"OFFICIAL" 2019 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 247Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 737 Old 07-13-2019, 12:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
EU vs NA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Wish they would drop it in the NA models as well. No audible difference between it and simply Direct and one less setting to have to scroll through to get back to Auto. I guess it's a help for those without a dedicated screen off button on their TV like Sony offers. Other than that there's no practical reason for this setting in a receiver IMHO.

I dont miss that feature as well, but its weird when you are checking the all the reviews and forums and NOONE will mention it, I also often use US manuals because they are often most up to date so you can also easily miss that difference. I wish they at least put on homepage something like functions may differ based on region.
mrtickleuk likes this.
hsf22050 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 737 Old 07-16-2019, 04:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Picked up a 2600. Was on sale on Amazon. Might be enough but also might just be "enough for now". If that makes sense. I was looking at the 3600 but at its price point it doesn't hit "enough for now". Its priced high enough, imho, to want to hang on to it for awhile. Like I did my x4200. Again if that makes sense.

With the stuff coming in the next year or so my decision tree, obviously, was to hit both enough and enough for now.

The 2600 with its phono inputs hits both goals.

In 2 years from now? Will be able to update and not regret a major costly purchase.
Matt2026 likes this.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #213 of 737 Old 07-16-2019, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
drober30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MI
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post

In 2 years from now? Will be able to update and not regret a major costly purchase.
I don't think that will ever be true for Audio Video... lol

I have been an early adopter since I was a teenager and the AV industry is the absolute worst, way worse than computers or any other tech! All the sound formats, HDMI, HDCP, 2:2:2, 4:4:4, 60Hz, 120Hz, 18Gbps, 48Gbps, high speed, ultra high speed... it's just impossible to keep up!

I will be buying a new Denon, the AVR X3600H and that will come with HDCP 2.3 but it wont have HDMI 2.1 so another possible stop gap for future things.

Last edited by drober30; 07-16-2019 at 07:18 PM.
drober30 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 737 Old 07-17-2019, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm using a 2600H since the release date and I cannot figure out why only the blu-ray HDMI input allows to CEC control the device connected to it.
I have several players and all of them controllable by CEC with my tv's remote control, but through the AVR only the one connected to the blu-ray input.
Also when I turn off my tv only this device turning off.
The hdmi passthrough setup doesn't effect on it (I know it is for poweroff)
Is it a limitation of the AVR or I just missed a setting somewhere?
Csaba Godeny is offline  
post #215 of 737 Old 07-17-2019, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Csaba Godeny View Post
I'm using a 2600H since the release date and I cannot figure out why only the blu-ray HDMI input allows to CEC control the device connected to it.
I have several players and all of them controllable by CEC with my tv's remote control, but through the AVR only the one connected to the blu-ray input.
Also when I turn off my tv only this device turning off.
The hdmi passthrough setup doesn't effect on it (I know it is for poweroff)
Is it a limitation of the AVR or I just missed a setting somewhere?
HDMI-CEC simply doesn't always work as you would like it to. Consider instead using a Harmony remote control which can power on/off multiple devices with a single button press.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #216 of 737 Old 07-17-2019, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,940
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2218 Post(s)
Liked: 2515
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsf22050 View Post
I dont miss that feature as well, but its weird when you are checking the all the reviews and forums and NOONE will mention it, I also often use US manuals because they are often most up to date so you can also easily miss that difference. I wish they at least put on homepage something like functions may differ based on region.
If they is Denon then yes they should have something to show certain features might be different by region. As far as reviews and forums the feature isn't mentioned much because it's an audiophool setting that receiver makes still peddle along with passive (fools) biamping and back EMF.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #217 of 737 Old 07-17-2019, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Updated gain/loose comparison between the new 2019 X3600H and the 2018 X4500H


