Amp similar to the Emotiva XPR series - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By DonH50
  • 1 Post By juanchibiris
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-02-2019, 03:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: La Crescent, MN
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Amp similar to the Emotiva XPR series

I finally hooked up my center channel Yorkville u215. I run my LR off an Emotiva XPR-2 and now the center off an crown 1500 something or other. The crown sounds awful compared to the Emotiva. It has a ton of noise, the bass is truly lacking, highs are bland. Ive always been hesitant to say amps make a difference but not anymore. with that being said, what would a equivlant be for a single channel to the XPR-2? Finding XPR-1s are next to impossible these days so whats the newest and best option to go with? Doesnt have to be emotiva, ideally something Rack mountable.
stegen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-02-2019, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,328
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3267 Post(s)
Liked: 3345
You could swap channels on the Crown with one of the other speakers/amps and re-run your room EQ program to see if it really is that amp. Other Crowns have greater SNR specs, but a high-powered amp driving highly-sensitive compression drivers in the home is a recipe for hiss. Bass lacking strikes me as unusual; sure the amp is working properly? I don't know what you mean by "bland" highs.

For Emotiva, the XPA-DR1 is the current equivalent to the XPR-1. You may also be able to get by with a PA-1; with 98 dB/W/m speakers that would probably be more than enough power.

There are a myriad of other amplifiers from ATI, Outlaw, etc. that may suffice. ATI's amplifiers have high SNR so may be a good choice.
stegen likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-02-2019, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
juanchibiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Colombia - Florida
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 47
There's an used XPR-2 in usaudiomart if you want to have a matching amp, just use 1 channel out of it.

Enviado desde mi SM-N9600 mediante Tapatalk
stegen likes this.
juanchibiris is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 05-03-2019, 04:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: La Crescent, MN
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
You could swap channels on the Crown with one of the other speakers/amps and re-run your room EQ program to see if it really is that amp. Other Crowns have greater SNR specs, but a high-powered amp driving highly-sensitive compression drivers in the home is a recipe for hiss. Bass lacking strikes me as unusual; sure the amp is working properly? I don't know what you mean by "bland" highs.
I balanced all 3 speakers using REW. When I would mute them one by one and compare, the bass off the center is just not there. The same for the highs, bland and muddled, no sharpness at all. I am assuming the amp works fine, i have it bridged but will try it off 1 channel to see what happens. The amp is nearly new from crown though a few years old. Is it possible to have a ground loop signal in just 1 of my amps regarding the hiss?

Ill look into the newest Emotiva. I dont want to buy a xpr-2 and only use 1 channel. I can wait around till something better comes along.
stegen is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-03-2019, 05:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,328
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3267 Post(s)
Liked: 3345
Quote:
Originally Posted by stegen View Post
I balanced all 3 speakers using REW. When I would mute them one by one and compare, the bass off the center is just not there. The same for the highs, bland and muddled, no sharpness at all. I am assuming the amp works fine, i have it bridged but will try it off 1 channel to see what happens. The amp is nearly new from crown though a few years old. Is it possible to have a ground loop signal in just 1 of my amps regarding the hiss?

Ill look into the newest Emotiva. I dont want to buy a xpr-2 and only use 1 channel. I can wait around till something better comes along.
No bass is really strange... Sounds like the EQ for the center is hosed. Or the amp (or something) is bad. I would try swapping with another channel, using just one side of the Crown, to see if it follows the amp or stays with the center speaker channel when you swap amps. That is, move inputs and outputs to put the Crown into the e.g. the L channel and L channel of the Emotiva into the center. That way you can see if it really is the Crown and not something else in the system. You can also see if both channels of the Crown (used independently) have the same problem. Maybe one channel is out.

Are you using XLR connections everywhere? Is there a switch on the Crown for balanced/unbalanced operation, is it in the right position for the cables you are using? Double check all the switches etc. (I am sure you've already done that, sanity check.)

It is possible to have a loop in just one amp as a ground loop depends upon the amp's input and safety ground circuitry. But, if the hiss is just HF hissing with no lower-frequency buzzing and humming, it is probably not a ground loop. I suspect there's just too much gain and too low SNR for those speakers in your room using the Crown. You could try running just one channel of the Crown instead of bridging; that may reduce the hiss. Some of Crown's higher models have better SNR specs but you may just need a different amp for this situation.

HTH - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-03-2019, 06:41 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: La Crescent, MN
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
No bass is really strange... Sounds like the EQ for the center is hosed. Or the amp (or something) is bad. I would try swapping with another channel, using just one side of the Crown, to see if it follows the amp or stays with the center speaker channel when you swap amps. That is, move inputs and outputs to put the Crown into the e.g. the L channel and L channel of the Emotiva into the center. That way you can see if it really is the Crown and not something else in the system. You can also see if both channels of the Crown (used independently) have the same problem. Maybe one channel is out.

Are you using XLR connections everywhere? Is there a switch on the Crown for balanced/unbalanced operation, is it in the right position for the cables you are using? Double check all the switches etc. (I am sure you've already done that, sanity check.)

It is possible to have a loop in just one amp as a ground loop depends upon the amp's input and safety ground circuitry. But, if the hiss is just HF hissing with no lower-frequency buzzing and humming, it is probably not a ground loop. I suspect there's just too much gain and too low SNR for those speakers in your room using the Crown. You could try running just one channel of the Crown instead of bridging; that may reduce the hiss. Some of Crown's higher models have better SNR specs but you may just need a different amp for this situation.

HTH - Don
If i turn the gains down the hiss mostly goes away but then I cant get the levels to match the LR, unless i go full tilt on the MINIDSP for the center which is most likely what I will have to do. Ive checked switches and all looks right. I dont have XLRs except a few places in my system. Im using a clean box pro to boost my signals over RCA. Ill do some channel swapping this weekend and see if it follows any logical path. Thanks for the help.
stegen is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-03-2019, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,328
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3267 Post(s)
Liked: 3345
I know the earlier single-ended miniDSP's did not have enough drive for a pro amp; the balanced and later HD versions have more output.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 10-11-2019, 03:45 PM
Member
 
austin_avp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Emotiva switches the polarity of the Xlr input. This could easily explain why a different app makes such a dramatic difference. Trying switching the amp output polarity
austin_avp is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 10-11-2019, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
WOKNROX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: SoCal HiDez
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Grab yourself an XPA-1 for your center channel speaker...
You'll be golden..

Orotund Desert Theater:14'x20'x10',100amp service, JVC RS620, 120" AT screen, Carada Masquerade Masking, OPPO-203 & Panny ub820, Anthem AVM60, Simaudio Moon Titan 7&5 channel amplifiers, ACInfinity Fans, L&R Polk SDA SRStl Fully built, CC 2 Polk RTA15tl in Custom Cabinets Fully build, SS-BS Triad Gold, 4 Atmos 3 way Core5's, Subs-1 Rythmik FV25HP & 4 HSU VTF-MK5-HP, 2 Rows of 3 Seatcraft Excalibur Lx Seats and more.
WOKNROX is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off