"OFFICIAL" 2018 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 267 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3726Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7981 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by geodon005 View Post
jdsmoothie: I know that choice of surround modes is subjective and a matter of personal preference, but can you briefly explain why you selected DTS Neural:X for Dolby and DTS audio? I have been using Dolby Surround for Dolby and DTS audio and Auro3D for 2-channel music (even though I am using upfiring Atmos speakers as opposed to the recommended ceiling-mounted height speakers).


Thanks for indulging my curiosity . . .
The overhead speakers tend to be far more active using DTS Neural:X. Additionally, DTS Neural:X will play to my Front Wide speakers while Dolby Surround won't.
Ive been meaning to ask a question about upmixing. So I did DD Surround for everthing as well out of necessity and not by choice bc whichever upmixer i choose also spills over to actual atmos tracks where if i had anything set for DD sound like DTS Neural X, atmos track will also play as that and not regular Dolby Atmos. If i play DD as regular Dolby Audio - Dolby Digial, even atmos plays as just THD + DSur and not atmos! Can I keep these set separately? Thnx.

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7982 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,924
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Ive been meaning to ask a question about upmixing. So I did DD Surround for everthing as well out of necessity and not by choice bc whichever upmixer i choose also spills over to actual atmos tracks where if i had anything set for DD sound like DTS Neural X, atmos track will also play as that and not regular Dolby Atmos. If i play DD as regular Dolby Audio - Dolby Digial, even atmos plays as just THD + DSur and not atmos! Can I keep these set separately? Thnx.
That's odd. My X6500H remembers the upmixer mode for each base mode. I enabled DTS Neural:X for DD and LPCM and when I started an Atmos movie it switched to Atmos.
avernar is offline  
post #7983 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Ive been meaning to ask a question about upmixing. So I did DD Surround for everthing as well out of necessity and not by choice bc whichever upmixer i choose also spills over to actual atmos tracks where if i had anything set for DD sound like DTS Neural X, atmos track will also play as that and not regular Dolby Atmos. If i play DD as regular Dolby Audio - Dolby Digial, even atmos plays as just THD + DSur and not atmos! Can I keep these set separately? Thnx.
That's odd. My X6500H remembers the upmixer mode for each base mode. I enabled DTS Neural:X for DD and LPCM and when I started an Atmos movie it switched to Atmos.
That gives me hope... I might be missing a setting somewhere as all my tracks are getting overwritten by one upmixer choice.

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7984 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,526
Mentioned: 851 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24610 Post(s)
Liked: 13833
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Ive been meaning to ask a question about upmixing. So I did DD Surround for everthing as well out of necessity and not by choice bc whichever upmixer i choose also spills over to actual atmos tracks where if i had anything set for DD sound like DTS Neural X, atmos track will also play as that and not regular Dolby Atmos. If i play DD as regular Dolby Audio - Dolby Digial, even atmos plays as just THD + DSur and not atmos! Can I keep these set separately? Thnx.
Surround modes are remembered by input/audio source type. If you select DTS Neural:X to play with standard DD 5.1 but select Dolby Atmos to play with Dolby Atmos, then these surround modes should be remembered the next time each of those signals is received.
eaayoung likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7985 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Ive been meaning to ask a question about upmixing. So I did DD Surround for everthing as well out of necessity and not by choice bc whichever upmixer i choose also spills over to actual atmos tracks where if i had anything set for DD sound like DTS Neural X, atmos track will also play as that and not regular Dolby Atmos. If i play DD as regular Dolby Audio - Dolby Digial, even atmos plays as just THD + DSur and not atmos! Can I keep these set separately? Thnx.
Surround modes are remembered by input/audio source type. If you select DTS Neural:X to play with standard DD 5.1 but select Dolby Atmos to play with Dolby Atmos, then these surround modes should be remembered the next time each of those signals is received.
Wish that was the case... i just tried a 4K movie, played Dolby Atmos, stopped it played a DD5.1 bluray (had to change it from DD + DSur to plain Dolby Audio - Dolby Digital. Stopped that, played bk the 4K atmos movie and it played it one setting up to plain THD + DSur instead of 2nd option of Dolby atmos. It remembers one upmixer choice and applies that to everything, has done this since day one so I thought thats how it is programmed.