With AVR-X3600H you gain:
- a 9.2ch receiver with a lower price tag;
- HDCP 2.3
- Dolby Speaker Virtualizer *1) (fw upd) - equivalent to DTS Virtual:X, DSV has two roles/functions:
--- surround virtualization when you use 2.1/3.1 setups without surround speakers;
--- height virtualization when you use 5.1/7.1 setups without height, ceiling or “Dolby Atmos Enabled” speakers (height virtualization is also known as "Dolby Atmos height virtualization");
- Bluetooth transmitter (fw upd)


With AVR-X3600H you loose:
- a little power on the amps;
- ability to apply Dolby Surround Upmixer on any audio codec except Dolby (DSU restricted to only Dolby soundtracks*2));
- Auro-3D/Auro-Matic;
- metal front panel;
- metal door;
- dual-row display with signal channel indicators;
- the RC-1219 remote from X4500H (you get the RC-1228 remote from X2500H/X3500H);
- the third audio Zone;
- Denon Link HD;
- the second trigger;
- D.D.S.C.-HD with AL32 Processing Multi-channel;

It is unknown if X3600H supports the "Bass Sync" feature.

*1) - Dolby Speaker Virtualizer is not to be confounded with Dolby Virtual Speaker that was introduced around 2002 and was employed mostly on 2.0 soundbars or any device with only 2 speakers - Dolby Speaker Virtualizer is kind of an advanced version of Dolby Virtual Speaker, updated for multi-channel setups and Atmos;
*2) - also for future models from 2019 and beyond;
If the X3600 loses the AL32 Processor, does it get replaced by a lesser version? Or, does the the X3600 have no version of an AL processor at all?

Does it make a difference in sound to have the AL32?

Thanks!
Chris Bolcar is offline  
post #218 of 737 Old 07-18-2019, 04:07 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
- Added via future firmware update:
- Bluetooth transmit to single pair of headphones/hearing aids
Anyone found any further information on this i.e. supported codecs? Manual's specification appendix lists SBC but that section is almost the same as 2018 models..

lagittaja @ bbs.io-tech.fi and elsewhere
lagittaja is offline  
post #219 of 737 Old 07-18-2019, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
"AVR X3600H"

I looked long and hard at the 2600 vs. 3600. 3600 price moves me into "Would want to have it for a longer time" grouping or category. Had the 2600 not been on sale maybe the 3600.


Long term target is probably something like the 4700 model as projected with updated HDMI, etc. The 2600 provides some wiggle room on the time line and did so at a decent price point.


As a consumer I bet I'm not the only one making this same kind of decision in the same kind of way for the same kind of reasons.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #220 of 737 Old 07-18-2019, 07:54 AM
Member
 
gsantosoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What do we gain with HDCP 2.3?
gsantosoliver is offline  
post #221 of 737 Old 07-18-2019, 08:40 AM
Member
 
gsantosoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does any of the Denon models (2019 or 2018) support HDR10 Plus?
gsantosoliver is offline  
post #222 of 737 Old 07-18-2019, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
"AVR X3600H"

I looked long and hard at the 2600 vs. 3600. 3600 price moves me into "Would want to have it for a longer time" grouping or category. Had the 2600 not been on sale maybe the 3600.


Long term target is probably something like the 4700 model as projected with updated HDMI, etc. The 2600 provides some wiggle room on the time line and did so at a decent price point.


As a consumer I bet I'm not the only one making this same kind of decision in the same kind of way for the same kind of reasons.
Depends on whether you're satisfied with the current audio quality from your model being replaced or want much better quality (ie. using XT32 on the X3600H) and of course whether you will really have a need for HDMI 2.1 in the next 5 years as the vast majority will not.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #223 of 737 Old 07-18-2019, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsantosoliver View Post
Does any of the Denon models (2019 or 2018) support HDR10 Plus?
I don't think any brand of AVR yet supports HDR10+. Maybe next year, or the year after, or maybe not.
gsantosoliver likes this.

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is offline  
post #224 of 737 Old 07-18-2019, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,546
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4851 Post(s)
Liked: 5172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Bolcar View Post
If the X3600 loses the AL32 Processor, does it get replaced by a lesser version? Or, does the the X3600 have no version of an AL processor at all?

