NAD T777 V3 AV Receiver Hands On - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 45Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 58 Old 05-19-2019, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
Hi - I've been running 2 power amps (1 M25 7 channel and 1 C270 2 channel). Now I'm swapping to the T777 from a Processor I would like to retire the C270 and use the T777 amps for the Front Heights. Do I just need to connect Front Heights to Surround Back speaker posts and configure Amp Back Channel to Front Heights in the setup menu - thanks - George

That sounds about right, what is your setup, 7.1.2?
richardsim7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 58 Old 05-19-2019, 03:53 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 185
I am running a 5.1.4 setup with the atmos speakers as heights - about 11ft up

LG C9 | Lyngdorf MP50 (eARC)| NAD M25 | Nord One NC500DM MKII 3 Channel Monitor Audio | Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #33 of 58 Old 05-19-2019, 04:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggrossen View Post
I am running a 5.1.4 setup with the atmos speakers as heights - about 11ft up

Then yeah, you can just use the 7-channel amp for the base layer and one pair of atmos speakers, and the AVR for the other pair


I'm not 100% but there might be a weird restriction on which pair of heights you can use the AVR's onboard amps for, but I could be wrong
richardsim7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 58 Old 05-21-2019, 03:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Got everything wired up late last night - setup T777 to power front heights - seems to work ok - i'll try a Dirac cal tonight and see how it all meshes together - but need to configure a few new toys such as C9, LX500 and T777 - so might take a while to get this all fully optimised
ahblaza likes this.

LG C9 | Lyngdorf MP50 (eARC)| NAD M25 | Nord One NC500DM MKII 3 Channel Monitor Audio | Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #35 of 58 Old 06-05-2019, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello,

Ive been thinking of buying this receiver, NAD support told me doesnt support Dolby Vision, so do i need to somehow work around it?

Im confused since theres plenty of reviews that say theres no DV, but some recent ones say it does.. Could it be that NAD customer support had old info about it somehow and there is new firmware update that enables this, or do i need to get upgrade module or something?

Here is reply i got from NAD:

Hello Xxxx,

Thank you for your interest in the NAD T 777 V3. The T 777 V3c does not support Dolby Vision.

If you have any further questions please contact your local NAD dealer or our NAD Support Team using the email address provided above.



Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
tombz is offline  
post #36 of 58 Old 06-05-2019, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by tombz View Post
Hello,

Ive been thinking of buying this receiver, NAD support told me doesnt support Dolby Vision, so do i need to somehow work around it?

Im confused since theres plenty of reviews that say theres no DV, but some recent ones say it does.. Could it be that NAD customer support had old info about it somehow and there is new firmware update that enables this, or do i need to get upgrade module or something?

Here is reply i got from NAD:

Hello Xxxx,

Thank you for your interest in the NAD T 777 V3. The T 777 V3c does not support Dolby Vision.

If you have any further questions please contact your local NAD dealer or our NAD Support Team using the email address provided above.



Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla

It definitely supports Dolby Vision, the update for that came out ages ago
tombz likes this.
richardsim7 is online now  
post #37 of 58 Old 06-05-2019, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
It definitely supports Dolby Vision, the update for that came out ages ago
Yep - definitely supports Dolby Vision (from ATV 4K & Pioneer LX500) and HLG (Cable Box) and normal HDR while we are it as well. As I have an LG - can't test HDR10+.
tombz likes this.

LG C9 | Lyngdorf MP50 (eARC)| NAD M25 | Nord One NC500DM MKII 3 Channel Monitor Audio | Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #38 of 58 Old 06-05-2019, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Alright, thanks alot for replies!

It starts to look more and more that its going to be my next Receiver/Upgrade.



Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
richardsim7 and Serenity_now like this.
tombz is offline  
post #39 of 58 Old 06-09-2019, 03:34 AM
Member
 
Serenity_now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Eastern Canada
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Best one I've owned. Wouldn't hesistate to buy again.
richardsim7 likes this.
Serenity_now is offline  
post #40 of 58 Old 06-11-2019, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striper Mark View Post
Does this have the ability to correct multiple subs or does it treat them as one channel?
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post
One channel.
Multiple channel bass management is overrated, and criticized by many (including Floyd Toole!) to be pointless. Multiple subs in a room should be considered as "one source" together with the room - you are tuning the entire group of collective subs and room together so you have a unified bass management approach as you are trying to get even bass below 80 Hz. The benefit of multi-channel driver correction is most significant in the higher frequencies where localization and positioning is critical for movie effects, etc. But for un-localized sound under 80 Hz? Not noticeable and unnecessary, as you will be unable to distinguish the corrections of multiple subs or unified subs treated as mono.
8KCRT is offline  
post #41 of 58 Old 06-11-2019, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Serenity_now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Eastern Canada
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8KCRT View Post
Multiple channel bass management is overrated, and criticized by many (including Floyd Toole!) to be pointless. Multiple subs in a room should be considered as "one source" together with the room - you are tuning the entire group of collective subs and room together so you have a unified bass management approach as you are trying to get even bass below 80 Hz. The benefit of multi-channel driver correction is most significant in the higher frequencies where localization and positioning is critical for movie effects, etc. But for un-localized sound under 80 Hz? Not noticeable and unnecessary, as you will be unable to distinguish the corrections of multiple subs or unified subs treated as mono.

Have you tried it? Pretty hard to argue with a phase plot and increased spl..... advanced tuning does matter to some.

Results are able to be verified objectively on this one with measurements.
Serenity_now is offline  
post #42 of 58 Old 07-04-2019, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hi again,

Just bought the NAD T777 v3 and everything was perfect until i tried PS4 Pro, not sure how i am suppose to connect PS4 Pro The right way, but now the connections are:

Nad -> 4k out to Sony KD65A1 HDMI 3 arc.

PS4 Pro -> Sony KD65A1 HDMI 2 (should support 4k HDR etc.)

Im getting full 4k picture but no sound from nad and my 5.0 sound system..

Switching sound to TV speakers work.

Not sure what i am missing here? It worked perfectly with Yamaha rx-v483..

Any help would be great, also just bought HDMI 2.0b to arc channel, The one from PS4 to TV IS HDMI 2.0a, could that be the problem?

Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
tombz is offline  
post #43 of 58 Old 07-04-2019, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mashie Saldana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1488 Post(s)
Liked: 1375
Quote:
Originally Posted by tombz View Post
Hi again,

Just bought the NAD T777 v3 and everything was perfect until i tried PS4 Pro, not sure how i am suppose to connect PS4 Pro The right way, but now the connections are:

Nad -> 4k out to Sony KD65A1 HDMI 3 arc.

PS4 Pro -> Sony KD65A1 HDMI 2 (should support 4k HDR etc.)

Im getting full 4k picture but no sound from nad and my 5.0 sound system..

Switching sound to TV speakers work.

Not sure what i am missing here? It worked perfectly with Yamaha rx-v483..

Any help would be great, also just bought HDMI 2.0b to arc channel, The one from PS4 to TV IS HDMI 2.0a, could that be the problem?

Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
Why are you using ARC if you have an AVR?

The proper way is to connect PS4 -> NAD -> TV.
richardsim7 and tombz like this.

Tower Cinema - 9.1.6 in a 12'x12' room
Input : Nvidia Shield TV, Panasonic DMP-UB400
Magic : Marantz SR7010, Marantz SR6010, 2x NAD T743
Output : Panasonic TX65EZ952B, SVS PB13 Ultra, Monitor Audio GSLCR 2xGS20 2xGS10 4xGSFX 6xBX1
Mashie Saldana is offline  
post #44 of 58 Old 07-04-2019, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mashie Saldana View Post
Why are you using ARC if you have an AVR?



The proper way is to connect PS4 -> NAD -> TV.
I heard that it creates input lag or something like that, anyway thx for the info ill try this !

