Onkyo TX-NR787 Has 9-Channel Atmos and DTS:X for $799 MSRP - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 52Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 281 Old 11-11-2018, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
rahulp001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
What was your source?

There's an IntelliVolume setting for each input that lets you configure it to match the others, since not all sources are identical. It gives you -10dB/+12dB (going from memory here) to tweak the relative volumes. I think that's why it seems like you have to push the volume on the NR787 where in other (or older) receivers it wasn't necessary. If you can push an input +12dB, you'd probably want your visible display to reflect 12dB lower than that.
Understand the intellivolume. Thats to even out the volume level across the input sources.
But my question was more on the default settings where I have to be at -15db for both the bluray as well as amazon fire tv sources.
Wondering if being at that volume level at all times should be considered ok or am I pushing the receiver too hard to drive the speakers?
Btw my empteks do have low sensitivity about 85db or so...



Sent from my LG-H871 using Tapatalk

5.1.2 HT Setup: EMPTek E55Ti (L&R), E56Ci (Center), E5Bi (surround sides), E5Bi (front heights), Sonance MAG6R (2 Rear in-ceiling), SVS PB-2000, ONKYO NR787, BENQ W1070, SilverTicket 110" screen, 3DHeaven ultra clear HD glasses
rahulp001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 281 Old 11-11-2018, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Dodge DeBoulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahulp001 View Post
Understand the intellivolume. Thats to even out the volume level across the input sources.
But my question was more on the default settings where I have to be at -15db for both the bluray as well as amazon fire tv sources.
Wondering if being at that volume level at all times should be considered ok or am I pushing the receiver too hard to drive the speakers?
Btw my empteks do have low sensitivity about 85db or so...
I don't think the displayed volume level is absolute. It's "accuracy" is affected by input source levels and things like IntelliVolume tweaking. Set IntelliVolume to +12dB for your BR player input and you would have to set your receiver's master volume at -27dB to get the same apparent sound level as 0dB for IntelliVolume and -15dB master volume with the same input. Switch to your Fire TV and you'd have to crank it back up to -15dB to get the theater experience.

I'm just saying that the master volume display is very likely offset from the "true" reference level of 0dB by -12dB or so to accommodate the maximum IntelliVolume gain.

Caveat: I'm not remotely qualified as an audio engineer. I did sell home audio equipment back in the 70s and early 80s, though ... and I slept in a Holiday Inn Express last night
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
post #123 of 281 Old 11-11-2018, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
rahulp001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If you slept at Holiday Inn Express, you have my respect :-)
I will look into the Intellivolume. But just wanted to confirm its not unheard of to run your receiver at -15.. -10 all the time.
That too with 5.1.2, I still need to add two more ceiling speakers yet.
Talking about Ceiling speakers, i have seen a lot of love for the Polk RC80i and RLS c34e. I also saw a mention of the Sonance Magc6.
Would like to know what atmos speakers you guys are using with the NR787.

One more thing i wanted to check.. is there a way to increase the dialog level alone? I see that they dialogs are very low even at -15 and sometimes getting lost in the background track.
On the Denon, i was able to specifically bump up the dialog level, not sure 787 has something like that.

5.1.2 HT Setup: EMPTek E55Ti (L&R), E56Ci (Center), E5Bi (surround sides), E5Bi (front heights), Sonance MAG6R (2 Rear in-ceiling), SVS PB-2000, ONKYO NR787, BENQ W1070, SilverTicket 110" screen, 3DHeaven ultra clear HD glasses
rahulp001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 281 Old 11-12-2018, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahulp001 View Post
If you slept at Holiday Inn Express, you have my respect :-)
I will look into the Intellivolume. But just wanted to confirm its not unheard of to run your receiver at -15.. -10 all the time.
That too with 5.1.2, I still need to add two more ceiling speakers yet.
Talking about Ceiling speakers, i have seen a lot of love for the Polk RC80i and RLS c34e. I also saw a mention of the Sonance Magc6.
Would like to know what atmos speakers you guys are using with the NR787.

One more thing i wanted to check.. is there a way to increase the dialog level alone? I see that they dialogs are very low even at -15 and sometimes getting lost in the background track.
On the Denon, i was able to specifically bump up the dialog level, not sure 787 has something like that.
on your question
"is there a way to increase the dialog level alone? I see that they dialogs are very low even at -15 and sometimes getting lost in the background track.
On the Denon, i was able to specifically bump up the dialog level, not sure 787 has something like that."