Does it make a difference in sound to have the AL32?
No, the X3600H lacks the DDSC (discrete surround circuits) and Alpha upsampling processing completely.

These additions (theoretically) are responsible for the higher fidelity sound of the upper level models. Discrete surround circuits + audio upsampling (expanding bit depth of the signal to 32-bit with some waveform smoothing before sending to the 32-bit DAC) should yield lower noise floor / more transparency / smoother sound (or whatever other audiophile subjectives you want to throw out there).

DDSC: http://www.denon.com/pages/GlossaryDetail.aspx?GId=18
AL32: http://www.denon.com/pages/GlossaryDetail.aspx?GId=13

If you want the build quality of the higher level models but don't want to pay full price of an X4500H then a viable alternative is to get the prior model X4400H at a discount on the used/refurb market.
Madmax67 and dfa973 like this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #225 of 737 Old 07-19-2019, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
"current audio quality from your model being replaced"

Left/sold the X4200 with home in Arizona. Moved to Fort Wayne, IN. Starting from scratch other than a Yamaha old school turntable.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #226 of 737 Old 07-19-2019, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
"current audio quality from your model being replaced"

Left/sold the X4200 with home in Arizona. Moved to Fort Wayne, IN. Starting from scratch other than a Yamaha old school turntable.
If you liked XT32 on the X4200W, then the X3600H is the current lowest model with XT32.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #227 of 737 Old 07-19-2019, 10:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dick W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Catch me up on tech: control AVR-X2600H from not a phone/iPad?

I have an eleven (! how time flies) year old Yamaha RX-V3900. It's still working fine, but its networking capabilities and lack of support for newer HDMI and my 4K TV make it functionally obsolete--to put it mildly.

So I'm starting to research "what could be next". In terms of the inputs/functions I need, the Denon AVR-X2600H and Yamaha RX-A780 appear to more than fill the bill and are in the same $ neighborhood. (I don't use most of the home theater/multi-channel features; just 2-channel stereo. I do use lots of the networking capability, and would love to have an HDMI passthrough that didn't take the 65W the legacy Yamaha chews up to do HDMI passthrough.) But at least one thing my 2008 Yamaha can do appears to have gone the way of the dodo in this new-fangled stuff.

The RX-V3900 has an embedded web server so you can control lots of basic functionality from any web browser on the LAN, no app on phone/iPad required. I see nothing like this in either the Yamaha or Denon OMs. I even looked in the OM for the most expensive Yamaha AVR there is and still didn't find anything comparable.

Is there any way to control the Denon AVR-X2600H from a web browser on a normal desktop/laptop/Chromebook without needing a Denon app on a mobile device?

Thanks in advance!

(p.s., HD Radio also seems to have completely disappeared from AVRs. Where I used to live, I received a number of HD stations. Here I can't receive any...)
Dick W is offline  
post #228 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 12:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,940
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2218 Post(s)
Liked: 2515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick W View Post
I have an eleven (! how time flies) year old Yamaha RX-V3900. It's still working fine, but its networking capabilities and lack of support for newer HDMI and my 4K TV make it functionally obsolete--to put it mildly.



So I'm starting to research "what could be next". In terms of the inputs/functions I need, the Denon AVR-X2600H and Yamaha RX-A780 appear to more than fill the bill and are in the same $ neighborhood. (I don't use most of the home theater/multi-channel features; just 2-channel stereo. I do use lots of the networking capability, and would love to have an HDMI passthrough that didn't take the 65W the legacy Yamaha chews up to do HDMI passthrough.) But at least one thing my 2008 Yamaha can do appears to have gone the way of the dodo in this new-fangled stuff.



The RX-V3900 has an embedded web server so you can control lots of basic functionality from any web browser on the LAN, no app on phone/iPad required. I see nothing like this in either the Yamaha or Denon OMs. I even looked in the OM for the most expensive Yamaha AVR there is and still didn't find anything comparable.



Is there any way to control the Denon AVR-X2600H from a web browser on a normal desktop/laptop/Chromebook without needing a Denon app on a mobile device?



