Official Pioneer Elite VSX-LX503 Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 81Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 688 Old 04-11-2019, 04:03 PM
Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungi43 View Post
Well, my SCLX502 came yesterday. Didn't get to play with it much, but so far so good. I like the new MCACC. It set up quickly. Still need to tinker.

I won't post a ton more here since this is the 503 thread...but I like what i have so far
After 3 months, pleased so far. I need to upgrade my center channel as it sounds a bit off, but I don't think it's a 502 issue. Hoping to install ceiling speakers in the next few weeks for atmos.
eriksells916 likes this.

bungi43 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 688 Old 04-14-2019, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Anyone getting a random clicking sound when in Dolby audio surround mode? Also cuts off the rears hooked up to the external amp randomly ?
Hokies83 is offline  
post #393 of 688 Old 04-17-2019, 04:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
john stephens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Using Flare Connect

I'm surprised that there is little or no discussion of the excellent Flare Connect Feature of this receiver. To wit, are there other Flare Connect users here?
My setup
Two Pioneer AVR's
Three, Pioneer MXR-3
Two Onkyo NS 302

Getting excellent performance, properly synchronized with this set!
john stephens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #394 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
A new firmware update has been released today that is really great. It adds Airplay2 supports, 4K enhanced mode/standard mode switching, Sonos and Amazon music improvements and other bug fixes.

(Change history link)
https://intl.pioneer-audiovisual.com.../downloads.php

(Firmware specific changes and functions\new functions PDF)

http://jp.pioneer-audiovisual.com/ma...supple_933.pdf
godfatherip likes this.
redtommy76 is offline  
post #395 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jsb75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Anyone know what the pre out voltage is on the pioneer? Can't seem to find it listed anywhere. The Onkyo rz 830 is listed as only doing 1v from the multi channel pre outs. Hoping the pioneer is better.
jsb75 is online now  
post #396 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I have been wondering about bi-amping with greater than 5.2.2 setups since the manual specifies limitations bi-amping and then attempting to use height/dolby speakers and zone connections. Its not clean if its a power issue or a signaling issue. The manual also seems to oddly leave out examples of 6.+ configurations instead detailing many 5.+ and 7.+ configurations options. Using an external amplifier I'd assume would correct any power issues but as you questioned, there is little to nothing in the docs explaining function behavior when using an external amp.
redtommy76 is offline  
post #397 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb75 View Post
Anyone know what the pre out voltage is on the pioneer? Can't seem to find it listed anywhere. The Onkyo rz 830 is listed as only doing 1v from the multi channel pre outs. Hoping the pioneer is better.
voltages are listed on page 171 of the manual in the 'Amplifier Section' of General Specifications'
"Rated RCA Output Level and Impedance
1 V/470 Ω (PRE OUT)
1 V/470 Ω (SUBWOOFER PRE OUT)
1 V, 200 mV/470 Ω (ZONE 2 PRE/LINE OUT)
1 V, 200 mV/470 Ω (ZONE 3 PRE/LINE OUT)"
redtommy76 is offline  
post #398 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
jsb75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by redtommy76 View Post
voltages are listed on page 171 of the manual in the 'Amplifier Section' of General Specifications'
"Rated RCA Output Level and Impedance
1 V/470 Ω (PRE OUT)
1 V/470 Ω (SUBWOOFER PRE OUT)
1 V, 200 mV/470 Ω (ZONE 2 PRE/LINE OUT)
1 V, 200 mV/470 Ω (ZONE 3 PRE/LINE OUT)"
Ok, so it's the same as the onkyo. Thanks
redtommy76 likes this.
jsb75 is online now  
post #399 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Seems the VSX-LX504 and VSX-LX304 are bringing back the Advanced MCACC. Glad to see they've done this.

https://www.pioneer-audiovisual.eu/e...ucts/vsx-lx504

https://www.pioneer-audiovisual.eu/e...ucts/vsx-lx304
many03 is offline  
post #400 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eriksells916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by many03 View Post
Seems the VSX-LX504 and VSX-LX304 are bringing back the Advanced MCACC. Glad to see they've done this.

https://www.pioneer-audiovisual.eu/e...ucts/vsx-lx504

https://www.pioneer-audiovisual.eu/e...ucts/vsx-lx304
good timing, I have the 503 in my cart at Frys for under $500......what to do, what to do?
eriksells916 is online now  
post #401 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eriksells916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 195
If you search the speaker and receiver threads, you will often see that others think there is very little benefit to bi-amping. If you were going to do anything, then use the LR preouts with a more robust 2 channel amp to take some load off the 503.

my $.02
eriksells916 is online now  
post #402 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by eriksells916 View Post
good timing, I have the 503 in my cart at Frys for under $500......what to do, what to do?
If you think having Advanced MCACC is not worth it, I'd go for the LX503.

