The "Official" Yamaha RX-A3080, RX-A2080 and RX-A1080 AVENTAGE AVR Thread - Page 79 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 642Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2359 Old 05-22-2020, 05:29 AM
Member
 
Blipstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnersfella View Post
The Connect button is also the 'Straight' button under the flap on the front panel.

Ahh! Thank you sir

There is no spoon
Blipstein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2359 Old 05-22-2020, 08:16 AM
Member
 
chiefp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix_ro View Post
GREAT to hear you also have no more POP's after switching off the "Auto"!
This indeed proves that something is wrong with SOME of the units, maybe those purchased later 2019, cause I for one got mine in November 2019.

You? When you got yours? Also where are you located, Europe or US? I'm in Romania, Europe.

Also, not so great that the Yamaha tech did not called as promised, but, as you said, it really sounds like they know about this issue, and clearly is not fix-able via firmware update, since I do not have (yet) the latest one (1.8). Think I should also ask Yamaha Europe about this.

Please keep us updated here, with your development!

Have a good one...
I'm in US (Vegas) and bought mine end of Dec 2019. It's on 1.8 firmware.
Felix_ro likes this.
chiefp is offline  
post #2343 of 2359 Old 05-23-2020, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,073
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7483 Post(s)
Liked: 7524
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefp View Post
Update. I switched to Neutral X decoding and with everything hooked up, not a single pop in almost 2 days. While that's certainly good news, it also proves there's a a gremlin in there!

Yamaha did not call me as promised; I received a return label a few minutes ago. I got onto chat and was told level II tech support "has decided to exchange the unit." I'm to ship it to CA and once received, they're to send a replacement. I don't know what to think of this other that it sounds like they know there's an issue? I really wanted to talk to them...as I'm now armed with the information from you all that this isn't an isolated incident.
Well hopefully the new one is A OK

Last edited by Cleveland Plasma; 05-23-2020 at 02:41 PM.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2344 of 2359 Old 05-24-2020, 03:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Been looking at these Yamaha’s mostly for a friend who has an older Yamaha 1800. What a great unit that has been. Not good there’s popping going on. Will watch this thread and see how that goes.....
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #2345 of 2359 Old 05-24-2020, 04:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
radamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
Been looking at these Yamaha’s mostly for a friend who has an older Yamaha 1800. What a great unit that has been. Not good there’s popping going on. Will watch this thread and see how that goes.....
Very few are having that issue. I have NEVER had any popping on mine and use MANY different options with this unit (3080). Mine has been rock solid as was my 2050.
bwillcox likes this.

LG OLED65C9, Yamaha RX-A3080, Paradigm Reference Studio 80 Mains, Atmos 5.1.4 config, Panasonic UB820, PS4 Pro, Apple TV 4K
radamo is offline  
post #2346 of 2359 Old 05-24-2020, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by radamo View Post
Very few are having that issue. I have NEVER had any popping on mine and use MANY different options with this unit (3080). Mine has been rock solid as was my 2050.
I too, have had no popping from any of my 2018 Yamaha units (2080, 3080 & 5200). Mine have all been rock-solid. I seriously doubt that this is a wide spread issue.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #2347 of 2359 Old 05-25-2020, 01:41 AM
Member
 
Felix_ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
Been looking at these Yamaha’s mostly for a friend who has an older Yamaha 1800. What a great unit that has been. Not good there’s popping going on. Will watch this thread and see how that goes.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by radamo View Post
Very few are having that issue. I have NEVER had any popping on mine and use MANY different options with this unit (3080). Mine has been rock solid as was my 2050.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
I too, have had no popping from any of my 2018 Yamaha units (2080, 3080 & 5200). Mine have all been rock-solid. I seriously doubt that this is a wide spread issue.

