The *OFFICIAL* Denon AVR-X8500H 13.2ch Flagship AVR Thread - Page 201 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5323Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6001 of 6431 Old 05-24-2020, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by vourt View Post
Hi,

Up to today i used a PC connected to the x8500 via Audirvana windows app to play my files and Tidal or Spotify.

This PC is now no longer in the living room. Wondered if for the matter of just playing local files + Tidal or Spotify, in the best possible quality, would i -

1. Get a new PC with a sound card i already have (SoundBlaster AE-9) and play it all again from it
2. Get a streamer + dac and load everything from this streamer to the X8500
3. Just use the x8500 internal players - i know it has Spotify but what about Tidal and local files?

Any tip is welcomed :-).
Read the manual about Heos. It may work for you. Heos will connect to tidal, spotify or songs on your phone and computer wirelessly. I have eight Heos outlets ( 4 speakers, 2 links and 2 avrs) in my house. The AVRs and links are wired. One of the speakers is mobile (battery). I use Heos mostly for songs on Pandora and Amazon, but I also will pull a quick song from my phone (wireless).

Like any audio system or device, there is a learning curve, likes and dislikes, and it may not be what you want. It is, however, worth exploring.

7.4.6.2 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center), NAD (2nd set of surrounds), NAD (Top Middle, Top Surround), classic Klipsch speakers.
Alanlee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6002 of 6431 Old 05-24-2020, 07:34 AM
Member
 
vourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!, i tried the Heos android app in the pas but it was not so user friendly, i will give it another try.

If i use the HEOS then the AVR will actually connect to the app (ex. Tidal) and will play directly from it, is that right?, i mean without losing the quality of my android device playing and wirelessy transfering the data.
vourt is offline  
post #6003 of 6431 Old 05-24-2020, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by vourt View Post
Thanks!, i tried the Heos android app in the pas but it was not so user friendly, i will give it another try.

If i use the HEOS then the AVR will actually connect to the app (ex. Tidal) and will play directly from it, is that right?, i mean without losing the quality of my android device playing and wirelessy transfering the data.
The connection is made by the app on your phone or other device, and plays through the internet on your avr or whatever system you have. The quality is an individual opinion. It's one of those try and see things. I'm good with the quality. I was in my garage yesterday listening to a variety of music (Denon 5200, Heos link, klipsch outdoor speakers) - rusted root, eagles, bob marley, jack johnson, ella fitzgerald, miles davis, thelonious monk, renee fleming, franco corelli, pavarotti. It all sounded good to me. There are more discerning folks on this thread who may disagree. Maybe they will comment.
vourt likes this.

7.4.6.2 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center), NAD (2nd set of surrounds), NAD (Top Middle, Top Surround), classic Klipsch speakers.
Alanlee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6004 of 6431 Old 05-24-2020, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
Setup new LG OLED 65"CX last night. Connected through Denon 8500 using eArc. Was working fine but today only get sound from cable no picture and screen says change input which did not work. I switched to HDMI 1 and now it works.
Why would there be an issue with eArc HDMI 2? All inputs going through Denon 8500
This is a known issue with the LG OLED CX (you can read more info in the 2020 models FAQ) - you need to upgrade the TV firmware to 03.00.45 or 03.00.60.
dfa973 is online now  
post #6005 of 6431 Old 05-24-2020, 01:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Antonio Manuel Antequera Cid Never liked deq myself too! so always off in my case.
Anteranz is offline  
post #6006 of 6431 Old 05-24-2020, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 5
If anyone can clarify a question in which frequency range does Denon work? from 20hz-20khz? so if my boxes reach 60khz even though my ear reaches 30khz am i missing those frequencies? I know that my integrated marantz goes from 10hz-70khz. Does anyone know something about it?
Anteranz is offline  
post #6007 of 6431 Old 05-25-2020, 12:26 AM
Member
 
vourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alanlee View Post
The connection is made by the app on your phone or other device, and plays through the internet on your avr or whatever system you have.
Thank you, in that case i assume if i play Tidal on my android cellphone device, and then connect to the AVR with bluetooth, it will be the same as playing trough the HEOS app.
vourt is offline  
post #6008 of 6431 Old 05-25-2020, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Should you wish to put a face to the day......

