"OFFICIAL" 2018 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 135 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2662Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 5399 Old 07-04-2019, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 11,927
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1125 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by prsman View Post
thanks the loudspeakers are Polk RTi-A7, 8ohms, sensitivity 89db
2 subwoofers
Room is 4500ft3
Volume probably just below theater level.....wife complains.
100% movies, streaming,



what do you think?
U should be fine...
If U do need more power, EZ to connect another component power amplifier to the 4500's pre-outs..

Just my $0.02...
M Code is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 5399 Old 07-04-2019, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
prsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Southern California
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
U should be fine...
If U do need more power, EZ to connect another component power amplifier to the 4500's pre-outs..

Just my $0.02...
ok. thanks. Yes easy to connect but from I can find so far very expensive for a power amplifier.

I if used an seperate amp for the front right, left, would that power would be available for the Denons other channels?



I just had thought, I have a Yamaha AVR that was replaced by the Denon. I could experiment with it to see if it makes a difference in what I hear.


Are you in Cotati? Its spelled Cocati in your location. My son lives near the police station in Cotati.


thanks!
.
prsman is offline  
post #4023 of 5399 Old 07-04-2019, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I have an Onkyo Nr737 ~110 watt 2 ch with RtiA9's crossed at 80Hz with subs. For 7 speaker surround on movies it can get ridiculous loud with room to spare - I have not come close to maxing it out because its way too loud. On music I prefer 2ch with the subs and it gets between very loud and ridiculous loud depending on music type. For some reggae/dancehall I can turn it all the way up and still want a bit more.



The power consumption on the A7 and A9 is to get the subs working, but at 80Hz crossover they would probably only handle 160 Watts or a bit more. 125 vs 160 Watts at full blast would be a small difference.



The Denon will work nicely.
tooslow2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4024 of 5399 Old 07-04-2019, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,959
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2227 Post(s)
Liked: 2517
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Thnx for the reply... its definitely the denon as i noticed the auddessy was also turned off. It was like this when I got home from work and nobody else used it. So I saved the settings on a usb, reset the reciever and uploaded again. Seems like all movies have atmos back but still no dice on GOTG V2 and Ghost Protocol. Im stumped!
That's weird. So first it was all movies and now it's just certain discs? Double check those aren't the blu ray versions instead and some 4K discs make you first play the film then select the Atmos track while playing. Other than that I'm running out of recommends.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #4025 of 5399 Old 07-04-2019, 06:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,638
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2051 Post(s)
Liked: 1212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Thnx for the reply... its definitely the denon as i noticed the auddessy was also turned off. It was like this when I got home from work and nobody else used it. So I saved the settings on a usb, reset the reciever and uploaded again. Seems like all movies have atmos back but still no dice on GOTG V2 and Ghost Protocol. Im stumped!
That's weird. So first it was all movies and now it's just certain discs? Double check those aren't the blu ray versions instead and some 4K discs make you first play the film then select the Atmos track while playing. Other than that I'm running out of recommends.
I too am lost here. I make sure the 4K discs go into HDR, ive sold the blurays anyways and then I make sure the oppo is playing Atmos track via the disc menu and the oppo also reports its Atmos 7.1 track but denon shows DD+DS. I select info on denon and it shows the input is for 5.1 speakers only. But now it's only these two movies... GOTG V2 and Ghost Protocol.

PS, I got a new fw update on the denon this morning.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #4026 of 5399 Old 07-04-2019, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 11,927
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1125 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by prsman View Post
ok. thanks. Yes easy to connect but from I can find so far very expensive for a power amplifier.

I if used an seperate amp for the front right, left, would that power would be available for the Denons other channels?

I just had thought, I have a Yamaha AVR that was replaced by the Denon. I could experiment with it to see if it makes a difference in what I hear.
The fewer channels used in the Denon, the more power/current reserve is available for the other channels.

Quote:
Are you in Cotati? Its spelled Cocati in your location. My son lives near the police station in Cotati.
Yup, correct spelling is Cotati. I am located just 2 miles east of Sonomo State University.

