The *OFFICIAL* Denon AVR-X8500H 13.2ch Flagship AVR Thread - Page 200 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5083Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5971 of 6054 Old 05-18-2020, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello friends, as I mentioned, I have an integrated PM8006 and I like something more than the stereo of the 8500, that's why I bought it, but I am thinking of changing boxes and going up in steps since I think that the RS6 and 8500 do not get along very well and many friends say that to overcome the stereo of the 8500 you have to invest more than that pm8006 that you think? estai looking at dali opticon2 / rubicon or kef r3 or gold50 since my room is very small only 11m2 greetings
Anteranz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5972 of 6054 Old 05-20-2020, 12:48 AM
Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Has anyone come across DTS-ES 6.1 material flagged as "DTS-ES 8ch Dscrt" on their AVR's display panel? It does not seem to be a sound format that can be selected all the time when such material is played back.
oniiz is offline  
post #5973 of 6054 Old 05-20-2020, 01:35 AM
Member
 
value's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yokohama Japan
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone running their 8500 in full bi amp mode for 5.1?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SONY 77A9G ordered !
value is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5974 of 6054 Old 05-20-2020, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
dj7675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oregon Coast
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post
It would be nice if Audyssey added such a target curve. I have modified the response for my sub, but I find it too tedious to bother doing so for my other five speakers with the curve editor.
This is still one of the biggest annoyances with Audyssey.. science has shown us that the 2 curves provided are not preferred-yet Audyssey has not ever updated their curve choices. When you look at the default curves of Dirac enabled AVRs and processors, they are all similar-a gentle downward slope from 20hz-20khz. It would seem to be trivial for Audyssey to include at least one more curve. Preferably they would add 2-3 with varying amounts of tilt and/or bass boost. It would also mean you could get excellent results without the app and the time associated with tweaking the curves.
dj7675 is offline  
post #5975 of 6054 Old 05-20-2020, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,493
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj7675 View Post
This is still one of the biggest annoyances with Audyssey.. science has shown us that the 2 curves provided are not preferred-yet Audyssey has not ever updated their curve choices. When you look at the default curves of Dirac enabled AVRs and processors, they are all similar-a gentle downward slope from 20hz-20khz. It would seem to be trivial for Audyssey to include at least one more curve. Preferably they would add 2-3 with varying amounts of tilt and/or bass boost. It would also mean you could get excellent results without the app and the time associated with tweaking the curves.
I have used Audyssey since ~2008 when I built my HT.
However, there doesn't seem to be that much innovation (new app, sure) in the last several years.
I think Dirac and other software and hardware have moved beyond Audyssey.
They seemed to have resigned themselves to ease of use (for entry and mid level products) and moved away from high end calibrations.
Not sure why.

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (051820 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #5976 of 6054 Old 05-20-2020, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
dj7675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oregon Coast
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
I have used Audyssey since ~2008 when I built my HT.
However, there doesn't seem to be that much innovation (new app, sure) in the last several years.
I think Dirac and other software and hardware have moved beyond Audyssey.
They seemed to have resigned themselves to ease of use (for entry and mid level products) and moved away from high end calibrations.
Not sure why.
I've had both XT32 and Dirac. They are both very good in my opinion. If EQing below 500hz I think Audyssey may be even better. Full range EQ Dirac is better but Audyssey is still very good. If EQ'd to the same curve, I think it might be more difficult to tell them apart than many think.
Mike_WI and dfa973 like this.
dj7675 is offline  
post #5977 of 6054 Old 05-20-2020, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,874
Mentioned: 171 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5116 Post(s)
Liked: 5694
The issue with Audyssey MultEQ XT32 isn't its correction algorithm, it's the flat target curve + mandatory full range EQ. XT32 is very good at "shaping" the response to match a target.

The App has finally addressed these limitations to a degree, but it's still a bit tedious to dial it all in. I really wish they allowed for a GLOBAL target curve tweak that would allow you to simply adjust the "tilt" of the overall response rather than having to much around with the individual targets for each speaker with clunky finger-dragging.

I'd be willing to bet that if you equalized the variables of target curve + EQ frequency range there wouldn't be much difference between XT32, ARC, and Dirac in end-user preference. The famous "Subjective and Objective Evaluation of Room Correction Products" Harman study which many people pointed to as proof of Audyssey's inferiority really had more to do with target curves / bass response. Toole also discusses in Sound Reproduction how much impact bass response has on subjective preferences.

Dirac still does appear to have an advantage in how it handles full-range correction with more sophistication and fewer artifacts, but if you limited correction for all three to, say, 500Hz or 1000Hz, I'm betting they would all be quite similar if they had the same target response.
dj7675, JD23 and dfa973 like this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!