Thanks in advance!



(p.s., HD Radio also seems to have completely disappeared from AVRs. Where I used to live, I received a number of HD stations. Here I can't receive any...)
Page 137 and 138 of the X2600's PDF manual talks about the reintroduced web control feature so the good news is yes. HD radio has been replaced by Tunein.
Spoiler!

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #229 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 12:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dick W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Page 137 and 138 of the X2600's PDF manual talks about the reintroduced web control feature so the good news is yes. HD radio has been replaced by Tunein.
Cool. Thanks. I should have pulled down the PDF. The search for the Web version of the OM didn't find this with my search terms--I'm not sure the search scope is the whole manual--but i would have found it in the PDF.

Replacing HD Radio with TuneIn seems kinda like replacing a hammer with a screwdriver. Great if you want to drive screws, not so much if you want to pound nails...

I'm getting too interested in the AVR-X2600H...
Dick W is offline  
post #230 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 12:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,940
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2218 Post(s)
Liked: 2515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick W View Post
Cool. Thanks. I should have pulled down the PDF. The search for the Web version of the OM didn't find this with my search terms--I'm not sure the search scope is the whole manual--but i would have found it in the PDF.



Replacing HD Radio with TuneIn seems kinda like replacing a hammer with a screwdriver. Great if you want to drive screws, not so much if you want to pound nails...



I'm getting too interested in the AVR-X2600H...
No problem. Yeah, the online manuals have had issues being wrong in the past so I only use the downloadable PDF's now. Never had the pleasure of using HD radio but from what I've heard it was very nice.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #231 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Gonna have to change my user name. I'm no longer from Arizona.

Checking my understanding of network access and the 2600.

Used to be I could manage volume, etc., via the network on the X4200. Not iOS app, via my network.

For the 2600 I can access setup options but the "Main Zone" that I used to click on to get to user controls just turns the 2600 OFF or ON.

I'm using the iOS app on my iPAD. It says for 2016 receivers on Apple's App Store but seems to be the right one.

Am I good on both or am I missing something?
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #232 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 113
"current lowest model with XT32"|


Yes but setup entirely different, way simpler. I don't have the multiple over head speakers, went minimalist and simpler.


Only thing I noticed, as expected, I have to turn the 2600 up a little more for same volume levels. Otherwise its doing a great job.
Johnson-from-Arizona is offline  
post #233 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson-from-Arizona View Post
Gonna have to change my user name. I'm no longer from Arizona.

Checking my understanding of network access and the 2600.

Used to be I could manage volume, etc., via the network on the X4200. Not iOS app, via my network.

For the 2600 I can access setup options but the "Main Zone" that I used to click on to get to user controls just turns the 2600 OFF or ON.

I'm using the iOS app on my iPAD. It says for 2016 receivers on Apple's App Store but seems to be the right one.

Am I good on both or am I missing something?
Yes, the 2016 Denon Remote app is the current app.

The MAIN button should simply select the MAIN zone just as it did on your X4200W.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #234 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
S750h

Hey all, I finally got the S750H hooked up and sounding the way I like it. I'll give it good marks for ease of setup and overall sound. eARC carries up to Atmos from my TV and it negotiates my PC games well swapping from DDsur to 7.1 to Atmos without many hiccups.
*Only 2 real gripes - it swaps DSP mode from "whatever" to "M In 7.1" in the absence of input. It swaps back with a short silence delay upon signal acquire. Is there any way to tell it to hold the previous signal processing type during silence?* The other is sometimes it doesn't correctly negotiate HDR with my Samsung Q80R and I have to restart the receiver. I am running 4k/60 from the PC, so maybe its choking on bandwidth?
*Let me renege on the mode swapping issue. It will hold 5.1 and 7.1, this must be windows or the video card turning off DD Sur. Which is what it uses when I issue stereo output with windows set for Atmos.
But yah, great head unit for the low-mid range. Very punchy and clear. The sound may not be quite as smooth as my old Yamaha RX-V663, but that was running analog from a sound card with decent DACs in it. The magic being that it does this with only 1 cable and gives me Atmos, which is cool.
Madmax67 and dfa973 like this.
exinferris is offline  
post #235 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 11:09 PM
Newbie
 
