"OFFICIAL" 2019 Marantz "NR-Series"/"SR-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 153 Old 08-27-2019, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Not sure whether an update will be provided to these 2019 models; however, it seems Dolby has rescinded its requirement to not allow DTS Neural:X on Dolby Digital audio.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/about/po...ng-policy.html
Majister likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 153 Old 08-27-2019, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 2018 X4500H is a higher level model (ie. sister model of the SR7013) with beefier amps and more features; however, as the SR6014 is a 2019 model it offers a few new features as noted in post 1 of this thread. The Marantz models are generally considered the better choice when critical music listening is of importance and Multi analog inputs are required.
Thank you. When it comes to movies and games, any thoughts on the difference? Perhaps negligible at this level of receiver, but mindful of what I perceive to be some power hungry speakers.
PhilH930 is offline  
post #63 of 153 Old 08-27-2019, 07:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
@jdsmoothie



My friend wants a receiver that can play the same HDMI video source with synced audio to two HDMI outputs. The issue here is that he's trying to output a video signal that's running on a windows 7 PC, specifically windows media center. My AV8801 can do this just fine, but his Sony receiver which also has two HDMI outs gives some copyright warning. I'm not sure what my marantz is doing to generate the video signal but it works fine. In any case, what new marantz receiver can do this for him, he doesn't want to spend nearly as much as I did for my 8801; will the SR 5014 or SR6014 work?
ou8thissn1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 153 Old 08-27-2019, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilH930 View Post
Thank you. When it comes to movies and games, any thoughts on the difference? Perhaps negligible at this level of receiver, but mindful of what I perceive to be some power hungry speakers.
Likely negligible, rather if you don't need/want any of the additional features on the X4500H, go with the newer model, SR6014 with HDCP 2.3.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #65 of 153 Old 08-27-2019, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by ou8thissn1 View Post
@jdsmoothie



My friend wants a receiver that can play the same HDMI video source with synced audio to two HDMI outputs. The issue here is that he's trying to output a video signal that's running on a windows 7 PC, specifically windows media center. My AV8801 can do this just fine, but his Sony receiver which also has two HDMI outs gives some copyright warning. I'm not sure what my marantz is doing to generate the video signal but it works fine. In any case, what new marantz receiver can do this for him, he doesn't want to spend nearly as much as I did for my 8801; will the SR 5014 or SR6014 work?
The AV8801 features dual main zone monitor outputs as well as a Zone 2 HDMI monitor output.

The SR5014 only features dual main zone monitor outputs whereby the HDMI audio+video could pass to each monitor output (ie. no audio from the surround speakers) whereas the SR6014 has the same video output features as your AV8801. The Zone 2 HDMI monitor output would allow the main zone surround speakers to pass audio while both HDMI audio+video pass to the Zone 2 display. Note the limitation is the same as with your AV8801 in that, when passing the same HDMI source to both main zone and Zone 2, if the Zone 2 source only allows for stereo audio to pass, then the main zone will be down mixed to stereo as well.
ou8thissn1 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #66 of 153 Old 08-28-2019, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,620
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 168
I just received one of the new slim NR1200 2-Channel Marantz receivers. I have only had a day with it so I can only give my preliminary thoughts:

1. It will NOT natively play DSD files even though it is advertised as doing so. There is no DSD light. All DSD is first converted to PCM. The info button shows that the incoming signal is DSD but output goes to PCM first and it is not bitperfect after the conversion. Support level-2 does not know what type of DAC is in this model. Is it possible that they decided to use a DAC that does not play DSD?

2. This unit does not support ethernet streaming via SMB network attachment. HEOS supports dlna file streaming only. This puts you at the mercy of the dlna server capabilities. If the dlna server on your device (NAS, computer, etc.) doesn't support the file type you have, this unit won't play it even if the NR1200 supports it.

3. HDMI handshakes take a long time.

4. The amplifier seems more anemic than it should be. It does not have specs listed for 4ohm support and doesn't seem to control the bass well.

5. The unit looks good and actually has tone controls

6. Setup is very simple.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is online now  
post #67 of 153 Old 08-28-2019, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
I just received one of the new slim NR1200 2-Channel Marantz receivers. I have only had a day with it so I can only give my preliminary thoughts:

1. It will NOT natively play DSD files even though it is advertised as doing so. There is no DSD light. All DSD is first converted to PCM. The info button shows that the incoming signal is DSD but output goes to PCM first and it is not bitperfect after the conversion. Support level-2 does not know what type of DAC is in this model. Is it possible that they decided to use a DAC that does not play DSD?

2. This unit does not support ethernet streaming via SMB network attachment. HEOS supports dlna file streaming only. This puts you at the mercy of the dlna server capabilities. If the dlna server on your device (NAS, computer, etc.) doesn't support the file type you have, this unit won't play it even if the NR1200 supports it.

3. HDMI handshakes take a long time.

4. The amplifier seems more anemic than it should be. It does not have specs listed for 4ohm support and doesn't seem to control the bass well.

5. The unit looks good and actually has tone controls

6. Setup is very simple.
As noted in post 1, the NR1200 is not covered in this thread.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #68 of 153 Old 08-28-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,620
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
As noted in post 1, the NR1200 is not covered in this thread.
So what thread should I have posted in that is more appropriate?