Having used it previously on the 23TXH, IMHO, I'd wait and get LX504 since you get more freedom to fiddle with its settings.
many03 is offline  
post #403 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eriksells916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by many03 View Post
If you think having Advanced MCACC is not worth it, I'd go for the LX503.

Having used it previously on the 23TXH, IMHO, I'd wait and get LX504 since you get more freedom to fiddle with its settings.
Yea good call. I was looking at the rz730 since accueq allows some tweaking, but I have really only seen comments about how mediocre it was.

I could even settle for the 304 since I don't need 11 channels or preouts.

Thanks!
eriksells916 is online now  
post #404 of 688 Old 04-19-2019, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by eriksells916 View Post
Yea good call. I was looking at the rz730 since accueq allows some tweaking, but I have really only seen comments about how mediocre it was.

I could even settle for the 304 since I don't need 11 channels or preouts.

Thanks!
I'd steer away from AccuEq.

Seeing there's only 100w difference between the power supply of the LX304 (750w) vs LX504 (850w), I wouldn't have an issue in settling with the LX304.
eriksells916 likes this.
many03 is offline  
post #405 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
john stephens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb75 View Post
Anyone know what the pre out voltage is on the pioneer? Can't seem to find it listed anywhere. The Onkyo rz 830 is listed as only doing 1v from the multi channel pre outs. Hoping the pioneer is better.
What's wrong with 1 V? The way I see it, the following power amp just needs to have sufficient voltage gain to amplify one Volt into the voltage necessary to deliver the desired maximum power to, say, an 8 Ohm load. Here Pmax = (Vout^2)/8. So if you wish to deliver, say, 150 Watts to 8 Ohm speakers, the amp must be able to put out Vout = Sqrt(8*Pmax) = 34.64 V. So one merely requires a power amp with a voltage gain of 30 dB. Such meager gain is routinely available for any power amp worth its salt.
john stephens is offline  
post #406 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 02:40 PM
Member
 
dutchedoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi dutchedoven, see page 99 in OM

At the time of purchase, the remote controller is in the mode to control playback in the main room. To play a source in ZONE 2, set the remote controller to the ZONE control mode (ZONE 2). To control the main room play again, restore the remote controller to the main room control mode.

Using the buttons at bottom of the remote:
1. While pressing and holding MODE, press ZONE 2 at least 3 seconds until the
remote indicator blinks twice.
• The mode of the remote controller switches to the mode to control ZONE 2.
• To restore the main room control mode, while pressing and holding MODE,
press MAIN at least 3 seconds until the remote indicator blinks once.
I did this, my remote lights up but none of the buttons work on zone 2. I tried everything and even held the remote directly in front of the receiver. I kept my side screen on and zone 2 works when I turn it on with the app or manually using the front receiver buttons but no go on the remote. Any suggestions?
dutchedoven is offline  
post #407 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Latest Update Problems

I just did the latest 503 update and all the new functions are present. HOWEVER, when I adjust the volume on the receiver, the TV picture goes out. Completely blank, but I hear the volume increase or decrease. After releasing the volume control, the picture comes back. Anyone else having this problem? Any ideas? Thanks!
redtommy76 likes this.
Tjonathan0 is offline  
post #408 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjonathan0 View Post
I just did the latest 503 update and all the new functions are present. HOWEVER, when I adjust the volume on the receiver, the TV picture goes out. Completely blank, but I hear the volume increase or decrease. After releasing the volume control, the picture comes back. Anyone else having this problem? Any ideas? Thanks!
The pdf on the new 4k signal format option state "• There may be some image disruption depending on
the connected component and the HDMI cable. If this
occurs, switch to "Standard"." vs. 'Enhanced'