Last edited by batpig; 05-20-2020 at 01:46 PM.
batpig is online now  
post #5978 of 6054 Old 05-20-2020, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have always had xt32 and a few months ago I tested dirac in an arcam avr390 and it never seemed superior to me neither the sound nor the machine nor taken out of the box or passing dirac .... I what was missing is seeing how we invested in an avr top and does not differ from the mid-range in its eq !! Users who leave their pockets denon / marantz should reward them with a much better eq even if it was paid for the most demanding users and many would tell me then go to nad, anthem or arcam and I wonder if I love denon because I have to change brands ? Perhaps denon is not able to include dirac? or audyseey demand more of them since they are trusting too much in audy and from my point of view they are sleeping
Anteranz is offline  
post #5979 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Northampton UK
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by value View Post
Anyone running their 8500 in full bi amp mode for 5.1?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I did and it was good. But some on here don't believe the Earth is Flat
It is demonstrably better.

Currently Bi-Amping with Roksan External Stereo Power Amps and when I get time will play with Tri-amping using the Denon power Amp for HF. Power Amps have level adjust if needed.

Infocus SP8600 DLP, Denon AVC X8500H, Sony UBP X800 player, Denon DBT3313 Player, Kef 203/1 Main, 202C Center, Kef204ds Surround, HTS 2001 Rear Surround and FP, RP, Kef Ci130er Top, Kef 1001 Center Front Height 2x Kenwood SW-X1 12" Subs fitted DLS DS3004BP plate amps.
Vinyl - Technics SL1210, Reson Reca, Decca London Maroon, Denon 103R, EAR834P.
aviaction is offline  
post #5980 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Marine121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hello All,

My questions revolve around the Amp. Assign capabilities of the x8500h.

Are they fully assignable or are they predetermined assignments. What I would like to do is bi-amp the Left, Right, and Center channels. Then I would like to know if I can still run the surrounds and 4 height channels off of the internal amps as well.

This would be for a 5.2.4 setup with LCR bi-amped. This would give me the power I desire for my 4-ohm LCR speakers and still allow me to run the other channels all in one unit and eliminate the need for a separate power amp and save me some money for my budget.

My other question revolves around the mono blades for the L/R channels. Is it ok to still bi-amp with those channels, or would there be a difference in power from bi-amping with other non-mono channels? Also, which terminals would it be recommended to hook the L/R channels on my speakers, upper or lower?

Thank you in advance for your help.
Marine121 is offline  
post #5981 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,787
Mentioned: 822 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24167 Post(s)
Liked: 13359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine121 View Post
Hello All,

My questions revolve around the Amp. Assign capabilities of the x8500h.

Are they fully assignable or are they predetermined assignments. What I would like to do is bi-amp the Left, Right, and Center channels. Then I would like to know if I can still run the surrounds and 4 height channels off of the internal amps as well.

This would be for a 5.2.4 setup with LCR bi-amped. This would give me the power I desire for my 4-ohm LCR speakers and still allow me to run the other channels all in one unit and eliminate the need for a separate power amp and save me some money for my budget.

My other question revolves around the mono blades for the L/R channels. Is it ok to still bi-amp with those channels, or would there be a difference in power from bi-amping with other non-mono channels? Also, which terminals would it be recommended to hook the L/R channels on my speakers, upper or lower?

Thank you in advance for your help.
When using the "Custom" AMP ASSIGN mode, they are assignable as noted in my post 2 of this thread. However, important to understand that using the "bi-amp" feature of an AVR does not add any real additional power as there is only one power supply. Additionally the same exact signal is passed to the "bi-amp" outputs (regardless of whether you use a "bi-amp" AMP ASSIGN setting or the Custom setting) so each set of speaker posts on the speakers get the same signal, therefore doesn't matter how they are connected. The speakers will draw whatever power is required to try to reach the volume level you have selected (ie. there's no reason to use the "bi-amp" feature simply because you are connecting 4-ohm speakers).
Josh Z likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5982 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Setup new LG OLED 65"CX last night. Connected through Denon 8500 using eArc. Was working fine but today only get sound from cable no picture and screen says change input which did not work. I switched to HDMI 1 and now it works.
Why would there be an issue with eArc HDMI 2? All inputs going through Denon 8500
bad1550 is online now  
post #5983 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,787
Mentioned: 822 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24167 Post(s)
Liked: 13359
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
Setup new LG OLED 65"CX last night. Connected through Denon 8500 using eArc. Was working fine but today only get sound from cable no picture and screen says change input which did not work. I switched to HDMI 1 and now it works.
Why would there be an issue with eArc HDMI 2? All inputs going through Denon 8500
Not sure what you mean by HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 (unless referring to the TV's HDMI jacks) as these are inputs that have nothing to do with ARC/eARC?

