"Official" Onkyo TX-RZ 620/720/820 Owners Thread - Page 20 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 234Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by sb01gt View Post
Unless I'm misreading the site, the firmware update is from Dec.18th, and maybe just got posted officially onto the site Jan.3? Mine was already up to date, and the PDF download shows 12/18/2018 as the newest update.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sschen View Post
I keep all the firmware files I downloaded on my hard drive. The previous firmware file was named "ONKAVR0025_E70000EAEAEOEO_N_111" and date-stamped 10-11-2018.

The firmware I just downloaded is named "ONKAVR0025_E70000EAEAEOEO_N_112", and date stamped 12-18-2018, so is definitely a newer firmware.
According to Onkyo’s site, the lastest firmware is dated 12/18/2018 but for some reason it was not posted until 1-3-2019. This same question/issue is/has been discussed and brought up on other Onkyo threads as well.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
According to Onkyo’s site, the lastest firmware is dated 12/18/2018 but for some reason it was not posted until 1-3-2019. This same question/issue is/has been discussed and brought up on other Onkyo threads as well.
Great, the better question is why making such a court room drama over December 18, 2018 versus January 3, 2019? Honestly, I saw the December 18, 2018 firmware date. Regardless, I updated my Onkyo TX-RZ820 the USB method. Finally, I posted the update announcement in good faith not anticipating this. You fellow members know the rest.

Last edited by Transistorious; 01-09-2019 at 11:20 AM.
Transistorious is online now  
post #573 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 11:38 AM
Member
 
johnniedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: johnniedoo
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 16
RZ720 update

FWIW: I set up my new 720 in november and it updated itself during my attempts to set it up in december. i just checked it out and it was at the 12/18 update already. i suppose it did it on its own. i never pay attention to all the long firmware update numbers as they run across the small lcd on the front. i believed the text in the OSD when it showed it was current in updates. interesting to see that not all devices people owned longer than i have did not have the most current update and had the same current status.
no drama here, just good to see people sharing anything on the forum. keeps it active and never know when someone will learn something from any post.
john
gene4ht likes this.

TCL49S517 4K,SAMSUNG [email protected] 1080p, ONKYO TX RZ720, POLK M70s 7.1POLK 10"SUB, LG BD570, PINNACLE USB PVR-HD. MSI970 GAMING, MSI RX 480 GAMING 8GB DDR5, AMD [email protected], 16Gb GSKILL DDR3 1600, SSD: CRUCIAL M4 128Gb, 250Gb SAMSUNG 850 EVO, HDD: 3- 1TB SPINPOINT F3, WD4GB MY BOOK DUO LAN CLOUD , LINKSYS AC1750, TP LINK 8PORT SWITCH; WINDOWS 10 X64 PRO INSIDER TRACK ...For what it's worth more small stuff bluetooth ect.
johnniedoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #574 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transistorious View Post
Great, the better question is why making such a court room drama over December 18, 2018 versus January 3, 2019? Honestly, I saw the December 18, 2018 firmware date. Regardless, I updated my Onkyo TX-RZ820 the USB method. Finally, I posted the update announcement in good faith not anticipating this. You fellow members know the rest.
Because (1) it was initially unclear whether there was one or two different updates (2) why the notification did not appear on the receiver itself and (3) why some AVR’s were updated and others not...all valid questions and concerns.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #575 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
FWIW:...no drama here, just good to see people sharing anything on the forum. keeps it active and never know when someone will learn something from any post.
john
Agreed...that’s the value and point of this forum.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #576 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Fellow members I will not participate on this thread anymore.
Thanks

"Feels great, baby." SF 49ers QB Jimmy G.
Transistorious is online now  
post #577 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 03:30 PM
Member
 
MarkTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, can anyone confirm if onkyo has implemented the Dolby DSU restrictions with latest/current firmware updates?

Thanks,
MarkTX is offline  
post #578 of 773 Old 01-09-2019, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
smj_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Berzerkeley, CA, US, NA, Earth, Sol System, Orion Arm, Milky Way
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yesterday I received and setup a shiny new TX-RZ820, from Woot.com's $449 sale last week. Unit gives every appearance of being brand new, as advertised - though of course, Amazon and/or USPS did their best and put a nice finger-sized hole through the outer and inner boxes... Didn't actually hit anything, fortunately.

