"OFFICIAL" 2019 Marantz "NR-Series"/"SR-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 153 Old 07-30-2019, 02:42 PM
Member
 
asaturno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The product sheet shows no change in weight.

https://www.us.marantz.com/DocumentM...tion_Sheet.pdf
https://www.us.marantz.com/DocumentM..._infosheet.pdf

The SR6013 product information sheet shows 31.1 lbs and the specifications tab shows 28.2
The SR6014 product information sheet shows 28.2 lbs and the specifications tab shows 22.27

So if you compare weights from the same sources, the SR6014 lost some weight, unless you take the spec tab of the SR6013 and the product info sheet of the SR6014.
asaturno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 153 Old 07-30-2019, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by asaturno View Post
https://www.us.marantz.com/DocumentM..._infosheet.pdf

The SR6013 product information sheet shows 31.1 lbs and the specifications tab shows 28.2
The SR6014 product information sheet shows 28.2 lbs and the specifications tab shows 22.27

So if you compare weights from the same sources, the SR6014 lost some weight, unless you take the spec tab of the SR6013 and the product info sheet of the SR6014.
Indeed. Apparently as well as box dimension changes so clearly either typos (not uncommon) or some changes under the hood of the SR6014.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-30-2019 at 05:06 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #33 of 153 Old 08-01-2019, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Can software issues cause a unit to be a lemon?

Today I bought and hooked up a Sony XBR55A9F. During initial setup, the Apple TV 4K prompted me to enable Dolby Vision. As soon as I enabled it, the TV screen went blank and said 'no input signal' and defaulted back to the default TV signal. The Apple TV is hooked up to "Media Player" on the marantz. the marantz outputs to HDMI 3 (ARC) input on the back of the TV.
  • I tried hooking up the Apple TV directly to the Sony TV (HDMI 1 on the TV), and I was again prompted to enable Dolby Vision, and the TV immediately recognized the signal and has worked perfectly. So it's not the TV set, the HDMI cable or the Apple TV.
  • I reset the marantz unit to factory settings and tried again. Didnt work.
  • I enabled "Enhanced" under the 4K video menu. Didn't work.
  • I tried using different inputs, hooking the marantz up to the same input (HDMI 1) on the back of the TV as the one I used for the Apple TV. Didn't work.
  • If I play something back on the TV (like say from a USB flash drive), the marantz says "TV Audio" but no sound comes from the unit.
I have ignored the quirks up to this point but this last thing is sort of a serious issue for me, since I got all this stuff for 4k HDR compatibility. I'm not sure how to proceed. This is all software related, and the first thing I did (which I always do) is update the firmware to the latest build, which is what it's been running since day one.


These are all the past issues I've had with this unit since buying it and setting it up on July 12th:



While it sounds great, I've had nothing but software issues from the beginning:
  • right when I hooked it up, Audyssey wouldn't detect one of my speakers. I don't know what happened, but eventually it did detect both (I'm only running stereo mode) but it never asked for, or detected my subwoofer, I had to manually enable the subwoofer setting.
  • It didnt recognize HomeKit. I had to reset the network settings, unplug the ethernet, enable the Wi-Fi, and only then did it detect my HomeKit (it has worked perfectly since then).
  • The first time I was playing music over my LAN network, I pushed the button for Direct/Pure Direct mode, and all sound went away while the unit showed the music was still playing back. The sound only came back after I power cycled the unit, but after that initial time, those modes have worked fine.


I really like the unit and its perfect for our space and it sounds great. I'm just sort of exasperated as to what is going on. Should I talk to my dealer about an exchange or have I missed something?

Last edited by ou8thissn1; 08-01-2019 at 09:59 PM.
ou8thissn1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 153 Old 08-01-2019, 10:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
^^

Apple TV will not pass Dolby Vision video - On the Apple TV, set it to "4K SDR" and turn on "Match Content and frame rate". This allows the Apple TV to enable Dolby vision automatically for appropriate material.

USB audio must be a 2.0 stereo file.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #35 of 153 Old 08-01-2019, 10:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^

Apple TV will not pass Dolby Vision video - On the Apple TV, set it to "4K SDR" and turn on "Match Content and frame rate". This allows the Apple TV to enable Dolby vision automatically for appropriate material.

USB audio must be a 2.0 stereo file.