I believe this POPPING is specific only to the newer produced ones, since it seems that both me and some others that got it (purchase it) ON or AFTER November 2019, no matter the continent, had a good chance to get the popping, which, BTW, is easily to "workaround" (FOR SOME, most of us) by NOT using "Auto" or "AI" (neither one should be active).
Felix_ro is offline  
post #2348 of 2359 Old 05-25-2020, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Blipstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnersfella View Post
The Connect button is also the 'Straight' button under the flap on the front panel..
Anyone else not able to complete the Google Assistant integration within the MusicCast app? I'll click on "Allow" and it'll get all the way to the last step and then fail. Curious if anyone has been successful at this. Thanks

There is no spoon
Blipstein is offline  
post #2349 of 2359 Old 05-25-2020, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 5,224
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2248 Post(s)
Liked: 1174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix_ro View Post
THIS IS the thread you suggested, so he is already here, right where you suggested him to go!
Sometimes people will respond, link to the "owners'" thread, and then LATER a Mod will merge the post into the target thread. Happens more often than you think. Let's stick to talking Yamaha.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronarchy View Post
Hey All,
I'm wondering, when speakers are set to small and you set the crossover point for the sub, does this also affect LFE content? LFE (low frequency effects) is a discrete channel that goes up to 120hz. If the crossover point is set to say, 80hz, wouldn't this roll off the LFE content?
If you mean the ".1" in multichannel audio, aka the LFE channel, then => LFE goes to the LFE channel, which the sub is connected to. Bass Management does not effect it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
Been looking at these Yamaha’s mostly for a friend who has an older Yamaha 1800. What a great unit that has been. Not good there’s popping going on. Will watch this thread and see how that goes.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix_ro View Post
I believe this POPPING is specific only to the newer produced ones, since it seems that both me and some others that got it (purchase it) ON or AFTER November 2019, no matter the continent, had a good chance to get the popping, which, BTW, is easily to "workaround" (FOR SOME, most of us) by NOT using "Auto" or "AI" (neither one should be active).
Just because you read something on a forum, it doesn't establish that it's a widespread issue. Even just the population of enthusiasts talking on an A/V forum are a minority of the total consumer market buying these boxes It's easy to think that several people having a similar problem means a whole model line has the issue, when in fact it could still be rare.

Doesn't make it less annoying to those having the issue, but take care in telling anyone "oh that line of Yamaha AVRs seem to have this common problem" based on a few people talking on a forum.

@Johnson-from-Arizona Your friend will probably be fine buying one of these, just get it from a reputable source that you can return to if there's any kind of issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blipstein View Post
Can the 1080 be controlled through the Multicast app? I'm using the Yamaha AV Controller app but I'd like Google Home integration. I was under the assumption that it could connect to the Multicast app but I do not see a "connect" button anywhere on the receiver. Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blipstein View Post
Anyone else not able to complete the Google Assistant integration within the MusicCast app? I'll click on "Allow" and it'll get all the way to the last step and then fail. Curious if anyone has been successful at this. Thanks
OOPS, my bad. ... And: more on Yamaha voice control support.

Unsure if MusicCast will even respond to the Google Assistant on, say, a Google Home, Home Hub, etc. Perhaps on the same device that Google and MusicCAst are installed on, with Tasker or other scripting apps. I don't use MusicCast, only Assistant, Homes, Chromecasts, etc.

If you're unsuccessful, see if IFTTT will work with MusicCast.

“Ever heard of the Sullivan Act?” “Oh that's all right, Detective, we're married.”
Are you new to the forum? => Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. Respect our fine Moderators. And RTFM, always.

Last edited by ChromeJob; 05-25-2020 at 01:36 PM.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #2350 of 2359 Old 05-26-2020, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
noiremmanuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
On the Yamaha a3080 when adding a power amp to control the main L & R speakers do you need to change any settings on the AVR on just plug and play?
I was having a look at the manual but could not get anything from it... my speaker system is set the basic.


Love movies, love cinema, love sound and THX accredited.
lundstrom.joakim likes this.
noiremmanuel is online now  
post #2351 of 2359 Old 05-26-2020, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,072
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4061 Post(s)
Liked: 3381
Quote:
Originally Posted by noiremmanuel View Post
On the Yamaha a3080 when adding a power amp to control the main L & R speakers do you need to change any settings on the AVR on just plug and play?
I was having a look at the manual but could not get anything from it... my speaker system is set the basic.
You should re-run YPAO, that's all.
lundstrom.joakim likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #2352 of 2359 Old 05-26-2020, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
noiremmanuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The "Official" Yamaha RX-A3080, RX-A2080 and RX-A1080 AVENTAGE AVR Thread

Just a quick one... why run YPAO again? Just for my knowledge.

