Questions and issues with Dirac Live - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By enricoclaudio
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 11-09-2018, 03:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
YonathanZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Questions and issues with Dirac Live

Hi,

I’ve set up my nanoAVR-DL for 7.1 (I have a 5.1 setup) and now I get no audio from the center channel speaker both through my Xbox one and Apple TV (I don’t use anything else).

When I disable Dirac live on the nanoavr, I still don’t get my center channel back so I don’t know if it’s a problem with the device or the software. I mean, the only use for this device is with the Dirac software...

Please advise. Thanks.
YonathanZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 11-09-2018, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,835
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2852
Quote:
Originally Posted by YonathanZ View Post
Hi,

I’ve set up my nanoAVR-DL for 7.1 (I have a 5.1 setup) and now I get no audio from the center channel speaker both through my Xbox one and Apple TV (I don’t use anything else).

When I disable Dirac live on the nanoavr, I still don’t get my center channel back so I don’t know if it’s a problem with the device or the software. I mean, the only use for this device is with the Dirac software...

Please advise. Thanks.
How are your devices connected to the speakers, especially the center speaker?

My guess is that you have a bad connection there.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 11-09-2018, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
YonathanZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Hi, solved the problem by changing audio mode in the nanoavr software from 7.1 to auto. Now the center works fine. Thank you.
YonathanZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 Old 11-10-2018, 04:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
YonathanZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Problem with Dirac Live (via nanoAVR-DL)

Hi,

I've recently calibrated my 5.1 setup like so:

Turned Audyssey off (Denon receiver), Tone control off and anything else of this sort.
Made sure my receiver is setup for 5.1 speakers, and matched all 6 speakers' volume at my seating position. I got it close to perfect while measuring with the UMIK-1. I've kept the distances as they were determined by Audyssey - saw no reason to change these.

I should point out that at this point everything was working fine but obviously the system was not calibrated.

Then I set the nanoAVR-DL to 7.1 mode via the Mac app and calibrated with the Dirac Calibration Tool being set to 7.1 as well. Why 7.1? Because the miniDSP manual says that this setting determines how many channels I want Dirac to process, not how many speakers are connected to my AVR.

Double checked the volumes of all 6 speakers and went ahead with measurements.
Then a problem arose: the center channel plays very, very quietly, to the point that I have to put my ears next to it in order to hear it.

So I went back to the manual and it says to put the nanoAVR-DL (Mac) app into Auto mode instead of 7.1, since that's the appropriate option for playback (but not for measurement/calibration). So I did that, and I also tried 5.1 and 7.1 and even Stereo modes, and with all of them the center is just way too quiet. In Stereo mode, the center channel audio signal is completely lost instead of going to the Left and Right speakers, which is odd.

My playback devices are Apple TV and Xbox One S, both of which output LPCM audio which is what the nanoAVR-DL requires.

Oddly enough, now when I open the Dirac Calibration Tool and play test tones for the 8 channels (7.1), they all play through the left speaker - even the subwoofer!

Does anyone have a clue about this?

Thanks in advance.
YonathanZ is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 11-10-2018, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,287
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1656 Post(s)
Liked: 2334
OP: Instead of starting a new thread with each question or issue specific to Dirac. I've merged your previous thread with the new one and changed the title to reflect any and all questions/comments you may have concerning Dirac. So going forward, if any new questions come up, please post in this merged thread.
rboster is online now  
post #6 of 19 Old 12-12-2019, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Dirac Live on Mac with Amazon Music sounds horrible

I am using Dirac live (Version 1.2.0.8256) on my Mac Mini (Mojave 10.14) I use it with iTunes/Apple Music and Tidal with no issues. I recently installed the Amazon music app/software and subscribed to their HD music package. When using the Dirac Audio Processor Stereo device the sound from Amazon music is garbled and sounds like it is coming from underwater. The Mac is hooked up to a Denon x4400 via HDMI. If I bypass the Dirac device and choose HDMI as the output device the issue goes away but then I lose the benefits of Dirac.

Is anyone else having this issue? Are there any settings I can change?

I was really hoping to replace Apple Music and Tidal with Amazon music, but if I can't get this working it will not happen.

One thing I notice when I look at the MIDI settings is that the Dirac Device shows up as 32bit where my HDMI shows as 24bit.

Thanks and please let me know if there is a better place/forum to post this.

@rcohen I am tagging you because I think you use Dirac Live on a computer - wondering if you have ever tried Amazon Music.

JTR (3 215 RT, 5 212HTR, 2 Growlers, 4 S2's)
PSA (4 Triax's, 3 210T's)
Behringer (4 B1200 Midbass Modules)
raynist is online now  
post #7 of 19 Old 12-12-2019, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,031
Mentioned: 288 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4070 Post(s)
Liked: 5067
That sounds more like a sample rate mismatch. What Dirac device do you have? For instance, the miniDSP DDRC-24 operates Dirac Live at 48KHz. If Amazon music app only operates at 44.1KHz then you would have a sample rate mismatch and music will sound the way you describe. I have the issue with Yamaha TF series sound board and Garage Band. Garage Band software only operates at 44.1KHz and Yamaha TF series only operates at 48KHz. When I have an iMac or Mac Book Pro connected to the Yamaha TF board, I have to set the Mac at 48KHz sample rate but if somebody opens Garage Band the Mac goes to 44.1KHz automatically and if I play music with iTunes then music sounds distorted, basically out of sync. That is the only explanation I find in your case. Check on Audio Midi Setup to see if the sample rate changes from 48KHz to 44.1KHz when you open the Amazon Music app.
Marc Alexander likes this.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 12-12-2019, 10:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Hi - I am using the Dirac Live software on my Mac - no other device. I am thinking it is a mismatch also.