But when I connected the Apple TV directly to my TV, I got a 'dolby vision' logo to pop up on the TV, and it didn't give me the same 'no input signal detected' warning I got when the Apple TV was hooked up via the Marantz. So was that a false alert?



The other issue I have is that the TV audio feature simply isnt working and I'm not sure why that is. I watch TV with a HD Homerun Prime and the video and audio are perfect on the TV, but if I select the audio to go to the Marantz, I hear nothing. The marantz automatically changes inputs to "TV Audio" and the volume control takes over, but I don't hear anything.



I tried it with online streaming services like Youtube and the HD Homerun Prime. I've also tried playing a USB video file by plugging it directly into the TV. TV speaker audio is again perfect but output to the Marantz is silent.



Thank you so much for helping, I'm over here all but pulling out my hair. Is this an HDMI CEC issue?
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #36 of 153 Old 08-01-2019, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
^^
Have you changed the ARC setting on the Marantz from the default OFF to ON? If yes, to clarify, with the "TV Audio" source displayed, there is no sound from the Marantz even with the volume raised to near 80/0dB? Try doing a "soft reset" of the Marantz and TV by powering both off, unplugging their respective power cables and the HDMI cable that connects them for 10 minutes. Connect all cables and then power on the TV, pause and then the AVR (unless using HDMI Control in which case the AVR should power on automatically).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #37 of 153 Old 08-01-2019, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Have you changed the ARC setting on the Marantz from the default OFF to ON? If yes, to clarify, with the "TV Audio" source displayed, there is no sound from the Marantz even with the volume raised to near 80/0dB? Try doing a "soft reset" of the Marantz and TV by powering both off, unplugging their respective power cables and the HDMI cable that connects them for 10 minutes. Connect all cables and then power on the TV, pause and then the AVR (unless using HDMI Control in which case the AVR should power on automatically).



Okay well, I don't know what happened, but the TV Audio issues are all resolved. I didn't do anything it just fixed itself? I'm now getting TV audio from all the correct sources and the proper signal sources are lighting up.



I tried to re-enable Dolby Vision but I got the same error, but you're saying that leaving it in SDR and having it match the frame rate and source is all I need to get HDR, correct? (Why is it like that btw?)



https://imgur.com/0s8LUkh
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #38 of 153 Old 08-02-2019, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by asaturno View Post
https://www.us.marantz.com/DocumentM..._infosheet.pdf

The SR6013 product information sheet shows 31.1 lbs and the specifications tab shows 28.2
The SR6014 product information sheet shows 28.2 lbs and the specifications tab shows 22.27

So if you compare weights from the same sources, the SR6014 lost some weight, unless you take the spec tab of the SR6013 and the product info sheet of the SR6014.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Indeed. Apparently as well as box dimension changes so clearly either typos (not uncommon) or some changes under the hood of the SR6014.
I confirmed with SU that the cut sheet has a typo. The SR6014 Owner's manual shows no change in weight or box dimension.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #39 of 153 Old 08-02-2019, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Just as an update:



I was able to get Dolby Vision to work with my setup (Sony XBR55A9F and Apple TV 4K). I plugged the Apple TV 4K into the HDMI 2 input on my TV, bypassing the receiver. I ran the dolby vision test and it passed right away. I then enabled the 'match frame rate and content' settings on the Apple TV and now on Netflix, when a show is available in 4K, the Dolby Vision Logo pops up when I stop playback of the show. Both the TV and the receiver support ARC/eARC so the audio is being routed just fine, and HDMI CEC functionality still works like it did before. The only difference now is that my receiver no longer says "Apple TV" on the main display and instead says "TV Audio".



I am thinking maybe this is some sort of EDID handshake issue (because you told me that it was likely that when I had an issue with my AV8801). I think maybe its the HDMI cables I'm using and I'm gonna try some different ones and report back.
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #40 of 153 Old 08-10-2019, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
So I've been complaining about how I couldn't route the Apple TV 4K via the 1710 and pass the dolby vision test. Evidently, cables do matter. I tried this cable and it fixed everything:



https://www.belkin.com/us/p/P-AV10175/


It's expensive, its rated for 8K. but for whatever reason, it works. All of my HDMI issues are gone. I used to think a cable was a cable was a cable, and just got some from Walmart that was 'high speed with ethernet'. It didn't pass the Dolby test, and every time I would exit an app, I kept getting crackling sounds coming from the speakers.
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #41 of 153 Old 08-19-2019, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
jrfulton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When is next Marantz announce?

