"OFFICIAL" 2018 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2279Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 4278 Old 11-14-2018, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hi all,

I´m debating between a 2017 or 2018 (4 or 6 series) model and have read this whole thread. However afaik this point from the 1st post has yet not been clarified, and tbh this is the single difference between models that could lean my decision towards the 2018 model:

X4500H/X6500H
- Auro 3D - able to use Surround Back speakers

This suggests the 2018 models are able to use the SB speakers in Auro3D while the 2017 don´t.

However the "Sound modes and channel output" section in the X4400H and X4500H manuals is identical, and in both models Auro3D is theorically allowed to use all 7 ground speakers in a 7.x.4 speaker configuration. Same goes for the online comparison. So I don´t understand why this is featured in the 1st post as a novelty for the 2018 models.

On the other hand, I´ve seen that in post #810 (page 27) there is a link from the Auro3D thread stating that the SB speakers did NOT output any sound with Auro 3D (both native and upmixed) in neither X4400H/X4500H models.

And to my confusion, post #811 states that a user reported that it works in a X4400H...which contradicts the post #1 again.

Can anyone clarify this point? My impression is that Auro3D capabilities are the same in 2017 and 2018 models, as I haven´t been able to found any official Denon info that states any difference in that regard.

But again, this was posted as a new feature in this 2018 thread so I´m really confused

Thank you very much in advance!
Keenan likes this.
ROKUGAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 4278 Old 11-15-2018, 04:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Va. USA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About Dual HDMI Output

Sorry, if this is answered, but I couldn't find it. I'm interested in the ability to use the AVR-S940H for 5.1 sound in my family room and use the second HDMI output for a TV in the kitchen. The main TV is 4k (Sony) and the (yet to be purchased) kitchen TV would likely be 1080p.

Will the AVR-S940H allow 5.1 sound in the family room and stereo in the kitchen simultaneously? Same source for both.

Also, will I still get 4k (say from an Apple TV 4k) on the family room TV and 1080p on the kitchen TVs when they are both on?

Thanks in advance. HDMI is such a mess and hoping this receiver is the answer.

JayW

Check here later for a thoughtful, funny, profound .sig line.
jayw is offline  
post #1083 of 4278 Old 11-15-2018, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22039 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayw View Post
Sorry, if this is answered, but I couldn't find it. I'm interested in the ability to use the AVR-S940H for 5.1 sound in my family room and use the second HDMI output for a TV in the kitchen. The main TV is 4k (Sony) and the (yet to be purchased) kitchen TV would likely be 1080p.

Will the AVR-S940H allow 5.1 sound in the family room and stereo in the kitchen simultaneously? Same source for both.

Also, will I still get 4k (say from an Apple TV 4k) on the family room TV and 1080p on the kitchen TVs when they are both on?

Thanks in advance. HDMI is such a mess and hoping this receiver is the answer.

JayW
1. Only if the TV can accept 5.1 audio, otherwise, stereo to both.
2. Nope. 1080p.
jayw likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1084 of 4278 Old 11-15-2018, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Every HDMI out multiplier (for lack of better term) will always negotiate DOWN to the lowest common denominator of features/capabilities for the devices connected/detected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayw View Post
Sorry, if this is answered, but I couldn't find it. I'm interested in the ability to use the AVR-S940H for 5.1 sound in my family room and use the second HDMI output for a TV in the kitchen. The main TV is 4k (Sony) and the (yet to be purchased) kitchen TV would likely be 1080p.

Will the AVR-S940H allow 5.1 sound in the family room and stereo in the kitchen simultaneously? Same source for both.

Also, will I still get 4k (say from an Apple TV 4k) on the family room TV and 1080p on the kitchen TVs when they are both on?

Thanks in advance. HDMI is such a mess and hoping this receiver is the answer.

JayW
jayw likes this.
rakstr is offline  
post #1085 of 4278 Old 11-15-2018, 11:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
jayw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Va. USA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this "lowest common denominator" effect apply if the kitchen TV is turned off?

Check here later for a thoughtful, funny, profound .sig line.
jayw is offline  
post #1086 of 4278 Old 11-15-2018, 11:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Typically yes in my experience. I do have ONE device that doesn't "report" if powered down but that's and outlier IMO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayw View Post
Does this "lowest common denominator" effect apply if the kitchen TV is turned off?
jayw likes this.

