The "Official" Yamaha RX-A3080, RX-A2080 and RX-A1080 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 399Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdx View Post
I see. So just to make sure I got this right: if Surround AI is selected I basically don't have to select anything else, it will automatically decode, upmix, apply DSPs etc to all sources, and figure out how to deal with them on its own correct? So for example if I feed it an old non HD-Audio DVD it will do its thing and utilize all speakers?

If so that would actually be great, a one button solution to maximizing all sources...

Yes, what you wrote is correct, I believe. You should play with it though and find how it sounds to YOU, people are different. I also find things are different on different devices: my Firestick 4K outputs DD+, whereas my Apple TV outputs DD+ after decoding it to PCM- I "think" these sound different on the same material, to my ears, and Surround AI is a little different with each. You can drive yourself crazy- again, level matching is important. (I would like to have the Apple4K TV just output DD+ straight but I can't find a way to do that, it always converts it to PCM)
Dr Steve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 11:38 AM
tdx
Senior Member
 
tdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Yes, what you wrote is correct, I believe. You should play with it though and find how it sounds to YOU, people are different. I also find things are different on different devices: my Firestick 4K outputs DD+, whereas my Apple TV outputs DD+ after decoding it to PCM- I "think" these sound different on the same material, to my ears, and Surround AI is a little different with each. You can drive yourself crazy- again, level matching is important. (I would like to have the Apple4K TV just output DD+ straight but I can't find a way to do that, it always converts it to PCM)
Gotcha. I will def spend a lot of time setting up my speakers, running YPAO (or configuring manually). But after everything is perfectly set up, if Surround AI can indeed take over the decision making process of what mode to run for what source etc that would be huge for me.

I had an older Onkyo with a bunch of surround presets, DSPs etc and I would go nuts trying to figure out which one to use for each movie, esp. with so many different types of encoding these days...
stubo0179 likes this.
tdx is online now  
post #723 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I can dig it. Typically I'll set it and forget it- take a long time getting it as good as I can, then never touch it again- this has taken a long time because there are so very many settings now, in 2019. The last time I set up an AVR was like 2006. I'm still finding that different video viewing settings look better with different content, so I change the video specs with different movies- but it's not a big deal cause I know exactly what I'm looking for now, a little brighter, a little more color, etc. The audio tweaks I'll probably set and forget once I'm sure they're the best in my room, for me. These forums help me a lot so THANK YOU GUYS (or girls, if there are any here).
Dr Steve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 11:58 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,238
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2269 Post(s)
Liked: 1917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Yes, what you wrote is correct, I believe. You should play with it though and find how it sounds to YOU, people are different. I also find things are different on different devices: my Firestick 4K outputs DD+, whereas my Apple TV outputs DD+ after decoding it to PCM- I "think" these sound different on the same material, to my ears, and Surround AI is a little different with each. You can drive yourself crazy- again, level matching is important. (I would like to have the Apple4K TV just output DD+ straight but I can't find a way to do that, it always converts it to PCM)
Apple 4K TV will not output DD+. It only has the option for pcm or DD 5.1.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
post #725 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I use Surround AI on movies. It makes the presence speakers and the surrounds better/louder, you can feel yourself much more in the center of the movie, so makes greater atmosphere! The Surround AI uses Cinema DSP HD3 (works together), but overrides all other DSP. Works well with Atmos/DTS:X and DD+.

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - SVS SB12-NSD - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is offline  
post #726 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 12:37 PM
tdx
Senior Member
 
tdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renatto View Post
I use Surround AI on movies. It makes the presence speakers and the surrounds better/louder, you can feel yourself much more in the center of the movie, so makes greater atmosphere! The Surround AI uses Cinema DSP HD3 (works together), but overrides all other DSP. Works well with Atmos/DTS:X and DD+.
Do you mean Cinema DSP HD3 has to be enabled additionally to Surround AI? Or is automatically engaged when Surround AI is turned on?

Sorry to ask so many questions about this, but I want to make sure I'm using the AVR to its fulles and the Yamaha website and owner's manual is not clear at all about this.
tdx is online now  
post #727 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,590
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Right? minimum 1080P on demand anytime on streaming vs 720P on cable/ satellite- give me a break. Come into the 21st, Dish Network!
I hear ya......They need to change things up or they will be heading on out......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #728 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Turns out these models will not be discontinued in 2019, but rather will continue with no new replacements until 2020 (most likely when HDMI 2.1 is released).
Would these get support for HDR10+ and AirPlay2 then? Considering a RX-A2080 but was going to wait to see what the 2019 models would bring...