I’ve decided to buy a high end Marantz, question when will the 2020 models that support hdmi 2.1 be announced or when are the normal Marantz announcements made? Bottom line money is burning in my pocket, but I refuse to be outdated again.
jrfulton is offline  
post #42 of 153 Old 08-19-2019, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrfulton View Post
I’ve decided to buy a high end Marantz, question when will the 2020 models that support hdmi 2.1 be announced or when are the normal Marantz announcements made? Bottom line money is burning in my pocket, but I refuse to be outdated again.
Should be announced summer 2020 with sale in Sep/Oct 2020.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #43 of 153 Old 08-19-2019, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
The Spotify Connect app can now stream Spotify with either a "FREE" or "PREMIUM" account.

https://www.spotify.com/us/connect/
ou8thissn1 likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-19-2019 at 11:57 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #44 of 153 Old 08-19-2019, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Hifisound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Can one use a mix of passive and active speakers ? i.e say passive fronts and active surrounds ( using pre outs )

Hifisound is offline  
post #45 of 153 Old 08-20-2019, 02:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hifisound View Post
Can one use a mix of passive and active speakers ? i.e say passive fronts and active surrounds ( using pre outs )
Yes. The AVR can power all the speakers, a mix of both, or none.
Hifisound likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #46 of 153 Old 08-20-2019, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
SpeedDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hifisound View Post
Can one use a mix of passive and active speakers ? i.e say passive fronts and active surrounds ( using pre outs )
Yes. It's ideal of your active speakers keep everything analog, but yes regardless.

--
Spoiler!
SpeedDemon is online now  
post #47 of 153 Old 08-21-2019, 03:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
The recent firmware update now allows for a FREE Spotify Account to be used to stream Spotify via the HEOS app as well as to HEOS speakers.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-21-2019 at 05:41 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #48 of 153 Old 08-21-2019, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Kazz063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Considering whether or not to upgrade from the SR7010 to the SR6014, just wondering if it's a backward/forward/sideway step?
Kazz063 is offline  
post #49 of 153 Old 08-22-2019, 02:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazz063 View Post
Considering whether or not to upgrade from the SR7010 to the SR6014, just wondering if it's a backward/forward/sideway step?
Likely similar audio quality, but you lose some features (eg. Zone 3, 2 line front panel display; see post 1 for details).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #50 of 153 Old 08-22-2019, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Is there a way to use the Audyssey software to set and calibrate the subwoofer level? In my older marantz, it would set up the microphone and tell you to turn the gain up or down based on the test tone coming from the sub. Maybe I’m missing the area to find it but Is that still possible?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #51 of 153 Old 08-22-2019, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Kazz063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Likely similar audio quality, but you lose some features (eg. Zone 3, 2 line front panel display; see post 1 for details).

Thanks JD for that.
Kazz063 is offline  
post #52 of 153 Old 08-22-2019, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So which one of these 2019 Marantz NR1510/NR1710/SR5014/SR6014 is going to work the best for 3.1 home theatre and 2 channel stereo? Will start with the AVR and can use pre-outsto add a stereo amp for better 2 channel sound. Looking at the NR1710 or SR 5014 for a set up with three Kef Q150's and sub or three RSL CG5's and sub. Both AVR's are 7.2 but they have better specs and MultEQ XT vs the NR 1510 SR6014 is a bit much for 3.1.
dylanmitchel is offline  
post #53 of 153 Old 08-23-2019, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help needed for getting things going...

I am trying to setup a NR 1609 for a friend and need some help. Currently this is the way it is setup:


DVD - via composite cables - Marantz DVD input (red, white and yellow cable)
VCR - via composite cables - Sharp Smart TV AV1 input (red white and yellow cable)
Camcorder - via composite cables - Sharp Smart TV AV2 (red, white and yellow cable)

Cable box - via HDMI - Marantz TV input (HDMI)

TV audio output - Marantz AV1 input via 3.5mm to composite cable (red & white)
Marantz to TV HDMI 1 - (HDMI cable)


When I try to play a music cd on the DVD player, I have to have the TV turned on for audio to go out via the receiver; if I turn off the TV, the audio turns off. Is there a way to get around this? I would rather not have the TV turned on when I listen to music. The DVD player only has the red, white, yellow outputs.


