"OFFICIAL" 2018 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 101 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2262Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3001 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Liked: 260
I had this question, if someone can answer it.

X3400 and x3500 have the same specs except that x3500 has a phono input. But x3400 is selling for almost half the price of X3500. I understand that the x3400 is a 2017 model but if the specs are same what difference does it make.

Are there other problems that people are reporting with X3400?
SouthernCA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3002 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,991
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11931
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernCA View Post
I had this question, if someone can answer it.

X3400 and x3500 have the same specs except that x3500 has a phono input. But x3400 is selling for almost half the price of X3500. I understand that the x3400 is a 2017 model but if the specs are same what difference does it make.

Are there other problems that people are reporting with X3400?
Review post 1 of this thread to learn what new features have been added to the X3500H.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3003 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Review post 1 of this thread to learn what new features have been added to the X3500H.
I am told that other than phono input all other new features of 3500H have also been add to 3400H via firmware upgrade.

Is that not correct?

I am trying to figure out if there is any problem in firmware upgraded features in 3400H that could explain 49 to 40 percent price difference between two models.

People who own 3400H may be able to comment.
SouthernCA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3004 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,724
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2704
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
Thank you for that helpful clarification.



And that is precisely why I singled out this bit of information as especially interesting.
I have confirmed this to be true. I had my 4500 ARC turned on thinking it needed to be but I just turned it off and even though my x950G had a pop up saying it was switching to TV speakers I am still getting my audio via the 4500. I have the Sony set to "AUTO" for the eARC setting (only other option is off).

This is on my secondary set up of the 4500 and x950G.
chi_guy50 likes this.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is online now  
post #3005 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Squirrel!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 791 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
The clicking can also occurs when switching between listening modes. For instance, with my Marantz SR6013 setup as 5.1.4 with Main Zone as 5.1, I get the clicking sound every time the AVR switch from DD 5.1 to Stereo and Stereo goes up-mixed to DD + Surround because the ATMOS layer kicks in and the receiver turns ON those amps channels. To avoid the clicking, I did setup the main zone as 7.1 with Rear Surrounds as NONE and 4 x ATMOS speakers. Now when switching modes or even when running the test tone with my 5.1.4 speaker layout, there is no clicking sound anymore as the 9 amps are always ON. Same thing I did with my Denon X6500H and there is no clicking sound. The Denon X6500H is setup as 7.1.4.
All clicking is the/a relay. Relays aren't needed when the circuit is always on. But the question was is the clicking normal and normally, it is...that's all I was saying. I wasn't aware he was looking for a workaround.

Main: Mitsubishi 73736|OTA|fireTV|Sony BDP-S1100|Denon AVR4311CI|MartinLogan Preface|Phantom|MartinLogan Encore TF|2 - DIY 12" Subs|Behringer KM750|2 Bass Shaker|APC H15 Power Conditioner|Harmony Hub|Sennheiser RS 160|SMSL B1 BT Rx|Linksys SE2500
MBR: Vizio VF550M|OTA|fireTV3|Sony BDP-S1100|Denon AVR-X1000|Chane A1rx-c|Dayton SAT-BK|MartinLogan Dynamo 300|Belkin Bridge|Belkin PF30|Harmony 550
Squirrel! is offline  
post #3006 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,657
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 834 Post(s)
Liked: 24240
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrillhouse763 View Post
I figured this out.

I got a new chest freezer in the same area of my AVR and it makes a very similar clicking sound. No issue!

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Nice "solution" to the clicking issue

Regards, Ken (Retired)
9.1.) Denon 4520CI; Samsung 55H8000; OPPO 203; 6x SVS Ultra BS,
Ultra Center; FH 2xPolk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nak RE-1, CR7A, BD F7500, Aircom T-8, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is online now  
post #3007 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,991
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11931
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernCA View Post
I am told that other than phono input all other new features of 3500H have also been add to 3400H via firmware upgrade.

Is that not correct?

I am trying to figure out if there is any problem in firmware upgraded features in 3400H that could explain 49 to 40 percent price difference between two models.

People who own 3400H may be able to comment.
Correct. Not correct. As noted by comparing posts 1 and 6 of each of the 2017 and 2018 Owner's threads:

Both models were firmware updated with Airplay 2 and eARC.