Last edited by rakstr; 11-16-2018 at 08:18 AM.
rakstr is offline  
post #1087 of 4278 Old 11-16-2018, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,255
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4254 Post(s)
Liked: 2994
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayw View Post
Does this "lowest common denominator" effect apply if the kitchen TV is turned off?
That depends on the TV and how it handles its EDID when powered off.
jayw likes this.
Stereodude is online now  
post #1088 of 4278 Old 11-16-2018, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,031
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6409 Post(s)
Liked: 6404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post

Sorry, I guess I need to do some research before asking questions,
Even experts are still learning, or at least they should be......
Keenan likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1089 of 4278 Old 11-16-2018, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROKUGAN View Post
Hi all,

I´m debating between a 2017 or 2018 (4 or 6 series) model and have read this whole thread. However afaik this point from the 1st post has yet not been clarified, and tbh this is the single difference between models that could lean my decision towards the 2018 model:

X4500H/X6500H
- Auro 3D - able to use Surround Back speakers

This suggests the 2018 models are able to use the SB speakers in Auro3D while the 2017 don´t.

However the "Sound modes and channel output" section in the X4400H and X4500H manuals is identical, and in both models Auro3D is theorically allowed to use all 7 ground speakers in a 7.x.4 speaker configuration. Same goes for the online comparison. So I don´t understand why this is featured in the 1st post as a novelty for the 2018 models.

On the other hand, I´ve seen that in post #810 (page 27) there is a link from the Auro3D thread stating that the SB speakers did NOT output any sound with Auro 3D (both native and upmixed) in neither X4400H/X4500H models.

And to my confusion, post #811 states that a user reported that it works in a X4400H...which contradicts the post #1 again.

Can anyone clarify this point? My impression is that Auro3D capabilities are the same in 2017 and 2018 models, as I haven´t been able to found any official Denon info that states any difference in that regard.

But again, this was posted as a new feature in this 2018 thread so I´m really confused

Thank you very much in advance!
In my research on the 6400 I saw a video that showed Auro3D could not be enabled with Top Front/Top Back, but could be enabled if you changed the settings of your overheads to front Height/Back height. Imaging wouldn't be correct but the mode could be enabled at least. I didn't see anything that would lead me to believe the surround rears couldn't be used... but I haven't purchased the amp yet so I haven't played with it.
MordredKLB is offline  
post #1090 of 4278 Old 11-17-2018, 08:16 AM
Member
 
bdmckinl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: London, ON, Canada
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayw View Post
Does this "lowest common denominator" effect apply if the kitchen TV is turned off?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
Typically yes in my experience. I do have ONE device that doesn't "report" if powered down but that's and outlier IMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
That depends on the TV and how it handles its EDID when powered off.
Jayw, in my experience thus far with the X6500H this "lowest common denominator" effect doesn't apply if the ZONE to that kitchen TV is turned off though (and/or if that Zone is powered on but on a different input).

This observation may have something to do with the source I'm using (an Apple TV 4K), and/or with the settings on the Denon - under HDMI there is an option to have input passthrough even when in standby power mode. I have this option toggled OFF.

cheers,
Duncan
jayw likes this.

4K/3D Projector: Sony VPL-VW295es | Screen: 120" 16x9 framed 'Screen Goo’ (Digital Grey) | 4K Player: Panasonic DP-UB820-K | Streaming: Apple TV 4K (64 GB) | Gaming: PS4 (500 GB), PS3 Slim (320 GB) | Receiver: Denon AVR-X6500H | Speakers (5.1.4): Axiom VP150 (centre), Axiom M60 x2 (towers), Axiom EP350 (LFE), Axiom QS8 quadpolar x2 (surrounds), Axiom M3 In-Ceiling x4 (atmos) | Remote: Harmony Elite
bdmckinl is offline  
post #1091 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Zoland2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 84
The wait is over cause the AVR-S740H has just came in the mail today! I'm planning on running 7.1 surround sound, Dolby Atmos and DTS:X both will have to wait until I move into a house that way I can run the overheads (for Atmos/DTS:X) as "in-ceiling speakers" rather than using front heights or them so-called reflective Atmos-enabled speakers. I'm going to play around with this receiver for a couple of weeks & I'll come back with a small review then.
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181118_131852.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	98.3 KB
ID:	2484546
Madmax67 likes this.

My current mancave room setup:
Vizio V436-G1 4K HDR TV | LG UBK90 4K Blu-ray player | Denon AVR-S740H AV Receiver (running 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos and DTS:X) | Xbox One X | Roku Ultra (2018 model)
Zoland2020 is online now  
post #1092 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I ordered the S640H and I plan to connect to a speaker switcher, but I don't see any information on how to do this.