One way seems to be to up the Center Channel db level,
plus
this on Page 130 of the Manual
(under the Quick Menu found on the Remote and you click OTHER):
"Dialog Control: You can increase the volume of dialog portion of the audio up to
6 dB by 1 dB step so that you can hear the dialog easily in noisy atmosphere.
• This cannot be set for content other than DTS:X.
• Depending on the content, this function may not be selected."
Phil1950 is offline  
post #125 of 281 Old 11-12-2018, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
rahulp001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yeah.. looks like increasing the center level is the only way.
The Dialog Control is pretty much disabled for most types of input formats.

5.1.2 HT Setup: EMPTek E55Ti (L&R), E56Ci (Center), E5Bi (surround sides), E5Bi (front heights), Sonance MAG6R (2 Rear in-ceiling), SVS PB-2000, ONKYO NR787, BENQ W1070, SilverTicket 110" screen, 3DHeaven ultra clear HD glasses
rahulp001 is offline  
post #126 of 281 Old 11-12-2018, 10:08 PM
Newbie
 
CaptChaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To those that own the 787, does it run hot?
CaptChaos is offline  
post #127 of 281 Old 11-13-2018, 07:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptChaos View Post
To those that own the 787, does it run hot?
CC
Mine felt warm/hot to me; so I added 1.5 inches of headroom. Now feels fine..

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Yamaha RX-A2070 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 4 Atrium 5 front & rear Tops | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000 | AppleTV 4K | miniDSP 2 X 4 |
Chuck666 is offline  
post #128 of 281 Old 11-13-2018, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by theike View Post
Oh. Gotcha. Mine is not unfortunately. But I guess if we did it wouldn’t show DD+ anymore, but rather whatever the lossless format was?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I just read Sony was rolling out eARC; on some models. It will be mid 2019 before any significant impact IMHO...

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Yamaha RX-A2070 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 4 Atrium 5 front & rear Tops | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000 | AppleTV 4K | miniDSP 2 X 4 |
Chuck666 is offline  
post #129 of 281 Old 11-13-2018, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Dodge DeBoulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptChaos View Post
To those that own the 787, does it run hot?
I've never noticed mine running hot, but it has quite a bit of space above and on the sides. 6-8" above and 3-4" to the left and right.
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
post #130 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 05:21 AM
Member
 
Gus Rodeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Question No 5.2.4 configuration on Onkyo TX-NR787

Hello everyone... and thank you for reading my post/question.

I recently purchased an Onkyo TX-NR787

I moved to this receiver from a Pioneer Elite SC-87. The Pioneer was a great 9.2 receiver but did not comply with HDCP 2.2, so I made the switch.

My issue is... Onkyo and every article/review of the 787 promotes this AVR as a 9.2 channel with 5.2.4 and/or 7.2.2 support. But it DOES NOT have a speaker configuration setting ANYWHERE in the menu/settings for 5.2.4 setups. The only option is a 5.1.4 setup.

Prior to even turning on the receiver, I connected all of my speakers, HDMI sources, and my 2 subwoofers. During the initial setup process, Onkyo walks you through choosing your speaker configuration. You have the options of various speaker configs from 2.1 to 5.1.4 (Page 113 of manual) Once again, no option for 5.2.4, so I chose 5.1.4. Next, it asks you about "subwoofer" but the only option is YES or NO. After choosing YES, that is all. You move on to network settings and then the setup is basically finished. In the "Connections" section of the owners manual, the last/highest config shown is 5.1.4 and it says nothing about adding a 2nd subwoofer. (Page 44 of manual)

In reference to subwoofers, (Page 33 of manual) it gives instructions on how to "connect the subwoofer". It states on this page that "Up to two powered subwoofers can be connected. The signal is output from each subwoofer pre out jack."

Now, I have it all connected and both subwoofers are firing. My issue is... this is not TRULY 5.2.4. When I test on a ATMOS track and hit the info button on the remote, the screen displays "Dolby Atmos 5.1.4".

Furthermore, during the speaker setup, when setting speaker distances and crossovers... there is only 1 subwoofer to configure. On my previous AVR, I could set them independently of each other. This is important to me because subwoofer 1 is 12ft away and subwoofer 2 is 8ft away. My subs are both the same model, Polk PSW10. So size and frequency response is identical, the only difference is their placement/distance from the listening position.

My ultimate questions are: Has anyone encountered this issue with Onkyo? And... does it matter that the AVR is basically combining the 2 subwoofers into 1 signal? I feel that my Pioneer AVR sounded much cleaner than the Onkyo. The bass sounds muddy and shallow. Should I set 1 at 0 degree phase and the other at 180? Would that make it sound better? Or... should I just return this Onkyo?