Last edited by noiremmanuel; 05-26-2020 at 12:58 PM.
noiremmanuel is online now  
post #2353 of 2359 Old 05-26-2020, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
3080 and Sony BDPS790

We recently upgraded to the 3080 from a 3900. We added a new Panasonic 4K Blu-ray but wanted to keep using the Sony to play SACDs. I've tried every configuration / menu option I can think of on both the 3080 and the Sony, but while I can get video there is no audio. Tried switching HDMI inputs, cables etc. with no success. Even tried an older Sony Blu-ray but can't get it to work, either. (They both worked on the 3900.) Any ideas on what I'm missing?
EstesParkRocker is offline  
post #2354 of 2359 Old 05-26-2020, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Mark6088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by noiremmanuel View Post
Just a quick one... why run YPAO again? Just for my knowledge.
Every time you make a substantive change to any of your system's components, you should re-run YPAO. Changing speakers, changing the position of speakers, changing a pre-amp or receiver, changing or adding an external amp, changes to the environment in your listening room (carpeting, new sofa, etc) are all reasons you should re-run YPAO. Because you are modifying the properties of the sound by changing the equipment or you're changing the acoustics of your listening room, you should run YPAO.
junior00027 and noiremmanuel like this.

Yamaha Aventage RX-A2060 AVR, 2 X Outlaw Audio Model 2200 Amps (fronts), Klipsch: RP-280F, RP-250F (surrounds), RP-250C, R-14S (F. Presence); SVS SB-3000 SWs X 2, Bluesound Node 2i, Samsung BD-F5900 BP, Roku Ultra, LG OLED 55C6P UHD.
Mark6088 is offline  
post #2355 of 2359 Old Yesterday, 01:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ben Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix_ro View Post
I believe this POPPING is specific only to the newer produced ones, since it seems that both me and some others that got it (purchase it) ON or AFTER November 2019, no matter the continent, had a good chance to get the popping, which, BTW, is easily to "workaround" (FOR SOME, most of us) by NOT using "Auto" or "AI" (neither one should be active).
Nice bit of hyperbole.

There's like 5 guys on this entire thread that reported the issue. FIVE. Lol.

SVS Ultra Bookshelf + SVS Ultra Center
Prime Bookshelf Surround with Prime Elevation Heights
Dual Rythmik FV15HP
Yamaha RX-A3060 + Parasound Halo A31 + Emotiva A500
Ben Tan is offline  
post #2356 of 2359 Old Yesterday, 09:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by noiremmanuel View Post
On the Yamaha a3080 when adding a power amp to control the main L & R speakers do you need to change any settings on the AVR on just plug and play?
I was having a look at the manual but could not get anything from it... my speaker system is set the basic.


Love movies, love cinema, love sound and THX accredited.
That's exactly what I have been wondering since I bought my 2080 a couple of weeks ago. I use an external amp for my front speakers. Thanks for asking ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You should re-run YPAO, that's all.
...and thanks for the answer

Skickat från min ONEPLUS A6003 via Tapatalk
noiremmanuel likes this.
lundstrom.joakim is online now  
post #2357 of 2359 Old Yesterday, 02:28 PM
Member
 
avParsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I also have a friend who bought a 2080 earlier this year. It had the loud pops and after checking this forum, I told him to use Straight instead of AI or Auto and there has been no popping since. Told him to contact Yamaha but I don't think he has yet. Country: Australia
Felix_ro likes this.
avParsec is offline  
post #2358 of 2359 Old Today, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just to add another data point: I bought a 3080 in early May. I was also getting an occasional popping noise. Mine seemed to only happen when turning off the unit while audio was still playing via internal TV app (via CEC or whatever), not during programs. Tried disconnecting all speakers but center and could still reproduce it (though not 100% ... maybe 40%).

I was also getting .5 second audio drop outs sometimes that I couldn't figure out. I was using ARC. I finally tried switching out the HDMI cable connected to the ARC input. It was an older one that still said "High Speed" for an Ultra High Speed one. This allowed me to switch to eARC which had been disabled in TV settings earlier (I did not realize there was a different setting).

Also after browsing this thread, I also stopped using AI surround and surround auto. I have yet to hear any popping. I'm not sure if it was the cable or the mode settings. Will update if I end up trying AI surround again and hear it. Have not had it checked out by Yamaha either.
Fungalreason is online now  
post #2359 of 2359 Old Today, 11:21 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,616
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2506 Post(s)
Liked: 4897
Bickering removed. Discuss the topic and not each other.

Questions or comments should be PM'd to me. Don't post those here.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
bluetooth headphones , yamaha 1080

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off