Just my $0.02...
M Code is online now  
post #4027 of 5399 Old 07-04-2019, 08:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Did you try resetting the microprocessor a few times in a row? If yes, and still no joy, then warranty repair.
Tried one time today, still no luck. Looks like warranty repair is the destiny for my beloved X3500 H.

Thx
mapleoak is offline  
post #4028 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by prsman View Post
The volume level I use is at 50%
Assuming that by "50%" you mean "50" on Denon's default volume scale, that is the equivalent of -30dB with respect to an arbitrary reference level after Audyssey calibration has been run. Since -30dB = 1/1000 of the reference power level you should have no problems.
Madmax67 likes this.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #4029 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Just got a AVR-X4500h today from accessories4less. Hooked it all up and I get no video menu to come up. I hooked it all up the same way I had my last receiver. I'm using the Monitor 1/ARC HDMI out on the denon, to the HDMI1 IN on my TV. All it says on the front is Cable/Sat. I pressed info/setup buttons on the remote, no go. I looked in the manual for anything that I should be doing, and it's like it skips right over all this. Right after the part where you plug the power in, they just start talking about the setup, like you don't have to press anything. I even did a factory reset on the front panel, no go there. Can anyone help me out? When exactly should I be seeing an onscreen menu? Any buttons I should be pressing on the remote to get into that menu?
NismoZ is offline  
post #4030 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:38 AM
Senior Member
 
prsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Southern California
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
Assuming that by "50%" you mean "50" on Denon's default volume scale, that is the equivalent of -30dB with respect to an arbitrary reference level after Audyssey calibration has been run. Since -30dB = 1/1000 of the reference power level you should have no problems.
super. Yes 50% is the Denon value shown after Audyssey calibration.. Thank you. I understand better now.
prsman is offline  
post #4031 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post
Just got a AVR-X4500h today from accessories4less. Hooked it all up and I get no video menu to come up.
Probably it's a lemon (DOA). You should return/warranty the unit.
dfa973 is offline  
post #4032 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by prsman View Post
super. Yes 50% is the Denon value shown after Audyssey calibration.. Thank you. I understand better now.
Just so you don't get stung by a confusion trap later: that "50" is not a percentage, it is a scalar number on a 0 to 98 scale with each increment of 1 being 1dB different in amplitude.

Another way to look at it (and can be selected as a Denon setup choice) is that the dB scale = (numeric scale) - 80. That is, 80 numeric = 0dB. Depending on room size and program material you may find volume settings between -40dB and -20dB to be comfortable. Program sources are not consistent either. I see 10-15dB adjustment needed between different streams from Roku channels, for example.
Madmax67 likes this.

M = Mega, m = milli. K = Kelvin, k = kilo. B = Bytes, b = bits. G = Giga, g = gravity. Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #4033 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Probably it's a lemon (DOA). You should return/warranty the unit.
I just updated the firmware and it seems to be ok now. That really doesn't easy my mind to much. We'll see.
NismoZ is offline  
post #4034 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Ok, a few more questions. My last AVR was a Pioneer SC-07. The calibration included a few more things like playing a sub 3 times with each channel. The only thing Audyseey did was go around the channels with the high pitched sweep in my 3 listening positions.

How does Audyseey EQ the sub and where can I see the curves and corrects it made from 10Hz through 80Hz?, etc? I also thought Audyseey would do the same for the L, R, C and Surround settings as well.

What am I missing here?
NismoZ is offline  
post #4035 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Probably it's a lemon (DOA). You should return/warranty the unit.
Return the unit. No warranty. And then wait. These units come on sale NEW often. Heard more than one story about theses refurbished units.
SouthernCA is online now  
post #4036 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
prsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Southern California
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
Just so you don't get stung by a confusion trap later: that "50" is not a percentage, it is a scalar number on a 0 to 98 scale with each increment of 1 being 1dB different in amplitude.