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #7986 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,924
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Wish that was the case... i just tried a 4K movie, played Dolby Atmos, stopped it played a DD5.1 bluray (had to change it from DD + DSur to plain Dolby Audio - Dolby Digital. Stopped that, played bk the 4K atmos movie and it played it one setting up to plain THD + DSur instead of 2nd option of Dolby atmos. It remembers one upmixer choice and applies that to everything, has done this since day one so I thought thats how it is programmed.
Just tried again but on the same input. You are correct. It uses the same upmixer setting for DD and TrueHD (with Atmos).

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Surround modes are remembered by input/audio source type. If you select DTS Neural:X to play with standard DD 5.1 but select Dolby Atmos to play with Dolby Atmos, then these surround modes should be remembered the next time each of those signals is received.
No. On the same input DD and TrueHD (with Atmos) share the same upmixer setting.
avernar is offline  
post #7987 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,526
Mentioned: 851 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24610 Post(s)
Liked: 13833
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Wish that was the case... i just tried a 4K movie, played Dolby Atmos, stopped it played a DD5.1 bluray (had to change it from DD + DSur to plain Dolby Audio - Dolby Digital. Stopped that, played bk the 4K atmos movie and it played it one setting up to plain THD + DSur instead of 2nd option of Dolby atmos. It remembers one upmixer choice and applies that to everything, has done this since day one so I thought thats how it is programmed.
I rarely ever play an Atmos movie and use DTS Neural:X for everything so I dug out a Dolby Atmos disc and sure enough you are correct. When the source audio is DD or Dolby Atmos from the same input, only one upmixer is remembered. So then your work around is to store each of the two surround modes in a different Quick Select for that input and select then use the Quick Select button to both power on the AVR and select that source using the desired surround mode.
eaayoung likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7988 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Wish that was the case... i just tried a 4K movie, played Dolby Atmos, stopped it played a DD5.1 bluray (had to change it from DD + DSur to plain Dolby Audio - Dolby Digital. Stopped that, played bk the 4K atmos movie and it played it one setting up to plain THD + DSur instead of 2nd option of Dolby atmos. It remembers one upmixer choice and applies that to everything, has done this since day one so I thought thats how it is programmed.
I rarely ever play an Atmos movie and use DTS Neural:X for everything so I dug out a Dolby Atmos disc and sure enough you are correct. When the source audio is DD or Dolby Atmos from the same input, only one upmixer is remembered. So then your work around is to store each of the two surround modes in a different Quick Select for that input and select then use the Quick Select button to both power on the AVR and select that source using the desired surround mode.
Yikes okay thats a bummer. Trying to set quick select buttons now, this is kinda confusing. Time to hit the manual.

LG 77C9PUB + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #7989 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
AVR-S540BT Sound modes

I think I am losing my mind. I know that when i first purchase this several years ago, that I had multi-ch as an option. I have speakers hooked up on right and left front, and surround sound right and left, the same as I did previously.

When I cycle through the options, I only see stereo, direct, and virtual. As a result, I only have sound coming from the front 2 speakers. What am I missing?