The X3500H features the following additional items not found on the X3400H:
- Able to display Volume/Info on all 4k video (including Dolby Vision)
- RESET from menu (instead of having to use 2 button reset procedure noted in post 5)
- Panel Lock
- Remote Control Lock
- Web Control
- Center Level Adjust and Subwoofer Level Adjust now correctly mirror what is shown in Manual Setup (ie. change can be made in either place and will be reflected in the other setting)
- Detachable WiFi/Bluetooth antennas
Madmax67 and dfa973 like this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 04-16-2019 at 09:15 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3008 of 4212 Old 04-16-2019, 11:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1867 Post(s)
Liked: 3385
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernCA View Post
I am told that other than phono input all other new features of 3500H have also been add to 3400H via firmware upgrade.

Is that not correct?

I am trying to figure out if there is any problem in firmware upgraded features in 3400H that could explain 49 to 40 percent price difference between two models.

People who own 3400H may be able to comment.
The feature set has nothing to do with the price difference, it's simply how Denon does business. The 3400h is on clearance, the x3500h isn't because it's the current model. When the x3600h comes out, probably a year from this summer*, the x3500h will also go on clearance.
It's up to you to decide if the slightly different feature set is worth the money or not.

*Or this summer, I don't remember if the x3500h is one of the models going on a two year cycle. If the x3600h is coming out this summer, you could just wait until summer and get the x3500h on clearance. @jdsmoothie probably knows whether the x3600h is coming out this summer or not.

If JD is able to confirm that the x3500h will be replaced this summer, personally I would wait the 2-3 months for that kind of savings. Going by past Denon practice, it should be available for about 40% off.

Spoiler!

Last edited by drh3b; 04-16-2019 at 11:36 PM.
drh3b is offline  
post #3009 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 12:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 511
A new feature for 2019 models:

Speaker Virtualizer*
Speaker Virtualizer enables you to access a more immersive entertainment experience from traditional channel-based speaker layouts through digital signal processing including Dolby Atmos height virtualization and surround virtualization.
- Speaker Virtualizer is not for use when both height speakers and surround
speakers are connected.
- Height Virtualization may be applied when surround speakers are connected.
*This feature will be supported via firmware update.

Note:
The “Speaker Virtualizer” must be set to “On” for Dolby Atmos playback with 5.1-channel
speaker configurations or less.
The Speaker Virtualizer seems to be a Dolby solution equivalent to DTS Virtual:X.
DTS Neural:X and DTS Virtual:X cannot be selected when the input signal is Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD or Dolby Atmos - enforcing the Dolby mandate for no cross-upmixing.

Of course, AirPlay 2 wireless audio is already baked in the firmware.

"OFFICIAL" 2019 LG C9 Consolidated Info, FAQ, Troubleshooting, Firmware & more
LG 3D TV --- Denon AVR --- Wharfedale speakers --- Emotiva subs --- Media players: Intel NUC 8th & 7th gen i3's with Pulse-Eight internal HDMI-CEC adapters, Kodi on Win10, one remote to rule them all - the TV remote!
dfa973 is offline  
post #3010 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,991
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11931
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
If JD is able to confirm that the x3500h will be replaced this summer, personally I would wait the 2-3 months for that kind of savings. Going by past Denon practice, it should be available for about 40% off.
It will be replaced this summer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
A new feature for 2019 models:
Please discuss 2019 models in the new 2019 Denon AVR Owner's thread I started yesterday …

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...sts-1-8-a.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3011 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,991
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11931
For those of you with a sub (or subs) capable of going <20Hz, a recent update to the MultEQ Editor app has now removed the 20Hz roll-off resulting in much more pronounced lower bass response.
ebailey, Squirrel! and dfa973 like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3012 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,554
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 1147
A new firmware has just popped up on my x4500h... says it improves overall performance and stability.

Best,
Main Living Room: Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H 11.1 + Sony UBP-X800 + PS4
Other Living Room: Panasonic Plasma 55 + Onkyo Home Theater System 5.1 + PS3
Discs For SALE : 4Ks And 2Ks!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #3013 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 995 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
A new firmware has just popped up on my x4500h... says it improves overall performance and stability.
Seems it's rolling out to others to. I got the same on my 4400

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Brian_Barros is offline  
post #3014 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 10:14 AM
Member
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Can you share the number of the new firmware? TIA

Vizio E-701i, Denon X4500H, Crown XLS-1502, Polk Monitor 70s, Polk CS2 II, Polk T15s, Klipsch RIC-65, Tivo Roamio OTA, LG BD570, Fire TV 1, Fire TV Stick 4K, XBox 360, Harmony Smart Control
fulano is offline  
post #3015 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 10:26 AM
Member
 
taphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
X4500

2461-5024-1131-5005
dts 3.90.50.51
taphil is offline  
post #3016 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Zoland2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Hours ago today I also got a firmware update for the AVR-S740H, all that's new is stability & performance improvements, nothing really special this time.

