"OFFICIAL" 2018 Marantz "NR-Series"/"SR-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-7) - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 179Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1137 Old 05-29-2018, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,986
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post
So, since the NR1609 will support AirPlay 2, would we expect to use Siri to ask "turn the Marantz Zone 2 ON"?

Wonder if the NR1608 will get AirPlay 2 support, since it's a software protocol that can be updated via firmware.
The first is possible although not actually being able to turn the Marantz ON, rather as is possible now, simply starting an Airplay stream to the AVR which in turn will power on the AVR.

Yes, it was announced just today that the 2017 models will receive a firmware update for Airplay 2.
Sam S and 4o4o like this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-30-2018 at 12:59 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1137 Old 05-30-2018, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 7,341
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 897
jdsmoothie: Thanks for the information before on my 1608, tried to do a manual reset of the network card and no go... The unit worked perfectly fine with the exception of the network and or Helos system, hopefully new one will not have similar issues. The good thing is Amazon replaced it at no charge and I should have the new one tomorrow as I disconnect this one and send it back. On the plus side, pretty impressive slim receiver for the money and does a very good job with my KEF system in our upstairs living room. Doing a Media room in the basement and might go back to Marantz for our media room we are having built.

Dynaudio Confidence C2 Platinums (Mocca), Dynaudio Contour 20's (Grey Oak) KEF LS50 (Black), Magnepan 1.7i, Belles VT-01/MB-200s, NAD M10, Hegel, Musical Fidelity and various other good brands.. HT system: Dynaudio SCX Center, Dynaudio In-Walls for Surrounds and Sony VPL-295ES possibly a new Monitor in the future.
Kanso Audio Stand's http://kansoaudiofurniture.com/
Garman is online now  
post #33 of 1137 Old 05-30-2018, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,986
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garman View Post
jdsmoothie: Thanks for the information before on my 1608, tried to do a manual reset of the network card and no go... The unit worked perfectly fine with the exception of the network and or Helos system, hopefully new one will not have similar issues. The good thing is Amazon replaced it at no charge and I should have the new one tomorrow as I disconnect this one and send it back. On the plus side, pretty impressive slim receiver for the money and does a very good job with my KEF system in our upstairs living room. Doing a Media room in the basement and might go back to Marantz for our media room we are having built.
No problem ... note however, you just posted in the 2018 thread ... vs. the correct 2017 thread.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1137 Old 05-30-2018, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 7,341
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No problem ... note however, you just posted in the 2018 thread ... vs. the correct 2017 thread.
Yup, I know just thanking you thats all!

Dynaudio Confidence C2 Platinums (Mocca), Dynaudio Contour 20's (Grey Oak) KEF LS50 (Black), Magnepan 1.7i, Belles VT-01/MB-200s, NAD M10, Hegel, Musical Fidelity and various other good brands.. HT system: Dynaudio SCX Center, Dynaudio In-Walls for Surrounds and Sony VPL-295ES possibly a new Monitor in the future.
Kanso Audio Stand's http://kansoaudiofurniture.com/
Garman is online now  
post #35 of 1137 Old 06-03-2018, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Rktman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
NR-1609 Zone 2 Issues

I’m somewhat of a newbie to newer gear. Back in the day most Receivers had an A/B switch and it was as simple as pushing a button to get sound into another room.

Here’s my issue... I have a NR-1609 and I want to send a signal to Zone 2(Outside Speakers). My Zone 2 is hooked up to the Surround Backs. I really would like to simply send the same source to Zone 2. No can do. I have to use an analog source? So I got clever. I used the headphone out on the TV and input the signal into an analog input. I thought I was clever. The receiver is not sending an audio signal to the tv unless I switch the AVR off and use the TV speakers. If I use the TV speakers, I can’t use the main speakers. Zone 2 works fine.

Do I have any other options? Use an A/B switch? Any other clever thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Jim
Rktman is offline  
post #36 of 1137 Old 06-03-2018, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,986
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rktman View Post
I’m somewhat of a newbie to newer gear. Back in the day most Receivers had an A/B switch and it was as simple as pushing a button to get sound into another room.

