The "Official" Yamaha RX-A3080, RX-A2080 and RX-A1080 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 328Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1154 Old 06-20-2019, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 19
This has probably been covered, but I would like to ask. The RX-A1080 has Atmos capability. It shows that you can add 2 more speakers to a traditional 7.1 setup. Looking in the manual, I can see that the below layout. They list the 2 added speakers at Front Height Presence, and show them mounted high up on the front wall. I had thought that you wanted Atmos speakers right overhead?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	36
Size:	147.0 KB
ID:	2582468  
NismoZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1154 Old 06-20-2019, 03:54 PM
Member
 
exchguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up the 2080 a few weeks ago for multi-zone and it was fine until a few days ago I turned it on and no sound. Checked all of the connections, tried different sources no dice. Reset it, unplugged it. Still nothing.


Turned it off for a few days, tried it again today and got net radio playing for a few minutes and its back to no sound. Tried all zones. On hold with Yamaha support to see what else I could try. I've had good luck with Yamaha in the past, but seems like i've gotten a lemon maybe. Thinking maybe something like an HDMI board or other has gone bad. Is it possible the AMP portion went out? Obviously its under warranty, but hate to mess with a long process on a repair. Wondering if anyone has any ideas.


thanks,
Exchguy
exchguy is offline  
post #1083 of 1154 Old 06-20-2019, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,167
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3163 Post(s)
Liked: 7718
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post
This has probably been covered, but I would like to ask. The RX-A1080 has Atmos capability. It shows that you can add 2 more speakers to a traditional 7.1 setup. Looking in the manual, I can see that the below layout. They list the 2 added speakers at Front Height Presence, and show them mounted high up on the front wall. I had thought that you wanted Atmos speakers right overhead?
The RX-A1080 is a 7 channel AVR (7 Ch processor, 7 internal amplifiers)
So you can setup as 7.1 or 5.1.2 (trading your surround back speakers for two presence speakers)
You cannot run 9 channels at the same time (7.1.2 or 5.1.4) unless you have a 2080/3080



Keep reading the manual to page 22 where it shows the optional configurations for the presence speaker channels




Yes, top middle overhead is the preferred location for ATMOS speakers when only 2 overhead speakers are used,
But it's certainly not mandatory, I have 2 Front Height + 2 Rear Height speakers in my 7.4.4 ATMOS setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RX-A1080.png
Views:	176
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	2582538   Click image for larger version

Name:	RX-A1080-2.png
Views:	221
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	2582542  

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 06-20-2019 at 05:34 PM.
PioManiac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1084 of 1154 Old 06-21-2019, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks for that info guys. I used this info and canceled my A1080. I found a great deal on a RX-V2085 (basically a A2080) that does to 9 channels.

Setup is 7.1 for now, 7.1.2 later. Carpet floors, medium size room with 3 drywalls and an open back. I have 1 couch that has a sweet spot listening position. Some viewings can also see people in the side left and right seats as well.

Which one produces the best sound, YPAO Single position or multi position? I thought I have seen where some Yamaha guys recommend single position, even though they have multi available. Does everyone also go through the Height/Angle cals as well?

Basically, any dos and don't when running YPAO? I am familiar with MCACC of pioneer AVRs as well as the manual labor of sub EQ with a Behringer EQ, but not Yamahas YPAO and auto sub EQ.

Last edited by NismoZ; 06-21-2019 at 12:32 PM.
NismoZ is offline  
post #1085 of 1154 Old 06-22-2019, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
iraweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Is Yamaha planning a follow up to their **80 series?


If so, do you know when it will be released?


TY


Looking to update my aging RX-A3000.
iraweiss is offline  
post #1086 of 1154 Old 06-22-2019, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,167
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3163 Post(s)
Liked: 7718
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraweiss View Post
Is Yamaha planning a follow up to their **80 series?


If so, do you know when it will be released?