Unit sounds a little bass heavy after the initial setup, but I had 1) turned up the powered sub's volume before the AccuEQ measurement following the on-screen instructions, and 2) selected the "all speakers equal" option at the end, which maybe was a bad idea? I know it's only supposed to concern the front speakers, but... Turned the sub volume down a bit after some listening, and will fuss with it later. Happy to finally turn on 4K output from the Roku Ultra to the Vizio M50-C1.

The 820 replaced a TX-SR506(?), which was temporarily standing in for a TX-NR1008 that developed issues with two HDMI inputs (or HDCP handshaking) just before the holidays - and not remembering the end date of the extended warranty, I just ignored it in disgust and left town... The 506, and a 70x that now also has HDMI issues, were picked up a few years ago when I returned the 1008 for service under the special program for bad HDMI boards (the "Onkyo acknowledges failed units and extending warrranties until 2018" thread).

I was happy to live with 1080p and the 1008, but when I realized it would require out of warranty service, I figured it was time to upgrade anyway. Will have to compare cost of repair vs. any resale value before deciding what to do with it now...
smj_avs is offline  
post #579 of 773 Old 01-10-2019, 11:12 PM
Member
 
darthpibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I got a problem, when I turn off my tv the Onkyo 820 turns off as it should, but after a second The Onkyo turns on again, does anyone else have this problem?, thanks
darthpibe is offline  
post #580 of 773 Old 01-12-2019, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Anyone else hearing weird center channel dialogue anomalies?

With my new TX-RZ720 I am noticing on certain Dolby Digital 5.1 sources that dialogue or music vocals, which should be center channel, are unstable, switching at random between center channel and L/R front channels with center drop out. It's annoying to hear the voice move around in this way. I first noticed this happening very often when watching The Voice. Initially it seemed only with that TV show, so I thought it must be a problem with the sound engineering on that show. But then I found it happening with some late night talk shows. I'm not sure if it's the show, particular broadcast network, the cable box or the receiver, but I don't remember having these problems with my TX-SR876. Someone familiar with how DD5.1 is generated in this case (TV show or by cable box) might want to comment. Thanks.

LG 65LA9650 (upgraded), Onkyo TX-RZ720
ADS L520 fronts, JBL L8400P sub, BIC Acoustech PL-26 center, Mirage Omnisat V2 surrs
NVIDIA Shield Android TV box
JVC HM-DH30000U
Sony UBP-X800
Bill Ball is offline  
post #581 of 773 Old 01-12-2019, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 8,402
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2905 Post(s)
Liked: 2792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Ball View Post
With my new TX-RZ720 I am noticing on certain Dolby Digital 5.1 sources that dialogue or music vocals, which should be center channel, are unstable, switching at random between center channel and L/R front channels with center drop out. It's annoying to hear the voice move around in this way. I first noticed this happening very often when watching The Voice. Initially it seemed only with that TV show, so I thought it must be a problem with the sound engineering on that show. But then I found it happening with some late night talk shows. I'm not sure if it's the show, particular broadcast network, the cable box or the receiver, but I don't remember having these problems with my TX-SR876. Someone familiar with how DD5.1 is generated in this case (TV show or by cable box) might want to comment. Thanks.

Check what sound is being input when this happens. Hit the info button to see what is coming in. I occasionally have had that issue, usually with NBC and sometimes with Fox. The Voice is particularly bad and my local Fox news does it quite often.



I think it's just crappy sources coming in. You can probably fix it by cycling through some of the sound modes if it's really bothersome.

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Onkyo RZ820
Roku Ultra, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Quattron
Kini62 is offline  
post #582 of 773 Old 01-12-2019, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kini62 View Post
Check what sound is being input when this happens. Hit the info button to see what is coming in. I occasionally have had that issue, usually with NBC and sometimes with Fox. The Voice is particularly bad and my local Fox news does it quite often.