Can someone provide some insight on where to connect the 4 wires (red, black, white, green) from the speaker selector to the S640H receiver?

Jobsite S6VC Six zone speaker selector
Power handling: 100 watts per channel
Frequency response: +/- 1.2 dB from 20Hz to 20kHz
Attenuation: 54dB maximum

Safely Connect Up To Six Speaker Pairs To A Single Amplifier Or Receiver
Individual Room On/off Switches
2 Step Make Before Break Volume Control Switch Design
High Power Handling Capability
Built-in Protection Circuit
Compatible With All 4 Ohm Capable Amplifiers Or Receivers

Thanks!
Jeff11214 is offline  
post #1093 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1885 Post(s)
Liked: 3423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff11214 View Post
I ordered the S640H and I plan to connect to a speaker switcher, but I don't see any information on how to do this.

Can someone provide some insight on where to connect the 4 wires (red, black, white, green) from the speaker selector to the S640H receiver?

Jobsite S6VC Six zone speaker selector
Power handling: 100 watts per channel
Frequency response: +/- 1.2 dB from 20Hz to 20kHz
Attenuation: 54dB maximum

Safely Connect Up To Six Speaker Pairs To A Single Amplifier Or Receiver
Individual Room On/off Switches
2 Step Make Before Break Volume Control Switch Design
High Power Handling Capability
Built-in Protection Circuit
Compatible With All 4 Ohm Capable Amplifiers Or Receivers

Thanks!
Look at the block the wires are connected to. It should be marked R+ R-, L-.L+ Hook those wires to the matching Fronts on the AVR. The Red/black probably hook to the identical colors on one speaker, and the white PROBABLY hooks up to the black on the other, and the green to the red, but I'm not sure.

If the block isn't marked like the drawing in the manual, it is left to right.
R+ R- L- L+
String them to the same FRONT posts on the AVR.

Link to manual:
https://all-guides.com/manual/483490...manual-12.html
Madmax67 likes this.

Spoiler!

Last edited by drh3b; 11-18-2018 at 02:48 PM.
drh3b is offline  
post #1094 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Austria
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Denon X4500 no 4K/HDR Support

Hello

I have a Samsung Q9FN TV and since yesterday a Denon X4500 AVR. My Problem: for full 4K/HDR support i have to set the Denon in it's video menu to 4K "Enhanced". But if i do so, three of my four 4K devices do not work and my TV just says "no input signal".

Not working: PS4 Pro, Xbox One S (games do work, UHD Discs do not), Samsung UBD-K8500

Working: HTPC with Nvidia GTX 1070

I found a lot of threads with problems about Denon + PS4 Pro, the solution was always "get a better HDMI cable". But all of my 4K devices are still yet connected with certified HDMI cables with a max. length of 6,5ft. and everything worked fine for the last two years with my Onkyo TX-NR646. The issues started with the Denon.

After hours of testing I found some kind of "workaround" for my problem:

AVR and TV have to be connected with not ARC-able HDMI Ports. I use "Monitor 2" on the Denon, and HDMI2 on the TV. Just deactivating HDMI-CEC in the menu, isn't enough. After that I have to turn on TV, AVR and the 4K device. After the TV shows "no input signal" I have to soft-reset (hold on/off button) the TV and after it restarts it worked with all of my devices. But as you can guess this solution is not satisfying, as I have to redo this procedure everytime I start one of my 4K devices.

In another thread I read Denon has problems with 2018 Samsung TVs, but the last post was from summer.

Does anyone have an idea what I can do?

Thank you very much
Nemesis200SX is offline  
post #1095 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22039 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis200SX View Post
Hello

I have a Samsung Q9FN TV and since yesterday a Denon X4500 AVR. My Problem: for full 4K/HDR support i have to set the Denon in it's video menu to 4K "Enhanced". But if i do so, three of my four 4K devices do not work and my TV just says "no input signal".

Not working: PS4 Pro, Xbox One S (games do work, UHD Discs do not), Samsung UBD-K8500

Working: HTPC with Nvidia GTX 1070

I found a lot of threads with problems about Denon + PS4 Pro, the solution was always "get a better HDMI cable". But all of my 4K devices are still yet connected with certified HDMI cables with a max. length of 6,5ft. and everything worked fine for the last two years with my Onkyo TX-NR646. The issues started with the Denon.

