The *Official* Emotiva RMC-1 owners thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1056Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1092 Old 11-04-2019, 12:29 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,332
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1961 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maconi View Post
It sounds like maybe it was pulling the EDID from the projector rather than the RMC-1 which was causing audio issues? If so that just points back to HDMI switching issues which the Emotiva pre/pros seem to be prone to (to the point where you have to be super careful the order you turn on your components).

I still can't get video to work on my RMC-1 at all. Currently using a Vertex to bypass video directly to my display, sending only audio through the RMC-1. If the 1.7 fimware update doesn't resolve the issue I'll go back to pushing for a replacement. If the HTP-1 releases without issue in a couple weeks I may just end up going that route instead at this point (although the RMC-1 + Vertex 2 after my discounts are the same total price as the HTP-1 so I wouldn't really be coming out ahead).
If the Monoprice works and you aren't constantly struggling to use your system, I'd consider that coming out way ahead even if the finances end up about even.
rec head and DonH50 like this.
gsr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1092 Old 11-04-2019, 10:49 PM
Member
 
Jet Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Well after all the issues I had on Friday, thankfully my RMC-1 worked flawlessly Saturday and Sunday. All I can say is I am impatiently waiting for Firmware 1.6 to come out. Hopefully that will finally add the Dirac Live.
Jet Flyer is offline  
post #1053 of 1092 Old 11-04-2019, 11:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jet Flyer View Post
Well after all the issues I had on Friday, thankfully my RMC-1 worked flawlessly Saturday and Sunday. All I can say is I am impatiently waiting for Firmware 1.6 to come out. Hopefully that will finally add the Dirac Live.
Good to hear things have settled down for you. 1.6 wont make it past beta stage, we’re now waiting for 1.7 and yes, hopefully very soon. It won’t include Dirac however, it was reported they said after the first of the year at their open house last weekend.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: China
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 297
When did the RMC- MSRP increase to 6681USD??

Last time I checked their website, it was 5000USD (maybe a month ago).

I did not see this one coming. Is that a bug or is is true?
stef2 is online now  
post #1055 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 07:11 AM
Member
 
joxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by stef2 View Post
When did the RMC- MSRP increase to 6681USD??

Last time I checked their website, it was 5000USD (maybe a month ago).

I did not see this one coming. Is that a bug or is is true?
Just checked emotiva site and rmc-1 is $4999

5.2.4 | Marantz SR7012 | SVS Ultra Towers | SVS Ultra Bookshelves | SVS Ultra Center | 4 x Monoprice 8" alpha for atmos | 2 x SVS PB3000 | LG OLED 65" C8 | AppleTV 4K | Nvidia Shield
joxr is offline  
post #1056 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,412
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3309 Post(s)
Liked: 3415
@stef2 posted in the XMC-2 thread about a price increase as well. I am betting he's using the wrong currency.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #1057 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 09:03 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,332
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1961 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
@stef2 posted in the XMC-2 thread about a price increase as well. I am betting he's using the wrong currency.
His location is listed as China, so it's quite likely that there are some (possibly recent) import/export tariffs and/or currency conversions that account for the price difference.
gsr is online now  
post #1058 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
HFGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
His location is listed as China, so it's quite likely that there are some (possibly recent) import/export tariffs and/or currency conversions that account for the price difference.
I am seeing the same price increase and I am in Canada. If anything with all the competition coming out soon the RMC-1 price should have dropped.
HFGuy is offline  
post #1059 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 09:30 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,332
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1961 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Quote:
Originally Posted by HFGuy View Post
I am seeing the same price increase and I am in Canada. If anything with all the competition coming out soon the RMC-1 price should have dropped.
I'm pretty sure you're just seeing the exchange rate factored in:
  • If I select USD for the currency, I see a price of $4999.00
  • If I select CAD for the currency, I see a price of $6591.66 - checking the current exchange rate on Google, the conversion gives $1USD = $1.32CAD, so $4999 converts to $6591.51, which is very close to what I see on their site.
It's quite possible that the currency conversion feature had been broken on their site previously. I've heard they tend to have a few bugs in their products...


If you're seeing a price that's radically different from $6591.66 in Canada, then something else odd may be going on, but it doesn't look like there's a price increase happening from where I'm sitting.
Mashie Saldana likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #1060 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,412
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3309 Post(s)
Liked: 3415
Strange -- they specifically excluded the processors from the recent price increases on speakers and such, maybe they've changed their mind, at least for non-USA customers? Guess the thing to do is to ask them. My XMC-1 is actually doing OK for now, just a glitch now and then and of course the long switching times, but I am moving on. The whole v3 board followed by the RMC-1 saga is a bit much. Really hope they turn it around and get the RMC-1 (etc.) out the door in working order, Dirac Live and all!