Another way to look at it (and can be selected as a Denon setup choice) is that the dB scale = (numeric scale) - 80. That is, 80 numeric = 0dB. Depending on room size and program material you may find volume settings between -40dB and -20dB to be comfortable. Program sources are not consistent either. I see 10-15dB adjustment needed between different streams from Roku channels, for example.
ok. I should got over to the db scale then. Thats more absolute.

I found I have to set the digital input to +12db to not have to turn up the volume so much. Also the dynamic range or compression settings makes a big difference in volume. I have to turn it up much more if no compression is selected. Ive been using "light" as that seems to give reasonable average volume levels.
prsman is offline  
post #4037 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 08:59 AM
Member
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernCA View Post
Return the unit. No warranty. And then wait. These units come on sale NEW often. Heard more than one story about theses refurbished units.
What SouthernCA said x2.

My first unit's HDMI was bad out of the box so I took it back. Didn't discover problems with replacement unit's HDMI until after return window had closed, will have to send for repair when I can stand to be without home theater for a few weeks (OSD problem, so annoying but not critical). Any doubts, don't wait, kick it to the curb...oh, and my units were brand new, not refurbs.

Vizio E-701i, Denon X4500H, Crown XLS-1502, Polk Monitor 70s, Polk CS2 II, Polk T15s, Klipsch RIC-65, Tivo Roamio OTA, LG BD570, Fire TV 1, Fire TV Stick 4K, XBox 360, Harmony Smart Control

Last edited by fulano; 07-05-2019 at 09:00 AM. Reason: added additional info
fulano is offline  
post #4038 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulano View Post
What SouthernCA said x2.

My first unit's HDMI was bad out of the box so I took it back. Didn't discover problems with replacement unit's HDMI until after return window had closed, will have to send for repair when I can stand to be without home theater for a few weeks (OSD problem, so annoying but not critical). Any doubts, don't wait, kick it to the curb...oh, and my units were brand new, not refurbs.
Oh. Thanks for the remind. I will store my old AVR (very very reliable, working for 15 years, Yamaha) in the garage just in case.
SouthernCA is online now  
post #4039 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,036
Mentioned: 742 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22606 Post(s)
Liked: 12299
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post
Ok, a few more questions. My last AVR was a Pioneer SC-07. The calibration included a few more things like playing a sub 3 times with each channel. The only thing Audyseey did was go around the channels with the high pitched sweep in my 3 listening positions.

How does Audyseey EQ the sub and where can I see the curves and corrects it made from 10Hz through 80Hz?, etc? I also thought Audyseey would do the same for the L, R, C and Surround settings as well.

What am I missing here?
All of your Audyssey related questions are answered in the FAQ ---> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...d-part-ii.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4040 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy AVR and HD Audio streaming

Does anybody has positive results with FLAC coded HD Audio streaming reception?
For exampleIntense Radio(Dutch):
<stream.png>
Initially my new X4500H was able to play such links.


After that I spent next few days playing with my DLNA server settings, and when I tried to play such link again, receiver refused to play streaming FLAC audio anymore.
I tried to make system reset, but this didn't help.

The is no problem with playing mp3 streams.


I also noticed some difference, using DLNA and USB. Some FLAC files, which can be played from USB, couldn't be played from DLNA. Also it seems that all multi-channel FLAC files are banned for some reason. For the testing I used files from:
<hires.png>
Only original CD 16BIT/44kHz files can be played from DLNA. Stereo 24BIT/192kHz(176k) and Stereo 24BIT/96kHz(88k) can be played from USB and no way for multi-channel (5.1). Didn't try DCD yet, as I don't have such records in my archive.


PS Sorry for the links, the system doesn't allow to put direct links to the newbies...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stream.png
Views:	19
Size:	5.5 KB
ID:	2587830   Click image for larger version

Name:	hires.png
Views:	18
Size:	4.3 KB
ID:	2587832  
Cool2000 is offline  
post #4041 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 12:22 PM
Member
 
infamous_pb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Denon AVR and the Smart Menu

I have a Denon x1500h AVR and a Samsung NU8000 HDTV. On the Samsung, I have the Anynet+ (HDMI-CEC) Set to ON so that when I turn on the TV, it will automatically turn on the Denon AVR. When it turns on, it shows the Denon Smart Menu. I click the "Now Playing" button and goes to it's source. However, just seconds later, the Smart Menu pops back up and I have to click the "Now Playing" button for a second time - then it stops popping back up. Any reason why it pops up two times?