My current mancave room setup:
Vizio V436-G1 4K HDR TV | LG UBK90 4K Blu-ray player | Denon AVR-S740H AV Receiver (running 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos and DTS:X) | Xbox One X | Roku Ultra (2018 model)
Zoland2020 is offline  
post #3017 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,564
Mentioned: 259 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3651 Post(s)
Liked: 4380
Got it too on my Denon X6500 and Marantz SR6013 this morning.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | 92" Stewart ST100 | Sony VW295ES |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #3018 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
The feature set has nothing to do with the price difference, it's simply how Denon does business. The 3400h is on clearance, the x3500h isn't because it's the current model. When the x3600h comes out, probably a year from this summer*, the x3500h will also go on clearance.

It's up to you to decide if the slightly different feature set is worth the money or not.



*Or this summer, I don't remember if the x3500h is one of the models going on a two year cycle. If the x3600h is coming out this summer, you could just wait until summer and get the x3500h on clearance. @jdsmoothie probably knows whether the x3600h is coming out this summer or not.



If JD is able to confirm that the x3500h will be replaced this summer, personally I would wait the 2-3 months for that kind of savings. Going by past Denon practice, it should be available for about 40% off.
Thanks.

Does anyone know if Denon 3500H and 3400H use 2nd order or 4th order cross over for Sub out.
SouthernCA is online now  
post #3019 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Not sure if anyone has had this issue during the Audyssey callibration, but occasionally one of speakers during the testing will output unusually loud sound compared to all the others.

Then during the testing of other microphone positions around the room, that speaker that played the test tone unusually loud will continue playing at that loud tone for the rest of the callibration.

It's deafingly LOUD. Is this just a random error from Audyssey that I just have to keep recalibrating until that random spike is not heard during the testing?

It's beginning to get frustrating as this spike of sound may come from a different speaker and sometimes at the second last microphone position resulting in me having to recalibrate the whole thing again!!
Jimmy6166 is offline  
post #3020 of 4212 Old 04-17-2019, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,991
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy6166 View Post
Not sure if anyone has had this issue during the Audyssey callibration, but occasionally one of speakers during the testing will output unusually loud sound compared to all the others.

Then during the testing of other microphone positions around the room, that speaker that played the test tone unusually loud will continue playing at that loud tone for the rest of the callibration.

It's deafingly LOUD. Is this just a random error from Audyssey that I just have to keep recalibrating until that random spike is not heard during the testing?

It's beginning to get frustrating as this spike of sound may come from a different speaker and sometimes at the second last microphone position resulting in me having to recalibrate the whole thing again!!
Could indicate a defective speaker. Audyssey has increased the test tone volume as normal volume is insufficient. Try swapping L and R speakers to see if the issue follows the speaker.
Nordo likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3021 of 4212 Old 04-18-2019, 12:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thanks for the tip JD. I actually tried recalibrating and finally got it working without any spiking in volume from any of the speakers.

Good to know this is not normal and could be a result of my speakers. Has happened on different speakers during previous calibrations but will note which one in future and swap them out.

Cheers
James
Jimmy6166 is offline  
post #3022 of 4212 Old 04-18-2019, 01:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 2354
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernCA View Post
Thanks.

Does anyone know if Denon 3500H and 3400H use 2nd order or 4th order cross over for Sub out.
This is a quote from Audioholics bench test review of the older X3300 model:

Using our Audio Precision APx585 8-channel HDMI Audio Analyzer, I measured the HPF and LPF responses of the bass management circuits and observed a 20dB/oct slope of the LPF and 12dB/oct slope of the HPF at the selected crossover frequency. Normally I'd like to see a 24dB/oct slope of the LPF like you see on THX certified products, but the slightly more shallow slope probably won't make much of an audible difference in a practical sense.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #3023 of 4212 Old 04-18-2019, 04:25 AM
Member
 
venon1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi. Does Denon x6500 accept spade plugs? Thanks.
venon1313 is online now  
post #3024 of 4212 Old 04-18-2019, 07:24 AM
Member
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by taphil View Post
X4500