Rob
PT-AE8000U | LG 55C7P | Oppo UDP-203 | Onkyo TX-NR636 | JBL 5.1
robl2 is offline  
post #729 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoochy View Post
Hi,
Is there a way to see bit rate/sampling rate information on Yamaha A3080 for currently played source?
I would love to know this as well for both HDMI and optical. It's nice to be able to verify the receiver is seeing the right things coming from the source device.

Rob
PT-AE8000U | LG 55C7P | Oppo UDP-203 | Onkyo TX-NR636 | JBL 5.1
robl2 is offline  
post #730 of 1413 Old 03-12-2019, 08:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 583 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I wonder which DSP program is the base layer that AI is built upon?

JVC X750R Projector,Yamaha CX-A5200 Pre-Pro, Yamaha RX-Z11 Receiver, (Amps Only) Yamaha MX-D1 Power Amps x 2, Yamaha RX-Z1 (L&R Surround Channel Amp), Oppo BDP-103D BR, Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD, Pioneer Elite CLD-99 LD, Definitive Tech BP7000SC Mains, CLR3000 Center, BPVX Surround Sides&Backs, BPX F&R Presence, Martin Logan Abyss Front L&R Subs/Dynamo L&R Rear Surround Channel Subs, Infinity SSW-210 Center Channel Sub.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #731 of 1413 Old 03-13-2019, 01:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdx View Post
Do you mean Cinema DSP HD3 has to be enabled additionally to Surround AI? Or is automatically engaged when Surround AI is turned on?
The second, it's automatic.

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - SVS SB12-NSD - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is offline  
post #732 of 1413 Old 03-13-2019, 09:03 AM
tdx
Senior Member
 
tdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renatto View Post
The second, it's automatic.
Ok perfect thanks. This is actually a great feature then for people who don't want to be fiddling with different modes all day long...
tdx is online now  
post #733 of 1413 Old 03-13-2019, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
I wonder which DSP program is the base layer that AI is built upon?
I beleive dts Neo is the base..
Really wished dolby surround mode was...

Oh well.. But still sounds stellar..
muad'dib is offline  
post #734 of 1413 Old 03-15-2019, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 75
so the audio 4 inputs on the 3080 are different than the others ( balanced versus unbalanced...or the other way around - it doesn't matter to me, as I cannot use them)

this there a device that will convert the normal RCA type jacks/outputs to these special type of plugs so that I would be able to utilize it as an input source?

are there any special things I would look for?

EDIT:

would these work:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077L5PD29...b-b5a69bc8a492

Last edited by billmich; 03-18-2019 at 07:14 AM.
billmich is offline  
post #735 of 1413 Old 03-15-2019, 06:29 PM
Newbie
 
Haybrenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yamaha RX-A2080 Control App

Can someone tell me why at -20 dB the volume digits turn red?

Last edited by Haybrenn; 03-15-2019 at 06:35 PM.
Haybrenn is offline  
post #736 of 1413 Old 03-16-2019, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Russia
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by billmich View Post
so the audio 4 inputs on the 3080 are different than the others ( balanced versus unbalanced...or the other way around, it doesn't matter to me, it cannot use them)

this there a device that will convert the normal RCA type jacks/outputs to these special type of plugs so that I would be able to utilize it as an input source?
3080 have 2 balanced OUTPUT for Front chanell. And same RCA for same chanell.
Torch60 is offline  
post #737 of 1413 Old 03-16-2019, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post
I beleive dts Neo is the base..
Really wished dolby surround mode was...

Oh well.. But still sounds stellar..

Correct. DTS Its Neo:X Cinema= probably a restriction imposed by Dolby Labs on Yamaha. Mr Muad'dib wrote a lot of great comments on the Surround AI in the 5200 thread, thank you, sir
Dr Steve is offline  
post #738 of 1413 Old 03-16-2019, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdx View Post
Ok perfect thanks. This is actually a great feature then for people who don't want to be fiddling with different modes all day long...