After hours of testing I found some kind of "workaround" for my problem:

AVR and TV have to be connected with not ARC-able HDMI Ports. I use "Monitor 2" on the Denon, and HDMI2 on the TV. Just deactivating HDMI-CEC in the menu, isn't enough. After that I have to turn on TV, AVR and the 4K device. After the TV shows "no input signal" I have to soft-reset (hold on/off button) the TV and after it restarts it worked with all of my devices. But as you can guess this solution is not satisfying, as I have to redo this procedure everytime I start one of my 4K devices.

In another thread I read Denon has problems with 2018 Samsung TVs, but the last post was from summer.

Does anyone have an idea what I can do?

Thank you very much
Certified "Premium"? If not, replace all HDMI cables with "Premium" certified.

https://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/pr...n_Program.aspx
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1096 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
Look at the block the wires are connected to. It should be marked R+ R-, L-.L+ Hook those wires to the matching Fronts on the AVR. The Red/black probably hook to the identical colors on one speaker, and the white PROBABLY hooks up to the black on the other, and the green to the red, but I'm not sure.

If the block isn't marked like the drawing in the manual, it is left to right.
R+ R- L- L+
String them to the same FRONT posts on the AVR.

Link to manual:
https://all-guides.com/manual/483490...manual-12.html
On the speaker switcher, I do have "R+ R- L- L+". Could I simply connect the 4 wires to the S640H receiver speaker connectors? I'm not sure if the receiver needs to have 2 zones or multi zones in order for this to work.
Jeff11214 is offline  
post #1097 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22039 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff11214 View Post
On the speaker switcher, I do have "R+ R- L- L+". Could I simply connect the 4 wires to the S640H receiver speaker connectors? I'm not sure if the receiver needs to have 2 zones or multi zones in order for this to work.
The S640H is only a 5CH model, therefore no Zone 2. Your only option is to connect to the Front L/R speaker posts such that when you are playing stereo (2.0) audio, you can pass it to speakers connected to the speaker selector.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1098 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1885 Post(s)
Liked: 3423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff11214 View Post
On the speaker switcher, I do have "R+ R- L- L+". Could I simply connect the 4 wires to the S640H receiver speaker connectors? I'm not sure if the receiver needs to have 2 zones or multi zones in order for this to work.
Just connect them to the matching FRONT speaker posts. All the speakers on the switch will play the same source, no multi zones. If you want separate zones with different sources, you will have to use the multi zone features of the AVR, if you simply want to run the same source in several different rooms, the speaker switcher will work great.

Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #1099 of 4278 Old 11-18-2018, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Austria
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Certified "Premium"? If not, replace all HDMI cables with "Premium" certified.
Yes, all cables for my 4K devices and also the cable between AVR and TV are Premium certified.
Nemesis200SX is offline  
post #1100 of 4278 Old 11-19-2018, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Denon's AVR-X4500H + PMA-1520ae

Hello people. Just bought an 4500 AVR and already have 1520 amp in house hoping they'll pal up for remote controlling smoothly and seamlessly. Seems not the case So now thinking how to remote control both simultaneously, at least power on/off - there is no trigger input on amp, just IR remote control IN/OUT (lowly marked "for future use" in the manual). On the other side, surprisingly, there is no word about supporting even native amps by this AVR's RCU via remote codes. Any thoughts or info about this? Or am I doomed to live with two remotes in hand or now must change the amp for something with trigger IN or buy China-made universal remote and try to use it with all three TV-AVR-Amp? Anybody knows something about this mysterious "IR remote control IN/OUT"? Any reply would be appreciated. Thank you.
TulipB is offline  
post #1101 of 4278 Old 11-19-2018, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
Quote:
Originally Posted by TulipB View Post
Hello people. Just bought an 4500 AVR and already have 1520 amp in house hoping they'll pal up for remote controlling smoothly and seamlessly. Seems not the case So now thinking how to remote control both simultaneously, at least power on/off - there is no trigger input on amp, just IR remote control IN/OUT (lowly marked "for future use" in the manual). On the other side, surprisingly, there is no word about supporting even native amps by this AVR's RCU via remote codes. Any thoughts or info about this? Or am I doomed to live with two remotes in hand or now must change the amp for something with trigger IN or buy China-made universal remote and try to use it with all three TV-AVR-Amp? Anybody knows something about this mysterious "IR remote control IN/OUT"? Any reply would be appreciated. Thank you.
You might consider getting a "smart" power strip. Some can be controlled by 12v triggers, some have Alexa control and some enable secondary power outlets when the primary outlet draws power.
Madmax67 likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1102 of 4278 Old 11-19-2018, 01:43 PM
Member
 