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #1061 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 165
The US prices have not changed (can’t speak for exchange rates and tariffs). They made quite a few website changes recently and some of them resulted in incorrect info being posted, like missing trade-ins. It might be affecting prices in some locations, but I still see RMC-1 $4999, RMC-1L $3999, XMC-2 $2999.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #1062 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
HFGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
I'm pretty sure you're just seeing the exchange rate factored in:
  • If I select USD for the currency, I see a price of $4999.00
  • If I select CAD for the currency, I see a price of $6591.66 - checking the current exchange rate on Google, the conversion gives $1USD = $1.32CAD, so $4999 converts to $6591.51, which is very close to what I see on their site.
It's quite possible that the currency conversion feature had been broken on their site previously. I've heard they tend to have a few bugs in their products...


If you're seeing a price that's radically different from $6591.66 in Canada, then something else odd may be going on, but it doesn't look like there's a price increase happening from where I'm sitting.
If i change the currency from usd to cad the price jumps to $8,809.54
HFGuy is offline  
post #1063 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: China
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Strange...I double checked on their website, in USD, right now: 6681USD is what I see, no doubt about that! In CAN$ it shows 8809.43CAN$ (eek!).
There must be a bug on their website since other seem to see a different price...this has nothing to do with currency conversion!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rmc-1.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	106.5 KB
ID:	2637750   Click image for larger version

Name:	CAN.JPG
Views:	36
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	2637752  

Last edited by stef2; 11-07-2019 at 10:21 AM.
stef2 is online now  
post #1064 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 11:33 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,332
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1961 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Quote:
Originally Posted by HFGuy View Post
If i change the currency from usd to cad the price jumps to $8,809.54
Quote:
Originally Posted by stef2 View Post
Strange...I double checked on their website, in USD, right now: 6681USD is what I see, no doubt about that! In CAN$ it shows 8809.43CAN$ (eek!).
There must be a bug on their website since other seem to see a different price...this has nothing to do with currency conversion!
It sounds like they have a bug where the default USD currency choice actually defaults to the currency for the country you're connecting from. Then when you change to your country currency, the exchange rate gets factored in a second time - the Canadian numbers seem to support this idea as $4999 * 1.32 = $6591.51 (pretty close to $6681) and $6681 * 1.32 = $8818.92, which is pretty close to $8809.43 - if they're using a different source for the exchange rate, that would explain the remaining difference. Perhaps someone who lives outside the USA and is actually interested in buying something from them should contact them to see if they can get clarification on this and encourage them to fix their site... It's not going to be me as I live in the USA have no interest in buying the RMC-1 at this time since I'm happy with my Marantz and have no interest in buying something that's still "half" done.
stef2 likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #1065 of 1092 Old 11-07-2019, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
HFGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 255
After following along the RMC-1 since before it was released I feel I need to move on from this product. The Arcam AV40 seems to be a better choice for me, which is a shame I really like what the RMC-1 has to offer.
petew, llang269 and thrillcat like this.
HFGuy is offline  
post #1066 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 09:08 AM
Member
 
HSamwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sound quality made me buy it.
Since FW 1.5 it has worked for me mostly flawlessly.

The only things I have now sometimes are some smaller static and no sound at startup (fixed by changing input and back).. In my case it was my dish receiver disturbing something with RMC-1.
Since changing two settings in it almost all my hdmi issues have gone away.
I have a Sony 4k TV, Panasonic 1080p projector, AppleTV 4k, Pioneer UDP-LX800, OPPO BDP-103 and the dish receiver connected with hdmi.

Before I had constant issues with the projector. Nothing seemed to fix it. Even though the dish receiver is 4k friendly (supports 4k resolutions but not output) it does something wrong in standby.
I had issues with the dish receiver with my Pioneer SC-LX801 as well, although not so major ones.

TV: Sony KD-65ZD9 BLURAY: Pioneer UDP-LX800 PREPRO: Emotiva RMC-1 11ch AMP: Emotiva XPA-11 gen3 Network streamer: Pioneer N-70AE Speakers: Front SVS Ultra Tower Center SVS Ultra Center Surround (4 speakers) Dynavoice Definition DX-5 Height (4 speakers top) SVS Prime Elevation Subwoofer (2 subwoofers) XTZ SUB 12.17 Edge
HSamwel is offline  
post #1067 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 153
FedEx just delivered my RMC-1. Got it for $3999. Did I make a mistake?
I also ordered from Emotiva the XPA-9 GEN 3, and their 12" subwoofer, towers, rear surrounds and center. I will have a 5.1.4 setup

I haven't received the amp yet so I will play around with the speakers using my Onkyo Pre and amp from 1989 stereo only of course

What should I be aware of or looking for before I plug in the RMC-1?