I know you can turn OFF the Smart Menu in the Denon settings, however, when I do, then the AVR doesn't automatically turn off/on when I turn off/on the TV. I've tried various settings in the Denon menus, but nothing seems to work.

Any ideas why the Smart Menu keeps popping up two times on the Denon AVR?
Thanks!
infamous_pb is offline  
post #4042 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,959
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2227 Post(s)
Liked: 2517
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post
I just updated the firmware and it seems to be ok now. That really doesn't easy my mind to much. We'll see.
Whenever you buy a factory certified receiver you should do 4 or 5 full microprocessor resets in a row before setup. Glad it was an easy fix.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #4043 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,959
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2227 Post(s)
Liked: 2517
Quote:
Originally Posted by prsman View Post
ok. I should got over to the db scale then. Thats more absolute.
Technically it's more relative. The 0-98 one is considered absolute but most experienced owners use the Relative scale(+18 to -80.)

Quote:
Also the dynamic range or compression settings makes a big difference in volume. I have to turn it up much more if no compression is selected. Ive been using "light" as that seems to give reasonable average volume levels.
That's actually pretty common at lower levels.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #4044 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,959
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2227 Post(s)
Liked: 2517
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post
Ok, a few more questions. My last AVR was a Pioneer SC-07. The calibration included a few more things like playing a sub 3 times with each channel. The only thing Audyseey did was go around the channels with the high pitched sweep in my 3 listening positions.



How does Audyseey EQ the sub and where can I see the curves and corrects it made from 10Hz through 80Hz?, etc? I also thought Audyseey would do the same for the L, R, C and Surround settings as well.



What am I missing here?
You're not going to see something regarding actual post correction results because the test tones are only used pre EQ not post. The ones provided in the receiver offer just a guess of what those post correction filters affected. To get any real post correction measurements you'll need to invest in a calibrated USB mic like the UMIK1 and Room EQ Wizard freeware to take in room measurements after the fact.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #4045 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 05:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I’m sort of bumping my post up there somewhere, because I’m so baffled and stressed out. So, I called Denon support about my issue and the message said there was a wait, so the automated system had an option to call me back. 45 minutes later, they called me back, said press option 1 to be connected and they hung up on me (it was 10 minutes before closing). I sure wasn’t too lazy to spend my hard earned money on the last 3 AVR’s I’ve owned. Okay, that aside:

I have an ARC problem I’m trying to isolate. Denon X3500H, Extenders (AVPro Edge AC-EX100-444-KIT - ARC compatible) out ARC Monitor 1 to the ARC port on the Samsung Q9FN. No ARC.

Samsung Apps will only play TV Sound. CEC turned on in TV, HDMI Control and ARC set to on in the X3500H. Firmware current on all.

I have not done a hard reset on either (haven’t unplugged Samsung, but did unplug the Denon and Extender).

I’m pulling my hair out. Anyone? This is insane.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rich428 is offline  
post #4046 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 288
[quote=Rich428;58262884]I’m sort of bumping my post up there somewhere, because I’m so baffled and stressed out. So, I called Denon support about my issue and the message said there was a wait, so the automated system had an option to call me back. 45 minutes later, they called me back, said press option 1 to be connected and they hung up on me (it was 10 minutes before closing). I sure wasn’t too lazy to spend my hard earned money on the last 3 AVR’s I’ve owned. Okay, that aside:

I have an ARC problem I’m trying to isolate. Denon X3500H, Extenders (AVPro Edge AC-EX100-444-KIT - ARC compatible) out ARC Monitor 1 to the ARC port on the Samsung Q9FN. No ARC.

Samsung Apps will only play TV Sound. CEC turned on in TV, HDMI Control and ARC set to on in the X3500H. Firmware current on all.

I have not done a hard reset on either (haven’t unplugged Samsung, but did unplug the Denon and Extender).