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is online now  
post #69 of 153 Old 08-28-2019, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
So what thread should I have posted in that is more appropriate?
As it is a new item, go ahead and simply create a new dedicated thread for it.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #70 of 153 Old 08-30-2019, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Guessing you meant to quote someone else's post.

Probably, dunno what I was thinking


Refer to post 4 and do a "Network reset."
I did this. Worked fine for a day, today I had the same issue multiple times. Its like the receiver knows when I want to Airplay and will shut off 5 seconds after I turn it on. This happens at least once or twice, every time. Doesn't matter what input the receiver was previously on. Even happens when I turn the receiver on via the phone instead of the remote by selecting 'Airplay" on my phone and having the network API turn it on.

Ironically, if I turn on the receiver via HDMI-CEC (Apple TV remote) it never turns off like above.

Some kind of bug that has been present for years. I had this issue on my NR1509 as well. Maybe they will fix it in a few years.
almostinsane is offline  
post #71 of 153 Old 08-31-2019, 12:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post
I did this. Worked fine for a day, today I had the same issue multiple times. Its like the receiver knows when I want to Airplay and will shut off 5 seconds after I turn it on. This happens at least once or twice, every time. Doesn't matter what input the receiver was previously on. Even happens when I turn the receiver on via the phone instead of the remote by selecting 'Airplay" on my phone and having the network API turn it on.

Ironically, if I turn on the receiver via HDMI-CEC (Apple TV remote) it never turns off like above.

Some kind of bug that has been present for years. I had this issue on my NR1509 as well. Maybe they will fix it in a few years.
Then a microprocessor reset would be the next step.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #72 of 153 Old 09-01-2019, 09:02 AM
Member
 
yronnen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi,

Just got me the NR1710, and setting it up. Upgraded to the current firmware as well. I'm having issues playing from a USB drive. It happens when I switch between songs, the system hangs, and I'm not able to play any tracks from the USB flash drive. I've tried using different flash drives, one of them is FAT32, and the other NTFS, and had the same behavior.
I'm using the USB drive to play hi-res music (FLAC 24) which is one of the main reasons I've purchased the receiver, so I'm pretty annoyed...does anybody else have similar issues?

Thanks.
yronnen is offline  
post #73 of 153 Old 09-01-2019, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by yronnen View Post
Hi,

Just got me the NR1710, and setting it up. Upgraded to the current firmware as well. I'm having issues playing from a USB drive. It happens when I switch between songs, the system hangs, and I'm not able to play any tracks from the USB flash drive. I've tried using different flash drives, one of them is FAT32, and the other NTFS, and had the same behavior.
I'm using the USB drive to play hi-res music (FLAC 24) which is one of the main reasons I've purchased the receiver, so I'm pretty annoyed...does anybody else have similar issues?

Thanks.



I have not tried playing anything back off a USB drive. However, I have linked my 1710 with the music folder on my NAS and it has played that content back flawlessly. I've played music off my phone via airplay 2 and its been fine as well.
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #74 of 153 Old 09-01-2019, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by yronnen View Post
Hi,

Just got me the NR1710, and setting it up. Upgraded to the current firmware as well. I'm having issues playing from a USB drive. It happens when I switch between songs, the system hangs, and I'm not able to play any tracks from the USB flash drive. I've tried using different flash drives, one of them is FAT32, and the other NTFS, and had the same behavior.
I'm using the USB drive to play hi-res music (FLAC 24) which is one of the main reasons I've purchased the receiver, so I'm pretty annoyed...does anybody else have similar issues?

Thanks.
Providing they are stereo audio tracks, they should work via USB.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #75 of 153 Old 09-01-2019, 04:30 PM
Member
 
yronnen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ou8thissn1 View Post
I have not tried playing anything back off a USB drive. However, I have linked my 1710 with the music folder on my NAS and it has played that content back flawlessly. I've played music off my phone via airplay 2 and its been fine as well.
An update: I've used the HEOS app to switch songs and built a play queue through the USB drive and it works well. The problem happened only when I've used the TV and the receiver remote to browse through the list.

Also, I've streamed music through Plex and it streams full quality (made my wife complain when I played FLAC 24/192 Korn). So, it's all good, and sounds great.
ou8thissn1 likes this.
yronnen is offline  
post #76 of 153 Old 09-02-2019, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Likely negligible, rather if you don't need/want any of the additional features on the X4500H, go with the newer model, SR6014 with HDCP 2.3.
Just revisiting this, but had the chance to demo the 6014 vs. 4500/6500 and also a couple of Arcams. When it comes to music the Arcam is superior. For everyday use the Marantz and Denon is better suited to my needs.

So, after music and movie testing of the 6014 vs. 4500 and 6500, the 6014 won every time (tested on KEF R11 and R2C). I'm no audiophile, but with the KEFs the Denon got flat/dull too often, compared to a little more life and brightness from the Marantz. Granted none was properly configured but in a blind test (two family members with me) the Marantz won every time.