Ensure the HDMI cable is connected to the main zone monitor 1 output labeled ARC on the AVR and on the HDMI jack on the LG labeled ARC.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	350
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	2730640  
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5984 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
Setup new LG OLED 65"CX last night. Connected through Denon 8500 using eArc. Was working fine but today only get sound from cable no picture and screen says change input which did not work. I switched to HDMI 1 and now it works.
Why would there be an issue with eArc HDMI 2? All inputs going through Denon 8500
Not sure what you mean by HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 (unless referring to the TV's HDMI jacks) as these are inputs that have nothing to do with ARC/eARC? [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/confused.gif[/IMG]

Ensure the HDMI cable is connected to the main zone monitor 1 output labeled ARC on the AVR and on the HDMI jack on the LG labeled ARC.

Yes that's the way I setup last night. EArc
On Denon to TV HDMI 2 which is eArc

Did not have this issue on previous tv

Thanks
bad1550 is online now  
post #5985 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,787
Mentioned: 822 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24167 Post(s)
Liked: 13359
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
Yes that's the way I setup last night. EArc
On Denon to TV HDMI 2 which is eArc

Did not have this issue on previous tv

Thanks

When using the ARC feature, generally there should never be a picture issue on the TV as the video source is coming from the TV (ie. using either an external TV antenna or from an HDMI component connected directly to the TV). If ARC is not working (which is common), the audio will come from a source connected to the AVR (eg. CBL/SAT in your case). Ensure ARC = ON (p. 198 Owner's manual) and the "TV Audio" source is selected. If you change this setting, power off the TV and AVR and disconnect their respective power cables and HDMI cable that connects them for a few minutes. Reconnect all cables. Power on the TV, pause 5 seconds, and then the AVR.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-22-2020 at 12:05 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5986 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
Yes that's the way I setup last night. EArc
On Denon to TV HDMI 2 which is eArc

Did not have this issue on previous tv

Thanks

When using the ARC feature, generally there should never be a picture issue on the TV as the video source is coming from the TV (ie. using either an external TV antenna or from an HDMI component connected directly to the TV). If ARC is not working (which is common), the audio will come from a source connected to the AVR (eg. CBL/SAT in your case). Ensure ARC = ON (p. 198 Owner's manual) and the "TV Audio" source is selected. If you change this setting, power off the TV and AVR and disconnect their respective power cables and HDMI cable that connects them for a few minutes. Reconnect all cables. Power on the TV, pause 5 seconds, and then the AVR.
Thank you for this helpful information.
I will give it a try!
bad1550 is online now  
post #5987 of 6054 Old 05-22-2020, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello, someone has paired the klipsch rp600m series ... I have a silver rs6 audio monitor and I can't finish doing them. something missing ... what speakers do you have paired?
Anteranz is offline  
post #5988 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 12:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,787
Mentioned: 822 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24167 Post(s)
Liked: 13359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anteranz View Post
Hello, someone has paired the klipsch rp600m series ... I have a silver rs6 audio monitor and I can't finish doing them. something missing ... what speakers do you have paired?
More information would be helpful.

By "can't finish doing them" do you mean that Auto Setup won't complete? What error message is being displayed? Check the speaker wiring. Are the speakers new or used?

What speaker setup do you have (eg. 5.1, 5.1.4, etc.) and to which speaker posts on the X8500H do you have the Audio Monitor speakers connected?

Have you tried simply going to Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones and attempted to play a test tone through them?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5989 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 03:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Northampton UK
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Today, I will be sorting out the "Rats Nest" that comes with owning an AVC X8500.....


Mike_WI, Matt2026 and vn800art like this.

Infocus SP8600 DLP, Denon AVC X8500H, Sony UBP X800 player, Denon DBT3313 Player, Kef 203/1 Main, 202C Center, Kef204ds Surround, HTS 2001 Rear Surround and FP, RP, Kef Ci130er Top, Kef 1001 Center Front Height 2x Kenwood SW-X1 12" Subs fitted DLS DS3004BP plate amps.
Vinyl - Technics SL1210, Reson Reca, Decca London Maroon, Denon 103R, EAR834P.
aviaction is offline  
post #5990 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 03:48 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 218
The *OFFICIAL* Denon AVR-X8500H 13.2ch Flagship AVR Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Today, I will be sorting out the "Rats Nest" that comes with owning an AVC X8500.....