TY


Looking to update my aging RX-A3000.
Not until the HDMI 2.1 chips roll out, which means 2020 at the earliest.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
post #1087 of 1154 Old 06-22-2019, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
AncientAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I've had the RX-A1080 for a few months now. I'm using 5.1 setup with Panasonic UB820 UHD Player and a PS4. My 820 is hooked up to my RX-A1080 via (1) Monoprice 4K Certified HDMI (3ft). I've been having a few issues related to the Panasonic 820 Player. I was having about 1 or 2 audio and video dropouts per movie. I changed the HDMI Cable from AudioQuest Cinnamon to Monoprice Certified cable and it seems better but I haven't had time to watch a complete movie since I replaced it a few days ago so who knows. I thought it was the receiver at first but I'm beginning to think it might be the Panasonic UHD Player.

Whenever I play Terminator 2, (UHD), after I press play in the disc menu it goes into some production company sequence and starts the movie. My receiver takes about 1.5 seconds to engage the DTS-MA Track after the 820 has already started the video. The TV isn't displaying anything until the receiver gets the info. It causes it to abruptly start into this sequence missing the first second of Video and Audio. On my PS4, regular blu ray version of T2, (all hooked up to the same system), it is seamless. My receiver engages the DTS-MA Track the same time the video starts and plays normally. I had a similar issue with Star Trek (2009), and resolved it by switching the Resolution on the Panasonic 820 from Auto to 4K. Anyone know what can be happening?

Also, should I be using YPAO Volume? I've already set up calibration, using Straight, no DSP or Virtual Surround.

Last edited by AncientAlien; 06-22-2019 at 02:24 PM.
AncientAlien is offline  
post #1088 of 1154 Old 06-22-2019, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quick question:

Has anyone had their Aventage 3080 glitching out recently? I have had two occasions over the last few days, where the Channels inverted for a few moments. Once it was the front channels suddenly switching sides, and once it went from front to back. Both cases it was Atmos content, played via AppleTV 4K. Once on Netflix and once on iTunes. Repeating the scene didn't reproduce the glitch...

I'm running a 7.2.4 system.
CommanderROR is offline  
post #1089 of 1154 Old 06-22-2019, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
iraweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Not until the HDMI 2.1 chips roll out, which means 2020 at the earliest.
That's what I figured. The next question is besides HDMI 2.1 what else will be new and is it worth it to wait?
iraweiss is offline  
post #1090 of 1154 Old 06-22-2019, 11:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Craig Mecak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by CommanderROR View Post
Quick question:

Has anyone had their Aventage 3080 glitching out recently? I have had two occasions over the last few days, where the Channels inverted for a few moments. Once it was the front channels suddenly switching sides, and once it went from front to back. Both cases it was Atmos content, played via AppleTV 4K. Once on Netflix and once on iTunes. Repeating the scene didn't reproduce the glitch...

I'm running a 7.2.4 system.

Welcome to Dolby Atmos MAT 2.0


Transcoded from lossy Dolby Digital Plus Atmos.


On my 3060, I have heard this too, just for a fraction of a second after pausing then resuming playback on Netflix Atmos content via the Apple TV 4K, where the centre channel dialog appears from the side speakers. But then after a fraction of a second, it reverts back to the correct centre channel.


I think the Atmos metadata gets muddled up for a second, then sorts itself out.

Yamaha RX-A3060 7.1.4 Receiver [+Sony Power Amp for Rear Height] / Sony KD-65Z9D / JVC HD1 DILA Projector / 90" screen / OPPO UDP-203 UHD blu-ray / Apple TV 4K
Ascension Summoner 3-way Front Speakers / Ascension 3-way Centre Speaker / Peachtree D5 Surrounds / Yamaha NS-555 3-Way Rear Speakers / ERA D4 x 4 Height Speakers / Rythmik Audio F15HP Sub
Craig Mecak is online now  
post #1091 of 1154 Old 06-23-2019, 01:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks! So it's an AppleTV issue, right?
CommanderROR is offline  
post #1092 of 1154 Old 06-23-2019, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
jsc79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Minnesota SW Metro Area
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 366 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Does anyone know if the sub trim function boosts the voltage on the pre out the same as if you were boosting subs in the set up menu?