He was a good guy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ralph.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	183.1 KB
ID:	2732506  

7.4.6.2 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center), NAD (2nd set of surrounds), NAD (Top Middle, Top Surround), classic Klipsch speakers.

Last edited by Alanlee; 05-25-2020 at 06:15 PM.
Alanlee is offline  
post #6009 of 6431 Old 05-25-2020, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alanlee View Post
I don't know if it "will be the same," but if it works for you, then you should do it.

I have no experience with Tidal, but Pandora features are limited in HEOS to the basic functions.
Alanlee likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #6010 of 6431 Old 05-25-2020, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Should you wish to put a face to the day....

Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
I have no experience with Tidal, but Pandora features are limited in HEOS to the basic functions.
Ralph was a good guy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ralph.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	183.1 KB
ID:	2732508  
chi_guy50, Matt2026 and Cam1977 like this.

7.4.6.2 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center), NAD (2nd set of surrounds), NAD (Top Middle, Top Surround), classic Klipsch speakers.
Alanlee is offline  
post #6011 of 6431 Old 05-25-2020, 07:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alanlee View Post
Ralph was a good guy.

Nice touch stopping to pay tribute to a fallen comrade here today, on Memorial Day. No segue needed, sir.


I'll add my respects to a wonderful officer and comrade in arms, Randy Carlson, taken out by a land mine while serving with the U.N. peacekeeping force in Lebanon in 1982.



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	carlson.png
Views:	1067
Size:	112.4 KB
ID:	2732532  
Alanlee, Matt2026 and Cam1977 like this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #6012 of 6431 Old 05-25-2020, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 379
To you

Yeah - that's what this day is all about.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Salute.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	2732538  
Matt2026 and Cam1977 like this.

7.4.6.2 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center), NAD (2nd set of surrounds), NAD (Top Middle, Top Surround), classic Klipsch speakers.
Alanlee is offline  
post #6013 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,770
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5202 Post(s)
Liked: 3214
I've been trying to listen to audio with my X8500H on YouTube without having to leave the TV on but every time I turn the TV off the audio stops. I guess it's because it connected via HDMI and when the TV is off, it tells the device attached (tried several devices) to turn off as well? Anyone know how I can listen to YouTube content via the AVR without having to leave the TV on? I don't believe that YouTube is available on HEOS, correct?

lujan
693 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #6014 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,360
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7613 Post(s)
Liked: 7672
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Today, I will be sorting out the "Rats Nest" that comes with owning an AVC X8500.....
I think we have all been there........

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Thanks guys.
Just finished 5 hours later.
Ah, where is the after picture?
dfa973 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #6015 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I've been trying to listen to audio with my X8500H on YouTube without having to leave the TV on but every time I turn the TV off the audio stops. I guess it's because it connected via HDMI and when the TV is off, it tells the device attached (tried several devices) to turn off as well? Anyone know how I can listen to YouTube content via the AVR without having to leave the TV on? I don't believe that YouTube is available on HEOS, correct?

One option is to play the source on a computer or mobile device and send the audio to the AVR via Airplay or a similar service.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #6016 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,770
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5202 Post(s)
Liked: 3214
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
One option is to play the source on a computer or mobile device and send the audio to the AVR via Airplay or a similar service.
In the past, Airplay hasn't been too reliable for me but I may try Bluetooth? I did try Bluetooth to an external Logitech speaker but my iPad was very hot and down to only 8% battery power from 100% after only one night so I was looking for alternatives. Looking more for external devices like ATV or Nvidia Shield to do the grunt work rather than an iPad.

lujan
693 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD

Last edited by lujan; 05-26-2020 at 12:46 PM.
lujan is online now  
post #6017 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I've been trying to listen to audio with my X8500H on YouTube without having to leave the TV on but every time I turn the TV off the audio stops. I guess it's because it connected via HDMI and when the TV is off, it tells the device attached (tried several devices) to turn off as well? Anyone know how I can listen to YouTube content via the AVR without having to leave the TV on? I don't believe that YouTube is available on HEOS, correct?
I am having same issue connected to eArc HDMI 2 on my oled TV. I listen to Pandora on HEOS app and the TV and avr shuts off.

The only way I can get TV to shut off and the avr to stay on is to connect both TV and avr to HDMI 1.