I’m pulling my hair out. Anyone? This is insane.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/quote @jdsmoothie will recommend 4 to 5 hard resets. Often, resets fix the anomolous behavior.
Rich428 likes this.
SouthernCA is online now  
post #4047 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
HiRes_PR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 62
[quote=SouthernCA;58262938]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich428 View Post
I’m sort of bumping my post up there somewhere, because I’m so baffled and stressed out. So, I called Denon support about my issue and the message said there was a wait, so the automated system had an option to call me back. 45 minutes later, they called me back, said press option 1 to be connected and they hung up on me (it was 10 minutes before closing). I sure wasn’t too lazy to spend my hard earned money on the last 3 AVR’s I’ve owned. Okay, that aside:

I have an ARC problem I’m trying to isolate. Denon X3500H, Extenders (AVPro Edge AC-EX100-444-KIT - ARC compatible) out ARC Monitor 1 to the ARC port on the Samsung Q9FN. No ARC.

Samsung Apps will only play TV Sound. CEC turned on in TV, HDMI Control and ARC set to on in the X3500H. Firmware current on all.

I have not done a hard reset on either (haven’t unplugged Samsung, but did unplug the Denon and Extender).

I’m pulling my hair out. Anyone? This is insane.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/quote @jdsmoothie will recommend 4 to 5 hard resets. Often, resets fix the anomolous behavior.


Can you remove all that and just connect the receiver to the TV with just one cable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
HiRes_PR is online now  
post #4048 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 8
[quote=HiRes_PR;58262982]
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernCA View Post



Can you remove all that and just connect the receiver to the TV with just one cable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Problem is, they’re 80’ apart. No issues running Video & Audio out to the Q9FN, just no ARC.

That same X3500H uses the zone 2 output to feed another room that shares some of the sources.

A lot of my research shows people unplugging ALL hdmi to both the AVR and TV and rebooting both. I haven’t tried that yet. (Hard to get that room away from my wife). I also just started wondering why the integrator didn’t use Monitor 2 HDMI output, but used Zone 2.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rich428 is offline  
post #4049 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 8
[quote=SouthernCA;58262938]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich428 View Post
I’m sort of bumping my post up there somewhere, because I’m so baffled and stressed out. So, I called Denon support about my issue and the message said there was a wait, so the automated system had an option to call me back. 45 minutes later, they called me back, said press option 1 to be connected and they hung up on me (it was 10 minutes before closing). I sure wasn’t too lazy to spend my hard earned money on the last 3 AVR’s I’ve owned. Okay, that aside:

I have an ARC problem I’m trying to isolate. Denon X3500H, Extenders (AVPro Edge AC-EX100-444-KIT - ARC compatible) out ARC Monitor 1 to the ARC port on the Samsung Q9FN. No ARC.

Samsung Apps will only play TV Sound. CEC turned on in TV, HDMI Control and ARC set to on in the X3500H. Firmware current on all.

I have not done a hard reset on either (haven’t unplugged Samsung, but did unplug the Denon and Extender).

I’m pulling my hair out. Anyone? This is insane.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/quote @jdsmoothie will recommend 4 to 5 hard resets. Often, resets fix the anomolous behavior.


I’m not certain how to do a proper reset. I really wanted to try that. I did an unplug 1 minute replug, but I know there’s a way to do a processor reset.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rich428 is offline  
post #4050 of 5399 Old 07-05-2019, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVRS540BT Firmware upgrade ?

Hello,
First post here, glad to have found this informed group.

Question please on firmware upgrade for a AVRS540BT
I received this unit in Canada via Amazon in 2018. I see on the web page a firmware upgrade is available as of Jan 2019
However when I load in my model number and s/n to the web page , it tells me nothing is available ?


Any suggestions ?
Thank you kindly
Teddis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
calibrate , dali alteco , Denon , denon 4500h , denon avr-x4500h , denon x3500 , earc , heco victa 500 , lg b8 , onkyo ts-xr507 , sound , speakers , tear ax3000 , testing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off