This is my first post, so I could not provide links and images. Sorry. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Gus R
Gus Rodeen is offline  
post #131 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 05:40 AM
Member
 
nbk13nw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia USA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Actually you are running 5.2 4 now. It is just that the subs are not individually identified or separately EQ' d. I am running 4 subs with a 5.4.2 configuration. That model and mine will only show a 5 1.4 or 7.1 2 configuration due to not addressing the subs individually. So you are fine.
Chuck666 likes this.

Onkyo TX RZ830, Chane 3600, AudioSource AMP100VS, XBox One X, Samsung UBD-K8500, NVIDIA Shield, D-Link 16-Port Gigabit Switch, Caavo, Control Center, 2 x KEF Q900's Mains, 1 x KEF Q650C Center, 4 x KEF Q100's Surrounds, 4 x RSL C34E's ATMOS, 4 x Chane SBE-118's
nbk13nw is online now  
post #132 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Either set up the subs manually to fit your placement or get another avr with actually separate sub outs and not just an internal Y split. Since they are advertising with x.2.x channels they are not being truthful, if the sub channels are not separatly configured they should be writing x.1.x with 2 sub outs in their brochures.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Leeliemix is online now  
post #133 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Gus Rodeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
AccuEQ not working...wrong mic?

Just got a 787. I purchased it "Open Box" from Best Buy. All of the stickers are still on the AVR unit and upon pluggin it in, it was at the initial setup screen. So, it was basically "new" or "reset".

Everything works fine until I get to the AccuEQ Calibration screen. It prompts me to plug in the mic, I do. Then it activates the sub, it works and I hit "next".

The following screen says something in the terms of "Calibrating, please stay quiet" below that message it says "Measuring Ambient Noise"

It stays on this screen forever. I've let it sit on the screen for 10 minutes and it will not move to the test tones. It just reads "Please wait..."


The mic I received in the "Open Box" is a textured black puck with a raised mound in the center. It was loosely thrown in box and did not look as "fresh" as the AVR itself. Is it possible this is not the correct mic for the 787 AVR? I've seen other Onkyo mics online that are shiny black and appear to have a flat top (no mound/raised half sphere).

Can someone please explain or post an image of their 787 setup mic? I am new to the forum so it doesn't allow me to attach images of mine.

Thank you.

Gus R
Gus Rodeen is offline  
post #134 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eriksells916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 194
@gusr odeen this isn't really helpful nor will it answer your question, but if you still love the sc-87 you can get one of these and split audio to the Elite and video straight to the tv. You can then still have 5.1.4 atmos and 4k. Maybe move the Onkyo to the living room or sell it?


https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UBD-K...sung+ubd-k8500
eriksells916 is online now  
post #135 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Gus Rodeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbk13nw View Post
Actually you are running 5.2 4 now. It is just that the subs are not individually identified or separately EQ' d. I am running 4 subs with a 5.4.2 configuration. That model and mine will only show a 5 1.4 or 7.1 2 configuration due to not addressing the subs individually. So you are fine.
How do you set your distances? If I have one sub at 12 feet and the other at 8 feet... should I set the distance to 10 feet? Split the difference?

Gus R
Gus Rodeen is offline  
post #136 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Jeremy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Question for the 787 owners! I am looking at buying this amp shortly but have a concern with the accueq advance. I am coming from a TXSR 608 which has the audyssey and I have been happy with it. So....I'm reluctant to switch to the 787 because of this. I have always owned Onkyo and hate to switch to the Denon 3400 just for the audyssey.

Can anyone comment on the new advance EQ? will it do a similar job to the older 608 I have? or has anyone heard both who can comment?

Thanks for any input. I know a lot of questions are out there around this but having trouble finding a concrete answer.

Thanks,
Jeremy1234 is offline  
post #137 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 12:30 PM
Member
 
nbk13nw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia USA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I am running my Onkyo sub outs to a MiniDSP 2x4HD. Running 4 subs total.
theike likes this.

Onkyo TX RZ830, Chane 3600, AudioSource AMP100VS, XBox One X, Samsung UBD-K8500, NVIDIA Shield, D-Link 16-Port Gigabit Switch, Caavo, Control Center, 2 x KEF Q900's Mains, 1 x KEF Q650C Center, 4 x KEF Q100's Surrounds, 4 x RSL C34E's ATMOS, 4 x Chane SBE-118's
nbk13nw is online now  
post #138 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbk13nw View Post
I am running my Onkyo sub outs to a MiniDSP 2x4HD. Running 4 subs total.
nbk,

do we have a forum for minidsp?