But I hate disconnecting and reconnecting. I want the TV to turn off using eArc.
lujan likes this.
bad1550 is offline  
post #6018 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,770
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5202 Post(s)
Liked: 3214
Yeah, that would be took difficult to do all the time (changing inputs on the TV). I'm going to continue to see if any external streaming devices will stay ON providing audio to the AVR without the use of a TV. I will see if I have an older device that might connect via optical cable so that it doesn't require a TV to be ON.

lujan
693 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #6019 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,770
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5202 Post(s)
Liked: 3214
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
In the past, Airplay hasn't been too reliable for me but I may try Bluetooth? I did try Bluetooth to an external Logitech speaker but my iPad was very hot and down to only 8% battery power from 100% after only one night so I was looking for alternatives. Looking more for external devices like ATV or Nvidia Shield to do the grunt work rather than an iPad.
I finally got it working by using my Roku Ultra which has an optical connection:

1. Connecting an optical cable to the CD Input in the back of the Denon.
2. Assigning discrete buttons on my Harmony remote for CD input on Denon, DVD input on Denon (currently where the Roku is used via HDMI), and power toggle of the TV.

I can now turn on the Roku and go to YouTube where I want to listen to audio and then press the button on Harmony to go to optical input. Press the power toggle button on Harmony to turn TV off. I can then listen to audio for hours. When I'm finished listening to audio I will then press button on Harmony to go back to DVD input so that I can see it on screen and turn TV back on.

I think this is a good solution since HDMI seems to be too smart to where it will stop all audio if the TV is turned OFF.

lujan
693 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD

Last edited by lujan; 05-26-2020 at 02:25 PM.
lujan is online now  
post #6020 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,409
Mentioned: 849 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24523 Post(s)
Liked: 13760
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
I am having same issue connected to eArc HDMI 2 on my oled TV. I listen to Pandora on HEOS app and the TV and avr shuts off.

The only way I can get TV to shut off and the avr to stay on is to connect both TV and avr to HDMI 1.

But I hate disconnecting and reconnecting. I want the TV to turn off using eArc.

A couple of options for you to try:

(1) Connect two HDMI cables from the AVR (using Monitor 1 Out --> HDMI 2(ARC) and Monitor 2 Out --> HDMI 1 (non-ARC)). Set up a Quick Select using HEOS source and Monitor 2 Out.
(2) Place an HDMI splitter/switch between a single HDMI cable from Monitor 1 Out and the TV.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6021 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
I am having same issue connected to eArc HDMI 2 on my oled TV. I listen to Pandora on HEOS app and the TV and avr shuts off.

The only way I can get TV to shut off and the avr to stay on is to connect both TV and avr to HDMI 1.

But I hate disconnecting and reconnecting. I want the TV to turn off using eArc.

A couple of options for you to try:

(1) Connect two HDMI cables from the AVR (using Monitor 1 Out --> HDMI 2(ARC) and Monitor 2 Out --> HDMI 1 (non-ARC)). Set up a Quick Select using HEOS source and Monitor 2 Out.
(2) Place an HDMI splitter/switch between a single HDMI cable from Monitor 1 Out and the TV.
I will give that a try. Thank you!
bad1550 is offline  
post #6022 of 6431 Old 05-26-2020, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad1550 View Post
I am having same issue connected to eArc HDMI 2 on my oled TV. I listen to Pandora on HEOS app and the TV and avr shuts off.

The only way I can get TV to shut off and the avr to stay on is to connect both TV and avr to HDMI 1.

But I hate disconnecting and reconnecting. I want the TV to turn off using eArc.

A couple of options for you to try:

(1) Connect two HDMI cables from the AVR (using Monitor 1 Out --> HDMI 2(ARC) and Monitor 2 Out --> HDMI 1 (non-ARC)). Set up a Quick Select using HEOS source and Monitor 2 Out.
(2) Place an HDMI splitter/switch between a single HDMI cable from Monitor 1 Out and the TV.
I will give that a try. Thank you!

Worked Great. Thanks again!
bad1550 is offline  
post #6023 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 01:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Northampton UK
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Daft Question Wednesday.