Thanks Everyone!

Comcast Xfinity with 200MB/s
75" TCL Series 8/LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D
OPPO UHD-203/TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HDDVD
SWISS TURNTABLE/TECHNICS 1520 REEL TO REEL
EVERY PLAYSTATION/EVERY XBOX
videofx is online now  
post #1068 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 01:13 PM
Member
 
Jet Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The only mistake I could possibly see is that for the same money, you didn't go with the XPA-11. I don't know how you will be using your system, but I would doubt you would need 300 watts for surround sound speakers. Its always nice to have the flexibility to add more speakers if your room could handle it. I use to have a 9.1 room. I then switched to a 7.1.4. I'm now thinking I may add 4 more channels and will have to buy more amps.
Jet Flyer is offline  
post #1069 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: East Central Iowa
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by videofx View Post
FedEx just delivered my RMC-1. Got it for $3999. Did I make a mistake?
I also ordered from Emotiva the XPA-9 GEN 3, and their 12" subwoofer, towers, rear surrounds and center. I will have a 5.1.4 setup

I haven't received the amp yet so I will play around with the speakers using my Onkyo Pre and amp from 1989 stereo only of course

What should I be aware of or looking for before I plug in the RMC-1?

Thanks Everyone!
Not much you can look for before plugging in the RMC. It basically either works in your system or it doesn't. There are a few people that will encourage you to buy other gear which helps the RMC work better, but for me that is a non-starter since a $5000 processor should work without the help of other gear.

Plug it in, say a little prayer, and use the RMC. That's the only way you will know.

The Other Theater (most recent build)
Old Woods Remodel
Old Wood Theater (first build)
Marantz 8805 (Emotiva RMC in a box) | JVC X790R | Emotiva XPA-5 | Emotiva XPA 4-3s | Oppo 203 | DIYSG 1099 | DIYSG Volt 8 | DIYSG Volt 6 | SVS PC-4000 | Seymour UF 132"

Last edited by deewan; 11-09-2019 at 02:56 PM.
deewan is offline  
post #1070 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jet Flyer View Post
The only mistake I could possibly see is that for the same money, you didn't go with the XPA-11. I don't know how you will be using your system, but I would doubt you would need 300 watts for surround sound speakers. Its always nice to have the flexibility to add more speakers if your room could handle it. I use to have a 9.1 room. I then switched to a 7.1.4. I'm now thinking I may add 4 more channels and will have to buy more amps.
Yes I thought the same as you. I was going to get the 11 channel amp but because I have a fireplace in the way I can't add the side speakers, otherwise I would have gone for the 11 channel.

Comcast Xfinity with 200MB/s
75" TCL Series 8/LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D
OPPO UHD-203/TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HDDVD
SWISS TURNTABLE/TECHNICS 1520 REEL TO REEL
EVERY PLAYSTATION/EVERY XBOX
videofx is online now  
post #1071 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 165
The number one thing to try and get right are your HDMI cables, but you don’t mention what your sources are, for anything 4K you want to get that right.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #1072 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Woodbridge, VA (25 miles south of D.C.)
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
The number one thing to try and get right are your HDMI cables, but you don’t mention what your sources are, for anything 4K you want to get that right.
Totally agree with the above. Premium Certified cables are definitely a must.

I would also suggest that you connect 1 source device at a time and make sure it works correctly before adding the next one. I know it will be a pain to do it that would but it could help in resolving any issues.

Best of luck!

EDIT: Sorry, should have also quoted the original post. Hope this is ok.

Spoiler!

Last edited by RetiredandLovingIt; 11-09-2019 at 06:13 PM.
RetiredandLovingIt is online now  
post #1073 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
The number one thing to try and get right are your HDMI cables, but you don’t mention what your sources are, for anything 4K you want to get that right.
For now I will be connecting to my Panasonic 3d HD Plasma via HDMI 1.3. I am waiting for the TCL Series 8, 8K which will probably be HDMI 2.1

Does the RMC-1 have wireless to connect to my network?

so for now I will be connecting the following:

My Turntable and Reel to Reel via balanced stereo connectors
Oppo UDP-203
Toshiba HD-XA2
My Pioneer HLD-X9 Laserdisc player
Nintendo Switch

Thats all I will reconnecting for now.

If anyone can tell me certified HDMI cable that won't break the bank I can get some.

Thanks for the help!