BTDT, now I use these:



And something like this:

Matt2026 likes this.

Last edited by Stevetd; 05-23-2020 at 06:31 AM.
Stevetd is offline  
post #5991 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 05:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,705
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5154 Post(s)
Liked: 3168
I have to do something about the mess at the back of my entertainment center too. Maybe when I have to send it in for HDMI 2.1 upgrade?

lujan
679 Ultra HD
733 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #5992 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 523 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Thumbs up Good therapy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
BTDT, now I use these:


that is the nightmare I keep having, except that I am wrapped up in the middle of that tangle. Actually it may be good therapy to face ones fears as I have looking at that picture. Yeah, yeah - I think I feel calmer now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Audio-Wiring-1.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	1.39 MB
ID:	2731122  
TL5 likes this.

7.4.6.2 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center), NAD (2nd set of surrounds), NAD (Top Middle, Top Surround), classic Klipsch speakers.

Last edited by Alanlee; 05-23-2020 at 07:22 AM.
Alanlee is offline  
post #5993 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anteranz View Post
Hello, someone has paired the klipsch rp600m series ... I have a silver rs6 audio monitor and I can't finish doing them. something missing ... what speakers do you have paired?
More information would be helpful.

By "can't finish doing them" do you mean that Auto Setup won't complete? What error message is being displayed? Check the speaker wiring. Are the speakers new or used?

What speaker setup do you have (eg. 5.1, 5.1.4, etc.) and to which speaker posts on the X8500H do you have the Audio Monitor speakers connected?

Have you tried simply going to Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones and attempted to play a test tone through them?

Sorry, I don't handle English well and the translator put what he wanted ... I wanted to say that I don't really like rs6 at all ... I love them and others it sounds like my ass! In movies they sound brutal but in stereo in my room they either create too much bass for me or they sound brilliant
Anteranz is offline  
post #5994 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Northampton UK
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Thanks guys.
Just finished 5 hours later.

Have put some cable ties on to group cables together and a bit of re-routing. It's still a mess but better than it was, but I guess I am not alone.
Now awaiting SWMBO permission to test everything is as it should be.
drh3b likes this.

Infocus SP8600 DLP, Denon AVC X8500H, Sony UBP X800 player, Denon DBT3313 Player, Kef 203/1 Main, 202C Center, Kef204ds Surround, HTS 2001 Rear Surround and FP, RP, Kef Ci130er Top, Kef 1001 Center Front Height 2x Kenwood SW-X1 12" Subs fitted DLS DS3004BP plate amps.
Vinyl - Technics SL1210, Reson Reca, Decca London Maroon, Denon 103R, EAR834P.
aviaction is offline  
post #5995 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 08:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello friends, do you see for a room of 11m2 and a listening of 2.50cm better the central gold c150 or the 350? Cheers
Anteranz is offline  
post #5996 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Europa
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Today, I will be sorting out the "Rats Nest" that comes with owning an AVC X8500.....



Thanks for making me feel better about my own (lack of) cable management.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #5997 of 6054 Old 05-23-2020, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,220
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Today, I will be sorting out the "Rats Nest" that comes with owning an AVC X8500.....


Looks familiar:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1029.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	124.1 KB
ID:	2731184  
fookoo_2010 is online now  
post #5998 of 6054 Old 05-24-2020, 01:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 4,498
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2430 Post(s)
Liked: 5358
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Today, I will be sorting out the "Rats Nest" that comes with owning an AVC X8500.....





My Stuff.
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #5999 of 6054 Old 05-24-2020, 01:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 4,498
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2430 Post(s)
Liked: 5358
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Thanks guys.
Just finished 5 hours later.

Have put some cable ties on to group cables together and a bit of re-routing. It's still a mess but better than it was, but I guess I am not alone.
Now awaiting SWMBO permission to test everything is as it should be.
It would have been much faster, if ultimately less satisfying to do it my way.

My Stuff.
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #6000 of 6054 Old 05-24-2020, 04:27 AM
Member
 
vourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Up to today i used a PC connected to the x8500 via Audirvana windows app to play my files and Tidal or Spotify.

This PC is now no longer in the living room. Wondered if for the matter of just playing local files + Tidal or Spotify, in the best possible quality, would i -

1. Get a new PC with a sound card i already have (SoundBlaster AE-9) and play it all again from it
2. Get a streamer + dac and load everything from this streamer to the X8500
3. Just use the x8500 internal players - i know it has Spotify but what about Tidal and local files?

Any tip is welcomed :-).
vourt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off