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Yamaha RX-A2070 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 4 Atrium 5 front & rear Tops | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000 | AppleTV 4K | miniDSP 2 X 4 |
Chuck666 is offline  
post #139 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottAvery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Great Falls, VA
Posts: 1,754
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbk13nw View Post
I am running my Onkyo sub outs to a MiniDSP 2x4HD. Running 4 subs total.
Is this necessary with 2 subs? Like @Gus Rodeen , I too have just installed a new Onkyo and am disappointed with the sub handling. $200 seems a high price to fix such a trivial error in design. Can the $100 mini dsp do it? Would I be better off just taking the lesser sub out of the equation? I have a large sub in a rear corner and a smaller sub up front, due to space issues.
ScottAvery is offline  
post #140 of 281 Old 11-14-2018, 03:09 PM
Member
 
nbk13nw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia USA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
It is all very room dependent. And of course the subs matter too. I am fortunate that I have a lot of good locations that the subs like in my room. Although a very large space (28 x 30 x 9) the subs like corner loading, nearfield of course and stacked up front. I had some peaks that needed to be addressed and the MiniDSP was able to take care of it for me. It is absolutely not required, but placement would be critical.

As for the time delay, when talking about the difference between the distance from mlp for the subs, most users would never hear a difference.

With two subs of different sizes or capabilities I would personally have the smaller one closer so as not to work it harder than necessary. But you will probably be limiting the performance of the larger sub if the smaller one cannot keep up

Onkyo TX RZ830, Chane 3600, AudioSource AMP100VS, XBox One X, Samsung UBD-K8500, NVIDIA Shield, D-Link 16-Port Gigabit Switch, Caavo, Control Center, 2 x KEF Q900's Mains, 1 x KEF Q650C Center, 4 x KEF Q100's Surrounds, 4 x RSL C34E's ATMOS, 4 x Chane SBE-118's
nbk13nw is online now  
post #141 of 281 Old 11-17-2018, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Dodge DeBoulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
I've never noticed mine running hot, but it has quite a bit of space above and on the sides. 6-8" above and 3-4" to the left and right.
I watched Ready Player One this evening with Dolby Atmos in a 5.1.4 configuration. Front, center and surrounds are JBL @ 8 ohms; ceiling height speakers are 8" 2-way Monoprice Carbon Fiber Alphas (also 8 ohms, and sound great if you're looking for something reasonably priced!). I had the volume at what I would consider "theater level" throughout. It's a pretty noisy film overall, and the top of the receiver did get quite warm ... not uncomfortably warm to the touch, though.
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
post #142 of 281 Old 11-17-2018, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
MrBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
To the poster who thinks their 787 runs hot, I run mine at minus 15 to minus 7 mostly for 2 hours movies and while it is warm I wouldn't call it hot. It does not get as hot as the THX Ultra Onkyo it replaced after 12 years of use.

To the accuEQ person and the sub question: My old onkyo had Audyssey and the accueq seems to be fine except it turns my 2 subs way down. to combat this I turn the gain all the way down on the subs during calibration then turn them back up after. I let the Accueq set the distances, including the sub and feel it works fine. I wish it had sub EQ but my subs sound great so I guess it isn't needed. I did an extensive sub crawl when I set up the room years ago and placement still seems to be holding up.

To the person who is stuck on calibrating--I bet it was open box because someone had the same problem before and returned it. Best Buy probably turned it on and called it good then resold it. You should probably take it back.
MrBreeze is offline  
post #143 of 281 Old 11-18-2018, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
rahulp001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Finally hooked up the Sonance Mag6c as rear in ceiling atmos speakers. Using the bookshelves in front height as the other 2 atmos to make the 5.1.4.
Overall very happy with the sound. Cant really compare the Sonance to the bookshelves since the bookshelves are much superior but they work well as atmos.
Played the demo atmos clips and the effects are amazing.
Watched The Meg movie with atmos track and enjoyed the sound.
I am thinking to leave the set up as is. Was originally thinking of putting 2 Sonance in ceiling for fronts as well. But thinking replacing the front height bookshelves is not necessary.


Sent from my LG-H871 using Tapatalk

5.1.2 HT Setup: EMPTek E55Ti (L&R), E56Ci (Center), E5Bi (surround sides), E5Bi (front heights), Sonance MAG6R (2 Rear in-ceiling), SVS PB-2000, ONKYO NR787, BENQ W1070, SilverTicket 110" screen, 3DHeaven ultra clear HD glasses
rahulp001 is offline  
post #144 of 281 Old 11-19-2018, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Jeremy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Well I just purchased a 787 and having a few concerns. Im hoping you guys may be able to help??