I think it's just crappy sources coming in. You can probably fix it by cycling through some of the sound modes if it's really bothersome.
Most likely that's it. We are new to Cox cable, although the equipment is identical to Comcast which we had previously. I just can't recall hearing this kind of instability in TV sound before. The cable boxes seem to convert everything to DD5.1, which is what the input and output of the RZ720 shows. I'm just surprised I never noticed it before my recent move (switching cable companies) and new receiver. Although this is the first year I've watched The Voice, I am noticing the center channel anomalies on other broadcasts as well, as you noted. TV logic or all stereo modes reduce the problem. DD5.1 is not really applicable to many TV shows anyway.

LG 65LA9650 (upgraded), Onkyo TX-RZ720
ADS L520 fronts, JBL L8400P sub, BIC Acoustech PL-26 center, Mirage Omnisat V2 surrs
NVIDIA Shield Android TV box
JVC HM-DH30000U
Sony UBP-X800
Bill Ball is offline  
post #583 of 773 Old 01-23-2019, 08:00 AM
Member
 
justincr250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AV Receiver hook-up question

I currently have a Onkyo TX-RZ620. Hitachi LP-WU6500 projector. The issue I find myself wanting is to have the video playing on the screen but have a different audio source be played. So on my receiver I have the projector hooked via HDMI into the Satellite / Cable input (Directv box). Once I switch receiver to blutooth input to listen to my phone I loose my picture on the projector. I really like to watch the game but I tend to want music playing instead of listening to the announcer. Is there a way to do this and if so I could use some help!

Last edited by justincr250; 01-23-2019 at 08:11 AM.
justincr250 is offline  
post #584 of 773 Old 01-23-2019, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
sb01gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Was going through the THX Audio sub-section in the Speakers menu, and the very top option for "back speaker spacing" just shows --- and can't be selected. In the configuration settings I am set to 5.1.2 and have "No" selected for zone speaker. Does anyone else have this issue?

Panasonic EZ1000 65" OLED / Panasonic DMP UB400 / NAD T758v3 / Nvidia Shield TV
5.1.2 speaker setup - KEF R300 / R600c / Q50a / Focal Chorus SR800V / HSU ULS-15 mk2
sb01gt is online now  
post #585 of 773 Old 01-23-2019, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 28,205
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2435 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
Denon and Yamaha receivers have an option button on the remote to watch HDMI video when you're using an audio only source for the last 4-5 years. Does the Onkyo have that?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #586 of 773 Old 01-24-2019, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Neal Steffek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Stupid question. I have the 820, and with my cable box hooked up to the HDMI input labeled CBL/SAT every once in a while it will switch over to the TV input for no reason. Anyone have an idea why?
Neal Steffek is offline  
post #587 of 773 Old 01-24-2019, 08:03 PM
Member
 
geezman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal Steffek View Post
Stupid question. I have the 820, and with my cable box hooked up to the HDMI input labeled CBL/SAT every once in a while it will switch over to the TV input for no reason. Anyone have an idea why?
Do you have HDMI ARC setup from your TV? Could be the TV taking over the sound maybe?
geezman is offline  
post #588 of 773 Old 01-24-2019, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Neal Steffek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by geezman View Post
Do you have HDMI ARC setup from your TV? Could be the TV taking over the sound maybe?
TV/ARC channel isn't hooked up to the receiver.
Neal Steffek is offline  
post #589 of 773 Old 01-25-2019, 05:54 AM
Member
 
justincr250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justincr250 View Post
I currently have a Onkyo TX-RZ620. Hitachi LP-WU6500 projector. The issue I find myself wanting is to have the video playing on the screen but have a different audio source be played. So on my receiver I have the projector hooked via HDMI into the Satellite / Cable input (Directv box). Once I switch receiver to blutooth input to listen to my phone I loose my picture on the projector. I really like to watch the game but I tend to want music playing instead of listening to the announcer. Is there a way to do this and if so I could use some help!
Anybody have any recommendation on this?
justincr250 is offline  
post #590 of 773 Old 01-25-2019, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal Steffek View Post
TV/ARC channel isn't hooked up to the receiver.