Many thanks.
dadofthreewinds is offline  
post #7990 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
tb123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Australia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Yikes okay thats a bummer. Trying to set quick select buttons now, this is kinda confusing. Time to hit the manual.
Just hold the button down for a few seconds, the display will indicate when it’s set.
tb123 is online now  
post #7991 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
tb123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Australia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I’m sure someone has mentioned this before, but why did Denon stop putting backlights in the remote, especially for what I would class a premium level AVR?
I’ve gone from a backlit main remote AND a second remote on my 4311 to one non backlit remote on the 4500.
Every time I have to turn the torch on my phone on to see what I’m doing makes it feel like a pretty cheap move by Denon.
dkushner, mrtickleuk and dfa973 like this.
tb123 is online now  
post #7992 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 28,357
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2506 Post(s)
Liked: 1640
push the setup menu button and make sure the surround speakers are set to On, Large or Small. Sounds like they are currently set to None.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #7993 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 1,252
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 2270
@tb123 ....4311 to a 4400 here. A Harmony 650/665 is backlit Works great.
MRAYB is online now  
post #7994 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,884
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2511
Quote:
Originally Posted by tb123 View Post
I’m sure someone has mentioned this before, but why did Denon stop putting backlights in the remote, especially for what I would class a premium level AVR?
I’ve gone from a backlit main remote AND a second remote on my 4311 to one non backlit remote on the 4500.
Every time I have to turn the torch on my phone on to see what I’m doing makes it feel like a pretty cheap move by Denon.

That 4311 was the flagship AVR when it came out. The current flagship X8500 still comes with a backlit remote. You can always order one for yourself if it is important enough to you:

Denon RC-1221 Remote Control

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is online now  
post #7995 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
tb123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Australia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
That 4311 was the flagship AVR when it came out. The current flagship X8500 still comes with a backlit remote. You can always order one for yourself if it is important enough to you:

Denon RC-1221 Remote Control
I think the slightly older 4810 and 5308 receivers were still the “current” flagship models at the time, however, does that remote you linked for the 8500 definitely work with the 4500? Being able to see the buttons in a dark room does help somewhat.
tb123 is online now  
post #7996 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by tb123 View Post
I think the slightly older 4810 and 5308 receivers were still the “current” flagship models at the time, however, does that remote you linked for the 8500 definitely work with the 4500? Being able to see the buttons in a dark room does help somewhat.
Yes. That’s what use. Around $50.
eaayoung is offline  
post #7997 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
push the setup menu button and make sure the surround speakers are set to On, Large or Small. Sounds like they are currently set to None.
Thank you a thousand times my friend. That was it!
mrtickleuk likes this.
dadofthreewinds is offline  
post #7998 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,919
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3369 Post(s)
Liked: 4152
Apologies if this has been asked before...I couldn't find my specific question on this thread, but I am think of purchasing the panamax mr4000 surge protector to use with my 4500h...is this specific model ok for my reciever or do you guys recommend a different model? Thanks in advance!
Cam1977 is offline  
post #7999 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 08:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,924
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Apologies if this has been asked before...I couldn't find my specific question on this thread, but I am think of purchasing the panamax mr4000 surge protector to use with my 4500h...is this specific model ok for my reciever or do you guys recommend a different model? Thanks in advance!
I'm using a APC Back UPS 1500 S. That way I can shut everything down nicely when the power goes out.
Cam1977 likes this.
avernar is offline  
post #8000 of 8485 Old 05-30-2020, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,919
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3369 Post(s)
Liked: 4152
^I was also looking at the panamax mr4300 which is similar in price. I just looked at the UPS 1500...which one of the outlets would I plug the reciever on that one?

Last edited by Cam1977; 05-30-2020 at 09:05 PM.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #8001 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 12:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,924
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^I was also looking at the panamax mr4300 which is similar in price. I just looked at the UPS 1500...which one of the outlets would I plug the reciever on that one?
I have my LG C9, Denon X6500H, and 6 other source devices all hooked up to Battery+Surge. The two subs are Surge only.

This is the exact model I have: https://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/produ...ace/P-BR1500MS
Cam1977 likes this.
avernar is offline  
post #8002 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,884
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2400 Post(s)
Liked: 2511
Quote:
Originally Posted by tb123 View Post
I think the slightly older 4810 and 5308 receivers were still the “current” flagship models at the time, however, does that remote you linked for the 8500 definitely work with the 4500? Being able to see the buttons in a dark room does help somewhat.

