thanks, man! I saved your answers for when I decide to add 2 more Atmos modules!
PioManiac likes this.
SuperFist is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 12-29-2017, 10:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ta-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Man thank you for all that info AND TIME TO HELP ME,and I got all my 11 channels working as you had shown for hook ups between the two amps.Learn something new .Works great so far playing my LP's and Cable.Just waiting for my Sony 940E to be delivered to try out some new movies.
One question though if I select Dolby Atmos to watch a movie does the amp just use the presence speakers as default Atmos speakers automatically??
ta-kid is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 12-29-2017, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 306 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3370 Post(s)
Liked: 8597
Quote:
Originally Posted by ta-kid View Post
Man thank you for all that info AND TIME TO HELP ME,and I got all my 11 channels working as you had shown for hook ups between the two amps.Learn something new .Works great so far playing my LP's and Cable.Just waiting for my Sony 940E to be delivered to try out some new movies.
One question though if I select Dolby Atmos to watch a movie does the amp just use the presence speakers as default Atmos speakers automatically??
You don't "Select" ATMOS in the AVR

ATMOS only works in 7.1.4 for native ATMOS source material, typically from a bluray or 4K disc with an ATMOS track
and only if you set the the AVR audio to Straight or Dolby Surround Decode. (Dolby Surround is Dolby's up-mixer for non Atmos Titles)

For all other source material (like DD 5.1/7.1) to play on your upper speakers, select the Dolby Surround decoder.(fake ATMOS)
The only other Native 7.1.4 material is on Bluray/4K discs encoded as DTS:X, for which you need to select Straight.

The DTS upmixer is labelled as Neural:X in your surround decoder selections
Typically applied to DTS 5.1 or 7.1 titles to expand to 7.1.4

if you have an XBOX One you can stream a few ATMOS titles if you add the ATMOS app to your XBOX

There are several DSP modes (Sci-Fi, Adventure, ...etc)
that can also be applied to engage your overhead presence speakers for any source material.

I tend to avoid those, however for 2 channel music sources,
9Ch Stereo will play your LP's and CD music on all 11 speakers, I do like that one for my Net Radio stations
(add the Enhancer for that one too to boost everything)

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 12-29-2017 at 11:16 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 12-30-2017, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ta-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes I was using the 9 Channel last nite and it worked and sounded great.I am aware of the enhancer mode and all the movie DSP modes from using my 3900.Just starting to read and get into the owners manual which I downloaded from the Yamaha site.
PioManiac likes this.
ta-kid is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 12-30-2017, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ta-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Changed my 3900 remote to ID2 also.Getting to know my new 3070 now.I find the new 3070 not quite as,how should I put it ,edgy when playing music compared to my old 3900 or Denon.Also nice to adjust the presence speakers with the second amp separate from the rest of the speakers.
ta-kid is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 12-30-2017, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I enjoyed and appreciated the information that was given. I have the Yamaha RX-A3050 and the RX-A3010 AV Receivers. I use the 3050 for the front R/L, Center, Front Presence R/L, Surround R/L, Back Surround R/L and the Subwoofer. I connect the 3050 to the 3010 Rear Presence R/L Pre-Out jacks to the 3010 Front R/L for the Rear Presence speakers. It doesn't matter which input used on the 3010 because it will use the amplifiers in the 3010. I can tell you that the sound is great. I have some very, very old speakers that are very, very good. Center-Polk Audio, Front R/L-Klipsch Forte II, Front R/L Presence-Polk Audio In Wall speakers about 7' up, Surround R/L-JBL L110, Surround Back R/L-Polk Audio small speakers, and for the Rear Presence R/L- The same setup as the Front Presence. You are right. The 9 channel stereo sounds great, even for my old LP's. I have a JBL Northridge E Series, E250P.
Oh yes, when I connect the 3050 to the 3010, my remote for the 3050 controls both receivers and I set the 3010 to "Multi Chan". I couldn't figure it out by myself, so I paid Best Buy's Geek Squad $100 to set up my speakers. It was worth every penny.
If you want to hear a CD that will test your system, try to buy a CD that was originally on an LP "Original Master Recording" titled "Cosmic Force". It will test your system and your ears but you will love it. It is a Digital dts Surround High Definition Surround 20 BIT/5.1 Channel CD by the Mystic Moods. If you are over 50, you may remember Brad Miller who started out making recordings of train sounds, of which I have a large selection, then he bought the rights to make LP's on 180grms vinyl recorded at half-speed. He recorded some of the best LP's under the label of "Original Master Recordings".
I am sorry to be so wordy. I turned 70 last week and all of my knowledge is leaking out my ears.
Keep your info coming. You guys are great. Thank you so much. JD
jdhelaman is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 03-17-2019, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jacbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Yamaha AVR's run pretty cool, even at reference levels, but I still like to have them exposed and open on top.





Front Height


Rear Height


Rear Subs (behind the MLP) seat pulled out to vacuum popcorn crumbs before laying new area rug
Those subs are sweet....is that a hoover vacuum???

Yamaha RX-V667
Sherwood A965 (x2)
JBL L890 (x5)
JBL LC2 (x1)
JBL L820 (x4)
jacbri is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 11-27-2019, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello All,

This is my very first post, just joined today. I must admit I do come here to find info that just isnt anywhere else, and I appreciate all the info that you share. While I am
not 'new' to home theater equipment, my setup is fairly modest by what is posted on the threads, I need clarification on what I am about to do. I will eventually post my
equipment in the profile, and share my views and experiences, as you folks have.

I currently have a Marantz SR7009 125w avr powering my 7.2.4 'theater'. The .4 is Dolby Top Front R/L, and Dolby Top Rear R/L. Because I did not read enough into it
when I purchased the 7009, I wound up getting a small 50watt amp for my outdoor speakers, and a 4k splitter for my Fire Cube for my 4k tv, (no 4K pass through). In
the extremely near future I am going to purchase the Denon x6500h. The 6500 will help me clean up the extra amp and the 4k splitter. I have been reading about
using Second AVR for Speakers on the forum. The idea is to use the x6500 as my main amp, and the sr7009 for powering a particular set of theater speakers, and also
using the 7009 to power my patio speakers at a Zone 2 setting.

While I have been reading all the threads for close to three weeks, my head is spinning about which speakers to run off the second amp, how to assign the second amp,
and am I using the 7.1 channel I/P on the Marantz for the I/P from the Denon pre out. I have had other Denon units, this was my first Marantz.

I greatly appreciate in advance your help in this topic, hopeful I dont blow anything up.
klcrtinfo is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 11-27-2019, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eriksells916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 240
@klcrtinfo the moderator may move this, if not then go post over here they will help


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...sts-1-8-a.html
eriksells916 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off