Onkyo HT-R530: no sound and all lights on, what in the world?? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-22-2018, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
agreif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Onkyo HT-R530: no sound and all lights on, what in the world??

Guys, anyone have any idea on where to start on this receiver? Literally all the lights come on (standby light goes off) when I turn the stereo on. I get no sound or anything. Just trying to see where to start.

Link

Thanks,
Andrew
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181226_161448.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	374.3 KB
ID:	2569080  

Last edited by agreif; 05-20-2019 at 01:46 AM.
agreif is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-01-2018, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
agreif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any ideas? Hate to trash it.
agreif is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-01-2018, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,313
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2022 Post(s)
Liked: 1361
you need to provide way more info

1. What's your setup? How many speakers? 3.1, 5.1, 7.1, etc
2. What source are you using? Sat/Cable box, streaming box, gaming unit
3. How are your sources connected? HDMI, component video, composite video, audo only with optical, rca cables?
4. When was it last working?
5. Do you get video and no audio.

it could be a simple user error or possibly a failed HDMI board but you have to provide more info in order to determine this

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-01-2018, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cocati, CA
Posts: 11,812
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1080 Post(s)
Liked: 685
Suggest that U try a RESET...

To reset the AV receiver to its factory defaults, turn it on and, while holding down the [VCR/DVR] button, press the [ON/STANDBY] button. “Clear” will appear on the display and the AV receiver will enter Standby mode.

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-20-2019, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
agreif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, didn't see I had a reply till now. So this is a 7.1 system. To get sound I'm going back to basics and just trying to play music from the FM tuner. Lights all come on but just no sound from the speakers. I can get video, just no audio.

I had mainly HDMI, with some optical inputs. One day it just lit up light a christmas tree and I had no sound.

I tried the reset, but it just comes back on with all the lights of the display lit up. I can hear it trigger when I switch sources or speaker zones, but no sound and the display if just full on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
you need to provide way more info

1. What's your setup? How many speakers? 3.1, 5.1, 7.1, etc
2. What source are you using? Sat/Cable box, streaming box, gaming unit
3. How are your sources connected? HDMI, component video, composite video, audo only with optical, rca cables?
4. When was it last working?
5. Do you get video and no audio.

it could be a simple user error or possibly a failed HDMI board but you have to provide more info in order to determine this
agreif is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-20-2019, 03:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Chances are if it's doing that the main processor is dead.
Worf is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-20-2019, 05:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
agreif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something I can replace with a little soldering? Trying to look through the service manual to understand where that is and/or how to confirm and realize now why I became a mechanical engineer and not an electrical.

Service Manual Link

Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
Chances are if it's doing that the main processor is dead.

Last edited by agreif; 05-20-2019 at 05:47 AM.
agreif is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off