It was my recollection that the 4311 was a precursor to the flagship 7200, but yes, according to JDSmoothie, that remote will work with your 4500:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No. The X8500H remote (RC-1221) is the only remote with a backlight which would work on your X4500H. Otherwise, perhaps try a Logitech remote.
mrtickleuk likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; TiVo Roamio Pro/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H; Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55X950G,
Sony UBP-X800, TiVo Mini/DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is online now  
post #8003 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,924
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
I just looked at the UPS 1500
Here’s the power draw for the C9, X6500H and Shield playing a movie at a moderate level so plenty of room for more volume:

Click image for larger version

Name:	5D7854C5-D1E6-431E-AF45-5D4909206C58.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	2735120

Base load is 55 Watts because of PVR running.
Cam1977 likes this.

Last edited by avernar; 05-31-2020 at 08:40 AM.
avernar is offline  
post #8004 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Is there a way to temporarily turn off all audyssey correction? I want to do a subwoofer crawl and want the denon as flat as possible (I plan on running a new calibration after I've moved the sub, but that may be weeks away)

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Theater 1: LG OLED55E6P, Oppo UDP-203, Apple TV 4K, Dune HD Solo 4K
Theater 2: Sony VPL-VW885ES, Seymour Premier 16:9 128", Lumagen 4242, Oppo 103D (CFW) & 203, Apple TV 4K, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Denon AVR-X6500H (7.2.4)
fatherom is offline  
post #8005 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,924
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Is there a way to temporarily turn off all audyssey correction? I want to do a subwoofer crawl and want the denon as flat as possible (I plan on running a new calibration after I've moved the sub, but that may be weeks away)
Use Pure Direct mode.
fatherom, eaayoung and Cam1977 like this.
avernar is offline  
post #8006 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I have x3500h and 5.1.2 setup, I am watching Batman Begins 4K HDR with DTS-HD MA audio format.
What is the best sound format to set with 5.1.2, DTS-HD Master, DTS-HD + DSur or DTS-HD + Neural:X?
boldventure is offline  
post #8007 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,924
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldventure View Post
I have x3500h and 5.1.2 setup, I am watching Batman Begins 4K HDR with DTS-HD MA audio format.
What is the best sound format to set with 5.1.2, DTS-HD Master, DTS-HD + DSur or DTS-HD + Neural:X?
If you want the audio as is (no heights): DTS-HD
If you want up mixing to use the heights: DTS-HD + Neural:X
avernar is offline  
post #8008 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,526
Mentioned: 851 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24610 Post(s)
Liked: 13833
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldventure View Post
I have x3500h and 5.1.2 setup, I am watching Batman Begins 4K HDR with DTS-HD MA audio format.
What is the best sound format to set with 5.1.2, DTS-HD Master, DTS-HD + DSur or DTS-HD + Neural:X?
Whichever one sounds best to your ears.
Cam1977 and Vg247 like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8009 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1371 Post(s)
Liked: 1418
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldventure View Post
What is the best sound format to set with 5.1.2, DTS-HD Master, DTS-HD + DSur or DTS-HD + Neural:X?
Test both upmixers (DSur & Neural:X) and decide what you like more. It's your ears, and you can switch the upmixer at your heart desire.
dfa973 is online now  
post #8010 of 8485 Old 05-31-2020, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,526
Mentioned: 851 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24610 Post(s)
Liked: 13833
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Is there a way to temporarily turn off all audyssey correction? I want to do a subwoofer crawl and want the denon as flat as possible (I plan on running a new calibration after I've moved the sub, but that may be weeks away)

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes. Simply set Audyssey to OFF.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
11.2 , 2.1 , 2.2 , 7.2.4 , alexa , amazon music , avr , avr-x2500h , bluetooth headphones , calibrate , dali alteco , Dayton Audio , Denon , denon 3500 , denon 4500h , denon avr-x4500h , denon receiver , denon x3500 , dolby atmos , earc , heco victa 500 , heos , issue , Klipsch , lg b8 , onkyo ts-xr507 , oppo 203 , sound , speakers , svs pb-1000 , tear ax3000 , testing , wiring

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off