"OFFICIAL" 2019 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 92 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 852Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 11:44 AM
Member
 
SixSpeedRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Restore should take everything back to Audyssey's default settings. I've never actually used it myself but I always tweak those settings as the receiver many times sets the mains to Large and crossed over at 40HZ which is incorrect. I just check on the speaker size and crossover settings from time to time. Some take a picture of the post Audyssey settings then make their adjustments and if they want to return to something in the default they just look at the pictures.
Taking a picture is a good idea. I can't always remember the level that Audyssey sets.

What I am doing now is getting each input set the way I want it, then saving it in the four preset positions. Now I will set my Harmony Elite to select the preset when setting each of those four activities.

LG 65CX, HTPC
Denon AVR X3600H
GoldenEer Triton 7's, SuperCenter X, 2 ForceField 3's, Invisa 525's
Pro-Ject Debut/Shure M97xE
oppo BDP-103D
SixSpeedRon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,597
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2543 Post(s)
Liked: 2867
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSpeedRon View Post
Taking a picture is a good idea. I can't always remember the level that Audyssey sets.

What I am doing now is getting each input set the way I want it, then saving it in the four preset positions. Now I will set my Harmony Elite to select the preset when setting each of those four activities.
I do something similar with my quick selects but I don't have the Elite remote. Just the Home Companion

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #2733 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
On my receiver the USB option is only available in "Listen" mode and the DLNA player doesn't show any video files, only audio.

Can you please provide some info on how to do it? Thanks
Well, now that I think about how I did it, maybe it was my Samsung 65Q70DR that did it.

I don't have the DN1080 any more obviously, but the view appears the same on my Samsung from the Denon. Here's what I see when I plug in a USB Key. It shows the second "device" AVR-S750H.

If I select that "device", I see the second view showing a "folder".

On the Denon, I don't get anything when I select that folder other than "inputs".

On the Sony, it showed me the USB Drive contents, I could drill down to the folder with the ATMOS video files in them and play them.

I guess it's the TV that's providing that function, not the Denon.

But the Denon is presenting them differently and they can't be played whereas the Sony presented them where they COULD be played.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	USBDrive1.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	111.6 KB
ID:	2749876   Click image for larger version

Name:	USBDrive2.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	2749878  
extremist59 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2734 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 12:27 PM
Member
 
adiabatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This may be premature but two days of testing and it seems like the new firmware has fixed the static-like centre channel bleed into surround speakers in DD Surround mode from two-channel sources like YouTube on my 3600. Anyone else notice an improvement?

Last edited by adiabatic; 06-27-2020 at 11:02 PM.
adiabatic is offline  
post #2735 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by extremist59 View Post
Well, now that I think about how I did it, maybe it was my Samsung 65Q70DR that did it.

I don't have the DN1080 any more obviously, but the view appears the same on my Samsung from the Denon. Here's what I see when I plug in a USB Key. It shows the second "device" AVR-S750H.

If I select that "device", I see the second view showing a "folder".

On the Denon, I don't get anything when I select that folder other than "inputs".

On the Sony, it showed me the USB Drive contents, I could drill down to the folder with the ATMOS video files in them and play them.

I guess it's the TV that's providing that function, not the Denon.

But the Denon is presenting them differently and they can't be played whereas the Sony presented them where they COULD be played.
Yes, confirmed this. Plugged USB drive into Samsung and can play video files from drive. I guess the Sony was passing the USB drive contents correctly to TV to play where the Denon is not. No biggy, now I understand how that works.
extremist59 is online now  
post #2736 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 01:33 PM
Member
 
ntsarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London, UK
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Does Denon use software updates only for bug fixes or does it add new software features to its older models? For how many years does it support its products with bug fixes and new feature updates?

I'm new to home theatre products and I'm trying to understand whether it is common practice to require customers to replace their AV Receiver a year later to get new software features (eg better configuration options), or there are manufacturers that do upgrade their products over a period of several years.
ntsarb is offline  
post #2737 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Main differences in favor of S750H?

1. Dolby Height Virtualizer or Dolby Virtual Speaker (a Dolby equivalent of DTS Virtual:X);
2. HDMI-eARC - very good feature if streaming services add lossless audio - in my opinion, eARC is worth the price difference;

Both can be irrelevant to your case..., so S740H can serve very well...