give it a shot

http://jp.pioneer-audiovisual.com/ma...supple_933.pdf

Last edited by redtommy76; 04-21-2019 at 06:21 PM. Reason: typo
redtommy76 is offline  
post #409 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I could not find the instructions on how to do this. Wouild you please let me know what page of the manual they’re on? Or what setting I need to go to. Thanks.
Tjonathan0 is offline  
post #410 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjonathan0 View Post
I could not find the instructions on how to do this. Wouild you please let me know what page of the manual they’re on? Or what setting I need to go to. Thanks.
Found it. Giving it a try.
redtommy76 likes this.
Tjonathan0 is offline  
post #411 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjonathan0 View Post
Found it. Giving it a try.
page 64 of the link I put in the last post (the pdf)
redtommy76 is offline  
post #412 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Didn’t work
Tjonathan0 is offline  
post #413 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjonathan0 View Post
Didn’t work
Something else you can try, front the front panel only.... Hold (Dimmer) then press (Return) this will open a menu for the HDMI inputs with three modes for each. Try Mode 1 or 3 for each input with the issue. Mode 2 can cause issues per Pioneer. This adjusts handshake between devices. Mode 1 is always the default. Other than that, you can try the non-destructive restart option for when the unit gets funky (Page 159 of the regular manual under 'try restarting the unit'). It will reload settings when it comes back up. Do not use the factory default reset in the second section unless you really want to start over with all of your settings.

When the unit is operating erratically
❏❏Try restarting the unit
Restarting this unit may solve the problem. After turning the unit to standby mode, press and hold the STANDBY/ON button of the main unit for at least 5 seconds,
and then restart the unit. (The settings on this unit are kept.) If the problem persists after restarting the unit, unplug and plug the power cords of this unit and connected
devices.

Good luck!
mwinc likes this.
redtommy76 is offline  
post #414 of 688 Old 04-21-2019, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hmmm maybe will will get advanced MCACC via firmware update?
Hokies83 is offline  
post #415 of 688 Old 04-22-2019, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
jsb75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by john stephens View Post
What's wrong with 1 V? The way I see it, the following power amp just needs to have sufficient voltage gain to amplify one Volt into the voltage necessary to deliver the desired maximum power to, say, an 8 Ohm load. Here Pmax = (Vout^2)/8. So if you wish to deliver, say, 150 Watts to 8 Ohm speakers, the amp must be able to put out Vout = Sqrt(8*Pmax) = 34.64 V. So one merely requires a power amp with a voltage gain of 30 dB. Such meager gain is routinely available for any power amp worth its salt.
The guys from audioholics seem to recommend 2v. Don't have much experience in external amps my self, besides my subwoofer amps. But it seems most receivers list 1v on there pre outs.
jsb75 is online now  
post #416 of 688 Old 04-22-2019, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
john stephens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsb75 View Post
The guys from audioholics seem to recommend 2v. Don't have much experience in external amps my self, besides my subwoofer amps. But it seems most receivers list 1v on there pre outs.
In your case, you need to turn your question around and what i s the sensitivity of my power amp? The sensitivity is a measure of the minimum voltage required to drive output to its rated power at specified load. I'm confident that you will typically find this to be less than one volt. Indeed, in the old days, preamps were designed to deliver one milliWatt of power into a 600 Ohm load. As such, this amounted to 0.775 Vrms. Let me end with an example, it should be obvious that the Pio's 1V is sufficent to drive its own power amp to the rated output level. Other modern power stages behave similarly.
john stephens is offline  
post #417 of 688 Old 04-24-2019, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
godfatherip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Casting with google play music seems more reliable since the latest firmware update.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
| LG OLED65C8P | Pioneer VSX-LX503 | Def Tech BP9040 + CS9040 + A90 + SR9080 | Klipsch R-112SW |
godfatherip is offline  
post #418 of 688 Old 04-24-2019, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 21
So what is difference between standard and enhanced? I have cable and xbox ran thru tv (samsung q70) and reciever connected via arc.

(Sometimes i do switch and run xbox thru receiver then to tv)
Mike Wheaton is offline  
post #419 of 688 Old 04-24-2019, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Nvrmnd i found it. So if i run everything thru tv and no video to receiver it doesnt do anything for me. Unless i switch the xbox to go thru receiver 1st correct
Mike Wheaton is offline  
post #420 of 688 Old 04-24-2019, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
godfatherip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Wheaton View Post
Nvrmnd i found it. So if i run everything thru tv and no video to receiver it doesnt do anything for me. Unless i switch the xbox to go thru receiver 1st correct
Yes if you run everything through the TV and just use ARC then the standard/enhanced setting shouldn't matter. If you run something through the AVR and it supports the higher bandwidth 4K signals like 4K 60Hz 4:4:4 or 4K 60Hz 4:2:2 12bit then you should set it to enhanced to get the best PQ possible.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
| LG OLED65C8P | Pioneer VSX-LX503 | Def Tech BP9040 + CS9040 + A90 + SR9080 | Klipsch R-112SW |
godfatherip is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off