I need to redo Audysey setup



Do I have to do each position with the microphone



or is there a one position setup - if so where is the option?


many thanks

Infocus SP8600 DLP, Denon AVC X8500H, Sony UBP X800 player, Denon DBT3313 Player, Kef 203/1 Main, 202C Center, Kef204ds Surround, HTS 2001 Rear Surround and FP, RP, Kef Ci130er Top, Kef 1001 Center Front Height 2x Kenwood SW-X1 12" Subs fitted Earthquake BA-550 plate amps.
Vinyl - Technics SL1210, Reson Reca, Decca London Maroon, Denon 103R, EAR834P.
aviaction is online now  
post #6024 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 01:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,409
Mentioned: 849 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24523 Post(s)
Liked: 13760
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Daft Question Wednesday.

I need to redo Audysey setup
Do I have to do each position with the microphone
or is there a one position setup - if so where is the option?
many thanks
The minimum number of mic positions required to complete an Audyssey EQ is 3; however, you're much better served doing 6-8 to provide more data for Audyssey to use. Note also, that it's best to keep mic positions 2-8 within no more than 1'-2' radius around the first mic position, in fact some keep them within 6-12".
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6025 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 02:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviaction View Post
Do I have to do each position with the microphone
The minimum positions number is three. Max is eight.
dfa973 is online now  
post #6026 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 02:55 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The minimum number of mic positions required to complete an Audyssey EQ is 3; however, you're much better served doing 6-8 to provide more data for Audyssey to use. Note also, that it's best to keep mic positions 2-8 within no more than 1'-2' radius around the first mic position, in fact some keep them within 6-12".

Thanks jd. I was in a time crunch when I did my first Audyssey run and read it as a minimum of 2’ for each position AND forgot to use my app too. I’ll re-read everything for the next time all the “calibration planets” line up for me LOL.
Stevetd is offline  
post #6027 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 03:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2510
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
In the past, Airplay hasn't been too reliable for me but I may try Bluetooth? I did try Bluetooth to an external Logitech speaker but my iPad was very hot and down to only 8% battery power from 100% after only one night so I was looking for alternatives. Looking more for external devices like ATV or Nvidia Shield to do the grunt work rather than an iPad.

In the past I have had the opposite experience with BT, which was not always reliable either in establishing a connection or maintaining one. AirPlay, whether engaged from my PC or iPhone, has been rock-solid on my setup. For example, my favorite internet radio station is not carried by TuneIn; but it has been a simple and glitch-free matter to send it to my AVR via AirPlay from my iPhone.

Nevertheless, I am glad to see that you finally found a solution that works for you.
lujan likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #6028 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by oniiz View Post
Has anyone come across DTS-ES 6.1 material flagged as "DTS-ES 8ch Dscrt" on their AVR's display panel? It does not seem to be a sound format that can be selected all the time when such material is played back.
Anyone at all has come across this sound mode? Perhaps @jdsmoothie
oniiz is offline  
post #6029 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,409
Mentioned: 849 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24523 Post(s)
Liked: 13760
Quote:
Originally Posted by oniiz View Post
Anyone at all has come across this sound mode? Perhaps @jdsmoothie
Other than seeing it listed in RS232 files, have not come across it displayed on an AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6030 of 6431 Old 05-27-2020, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Other than seeing it listed in RS232 files, have not come across it displayed on an AVR.
Yes, I also made a few searches & came across rs232 codes referencing that sound mode selection, the movie file attached should play back in DTS-HD HRA audio but doesn't my X8500H flags it as DTS-ES 8ch Dscrt.

It is quite peculiar because I have another test file that is correctly flagged as DTS-HD HRA also attached.

I realise both files are identified as DTS-HD High Resolution Audio but upon closer inspection I can see the differences slightly regarding the DTS format, the movie file is DTS-ES XBR & test file is DTS XBR which I believe the "XBR" extension relates to the lossy DTS High Resolution Audio format that was infrequently used as the lossless DTS-HD MA was the format of choice for Bluray movies.

It could be the reason why the X8500H is confused by the ES flag & HRA flag in this instance so the DTS decoder has this odd combined "DTS-ES 8ch Dscrt" sound mode?
Attached Files
File Type: txt The Devil's Rejects 2005.mkv.txt (9.0 KB, 7 views)
File Type: txt SpeakerID-DTS-HD-HRA.mkv.txt (23.7 KB, 6 views)
oniiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off