1 - Does this unit upscale to 4k with a 1080p source input? I run a mediaPC with win 10. I was playing around with resolutions and had set windows to 4k then realized Im better off leaving at 1080p or else Kodi GUI runs like crap. When I reverted back to 1080p my tv was still showing 4k. I adjust the refresh rate back to 60hz and the tv then displayed 1080p again. I feel like the Onkyo is doing some sort of video conversion cause even the text in windows looks funny. I know on my old 608 I could set HDMI to pass through and have my tv do all the scaling....how can I confirm this with the 787?

2 - I always used late night mode on my old 608. I see this as an option on the 787 quick menu but its always greyed out. Any idea why it cant be activated?

3 - With my old 608 windows showed the sound source as "Onkyo 608". Now with the 787 windows is showing the sound source as "AV Receiver (Intel Display Default Device). This seems weird.....why would it not show up as Onkyo receiver? If anyone is running windows can you check to see what is says under sound source?

Thanks for your help! I like the receiver but these small issues are buggin me especially considering I had zero issues with the older 608.

Thanks,
Jeremy
Jeremy1234 is offline  
post #145 of 281 Old 11-19-2018, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,876
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 494
There is no video upscale. It is strictly pass through. I have tested it using XBox One switching between different formats.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #146 of 281 Old 11-19-2018, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Jeremy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 21
ok good to know - have you connected a PC at all? Im curious if Windows is specifying the right device....Kind of shocked it doesnt say Onkyo Receiver.
Jeremy1234 is offline  
post #147 of 281 Old 11-19-2018, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,876
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy1234 View Post
ok good to know - have you connected a PC at all? Im curious if Windows is specifying the right device....Kind of shocked it doesnt say Onkyo Receiver.
Windows was never a reliable source for this (EDID info). It always varies between TV and AVR names before. Needless to say, the name doesn't mean anything anyway. You want to check the supported audio formats in the HDMI audio property to make sure HD audios are listed in the supported formats list. If not, it is typically a driver issue.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #148 of 281 Old 11-19-2018, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 84
I've got mine connected to a Windows 10 machine running pre release build 18282.


Windows reports it as "AV Receiver (NVIDIA High Definiton Audio.) As Foxbat121 mentioned, the name doesn't really mean much. But I think it recognizes the receiver correctly since I'm able to choose Dolby Atmos in my Speaker Setup settings. I think the video card is driving the naming (1070TI)


As for passthrough, I remember having the option to enable / disable in a previous Onkyo AVR (NR646) but I'm pretty sure there's no option with the 787.


As for the Late Night setting, I'm pretty sure it's dependent on the source. When I'm on the PC source that option is greyed out, but when on the CBL/SAT source it's not. It may also be dependent on the audio setting
Chuck666 likes this.

My Gear:
Spoiler!

Last edited by mr b; 11-19-2018 at 10:04 AM.
mr b is offline  
post #149 of 281 Old 11-19-2018, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Jeremy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr b View Post
I've got mine connected to a Windows 10 machine running pre release build 18282.


Windows reports it as "AV Receiver (NVIDIA High Definiton Audio.) As Foxbat121 mentioned, the name doesn't really mean much. But I think it recognizes the receiver correctly since I'm able to choose Dolby Atmos in my Speaker Setup settings. I think the video card is driving the naming (1070TI)


As for passthrough, I remember having the option to enable / disable in a previous Onkyo AVR (NR646) but I'm pretty sure there's no option with the 787.


As for the Late Night setting, I'm pretty sure it's dependent on the source. When I'm on the PC source that option is greyed out, but when on the CBL/SAT source it's not. It may also be dependent on the audio setting
Thank you! great feedback. Mine reports the same "AV Receiver"- good to know. I checked and all audio formats are listed so appears to be good.

I watch a lot of movies late while kids are in bed so will try to figure late night setting out. Perhaps I will try inputting my PC to a different port to see if that works.

Great help guys thanks. I will work on the settings later tonight
Jeremy1234 is offline  
post #150 of 281 Old 11-19-2018, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,876
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Night mode depends on the specific audio bitstream (Dolby or DTS both support this feature). Your PC is likely setup to PCM output and hence the receiver will not be able to do the job. It has nothing to do with port.

The specific feature you are looking for is called 'Late Night'. Manual page 130 describes it well.
Chuck666 likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off