Main differences against S750H?

1. S750H comes with a restriction: DSU upmixing is restricted to Dolby soundtracks (DD/DD+);

Can also be irrelevant to your case..., so S740H can serve very well, again...

What does "DSU upmix" means?
Rafael S P Henrique is offline  
post #2738 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 02:51 PM
I'm That Guy, don't be me
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
Does Denon use software updates only for bug fixes or does it add new software features to its older models? For how many years does it support its products with bug fixes and new feature updates?

I'm new to home theatre products and I'm trying to understand whether it is common practice to require customers to replace their AV Receiver a year later to get new software features (eg better configuration options), or there are manufacturers that do upgrade their products over a period of several years.
Right at the top of Post 1 is a list of features added via firmware updates. You can look at the Owners threads for previous years to see similar lists.

In general, I think we get new features for a year or sometimes 2 years. Don't expect to get all the features that the new AVRs get.

Bug fixes can continue for several years. JD can probably give a much better idea of how long bug fixes are done.

Very few people buy a new AVR every year. I bought an S750H last year, and I plan to buy an X6700 this year as a major upgrade. I expect to keep the 6700 for 5-10 years. My 750 won't go to waste though, since I plan to connect it to the 6700 to power 2 extra speakers.

Also, the top end models occasionally get hardware upgrades. Owners of the 2018 X8500 will be able to send in their unit later this year and swap out the HDMI board to 2.1 (for a fee).

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2

Last edited by Baff; 06-27-2020 at 03:00 PM.
Baff is online now  
post #2739 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 03:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by extremist59 View Post
Yes, confirmed this. Plugged USB drive into Samsung and can play video files from drive. I guess the Sony was passing the USB drive contents correctly to TV to play where the Denon is not. No biggy, now I understand how that works.
And I plugged the USB drive into my Sony UBP-X700 Player USB port and it will play all of the files perfectly fine. Guess that's the preferred way to play those demo files.
extremist59 is online now  
post #2740 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 03:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,989
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6261 Post(s)
Liked: 9117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael S P Henrique View Post
What does "DSU upmix" means?
Dolby Surround Upmix Upmix.

The 2nd upmix is redundant, like when people say "AC Current"

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #2741 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Only by unplugging the power cable.

Suppose I use a smart plug. Any reason why that would be a bad idea?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
neversummer604 is offline  
post #2742 of 2831 Old 06-27-2020, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
645824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 95
My Denon AVR-X3600H had the popup last night about updating the firmware, so I said yes. The new firmware version is:
Version: 2000-9234-2132-2065
DTS: 3.90.50.54
I mention this just because the AVR-X3600H doesn't appear in Denon's firmware list (from the link pointed to in Post 6). See attached screenshot.

Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	denon.png
Views:	95
Size:	120.6 KB
ID:	2750020  
645824 is offline  
post #2743 of 2831 Old 06-28-2020, 12:15 PM
Member
 
SixSpeedRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post

I'm new to home theatre products and I'm trying to understand whether it is common practice to require customers to replace their AV Receiver a year later to get new software features (eg better configuration options), or there are manufacturers that do upgrade their products over a period of several years.

NAD has receivers and amplifiers that have replaceable modules for updates that require hardware updates. I emailed them about adding HDMI 2.1 to their receivers and they responded that they did not have plans at the time.

LG 65CX, HTPC
Denon AVR X3600H
GoldenEer Triton 7's, SuperCenter X, 2 ForceField 3's, Invisa 525's
Pro-Ject Debut/Shure M97xE
oppo BDP-103D
SixSpeedRon is offline  
post #2744 of 2831 Old 06-28-2020, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,630
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24666 Post(s)
Liked: 13880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaos Tsarmpopoulos View Post
Does Denon use software updates only for bug fixes or does it add new software features to its older models? For how many years does it support its products with bug fixes and new feature updates?