I have to admit i am pretty new to these, my first own 5.0 surround system and only had Yamaha + PS4 for a short time.. so thanks again for your reply.

Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
tombz is offline  
post #45 of 58 Old 07-04-2019, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mashie Saldana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,630
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1488 Post(s)
Liked: 1375
Quote:
Originally Posted by tombz View Post
I heard that it creates input lag or something like that, anyway thx for the info ill try this !

I have to admit i am pretty new to these, my first own 5.0 surround system and only had Yamaha + PS4 for a short time.. so thanks again for your reply.

Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
All sources should go through the AVR if possible. eARC was really invented to easily connect soundbars to TV's.
tombz likes this.

Tower Cinema - 9.1.6 in a 12'x12' room
Input : Nvidia Shield TV, Panasonic DMP-UB400
Magic : Marantz SR7010, Marantz SR6010, 2x NAD T743
Output : Panasonic TX65EZ952B, SVS PB13 Ultra, Monitor Audio GSLCR 2xGS20 2xGS10 4xGSFX 6xBX1
Mashie Saldana is offline  
post #46 of 58 Old 07-04-2019, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Ok, works now!

Thank you very much!

Just made my day!

Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla
tombz is offline  
post #47 of 58 Old 07-04-2019, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by tombz View Post
I heard that it creates input lag or something like that

The good news is the NAD doesn't touch the video signal so there's zero delay
RickyDeg and tombz like this.
richardsim7 is online now  
post #48 of 58 Old 07-16-2019, 06:00 PM
Member
 
Stokestack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 39
What would be the closest competition for this, or really the T758v3?

I'm returning a Pioneer VSX-LX103 today because it's defective junk, and thus I won't consider any more Pioneer or Onkyo products.

I will spend somewhat more, although $3K is hard to justify. The T758v3 looks OK but I wish it had a zone 2 HDMI out.

Recommendations welcome! Thanks.
Stokestack is offline  
post #49 of 58 Old 07-18-2019, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokestack View Post
What would be the closest competition for this, or really the T758v3?

I'm returning a Pioneer VSX-LX103 today because it's defective junk, and thus I won't consider any more Pioneer or Onkyo products.

I will spend somewhat more, although $3K is hard to justify. The T758v3 looks OK but I wish it had a zone 2 HDMI out.

Recommendations welcome! Thanks.

The closest thing would be an Arcam AVR550, but you'd have to deal with dodgy crossover implementation/limitations and only 1 Dirac slot


Would an HDMI switch/doubler of some sort fix your issue with the T758v3's lack of Zone 2 HDMI output?
richardsim7 is online now  
post #50 of 58 Old 07-18-2019, 05:28 PM
Member
 
Stokestack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
The closest thing would be an Arcam AVR550, but you'd have to deal with dodgy crossover implementation/limitations and only 1 Dirac slot


Would an HDMI switch/doubler of some sort fix your issue with the T758v3's lack of Zone 2 HDMI output?
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I could probably adapt the HDMI output. On further consideration, its paltry three HDMI inputs are more of a concern. But again, I could get a switch I suppose.

I have a question about the zone 2 output on this and other receivers: I want to use those extra outputs to power speakers in another room or on a patio. NAD says that if you use the Zone 2 speaker terminals as "Zone 2," you can only play sources that are connected through analog inputs. So that's of no use to me most of the time.

But you can also set these terminals for bi-amping the front L/R speakers, so I guess I could use that setting and send L/R to the outdoor speakers. I'm awaiting word from NAD on whether the Zone 2 remote volume would control the volume in that situation. And... can I still turn the speakers off entirely then, so I'm not subjecting the neighbors to whatever I'm listening to?

Remote speakers seem like a much more likely use case than the gimped analog-only Zone 2 functionality; I'm mystified that it isn't simply supported directly (and documented). Much like the A/B speaker switch on old-school receivers.

And finally: The T758v3 has a pre-out jacks, so if all else fails, could I not patch the L & R pre-out signals into the Zone 2 analog inputs and accomplish what I want?
Stokestack is offline  
post #51 of 58 Old 08-20-2019, 01:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello,

I tried search but i dont find this information.