Subwoofers: Dual Rythmik FV18
Speakers: L/R Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2 - Center - Ascend Acoustics Horizon w/RAAL - Surrounds: Sonance VP62R SST/SUR
Video: Sony XBR65X900e 65" 4K - Sony UBP-X800 Blu Ray
Power and Processing: Yamaha RXA1030 - Monolith 7X Amp - Minidsp 2X4 HD/WI-DG
jsc79 is online now  
post #1093 of 1154 Old 06-24-2019, 02:05 AM
Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraweiss View Post
That's what I figured. The next question is besides HDMI 2.1 what else will be new and is it worth it to wait?
I think olny HDMI 2.1 and the biggest step is [email protected] and the 8K. So it's only worth it if you are a gamer or want to buy a 8k TV in the near future.

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is online now  
post #1094 of 1154 Old 06-24-2019, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by dapakattack View Post
I believe I am having an overheating issue with my 2080 where the volume will suddenly change from barely audible to blaring loud back to barely audible and on and on. The receiver is in the same spot as the Yamaha RX-V581 it replaced (which didn't experience any issues). I was thinking of getting a USB fan similar to this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...4FKP16S5&psc=1


Does anyone know if the front USB port offers power when the receiver is turned on or is there only power to the port when it is selected? I'd like to have the fans power on only when the receiver is on.


Thanks all
I use those fans on my headphone amps and they are good and quiet. If I were you, I would do it right and just get this or it’s bigger brother. You can choose model types to send exhaust heat to the rear, out the top or even to the front. I have the top model that blows out the rear in my case. It’s quiet and you can set the temp to when you want the fans to kick in. I was running at 118 degrees with my Yamaha 3080 prior to buying it and now it never gets above 89 degrees even if the receiver is on all day. I live in Florida too.

https://www.amazon.com/AC-Infinity-T...-1-spons&psc=1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DC896BAF-B236-4506-8891-0C07D0FD07FD.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	2583928  

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #1095 of 1154 Old 06-24-2019, 12:10 PM
Member
 
dapakattack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks hifi59 and doyoid for the fan suggestions. Those are nice because you can plug them in to an outlet. I went ahead with the USB fans and they seem to work fine (Yes, the USB port has power when the receiver is powered on). It stinks that one must keep the front door open in order to access the port (if I get tired of doing it this way I'll look into one the other suggestions).


Thanks PeterHayes for your reply. That sounds pretty much like what my receiver is experiencing. With the fans, it does not seem to have any issues. If the problem occurs again, then I will take the advice others have given and send it off to get fixed.
dapakattack is offline  
post #1096 of 1154 Old 06-24-2019, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
hifi59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by dapakattack View Post
Thanks hifi59 and doyoid for the fan suggestions. Those are nice because you can plug them in to an outlet. I went ahead with the USB fans and they seem to work fine (Yes, the USB port has power when the receiver is powered on). It stinks that one must keep the front door open in order to access the port (if I get tired of doing it this way I'll look into one the other suggestions).


Thanks PeterHayes for your reply. That sounds pretty much like what my receiver is experiencing. With the fans, it does not seem to have any issues. If the problem occurs again, then I will take the advice others have given and send it off to get fixed.
The beauty of these products is that they could remain powered up at all times. This doesn’t mean the fans are running. They only come on at your preset temperatures that you want the fans to come on.

If you're talkin, you ain't learnin.
hifi59 is offline  
post #1097 of 1154 Old 06-25-2019, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
osu fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Where are these manufactured? Specifically the 3080? Thanks
osu fan is online now  
post #1098 of 1154 Old 06-25-2019, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,167
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3163 Post(s)
Liked: 7718
Quote:
Originally Posted by osu fan View Post
Where are these manufactured? Specifically the 3080? Thanks
I believe the Yamaha Aventage line is made in Yamaha owned/operated factories in Malaysia.

