AVS Forum banner

best used amplifier for around $800

2K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  Dilip Chhetri 
#1 · (Edited)
I have polk lsim 707 tower and lsim 704c (center), planning to use it in living room for some music listening and to watch TV. Since I paid for the tower, would like to drive it full range. I came across multiple Amps in the price range that seem like good, but can't decide (read about damping factor, slit foil capacitors, amount of capacitance, need for high current capability, etc etc )
- parasound hca-2205a
- rotel rmb-1095
- emotiva xpa-5 gen2
- parasound a23 (lower price and power)
- anything else ?

... must have: 12v trigger or auto on/off

I'm currently using marantz sr5012 to drive them, seem like sounding OK to me ... but since this is my first time with speakers in this category, I have no idea how best can they sound.

Would love to hear peoples experience who used at least two amps with some tower speakers and liked one over other.

#2 ·
So the speakers are hooked up to your Marantz and you just can't get enough volume out of that without clipping and distorting? Otherwise, there's not a lot to be gained here adding an amp at least in that price range. I had emotiva xpa and hated it. The internal anthem was just as good sounding. I think the old onkyo I had was better. I think parasound makes some ok stuff but again, if you're not needing more power I don't think there will be any benefit. Just stick with the receiver.

I went with McIntosh amps due to the autoformer and tube-like nature of the sound of those amps. But the price on those are ridiculous and not near $800.

#4 ·
thanks. Volume is fine, but I have no idea if it's clipping or not able to drive as hard ... maybe bass is not coming out as fine . Impedance on this speaker can dip as low as 2.8 ohm (read some article) and I'm not sure if marantz can safely drive 4 ohm ... I don't find any spec for 4 ohm (it does 100 watts 2 ch at 8 ohm)

#8 ·