LOL not being one of those people I wouldn't know, but yeah, it does sound great. Interestingly, I couldn't stream for a couple of days so listened to BluRay and DVDs instead- the Surround AI effect is MUCH more pronounced on DD PLUS than on regular DD- and I'm not sure I heard it at all on Dolby True HD
Dr Steve is offline  
post #739 of 1413 Old 03-16-2019, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renatto View Post
I use Surround AI on movies. It makes the presence speakers and the surrounds better/louder, you can feel yourself much more in the center of the movie, so makes greater atmosphere! The Surround AI uses Cinema DSP HD3 (works together), but overrides all other DSP. Works well with Atmos/DTS:X and DD+.

Agreed!
Dr Steve is offline  
post #740 of 1413 Old 03-16-2019, 11:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl2 View Post
I would love to know this as well for both HDMI and optical. It's nice to be able to verify the receiver is seeing the right things coming from the source device.

Yes, the onscreen information menu under OPTIONS button- if you use the right/left arrows it gives you all that info on HDMI, probably optical, though I don't have optical set up
Dr Steve is offline  
post #741 of 1413 Old 03-16-2019, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Interestingly, I couldn't stream for a couple of days so listened to BluRay and DVDs instead- the Surround AI effect is MUCH more pronounced on DD PLUS than on regular DD- and I'm not sure I heard it at all on Dolby True HD[/QUOTE]


It may be that you can't apply Surround Ai to Dolby True HD, I think the Yamaha Tech Support may have indicated that to me
Dr Steve is offline  
post #742 of 1413 Old 03-17-2019, 02:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
Mr Muad'dib wrote a lot of great comments on the Surround AI in the 5200 thread, thank you, sir
May I ask a link? I can't find it.

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - SVS SB12-NSD - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is offline  
post #743 of 1413 Old 03-17-2019, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renatto View Post
May I ask a link? I can't find it.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...l#post56972190





this is one, he wrote a few pages, they're worth reading for his take on Surround AI.
Dr Steve is offline  
post #744 of 1413 Old 03-17-2019, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...l#post56972190

this is one, he wrote a few pages, they're worth reading for his take on Surround AI.

Go to yamaha A5200 thread and search this thread for "surround"
Dr Steve is offline  
post #745 of 1413 Old 03-17-2019, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...l#post56972190





this is one, he wrote a few pages, they're worth reading for his take on Surround AI.
Thanks!

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - SVS SB12-NSD - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is offline  
post #746 of 1413 Old 03-17-2019, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,887
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2095 Post(s)
Liked: 1098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
It may be that you can't apply Surround Ai to Dolby True HD, I think the Yamaha Tech Support may have indicated that to me
I think you should be able to. If only to upmix 5 channels to 7, if none are present.

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is online now  
post #747 of 1413 Old 03-17-2019, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: suburbs of Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Is there a difference in YPAO between the 3070 and 3080

I am thinking purchasing a Yamaha RX-A3070 or RX-A3080 and saw some the changes made within the 3080. I was wondering if the 3080 was Superior when it comes to YPAO. I've heard in the past that YPAO doesn't correct for frequencies lower than 31 Hertz. Has that changed? Is the room correcting EQ superior in the 3080 vs 3070? Does anyone feel the 3080 is worth $350 more then the 3070. Thanks.

Last edited by sal7of9; 03-17-2019 at 02:44 PM.
sal7of9 is offline  
post #748 of 1413 Old 03-17-2019, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Steve View Post
I saw this on my 3080 but did not update,anyone know what this adds or subtracts?



This takes away V-tuner and makes it net_radio

Spoiler!
azz7686 is offline  
post #749 of 1413 Old 03-18-2019, 04:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I read - here - before, someone uses different speaker layout/pattern for Dolby Atmos/DTS:X and change it depending on the source. But how? I mean, I think you don't change the speakers from Height 1-2 to Overhead 1-2 (not in settings, but real). So what do you do?

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - SVS SB12-NSD - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is offline  
post #750 of 1413 Old 03-18-2019, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torch60 View Post
3080 have 2 balanced OUTPUT for Front chanell. And same RCA for same chanell.
yes I knew that, but that did not answer the question I had asked....
billmich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
bluetooth headphones , yamaha 1080

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off