Here’s my issue... I have a NR-1609 and I want to send a signal to Zone 2(Outside Speakers). My Zone 2 is hooked up to the Surround Backs. I really would like to simply send the same source to Zone 2. No can do. I have to use an analog source? So I got clever. I used the headphone out on the TV and input the signal into an analog input. I thought I was clever. The receiver is not sending an audio signal to the tv unless I switch the AVR off and use the TV speakers. If I use the TV speakers, I can’t use the main speakers. Zone 2 works fine.

Do I have any other options? Use an A/B switch? Any other clever thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Jim
"OPTION - ALL ZONE STEREO" (p. 112 Owner's manual) which would down mix the main zone to stereo as well, otherwise you will have to also connect an analog cable from the source or use an HDMI --> analog converter.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #37 of 1137 Old 06-03-2018, 02:46 PM
Newbie
 
Rktman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
"OPTION - ALL ZONE STEREO" (p. 112 Owner's manual) which would down mix the main zone to stereo as well, otherwise you will have to also connect an analog cable from the source or use an HDMI --> analog converter.
Thank you very much. All good. I can deal with this setup for the outdoor speakers. I really appreciate it. I was pulling my hair out!

Jim
Rktman is offline  
post #38 of 1137 Old 06-11-2018, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3827 Post(s)
Liked: 4701
Can't wait to get this guy for my bedroom


Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #39 of 1137 Old 06-13-2018, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,335
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 881
seems like a pretty good setup to use these for a multi-zone home setup.

you get the advantage of built in eq and bass management and amps per zone. not many options are out there for that coupled with network playback via airplay2 (assuming these will get it).

when you add up everything, $550 is getting to be a feasible price and the fact that you can use these as a normal avr for some of your regular tv's is even better.

I would personally prefer this in a 1 or 2u rackmount concept for easy stacking.

2 zone is not a bad setup but I would have really liked this in a 4 zone device.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #40 of 1137 Old 06-13-2018, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3827 Post(s)
Liked: 4701
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post
seems like a pretty good setup to use these for a multi-zone home setup.

you get the advantage of built in eq and bass management and amps per zone. not many options are out there for that coupled with network playback via airplay2 (assuming these will get it).

when you add up everything, $550 is getting to be a feasible price and the fact that you can use these as a normal avr for some of your regular tv's is even better.

I would personally prefer this in a 1 or 2u rackmount concept for easy stacking.

2 zone is not a bad setup but I would have really liked this in a 4 zone device.
It's official:

https://www.whathifi.com/news/marant...-and-airplay-2

https://www.techradar.com/news/maran...to-home-cinema

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #41 of 1137 Old 06-14-2018, 03:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,986
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
These also confirm that there will be no SR8013, rather the SR8012 will continue for 2018/2019.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #42 of 1137 Old 06-23-2018, 02:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I will also wait for SRX014 with HDMI 2.1, not for 8k but for all the other stuff
Paco_Schumi is offline  
post #43 of 1137 Old 06-23-2018, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,549
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6669 Post(s)
Liked: 6666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garman View Post
The unit worked perfectly fine with the exception of the network and or Helos system, hopefully new one will not have similar issues. The good thing is Amazon replaced it at no charge and I should have the new one tomorrow as I disconnect this one and send it back. On the plus side, pretty impressive slim receiver for the money and does a very good job with my KEF system in our upstairs living room. Doing a Media room in the basement and might go back to Marantz for our media room we are having built.
Having good speakers like the KEF's certainly help things
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #44 of 1137 Old 06-23-2018, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,986
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paco_Schumi View Post
I will also wait for SRX014 with HDMI 2.1, not for 8k but for all the other stuff
More likely SRX015.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #45 of 1137 Old 07-01-2018, 05:31 AM
Newbie
 
Monkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I know some of you guys have been wondering if the new Marantz 2018-line up can display the GUI over 4K content.

I have tried this on both NR1509 and NR1609 with my Apple TV and 4K content from Netflix.

The result is that the volume bar can overlay both 4K HDR 60/50 HZ and 4K Dolby Vision 60/50 HZ. The only difference on 4K content is that the background for the volume bar is solid black and not transparent (as on 1080p content).

When pressing "Info" or "Option" on the remote the menus will be displayed (with the movie still shown in background). Only when going into "Setup" the menu will be taking over the full screen of TV.

I have attached some screenshots (color of volume bars seems to change between orange and green depending on if signal is HDR or Dolby Vision).