2461-5024-1131-5005
dts 3.90.50.51

Interesting. Sat down to watch a movie last night, was asked if I wanted to upgrade (about 15min) or wait, I chose wait. Turned system back on this morning, checked and it said I had the latest firmware, but my version is showing as

2461-5294-1181-3094
DTS 3.90.50.51

Vizio E-701i, Denon X4500H, Crown XLS-1502, Polk Monitor 70s, Polk CS2 II, Polk T15s, Klipsch RIC-65, Tivo Roamio OTA, LG BD570, Fire TV 1, Fire TV Stick 4K, XBox 360, Harmony Smart Control
fulano is offline  
post #3025 of 4212 Old 04-18-2019, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,991
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22007 Post(s)
Liked: 11931
Quote:
Originally Posted by venon1313 View Post
Hi. Does Denon x6500 accept spade plugs? Thanks.
No, rather only bare speaker wire or banana plugs as noted on p. 41 of the Owner's manual.
venon1313 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3026 of 4212 Old 04-19-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
This is a quote from Audioholics bench test review of the older X3300 model:

Using our Audio Precision APx585 8-channel HDMI Audio Analyzer, I measured the HPF and LPF responses of the bass management circuits and observed a 20dB/oct slope of the LPF and 12dB/oct slope of the HPF at the selected crossover frequency. Normally I'd like to see a 24dB/oct slope of the LPF like you see on THX certified products, but the slightly more shallow slope probably won't make much of an audible difference in a practical sense.
Does anyone know why the same slope in not used for LPF and HPF?

In fact, in order to prevent the main speakers from receiving lower frequencies, I would have liked 20+ dB/octave for high pass. My sub has a flat freq response till 180 hz, so a 12dB/octave LPF would have been fine.

Am I thinking about this the right way?
SouthernCA is online now  
post #3027 of 4212 Old 04-19-2019, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 2354
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernCA View Post
Does anyone know why the same slope in not used for LPF and HPF?

In fact, in order to prevent the main speakers from receiving lower frequencies, I would have liked 20+ dB/octave for high pass. My sub has a flat freq response till 180 hz, so a 12dB/octave LPF would have been fine.

Am I thinking about this the right way?
You're thinking about it the right way in my mind but as far as I'm aware almost all receiver's bass mgmgt. high passes at 12dB per octave. To me it's also another good argument to have capable towers or LCR's over bookshelves as mains and play with different crossovers (60/80/100/120) for best integration.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #3028 of 4212 Old 04-19-2019, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
You're thinking about it the right way in my mind but as far as I'm aware almost all receiver's bass mgmgt. high passes at 12dB per octave. To me it's also another good argument to have capable towers or LCR's over bookshelves as mains and play with different crossovers (60/80/100/120) for best integration.
IIRC, THX specifies that the Xover must be at 80Hz.
They believe that frequencies above 80Hz start to become directional. i.e. you will be able to locate the sub in the room.
monkaquinas likes this.
Nordo is offline  
post #3029 of 4212 Old 04-19-2019, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
You're thinking about it the right way in my mind but as far as I'm aware almost all receiver's bass mgmgt. high passes at 12dB per octave. To me it's also another good argument to have capable towers or LCR's over bookshelves as mains and play with different crossovers (60/80/100/120) for best integration.
Yes, tower speakers will work. But, I hope that a cheaper solution will be to have a cross over with steeper slopes.
SouthernCA is online now  
post #3030 of 4212 Old 04-19-2019, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Question Denon AVR-X1500H Second Zone Questions

I am planning of getting Denon AVR-X1500H and setup 5.1 system on Main Zone and 2.0 system on Zone 2, but I want to make sure that I can do below:
  • Play Amazon Music songs on Zone 2 while playing HDMI source on Main Zone?
  • Play local iPhone8 Music Library via AirPlay2 on Zone 2 while playing HDMI source on Main Zone?
  • Play audio of Youtube video via iPhone8 Youtube App on Zone 2 while playing HDMI source on Main Zone?
salanmh3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
calibrate , dali alteco , Denon , denon 4500h , denon avr-x4500h , denon x3500 , heco victa 500 , onkyo ts-xr507 , sound , tear ax3000 , testing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off