Many other brands have moved from China to Vietnam in the last ~4 years.
(Denon,Marantz Harmon/Kardon, NAD, Anthem Pioneer, with a few Higher end units in Japan)

@M Code can probably confirm, he's got the inside scoop.
osu fan likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
post #1099 of 1154 Old 06-25-2019, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 11,836
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1089 Post(s)
Liked: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
I believe the Yamaha Aventage line is made in Yamaha owned/operated factories in Malaysia.

Many other brands have moved from China to Vietnam in the last ~4 years.
(Denon,Marantz Harmon/Kardon, NAD, Anthem Pioneer, with a few Higher end units in Japan)

@M Code can probably confirm, he's got the inside scoop.
The Yamaha RX-A3080 is assembled in Malaysia, unlike most of the audio brands Yamaha does not outsource design or production like many of the other brands. Also note that Onkyo & Integra build their AVRs in Malaysia, even though the majority of crucial internal components come from China products built in Malaysia are not subject to the latest Trump tariffs. Marantz, Denon assemble most of their AVRs through Inkel(Sherwood) in Vietnam. The very higher end of Marantz, Denon are assembled in Japan. Regarding Anthem & NAD their AVRs are assembled in Vietnam by Anam who originally built Marantz & Harman/Kardon AVRs. The Pioneer & Elite AVRs are also assembled in Malaysia by Onkyo. There may be a few exceptions but the above is the latest as I know it..

Just my $0.02...
osu fan and PioManiac like this.
M Code is offline  
post #1100 of 1154 Old 06-25-2019, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
osu fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Thanks fellas
osu fan is online now  
post #1101 of 1154 Old 06-26-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,993
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6392 Post(s)
Liked: 6390
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraweiss View Post
That's what I figured. The next question is besides HDMI 2.1 what else will be new and is it worth it to wait?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renatto View Post
I think olny HDMI 2.1 and the biggest step is [email protected] and the 8K. So it's only worth it if you are a gamer or want to buy a 8k TV in the near future.
Yep, probably baby steps. Guess we will see how the HDMI 2.1 rolls out when it does, I can not imagine the rollout being perfect?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1102 of 1154 Old 07-05-2019, 12:06 AM
Newbie
 
neverfromconcentrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does the AI Logo at your AVRs also remain bright, even though the display is dimmed down?

RX-A1080, Sony HW-50, Philips 65PUS8503, Nubert 5.1, A-407 + iBeam, Zone2: JBL Control One AW, Zone3: MusicCast20
neverfromconcentrate is offline  
post #1103 of 1154 Old 07-05-2019, 12:58 AM
Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverfromconcentrate View Post
Does the AI Logo at your AVRs also remain bright, even though the display is dimmed down?
Unfortunately yes and just as bright.

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is online now  
post #1104 of 1154 Old 07-05-2019, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Kpilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post
Thanks for that info guys. I used this info and canceled my A1080. I found a great deal on a RX-V2085 (basically a A2080) that does to 9 channels.

Setup is 7.1 for now, 7.1.2 later. Carpet floors, medium size room with 3 drywalls and an open back. I have 1 couch that has a sweet spot listening position. Some viewings can also see people in the side left and right seats as well.

Which one produces the best sound, YPAO Single position or multi position? I thought I have seen where some Yamaha guys recommend single position, even though they have multi available. Does everyone also go through the Height/Angle cals as well?

Basically, any dos and don't when running YPAO? I am familiar with MCACC of pioneer AVRs as well as the manual labor of sub EQ with a Behringer EQ, but not Yamahas YPAO and auto sub EQ.
Mind sharing where you bought the 2085?
Kpilk is offline  
post #1105 of 1154 Old 07-05-2019, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, I'm having wireless network connection issues with my rxa1080. At this time my avr does not see any available network when going thru access point method. When using the manual method input with SSID info from my router, the avr does not connect.
I finally gave up connecting wirelessly. I am now wired.