Are you sure the hdmi out you use to the tv from the reciever isnt ARC capable?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
ChromeJob likes this.
Leeliemix is offline  
post #591 of 773 Old 01-25-2019, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Neal Steffek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeliemix View Post
Are you sure the hdmi out you use to the tv from the reciever isnt ARC capable?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I am sure it is, but why would the switch occur?
Neal Steffek is offline  
post #592 of 773 Old 01-25-2019, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 292
"Official" Onkyo TX-RZ 620/720/820 Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal Steffek View Post
I am sure it is, but why would the switch occur?


It shouldnt but if you turn off CEC or ARC if you cant find CEC(it might have another name) then you shouldnt have the problem anyway.
Maybe the tv thinks it should be in control for some reason and it sends a change to me signal.
Its possible there is something else that does it, similar IR code sent thats misinterpreted or something but turning off the CEC is a good place to start.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is offline  
post #593 of 773 Old 01-26-2019, 01:11 AM
Member
 
Neal Steffek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeliemix View Post
It shouldnt but if you turn off CEC or ARC if you cant find CEC(it might have another name) then you shouldnt have the problem anyway.
Maybe the tv thinks it should be in control for some reason and it sends a change to me signal.
Its possible there is something else that does it, similar IR code sent thats misinterpreted or something but turning off the CEC is a good place to start.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I will try some of those things and see what happens.
Neal Steffek is offline  
post #594 of 773 Old 01-28-2019, 08:59 PM
Member
 
juryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakeslee View Post
Hey Juryman, any luck with your 820 issue? I just bought one and will be installing today.


Blakeslee
Issues keep compounding. Chromecast issue still persists, cant seem to get the speaker calibration right, and now a cable box issue. But in all honesty, have not been able to spend enough time on any of them, or call Crutchfield or Onkyo.
juryman is offline  
post #595 of 773 Old 01-28-2019, 09:17 PM
Member
 
juryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
FWIW: I set up my new 720 in november and it updated itself during my attempts to set it up in december. i just checked it out and it was at the 12/18 update already. i suppose it did it on its own. i never pay attention to all the long firmware update numbers as they run across the small lcd on the front. i believed the text in the OSD when it showed it was current in updates. interesting to see that not all devices people owned longer than i have did not have the most current update and had the same current status.
no drama here, just good to see people sharing anything on the forum. keeps it active and never know when someone will learn something from any post.
john
Did you ever get your cable box issue resolved? Mine just started doing the same thing. I had to replace a Spectrum 101HD box because it was giving me issues with power up, but was giving me great picture and audio. Well, when I replaced it with the exact same, picture but no audio. Swapped it out with the same box from the bedroom, still no audio. Funny thing is, that my original cable box had audio. Regret replacing it.

One thing I did notice was that input from cable box to RZ820 was coming in as analog. Was not doing that before. Don't know how to change it.

Some one please help.
juryman is offline  
post #596 of 773 Old 01-29-2019, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just purchased a 820 have a few questions is it worth getting a laptop cooling pad to put on top of it to help dissipate heat? I also want to know if this amp can do 3D I have read that no it does not and yes it does anyone know for sure? The 810 that I tried purchasing fell through so I got the 820 and the 810 does 3D so why would the 820 not?
Michael Durepeau is offline  
post #597 of 773 Old 01-29-2019, 04:47 AM
Member
 
johnniedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: johnniedoo
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryman View Post
Did you ever get your cable box issue resolved? Mine just started doing the same thing. I had to replace a Spectrum 101HD box because it was giving me issues with power up, but was giving me great picture and audio. Well, when I replaced it with the exact same, picture but no audio. Swapped it out with the same box from the bedroom, still no audio. Funny thing is, that my original cable box had audio. Regret replacing it.

One thing I did notice was that input from cable box to RZ820 was coming in as analog. Was not doing that before. Don't know how to change it.