Anyone know if i can use 4 of 7 internal amps to drive my four Atmos speakers?

For the other 7 speakers i have an external amp.

Can we change in menu the "adress" of initial setup? For example from Surround side to Front height? And Surround back to Back height?


I finded the attached information on manual, but only to change adress of Surround back, can we do the same with Surround side or other output to drive the other pair of atmos speakers?


Thanks,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NAD T777 V3.png
Views:	15
Size:	161.2 KB
ID:	2605036  

Last edited by Thunder.; 08-20-2019 at 01:59 AM.
Thunder. is offline  
post #52 of 58 Old 08-20-2019, 04:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunder. View Post
Hello,

I tried search but i dont find this information.

Anyone know if i can use 4 of 7 internal amps to drive my four Atmos speakers?

For the other 7 speakers i have an external amp.

Can we change in menu the "adress" of initial setup? For example from Surround side to Front height? And Surround back to Back height?


I finded the attached information on manual, but only to change adress of Surround back, can we do the same with Surround side or other output to drive the other pair of atmos speakers?


Thanks,

You cannot. You can only ever power 2 of the Atmos speakers from the AVR itself


I have a 7 channel amp with mine, which I use for the LCR + 4 Atmos speakers, and the AVR for the 4 surrounds
samorf likes this.
richardsim7 is online now  
post #53 of 58 Old 08-20-2019, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
You cannot. You can only ever power 2 of the Atmos speakers from the AVR itself


I have a 7 channel amp with mine, which I use for the LCR + 4 Atmos speakers, and the AVR for the 4 surrounds
Thank you, for your help...

Its a shame, bc i prefer use 7 x200w of emotiva XPA7-G3 for LCR and Surround side and Surround back
samorf likes this.
Thunder. is offline  
post #54 of 58 Old 11-10-2019, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Doug47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the NAD T777 and have just added 4 height speakers. When I go into the setup and enable the 4 height speakers, I'm given a choice (actually LOTS of choices):
Top front
Top rear
Top middle
Dolby enabled back
Dolby enabled surround
Dolby enabled front

I understand the "front", "middle", "rear", "back", and "surround" concepts, but what's the difference between "Top" and "Dolby Enabled"?
Doug47 is offline  
post #55 of 58 Old 11-10-2019, 04:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug47 View Post
I have the NAD T777 and have just added 4 height speakers. When I go into the setup and enable the 4 height speakers, I'm given a choice (actually LOTS of choices):
Top front
Top rear
Top middle
Dolby enabled back
Dolby enabled surround
Dolby enabled front

I understand the "front", "middle", "rear", "back", and "surround" concepts, but what's the difference between "Top" and "Dolby Enabled"?

Top = on ceiling
Dolby Enabled = upfiring
richardsim7 is online now  
post #56 of 58 Old 11-10-2019, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Doug47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Top = on ceiling
Dolby Enabled = upfiring
Thank you. My speakers are NOT up-firing, they are mounted at the ceiling, so I guess I go with "Top front" and "Top middle".
Doug47 is offline  
post #57 of 58 Old 11-11-2019, 03:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richardsim7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1674 Post(s)
Liked: 2256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug47 View Post
Thank you. My speakers are NOT up-firing, they are mounted at the ceiling, so I guess I go with "Top front" and "Top middle".
Should be Top Front and Top Rear I believe
richardsim7 is online now  
post #58 of 58 Old 11-11-2019, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Doug47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardsim7 View Post
Should be Top Front and Top Rear I believe
Again, thanks.

Given that my "back" height speakers are actually on the SIDE walls, I will set them to "side" for now. Later, I do intend to move them to the back wall (and set them to "back"), but I need to run wires around my doorways...

Now what I really want to know is why couldn't NAD put what you just wrote in the T777 manual. Just a paragraph stating what you just did would have been great.
Doug47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
av receiver , dolby atmos , nad t777 v3

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off