Bill

Comcast Xfinity with 200MB/s
75" TCL Series 8/LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D
OPPO UHD-203/TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HDDVD
SWISS TURNTABLE/TECHNICS 1520 REEL TO REEL
EVERY PLAYSTATION/EVERY XBOX
videofx is online now  
post #1074 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by videofx View Post
For now I will be connecting to my Panasonic 3d HD Plasma via HDMI 1.3. I am waiting for the TCL Series 8, 8K which will probably be HDMI 2.1

Does the RMC-1 have wireless to connect to my network?

so for now I will be connecting the following:

My Turntable and Reel to Reel via balanced stereo connectors
Oppo UDP-203
Toshiba HD-XA2
My Pioneer HLD-X9 Laserdisc player
Nintendo Switch

Thats all I will reconnecting for now.

If anyone can tell me certified HDMI cable that won't break the bank I can get some.

Thanks for the help!

Bill
I use these Monoprice Ultra Slim, definitely don’t break the bank and work well for me, but my sources are 8’ and TV 4’, length matters, get the shortest you can comfortably install. Just get one for each HDMI device and be done with it.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24187

There is no WiFi, but you only need the network for Dirac which isn’t out yet, oh, there’s also an App/Remote you can use.
There’s only one set of balanced ins.
Let us know how it goes.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #1075 of 1092 Old 11-09-2019, 11:32 PM
Member
 
Maconi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I was originally considering keeping the RMC-1 and just using something like the HDFury Vertex 2 to bypass the shoddy video switching (video doesn't work at all on my RMC-1 for some reason) but now I'm getting the same audio issues that others have complained about. The first 4K Blu-Ray I tried to watch with my wife started up with no audio. I had to swap the audio track to another language (French) and then back into English to get it to lock.

The only thing that will keep me from returning the RMC-1 at this point is if the Monolith/Arcam/JBL have similar issues. Just a few more days until people can start testing the HTP-1.
llang269 likes this.
Maconi is offline  
post #1076 of 1092 Old 11-10-2019, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
I use these Monoprice Ultra Slim, definitely don’t break the bank and work well for me, but my sources are 8’ and TV 4’, length matters, get the shortest you can comfortably install. Just get one for each HDMI device and be done with it.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24187

There is no WiFi, but you only need the network for Dirac which isn’t out yet, oh, there’s also an App/Remote you can use.
There’s only one set of balanced ins.
Let us know how it goes.
Thanks for the help. I don't think my cables will be more than 6 feet. The longest of course going from the RMC-1 to my TV
bmcleod likes this.

Comcast Xfinity with 200MB/s
75" TCL Series 8/LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D
OPPO UHD-203/TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HDDVD
SWISS TURNTABLE/TECHNICS 1520 REEL TO REEL
EVERY PLAYSTATION/EVERY XBOX
videofx is online now  
post #1077 of 1092 Old 11-11-2019, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,854
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2078 Post(s)
Liked: 4197
https://hometheaterreview.com/emotiva-rmc-1-reviewed/
noah katz likes this.

My World Beating System!
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #1078 of 1092 Old 11-11-2019, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrillcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post


This little bit here says a LOT to me:

“Editor's Note: After this review was prepped for publication, Emotiva VP/CTO Lonnie Vaughn informed me that as a result of my reporting, the company has discovered the cause of the intermittent channel-loss issue I experienced infrequently in Spider-Man PS4. As of this writing, the code fix is being internally vetted and should be released to the public by week's end.”

Why now? Why when a reviewer gives feedback all of a sudden they can find the cause? I’ve been reporting this issue to them on my UMC-200 and my XMC-1. Now all of a sudden they can fix it? (Also, has it been fixed? My XMC-1 did it again last night)



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Archaea, LydMekk, deewan and 3 others like this.

I love my iPhone, but it will never replace my turntable. I've never seen Titanic OR XXXXXXXXX. Alexa is a stripper name.

The Cinema 1858 Remodel Thread
thrillcat is online now  
post #1079 of 1092 Old 11-11-2019, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
For what it's worth, all of the following observations are relevant to beta firmware version 1.6.5, which I received in October, 2019. By the time this review goes live, public firmware version 1.7 will likely be released, with further refinements to Audio Return Channel functionality, as well as a few other fixes.

Anyone seen version 1.7?

Comcast Xfinity with 200MB/s
75" TCL Series 8/LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D
OPPO UHD-203/TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HDDVD
SWISS TURNTABLE/TECHNICS 1520 REEL TO REEL
EVERY PLAYSTATION/EVERY XBOX
videofx is online now  
post #1080 of 1092 Old 11-11-2019, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Maconi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Version 1.7 was delayed due to bugs supposedly. Still in development. Dirac expected early 2020.
Maconi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off