Some one please help.
i almost never watch or use my cable tv, i downsized the number of channels too.but to answer your question-yes i did figure it out and i believe it was on the tv end. tcl roku 4k. i changed the hdmi input options from auto to 1.4. it offered auto, 1.4 and 2.0. auto was supposed to handle either but failed i guess. once i did that all was ok with the cable tv. i left the onkyo hdmi port options alone, at the default 2.0 that i believe the cable/sat is. no idea why or how, but it works. i only make that change on the tv side if /when i decide to use the cable tv box eg football play offs on those channels if i cant get the over the air direct broadcast. i had both onkyo and my tv set to arc for whatever that is worth. hope this helps
john

TCL49S517 4K,SAMSUNG [email protected] 1080p, ONKYO TX RZ720, POLK M70s 7.1POLK 10"SUB, LG BD570, PINNACLE USB PVR-HD. MSI970 GAMING, MSI RX 480 GAMING 8GB DDR5, AMD [email protected], 16Gb GSKILL DDR3 1600, SSD: CRUCIAL M4 128Gb, 250Gb SAMSUNG 850 EVO, HDD: 3- 1TB SPINPOINT F3, WD4GB MY BOOK DUO LAN CLOUD , LINKSYS AC1750, TP LINK 8PORT SWITCH; WINDOWS 10 X64 PRO INSIDER TRACK ...For what it's worth more small stuff bluetooth ect.
johnniedoo is offline  
post #598 of 773 Old 01-29-2019, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
sb01gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 82
This might be a silly question, but in the audio adjust menu it has the option to change 'LFE level' by -10db or -20db. Is this any different than just changing the subwoofer to say -10db in the speaker level calibrations?

Panasonic EZ1000 65" OLED / Panasonic DMP UB400 / NAD T758v3 / Nvidia Shield TV
5.1.2 speaker setup - KEF R300 / R600c / Q50a / Focal Chorus SR800V / HSU ULS-15 mk2
sb01gt is online now  
post #599 of 773 Old 02-05-2019, 02:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A few questions about the TX -RZ620

I'm sorry if some of this has been asked already, but there are 600 posts and they don't all apply to the 620. It is fatiguing to read every one of them.

Background: I still have an old Onkyo I love, but I wanted one with new stuff (HDMI, wireless access, etc.). I did some research and wound up with a Denon that I hate! I'm sick of it and I've decided to get a new one and the 620 looks right for me. But I don't want the same problems I had with the Denon. The specs show that the Rx has a lot of features, but I want to know if those features actually work.


1. Does the app that connects my phone to the receiver work? You may define what that means.
2. Is the app cumbersome? (i.e. Do I have to negotiate through a thousand screens to do one thing, unplug the Rx to get it to work, press buttons ten times to get them to function, etc.)
3. My phone is relatively new Pixel 2. Will the app work with a current version of android?
4. Is the Rx buggy. My Denon likes to stay silent when I start up the cable requiring me to cycle the power to hear anything. Also, every Rx I've had will sometimes chirp. Not sure what the chirp is all about.
5. Current price for the 620 at amazon/crutchfield is $400. On this site I see people buying from accessories4less. They don't have the 620, but they have the 630 for $500. It only has a few differences, but that price is considerably less than elsewhere. Why so cheap? Is it refurbished? I have had bad luck with refurbished electronics.

My primary usage is for watching TV/movies/etc., playing music in the main room and playing music in a second zone. This is why the app is important to me as my phone would be the only control I would have while I'm in the back bedroom. Also, I like to stream music.

Thank you.
ozone0 is offline  
post #600 of 773 Old 02-06-2019, 08:17 PM
Member
 
ksh977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sb01gt View Post
This might be a silly question, but in the audio adjust menu it has the option to change 'LFE level' by -10db or -20db. Is this any different than just changing the subwoofer to say -10db in the speaker level calibrations?


There is a difference. LFE is Low Frequency Effects. LFE is directed to the subwoofer and only the subwoofer by the surround sound metadata, not by the frequency content of the signal (as in standard stereo music). (Surround sound produces sound at the subwoofer via both mechanisms—metadata and signal frequency content.) The subwoofer level adjustment changes everything that arrives at the subwoofer, whether via surround sound metadata or the frequency content of the signal. The LFE level adjustment affects only the LFE-directed sound.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
ksh977 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off