I'm new to home theatre products and I'm trying to understand whether it is common practice to require customers to replace their AV Receiver a year later to get new software features (eg better configuration options), or there are manufacturers that do upgrade their products over a period of several years.
All major brand mfr's (ie. Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Integra, Pioneer) generally release new lines every year with new features, with the exception of possibly their "flagship" models (eg. Denon/Marantz "flagship" models released every 3 years). In some cases, the new features can be back fitted to older models, while in other cases they cannot or the decision was simply made not to back fit them. Firmware fix updates on average last about 2 years from product release; however, HEOS updates have been going back as far as when the first HEOS models were first released in 2015.
Baff, Mike_WI, mrtickleuk and 2 others like this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2745 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 01:15 AM
Member
 
Stevefilmfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by 645824 View Post
My Denon AVR-X3600H had the popup last night about updating the firmware, so I said yes. The new firmware version is:
Version: 2000-9234-2132-2065
DTS: 3.90.50.54
I mention this just because the AVR-X3600H doesn't appear in Denon's firmware list (from the link pointed to in Post 6). See attached screenshot.

Scott
Thanks for the heads up
Stevefilmfreak is offline  
post #2746 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Stevefilmfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just found this on the DENON site:



29.06.2020: Issues after latest FW update

We noticed that our latest update of HEOS FW caused some issues with network connectivity and voice control for ALEXA and Google. We are currently working for a fix and hope that we can provide you such very soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and will inform you here, once these issue are solved.
joe8842 likes this.
Stevefilmfreak is offline  
post #2747 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 05:05 AM
Member
 
mmatusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevefilmfreak View Post
Just found this on the DENON site:

29.06.2020: Issues after latest FW update

We noticed that our latest update of HEOS FW caused some issues with network connectivity and voice control for ALEXA and Google. We are currently working for a fix and hope that we can provide you such very soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and will inform you here, once these issue are solved.

Good to hear Denon is working this problem. I haven't yet been able to find the quoted Denon acknowledgement on their website, though. Do you have a link so that I might be able to share with other owners on other Denon threads? Thanks.
mmatusky is offline  
post #2748 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 07:44 AM
I'm That Guy, don't be me
 
Baff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Earth
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmatusky View Post
Good to hear Denon is working this problem. I haven't yet been able to find the quoted Denon acknowledgement on their website, though. Do you have a link so that I might be able to share with other owners on other Denon threads? Thanks.
You can find it on the UK support site, over on the right under "Alerts News Updates"
https://denon-uk.custhelp.com/

LG 65" C9; Denon AVR-S750H
5.1.2: Emotiva Airmotiv C2, T-Zero (x2), E1 (x4); HSU VTF-2
Baff is online now  
post #2749 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Stevefilmfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baff View Post
You can find it on the UK support site, over on the right under "Alerts News Updates"
https://denon-uk.custhelp.com/
That is correct, was just about to post it when I saw your answer, what a teamwork
Stevefilmfreak is offline  
post #2750 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 12:45 PM
Member
 
audio_inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boulder CO
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevefilmfreak View Post
Just found this on the DENON site:

29.06.2020: Issues after latest FW update

We noticed that our latest update of HEOS FW caused some issues with network connectivity and voice control for ALEXA and Google. We are currently working for a fix and hope that we can provide you such very soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and will inform you here, once these issue are solved.
Glad I saw this before I updated - Alexa voice control and media streaming is one of the main features of this unit for me. Knew I should check the forums before I hit the UPDATE button!
audio_inside is offline  
post #2751 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 01:12 PM
Member
 
audio_inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boulder CO
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric_Hansen View Post
Question: Will the X1600H pass through any type of video signal and I can just leave any upscaling to my TV? I could imagine that any 4K signal from the Apple TV will be passed through to the TV without any issues (or distortions), but I wonder about lower resolution video from my Mac Mini (1080 or below)
FYI, the hardware in your 2014 Mac Mini (which model?) should be able to output much better than 1080p - I have run the output of my 2011 Macmini5,2 at full 4K resolution using tools like SwitchResX (https://www.madrau.com) with the correct HDMI cabling and it looks fantastic.
audio_inside is offline  
post #2752 of 2831 Old 06-30-2020, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 6
New issue with my AVR-S750H

I've had my AVR-S750H for less than a week now, and other than some minor annoyances, I'm pretty happy with it. One new issue has cropped up though. Has anyone else had this issue?

Watching a Prime movie on Firecube 4K Gen 2, pause it for a few minutes, when resumed, no audio. Have to switch to another input and switch back for audio to play again.