The Dirac software is on my Mac, I don’t have a hardware device like a MiniDSP. When I look at the midi settings it says 32bit and then I have a choose of many sample rates (from 44.1 up to 192). I can’t change the bit rate. The songs I am playing from amazon say 24bit 96khz. Even if I choose 96khz for the Dirac software the songs are all garbled. Could it be that the 32 bit vs 24bit is causing a problem? I don’t have the option to change it. Apple Music, tidal and every other software I tried works.


Edit - I did play around with the bit rates while Amazon music hd/UHD was playing, all of the bit rates suffered from the gargled sound. Some would not play at all.

Last edited by raynist; 12-12-2019 at 11:24 PM.
raynist is online now  
post #9 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,009
Mentioned: 268 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5850 Post(s)
Liked: 5424
The Denon is limited to 24/96 input. 32-bit will be problematic.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #10 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
The Denon is limited to 24/96 input. 32-bit will be problematic.
It works perfectly with Tidal, Apple Music/iTunes, Audirvana Plus and JRiver Media Center If there was some compatibility issue with the denon I should see it on all music software/services. I’m not sure why I am having a problem with Amazon Music.

There is no way I can see to change The Dirac Device it to 24bit.

I started a support case with Dirac.
raynist is online now  
post #11 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,031
Mentioned: 288 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4070 Post(s)
Liked: 5067
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
The Denon is limited to 24/96 input. 32-bit will be problematic.
I juts plugged my MacBook Pro via HDMI into my Denon X6500H and I get up to 48KHz/24-bit 2-Channels and 192KHz/24-bit 8-Channels. The Denon plays just fine TIDAL at 192KHz/24-bit 8-Channels. There is no option for 32-bit in my MacBook Pro so I would recommend try with 24-bit instead.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-12-13 at 3.39.27 PM.png
Views:	17
Size:	4.51 MB
ID:	2653568   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0036.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	2653570  

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
I juts plugged my MacBook Pro via HDMI into my Denon X6500H and I get up to 48KHz/24-bit 2-Channels and 192KHz/24-bit 8-Channels. The Denon plays just fine TIDAL at 192KHz/24-bit 8-Channels. There is no option for 32-bit in my MacBook Pro so I would recommend try with 24-bit instead.
I am using Dirac software on my Mac. I have to choose the Dirac device in the MIDI setup that only has an option for 32bit.

If I use the hdmi only (which bypasses Dirac) it works fine.

I am not using any Dirac hardware device like a MiniDSP - the software is installed on my Mac and plays from my Mac.

Last edited by raynist; 12-13-2019 at 03:22 PM.
raynist is online now  
post #13 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 14,009
Mentioned: 268 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5850 Post(s)
Liked: 5424
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
I juts plugged my MacBook Pro via HDMI into my Denon X6500H and I get up to 48KHz/24-bit 2-Channels and 192KHz/24-bit 8-Channels. The Denon plays just fine TIDAL at 192KHz/24-bit 8-Channels.
Thanks Enrico. It looks like the 96kHz limitation may just be on the Denon S/PDIF inputs (X4300H). My analyzer's digital out is coax S/PDIF only.

Off-topic. On the Mac can once easily cross-connect an input (Roland USB Capture interface) to HDMI output?
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #14 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,031
Mentioned: 288 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4070 Post(s)
Liked: 5067
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
I am using Dirac software on my Mac. I have to choose the Dirac device in the MIDI setup that only has an option for 32bit.

If I use the hdmi only (which bypasses Dirac) it works fine.

I am not using any Dirac hardware device like a MiniDSP - the software is installed on my Mac and plays from my Mac.
I was going to try Dirac in my MacBook Pro but Dirac took down the link a few months ago. If you have the link or the dmg pakg, you can put it in a dropbox and I can try it with my gear.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,031
Mentioned: 288 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4070 Post(s)
Liked: 5067
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Thanks Enrico. It looks like the 96kHz limitation may just be on the Denon S/PDIF inputs (X4300H). My analyzer's digital out is coax S/PDIF only.

Off-topic. On the Mac can once easily cross-connect an input (Roland USB Capture interface) to HDMI output?
Which Roland Capture Interface? I have BlackMagic UltraStudio 4K Thunderbolt and BlackMagic Hyperdeck Studio Pro 4K Thunderbolt and both of them work great. With Mac the HDMI port works as output only. You have to go with Thunderbolt (2 or 3) to get audio and video input. BTW, HDMI port on Macs was discontinued back in 2015. I have a 2014 13" MacBook Pro Retina with HDMI out and recently got a 2019 16" MacBook Pro with Thunderbolt 3. I think the only one with HDMI port right now is the Mac mini.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 12-13-2019, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
I was going to try Dirac in my MacBook Pro but Dirac took down the link a few months ago. If you have the link or the dmg pakg, you can put it in a dropbox and I can try it with my gear.
Hi - I may still have it - haven’t been home all evening. Will check when I get home.
raynist is online now  
post #17 of 19 Old 12-15-2019, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
I was going to try Dirac in my MacBook Pro but Dirac took down the link a few months ago. If you have the link or the dmg pakg, you can put it in a dropbox and I can try it with my gear.
Hi I do have the install files.

How do you want them?

—Ray
raynist is online now  
post #18 of 19 Old 12-15-2019, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,031
Mentioned: 288 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4070 Post(s)
Liked: 5067
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
Hi I do have the install files.

How do you want them?

—Ray
Can you put them in your dropbox and send me the link via PM to download? That way I can see if I have the same issue as you.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 12-15-2019, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
Can you put them in your dropbox and send me the link via PM to download? That way I can see if I have the same issue as you.
Sure - I am out at my daughters volleyball practice. Will send it when I get back
raynist is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off