Note that I have tested this on the European versions of NR1509 and NR1609. One strange thing is that on Marantz website the European version of NR1509 (unlike the US version) doesn't have a check mark of being able to perform "4K overlay". But it seems it works perfect anyway.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NR1509_4K_HDR_50HZ.jpg
Views:	391
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	2422624   Click image for larger version

Name:	NR1509_4K_D_VISION_50HZ.jpg
Views:	365
Size:	94.5 KB
ID:	2422626  
Sam S, enricoclaudio and dfa973 like this.
Monkart is offline  
post #46 of 1137 Old 07-01-2018, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3827 Post(s)
Liked: 4701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkart View Post
I know some of you guys have been wondering if the new Marantz 2018-line up can display the GUI over 4K content.

I have tried this on both NR1509 and NR1609 with my Apple TV and 4K content from Netflix.

The result is that the volume bar can overlay both 4K HDR 60/50 HZ and 4K Dolby Vision 60/50 HZ. The only difference on 4K content is that the background for the volume bar is solid black and not transparent (as on 1080p content).

When pressing "Info" or "Option" on the remote the menus will be displayed (with the movie still shown in background). Only when going into "Setup" the menu will be taking over the full screen of TV.

I have attached some screenshots (color of volume bars seems to change between orange and green depending on if signal is HDR or Dolby Vision).

Note that I have tested this on the European versions of NR1509 and NR1609. One strange thing is that on Marantz website the European version of NR1509 (unlike the US version) doesn't have a check mark of being able to perform "4K overlay". But it seems it works perfect anyway.
Wow, good to know it works with Dolby Vision as well. According to the first post on this thread, it should with 4K HDR but not with 4K DV.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #47 of 1137 Old 07-11-2018, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Curious what the folks here think about the nr1609 or 1509 as a replacement for an integrated amp in a 2 channel audio system. With the phono stage, it seems that it can do everything I need including the Airplay 2 etc. Any comments on the sound? Or the logic of trying to go with a one box solution?

My first post here. Thanks for any advice.
Carnelian is offline  
post #48 of 1137 Old 07-11-2018, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3827 Post(s)
Liked: 4701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnelian View Post
Curious what the folks here think about the nr1609 or 1509 as a replacement for an integrated amp in a 2 channel audio system. With the phono stage, it seems that it can do everything I need including the Airplay 2 etc. Any comments on the sound? Or the logic of trying to go with a one box solution?

My first post here. Thanks for any advice.
It depends the integrated. I'm running a NR1606 (2015 model) in my bedroom setup and it sounds great. It's going to be replaced by a SR6013 when available. If you are serious abut 2 ch music and your integrated is a high end piece of equipment, then I wouldn't replaced it with a NR1609 for 2 ch music. Like a Parasound Halo Integrated or something similar.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #49 of 1137 Old 07-12-2018, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3827 Post(s)
Liked: 4701
SR5013 and SR6013 User manual links are now active. Looks like we are close for release

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #50 of 1137 Old 07-13-2018, 01:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do these 2018 models have bluetooth 5 or bluetooth aptX? And latest WiFi AX or just WiFi AC?
rmSX13 is offline  
post #51 of 1137 Old 07-13-2018, 02:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,986
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmSX13 View Post
Do these 2018 models have bluetooth 5 or bluetooth aptX? And latest WiFi AX or just WiFi AC?
None of the above.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #52 of 1137 Old 07-13-2018, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
NetGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Regarding the SR5013:

Will the SR5013 will have full 7.1 pre-amp outputs for connection to an external amplifier?
Specifically, using an external amplifier, can I power a 5.1 setup with my mains bi-amped?
Can the same be done with the SR5012?

Or should I be looking at the SR6012, SR6013, SR7012, and SR7012?

Thanks!