Firecube 4K Gen 2 is on DVD HDMI port.
extremist59 is online now  
post #2753 of 2831 Old 07-01-2020, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 1448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevefilmfreak View Post
Just found this on the DENON site:
29.06.2020: Issues after latest FW update
We noticed that our latest update of HEOS FW caused some issues with network connectivity and voice control for ALEXA and Google. We are currently working for a fix and hope that we can provide you such very soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and will inform you here, once these issue are solved.
Yes, but those issues are not affecting receivers!

HEOS Firmware from 01.07.2020 (U24.05)
Resolved issue: Alexa and Google voice control stopped working after release of latest update (for all products excepts AVR and BAR)

Last edited by dfa973; 07-02-2020 at 12:45 AM.
dfa973 is online now  
post #2754 of 2831 Old 07-01-2020, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
Yes, but those issues are not affecting receivers!

HEOS Firmware from 01.07.2020 (U24.05)
Resolved issue: Alexa and Google voice control stopped working after release of latest update (for all products excepts AVR and BAR)
I think it does mean all their HEOS built-in AVRs as many owners have experienced, the "HEOS AVR/HEOS BAR" refers to Denon's 5.1 wireless av receiver & soundbar products, anyway glad that it's been resolved so quickly.
dfa973 likes this.
oniiz is offline  
post #2755 of 2831 Old 07-02-2020, 12:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 1448
Quote:
Originally Posted by oniiz View Post
I think it does mean all their HEOS built-in AVRs as many owners have experienced, the "HEOS AVR/HEOS BAR" refers to Denon's 5.1 wireless av receiver & soundbar products, anyway glad that it's been resolved so quickly.
I'm so stupid - you are right! Thanks for the correction!
dfa973 is online now  
post #2756 of 2831 Old 07-02-2020, 12:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK new firmware updated so i did a factory restore all night driving me crazy this would be on the X1600H with Audyssey set tells me center channel check phase 5 times i double checked all my speakers pos and neg correct so i just moved forward and skip the center phase error all speakers sound good as before then putting in the password which i know was correct for the wifi 3 times i just skip that wifi not connected after the complete setup the wifi did work some fluckey firmware anyway to downgrade and should i report this to Dennon ?
Daniel Lerner is offline  
post #2757 of 2831 Old 07-02-2020, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Lerner View Post
all night driving me crazy... center channel check phase 5 times
About phase checking only.


1. Pull the cover off the LS (if not possible, you'll need to peek through it)
2. Take a 1.5V AA and connect the + end to + of the LS, same for -
3. Notice the direction of travel (out? ... for all speaker drivers?)


Do the same to any speaker you have laying around, or say your left LS if you don't have anything laying around.


Also out?


The idea is to check if your center is not hooked up correctly inside.
Madmax67 likes this.

Last edited by 40th.com; 07-02-2020 at 06:13 AM.
40th.com is offline  
post #2758 of 2831 Old 07-02-2020, 07:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
thanks 40th never done these problems with the old firmware
Daniel Lerner is offline  
post #2759 of 2831 Old 07-02-2020, 10:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
AVR-S750H user here...

Anybody else having trouble with ARC after the latest firmware update? I used to be able to turn HDMI control OFF and ARC ON, but after the update ARC stopped working. Turning HDMI control ON didn't help. I had to factory reset (not a big deal -- I just got the unit) and turn HDMI control ON from there to get it to work again.

Ideally, I want HDMI control OFF and ARC on. I hate my equipment turning on and off by itself -- it's never consistent. And it always seems to cause HDMI handshake issues for me. And I hate that it always has to default to TV audio -- that's the input I use the least.
woody777 is offline  
post #2760 of 2831 Old 07-03-2020, 12:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 1448
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody777 View Post
Ideally, I want HDMI control OFF and ARC on.
Some TVs/receivers hate that and require CEC=ON.

Quote:
Originally Posted by woody777 View Post
I hate my equipment turning on and off by itself -- it's never consistent. And it always seems to cause HDMI handshake issues for me.
Those HDMI handshake issues can be provoked by other HDMI devices that are connected to the TV or receiver.

Quote:
Originally Posted by woody777 View Post
And I hate that it always has to default to TV audio -- that's the input I use the least.
In the Denon settings, you have an option so that the receiver does not auto-switch to TV Audio input.
Madmax67 likes this.
dfa973 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
avrs750h , Denon , denon humax sibilance , denon zone 2 logitech harmony avr x2600h , edid , Kef , q150 , x1600h , x2600h

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off