I cannot get the TV's audio output to be recognized by the receiver. Any suggestions on how to resolve this issue or at least where I need to check to find the answer? I can connect the 3.5 mm cable to another system that has a 3.5mm aux input jack and get TV audio from it.
zdevilinside is offline  
post #54 of 153 Old 08-23-2019, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanmitchel View Post
So which one of these 2019 Marantz NR1510/NR1710/SR5014/SR6014 is going to work the best for 3.1 home theatre and 2 channel stereo? Will start with the AVR and can use pre-outsto add a stereo amp for better 2 channel sound. Looking at the NR1710 or SR 5014 for a set up with three Kef Q150's and sub or three RSL CG5's and sub. Both AVR's are 7.2 but they have better specs and MultEQ XT vs the NR 1510 SR6014 is a bit much for 3.1.
The "SR" models feature HDAM pre-amp modules which are generally reviewed as providing for better 2CH stereo quality. The SR6014 ups the ante even more by using the much better version of Audyssey MultEQ XT32, although unless you can take advantage of the other additional features as noted in post 1, the SR5014 is your best choice. Note also the "NR" models use MultEQ while the SR5014 uses MultEQ XT.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #55 of 153 Old 08-23-2019, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks, SR5014 sound like a good start. HDAM Pre-Amp gives me options to upgrade and the you get MultEQ XT.
dylanmitchel is offline  
post #56 of 153 Old 08-23-2019, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The "SR" models feature HDAM pre-amp modules which are generally reviewed as providing for better 2CH stereo quality. The SR6014 ups the ante even more by using the much better version of Audyssey MultEQ XT32, although unless you can take advantage of the other additional features as noted in post 1, the SR5014 is your best choice. Note also the "NR" models use MultEQ while the SR5014 uses MultEQ XT.
Try turning off HDMI CEC on the AVR or TV.
almostinsane is offline  
post #57 of 153 Old 08-23-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
NR1710 owner.

Anyone have an issue using Airplay? When I turn on just the AVR (TV is off and so is everything else) and Airplay anything from my iPhone to receiver (podcasts, XMRadio, etc), the receiver will turn on and about a minute later turn off. I'll turn it on again and reconnect via Airplay and it may do this 3-4 times in a row before it finally stays on until I manually turn it off. AVR is hardwired. I tried using Wifi on the AVR but I would have issues connecting even though the AP is 15 ft away.

I had this same issue with an NR1509 as well. Its annoying. I am on the latest firmware on the NR1710 (there was a Dolby height update yesterday) and had the latest on the NR1509 as well.
almostinsane is offline  
post #58 of 153 Old 08-23-2019, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post
Try turning off HDMI CEC on the AVR or TV.
Guessing you meant to quote someone else's post.


Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post
NR1710 owner.

Anyone have an issue using Airplay? When I turn on just the AVR (TV is off and so is everything else) and Airplay anything from my iPhone to receiver (podcasts, XMRadio, etc), the receiver will turn on and about a minute later turn off. I'll turn it on again and reconnect via Airplay and it may do this 3-4 times in a row before it finally stays on until I manually turn it off. AVR is hardwired. I tried using Wifi on the AVR but I would have issues connecting even though the AP is 15 ft away.

I had this same issue with an NR1509 as well. Its annoying. I am on the latest firmware on the NR1710 (there was a Dolby height update yesterday) and had the latest on the NR1509 as well.
Refer to post 4 and do a "Network reset."
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #59 of 153 Old 08-26-2019, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I currently have a Denon X4500 powering KEF Q series speakers. After continuing to research I've received a great deal of advice to go with Marantz over Denon for KEF speakers. To me the 6014 and 4500 are so similar (on paper), so not sure if I should expect significant differences. Anyone had a chance to hear both the 4500 and 6014 side by side?
PhilH930 is offline  
post #60 of 153 Old 08-27-2019, 03:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilH930 View Post
I currently have a Denon X4500 powering KEF Q series speakers. After continuing to research I've received a great deal of advice to go with Marantz over Denon for KEF speakers. To me the 6014 and 4500 are so similar (on paper), so not sure if I should expect significant differences. Anyone had a chance to hear both the 4500 and 6014 side by side?
The 2018 X4500H is a higher level model (ie. sister model of the SR7013) with beefier amps and more features; however, as the SR6014 is a 2019 model it offers a few new features as noted in post 1 of this thread. The Marantz models are generally considered the better choice when critical music listening is of importance and Multi analog inputs are required.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off