3 Hometheaters
Samsung 65" UHDTV (UN65KS8000)
Marantz SR5012 & KEF R Series Speakers
6 HDTV's. Desktop PC, XB360, XB1X & XB1
100+ Games. XBox Live GT: NetGod

Last edited by NetGod; 07-13-2018 at 06:44 AM.
NetGod is offline  
post #53 of 1137 Old 07-13-2018, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetGod View Post
Regarding the SR5013:

Will the SR5013 will have full 7.1 pre-amp outputs for connection to an external amplifier?
Yes.
Quote:
Specifically, using an external amplifier, can I power a 5.1 setup with my mains bi-amped?
Yes, although bi-amping in this way provides no audible advantage. It's just a marketing ploy.
Quote:
Can the same be done with the SR5012?
Yes.
Quote:
Or should I be looking at the SR6012, SR6013, SR7012, and SR7012?
They all provide the same "bi-amp" feature.

Unfortunately, however, bi-amping speakers using a receiver does nothing useful. It's just a marketing ploy. The total power available is limited by the receiver's shared power supply and biamping does not double the power available to the speaker (the woofer requires most of the power, tweeter and midrange drivers use very little). Also, the audio quality is not improved because the same audio signal is provided to both of the receiver's outputs, and the same passive frequency crossover networks are used for the drivers in the speakers whether or not the speakerss jumpers are in place.

If you really need more power, you should use an external amplifier (as you mention). However, remember that 2x the power provides only a 3dB increase in sound level, which is just barely noticeable, while 10x is needed to double the perceived sound level. The best way to get a higher sound level is to acquire speakers with an efficiency (sensitivity) greater than 100dB/w/m. Most are below 90dB/w/m.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #54 of 1137 Old 07-13-2018, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,986
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetGod View Post
Regarding the SR5013:

Will the SR5013 will have full 7.1 pre-amp outputs for connection to an external amplifier?
Specifically, using an external amplifier, can I power a 5.1 setup with my mains bi-amped?
Can the same be done with the SR5012?

Or should I be looking at the SR6012, SR6013, SR7012, and SR7012?

Thanks!


Yes, the SR5000 series have featured 7.1 main zone pre-outs since 2012.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #55 of 1137 Old 07-13-2018, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Looks like the 6013, despite supporting 11 channels, does not support wides. I guess that answers the question of whether D&M will pass wides on down from the 8500H. Too bad.

Setup:
Spoiler!
dkfan9 is offline  
post #56 of 1137 Old 07-15-2018, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3827 Post(s)
Liked: 4701
SR5013 and SR6013 already available for pre order at B&H Photo.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #57 of 1137 Old 07-15-2018, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Mike Ratledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
SR5013 and SR6013 already available for pre order at B&H Photo.
Yep, and everyone seems to be following suit and making SR5012 available "New" for $599. The SR6012 is available most places for $899 (New) already.
Mike Ratledge is offline  
post #58 of 1137 Old 07-15-2018, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3827 Post(s)
Liked: 4701
Internal pictures of Marantz SR5013 showing AKM AK4458VN DAC
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SR5013-1.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	683.5 KB
ID:	2428898   Click image for larger version

Name:	SR5013-2.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	831.9 KB
ID:	2428900  

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #59 of 1137 Old 07-15-2018, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Mike Ratledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
They all provide the same "bi-amp" feature.

Unfortunately, however, bi-amping speakers using a receiver does nothing useful. It's just a marketing ploy. The total power available is limited by the receiver's shared power supply and biamping does not double the power available to the speaker (the woofer requires most of the power, tweeter and midrange drivers use very little). Also, the audio quality is not improved because the same audio signal is provided to both of the receiver's outputs, and the same passive frequency crossover networks are used for the drivers in the speakers whether or not the speakerss jumpers are in place.

...
Agree with everything except we need to discard considering the power output for the subwoofer(s) is not relevant to power consumption as it pertains to total power limit. 99% of all subs these days are powered, so only pre/pro is happening in or at the expense of the AVR. Normally 0 impact on powering them, even though - of course - they typically draw as much as - if not more - power than the rest of the speakers.
Mike Ratledge is offline  
post #60 of 1137 Old 07-15-2018, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Ratledge View Post
Agree with everything except we need to discard considering the power output for the subwoofer(s) is not relevant to power consumption as it pertains to total power limit. 99% of all subs these days are powered, so only pre/pro is happening in or at the expense of the AVR. Normally 0 impact on powering them, even though - of course - they typically draw as much as - if not more - power than the rest of the speakers.
Right: that's why I didn't write anything about subwoofers, just the woofers in the speakers.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
crash , freeze , Marantz , problem , sr6013

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off