Does anyone have input regarding this wireless connection issue?

Yamaha RX-A1080, OPPO-203 UHD-BD player, Energy Connoisseur C7 mains C-C1 center, C1 surrounds, M&K V76 Sub, 5.1.2 configuration
Carlo Santos is offline  
post #1106 of 1154 Old 07-05-2019, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
PSRagE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My old RX-Z1 decided to self destruct so I replaced it with an RX-A3080. I currently have it configured as 5.1.2 but soon to upgrade to 5.1.4. How do I tell when it is decoding ATMOS? What will the display say?

Thanks
PSRagE is offline  
post #1107 of 1154 Old 07-06-2019, 12:19 AM
Member
 
Renatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hungary - EU
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSRagE View Post
My old RX-Z1 decided to self destruct so I replaced it with an RX-A3080. I currently have it configured as 5.1.2 but soon to upgrade to 5.1.4. How do I tell when it is decoding ATMOS? What will the display say?

Thanks
DD Atmos/DTHD - Lossless Atmos - usually 2.000-8000 kbps
DD Atmos/DD+ - Lossy Atmos - usually 384-768 kbps
DD Atmos/PCM - Can be anything - I mean, can be only 5.1/7.1, so not Atmos, like on Xbox.

DOLBY ATMOS 5.2.4 - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Klipsch RP-280F - RP-450C - RP-250S - RP-140SA - R-112SW - LG OLED 55B7 - HiMedia Q30 - Xbox One X SE
Renatto is online now  
post #1108 of 1154 Old 07-06-2019, 05:08 AM
Senior Member
 
radamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hi everyone,
I am a current owner of the RX-A2050 and am considering an upgrade to support pass through of Dolby Vision. I have an external amp controlling speakers in Zone 3 (used for backyard music). In my main listening area I have a 5.1.4 setup. My setup was done years ago but I believe that the way it works is if I have Zone 3 on my Rear Presence Speakers don't play in the main zone. Am I able to do that same thing with the 2080? The manual makes it look like you have to use an external amp for the Front speakers...



Thanks for any help on this.

Last edited by radamo; 07-07-2019 at 07:28 AM.
radamo is offline  
post #1109 of 1154 Old 07-06-2019, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
PSRagE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renatto View Post
DD Atmos/DTHD - Lossless Atmos - usually 2.000-8000 kbps
DD Atmos/DD+ - Lossy Atmos - usually 384-768 kbps
DD Atmos/PCM - Can be anything - I mean, can be only 5.1/7.1, so not Atmos, like on Xbox.
Huh, I have not seen it display that. How do I enable?
PSRagE is offline  
post #1110 of 1154 Old 07-06-2019, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,167
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3163 Post(s)
Liked: 7718
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSRagE View Post
My old RX-Z1 decided to self destruct so I replaced it with an RX-A3080. I currently have it configured as 5.1.2 but soon to upgrade to 5.1.4. How do I tell when it is decoding ATMOS? What will the display say?

Thanks
I take it that like thousands of Yamaha owners before you,
that you just want a visual confirmation on the front panel that you are actually listening to an ATMOS track?

I added this to the first Page:


Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
The Number 1 question posted for the past 4 model years in every YAMAHA AVR thread
Always seems to be "How do I get the Front Panel display to read ATMOS?"

...I know this because I posted the answer a hundred times over, quoting right from the manual!
I swore if I ever started a Yamaha Official thread, this would be Posted in Bold on the Very first page

In the past, the simple answer was press the "info" button on the remote
(toggles between the audio source with the decoder that is being applied)

On the XX80 Series the info button is no longer on the remote,
So you must open the front hidden panel on the AVR and press the INFO button

For those who can't be bothered to look it up in the manual:







If you're using your Blu-ray player to play an ATMOS encoded movie you should see this:

ChromeJob likes this.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
bluetooth headphones , yamaha 1080

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off