ashman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
- S640H - MSRP $379, 5.2 CH, 75W, HDMI In/Out (6.1) - avail April
Upgrading from the S540BT provides all HDMI inputs as 4k/HDCP 2.2 capable, and the lowest model to feature Audyssey MultEQ (6 mic positions), networking, DSD via USB/network source, speaker posts, 32 bit DAC, and an on board Denon HEOS module (allows streaming of HEOS app music services to the AVR as well as streaming PCM 2.0 source from the AVR to HEOS wireless speakers set up around the home). Firmware updates are installed via a network connection or USB. There are no Zone 2 pre-outs. No noticeable difference in power; however, this is the lowest model with Audyssey so audio quality should be improved after running Audyssey. This is the lowest model that can use the Audyssey MultEQ Editor iOS/Android app ($20). PHONO input. Dolby Vision + HLG. ALLM via firmware update.

I just tried the Editor app for iOS and it couldn't find my receiver even when the ip address was provided. Does the app currently support the 640 or is there possible something on my network end?


thanks
ashman5 is offline  
post #1103 of 4278 Old 11-20-2018, 03:56 AM
Newbie
 
asdasd123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi


I just read that Denon AVR X4500H has internal cooling fans. Is this true and can you actually hear them? It seems odd that a hi-fi sound device would create its own noise by design.
asdasd123 is offline  
post #1104 of 4278 Old 11-20-2018, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22039 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdasd123 View Post
Hi


I just read that Denon AVR X4500H has internal cooling fans. Is this true and can you actually hear them? It seems odd that a hi-fi sound device would create its own noise by design.
Yes, it's true, however, they only power on in extreme cases (ie. if the temp reaches 158F) which for the vast majority would be never.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1105 of 4278 Old 11-20-2018, 05:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22039 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman5 View Post
I just tried the Editor app for iOS and it couldn't find my receiver even when the ip address was provided. Does the app currently support the 640 or is there possible something on my network end?


thanks
Apparently it's not supported (although not sure why not as it features Audyssey and is a networking model) as neither app lists the S640H so I'll edit that line out.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 11-20-2018 at 05:53 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1106 of 4278 Old 11-20-2018, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Its time to update a/v receiver and i am looking at Denon AVR-X1500H. paired with speakers with different nominal impedance front and backs are 6 ohm but center is 4 ohm. Does anyone run such setup and if it works ok.?
MihaM is offline  
post #1107 of 4278 Old 11-20-2018, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22039 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by MihaM View Post
Its time to update a/v receiver and i am looking at Denon AVR-X1500H. paired with speakers with different nominal impedance front and backs are 6 ohm but center is 4 ohm. Does anyone run such setup and if it works ok.?
More than just impedance, the sensitivity of the speaker is also of importance; however, at average TV listening volume levels, in general, there shouldn't be a problem.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1108 of 4278 Old 11-20-2018, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Should provide more info..Its dali oberon

Center (oberon vokal) Sensitivity (2,83 V/1 m) [dB] 89.5
front (oberon 3) Sensitivity (2,83 V/1 m) [dB] 87
rear (oberon 1) Sensitivity (2,83 V/1 m) [dB] 86
MihaM is offline  
post #1109 of 4278 Old 11-21-2018, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Can anyone tell me how the headphone jack on the 6400 works? I.e., is it possible to have a 1/4" jack plugged into that slot, and bypass output to it?

The reason I ask is that my receiver will be in a closet, and if possible I'd love to have a cable always hooked up to the headphone jack on the receiver, terminated in female 1/4" plug flush mounted into some cabinetry I'm building. That way I could just plug the headphones into the cabinet, punch a button on the remote, and only then would sound be routed to the headphones. I've never had a receiver that worked this way, but would love it if these newer versions allow for it.
MordredKLB is offline  
post #1110 of 4278 Old 11-21-2018, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,047
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22039 Post(s)
Liked: 11953
Quote:
Originally Posted by MordredKLB View Post
Can anyone tell me how the headphone jack on the 6400 works? I.e., is it possible to have a 1/4" jack plugged into that slot, and bypass output to it?

The reason I ask is that my receiver will be in a closet, and if possible I'd love to have a cable always hooked up to the headphone jack on the receiver, terminated in female 1/4" plug flush mounted into some cabinetry I'm building. That way I could just plug the headphones into the cabinet, punch a button on the remote, and only then would sound be routed to the headphones. I've never had a receiver that worked this way, but would love it if these newer versions allow for it.
Nope.
MordredKLB likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
calibrate , dali alteco , Denon , denon 4500h , denon avr-x4500h , denon x3500 , heco victa 500 , onkyo ts-xr507 , sound , tear ax3000 , testing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off