dorourke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've had my S750H for a few weeks now, replacing a really great sounding Yamaha V675. The Audyssey set up was awful.
Granted I have an A-framed living room with odd acoustics. Having played around with the manual settings and finding that "almost" sweet spot, I'm finding the sub is too punchy, no matter what settings I use. It's an older Polk PSW10 and with decent front speakers that can handle mid to low bass, I'm missing the flat but wide (if that makes sense) "sub" effect. With or without LPE (which the lowest xover setting is 80Hz) I just can't find that sweet spot. Any suggestions?
Other than that, I'm pleasantly surprised by the sound & options provided considering the price.
dorourke is offline  
post #236 of 737 Old 07-20-2019, 11:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,940
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2218 Post(s)
Liked: 2515
Quote:
Originally Posted by dorourke View Post
I've had my S750H for a few weeks now, replacing a really great sounding Yamaha V675. The Audyssey set up was awful.

Granted I have an A-framed living room with odd acoustics. Having played around with the manual settings and finding that "almost" sweet spot, I'm finding the sub is too punchy, no matter what settings I use. It's an older Polk PSW10 and with decent front speakers that can handle mid to low bass, I'm missing the flat but wide (if that makes sense) "sub" effect. With or without LPE (which the lowest xover setting is 80Hz) I just can't find that sweet spot. Any suggestions?

Other than that, I'm pleasantly surprised by the sound & options provided considering the price.
Have you verified all speakers are set to Small and mains are crossed over at 80HZ? The receiver many times won't set proper bass mgmt after Audyssey EQ. Check Dynamic EQ as well and try it on and off. When on verify RLO 0dB for movies and 10dB RLO for music.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is online now  
post #237 of 737 Old 07-21-2019, 12:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by dorourke View Post
I've had my S750H for a few weeks now, replacing a really great sounding Yamaha V675. The Audyssey set up was awful.
Granted I have an A-framed living room with odd acoustics. Having played around with the manual settings and finding that "almost" sweet spot, I'm finding the sub is too punchy, no matter what settings I use. It's an older Polk PSW10 and with decent front speakers that can handle mid to low bass, I'm missing the flat but wide (if that makes sense) "sub" effect. With or without LPE (which the lowest xover setting is 80Hz) I just can't find that sweet spot. Any suggestions?
Other than that, I'm pleasantly surprised by the sound & options provided considering the price.
First understand that there's a huge difference between the quality of the results of Audyssey MultEQ in the lower level "S" models (eg. S750H) and MultEQ XT32 in the mid/upper level "X" models which is more ideal for more difficult rooms.

The LPF for LFE setting only applies to the LFE signal (ie. 0.1 in DD/DTS 5.1/7.1; 20Hz - 120Hz) that only passes to the sub and in most cases should be left at the factory default of 120Hz to allow the full LFE signal to pass to the sub.

Also, take some time to review the Audyssey FAQ to ensure you're actually running Audyssey correctly.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...d-part-ii.html

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-21-2019 at 12:27 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #238 of 737 Old 07-21-2019, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Vikerex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canastota, Ny
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know when the X3600h will be hitting the market? I thought it was July 15.
Vikerex is offline  
post #239 of 737 Old 07-21-2019, 09:46 AM
Member
 
legends92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikerex View Post
Does anyone know when the X3600h will be hitting the market? I thought it was July 15.
One retailer told me two weeks when I asked this passed Friday.
legends92 is offline  
post #240 of 737 Old 07-21-2019, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,967
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22566 Post(s)
Liked: 12281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikerex View Post
Does anyone know when the X3600h will be hitting the market? I thought it was July 15.
Apparently release date has been delayed, however, it should be within the next week or two. As this is now a 9CH model, initial supply will likely sell out quickly so best to get an order in with your preferred dealer now to better ensure you receive one of the first units.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off