Needless to say I have a 6014 at home with me now.
PhilH930 is offline  
post #77 of 153 Old 09-03-2019, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Was moving along nicely with 6014 but have come across a problem with the Xbox One. Have the Xbox set to bitsream out, Dolby Atmos. However, the 6014 is only providing output options of

Stereo
Multi Ch In
Multi Ch Stereo
Signal - PCM

When running the Atmos app the sound does not convert to Atmos, or games (just stays in Multi Ch In). When running movies through the Bluray app it does convert to True HD or equivalent. 6014 is on latest firmware and I've tried numerous HDMI cables.

The exact same setup with the Denon 4500 output Atmos/Atmos mixing at any time (menus, atmos app, movies, games etc). Kind of a deal breaker for me - any thoughts on something I may be missing? Researched and didn't find any similar issues on 6014, 6013, 7013 etc.
PhilH930 is offline  
post #78 of 153 Old 09-04-2019, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilH930 View Post
Was moving along nicely with 6014 but have come across a problem with the Xbox One. Have the Xbox set to bitsream out, Dolby Atmos. However, the 6014 is only providing output options of

Stereo
Multi Ch In
Multi Ch Stereo
Signal - PCM

When running the Atmos app the sound does not convert to Atmos, or games (just stays in Multi Ch In). When running movies through the Bluray app it does convert to True HD or equivalent. 6014 is on latest firmware and I've tried numerous HDMI cables.

The exact same setup with the Denon 4500 output Atmos/Atmos mixing at any time (menus, atmos app, movies, games etc). Kind of a deal breaker for me - any thoughts on something I may be missing? Researched and didn't find any similar issues on 6014, 6013, 7013 etc.
The AVR can only play what it is receiving, which as noted is PCM. Refer to post 4 and do a microprocessor reset.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #79 of 153 Old 09-04-2019, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Then a microprocessor reset would be the next step.
Did this and the issue persists. I'd love to provide data on my issue to those that can fix it but I am not sure how.
almostinsane is offline  
post #80 of 153 Old 09-04-2019, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The AVR can only play what it is receiving, which as noted is PCM. Refer to post 4 and do a microprocessor reset.
Followed this step and still only receives PCM in menu and Atmos app. When loading a bluray it did convert to True HD or Atmos, based on what I selected. Just odd that it won't receive Atmos in the menu or certain apps. With identical Xbox settings the Denon 4500 receives/shows Atmos.
PhilH930 is offline  
post #81 of 153 Old 09-04-2019, 10:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilH930 View Post
Followed this step and still only receives PCM in menu and Atmos app. When loading a bluray it did convert to True HD or Atmos, based on what I selected. Just odd that it won't receive Atmos in the menu or certain apps. With identical Xbox settings the Denon 4500 receives/shows Atmos.
Perhaps another member with an xBox One can confirm the issue you're experiencing with the SR6014?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #82 of 153 Old 09-06-2019, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all, longtime lurker, first time poster.


I just picked up and installed an NR1510. I'm having a hell of a time getting it to trigger my sub to come back from standby. The sub is a polk HTS 10. I have it connected from the pre-out subwoofer 1 port split into L/R then into the sub's IN LINE ports. Polk recommends setting the receiver front speakers to LARGE and subwoofer to OFF or NO, then configuring the crossover (I'm using 80 for everything). I have tried changing speaker settings and moving the crossover up to 100, but no combination seems to work. The only way I can get a green light on the sub is if I unplug it, wait, then plug it back in - which is really annoying to do every time I want to watch something and hear the low end The sub triggers fine with an older yamaha receiver. Any recommendations? Figured I'd ask here before contacting polk directly.
dweeban is offline  
post #83 of 153 Old 09-06-2019, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,578
Mentioned: 757 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22897 Post(s)
Liked: 12522
Quote:
Originally Posted by dweeban View Post
Hi all, longtime lurker, first time poster.


I just picked up and installed an NR1510. I'm having a hell of a time getting it to trigger my sub to come back from standby. The sub is a polk HTS 10. I have it connected from the pre-out subwoofer 1 port split into L/R then into the sub's IN LINE ports. Polk recommends setting the receiver front speakers to LARGE and subwoofer to OFF or NO, then configuring the crossover (I'm using 80 for everything). I have tried changing speaker settings and moving the crossover up to 100, but no combination seems to work. The only way I can get a green light on the sub is if I unplug it, wait, then plug it back in - which is really annoying to do every time I want to watch something and hear the low end The sub triggers fine with an older yamaha receiver. Any recommendations? Figured I'd ask here before contacting polk directly.
You either misunderstood the Polk rep, or the rep simply gave you really bad advice. How can you expect the sub to fire when you have told the AVR you don't have a sub by setting it to NO or OFF???

When the sub is set to YES, setting the Front L/R speakers to LARGE means that no signal will pass to the sub except the LFE signal (ie. 0.1 in DD/DTS 5.1). Set the Front L/R speakers to SMALL/80Hz. Set the sub gain to 9 o'clock and run Audyssey.

Also suggest you review the Audyssey FAQ thread listed in the "sticky" thread section at the top of the Receivers, Amps, and Processors forum.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...l#post52664721
bigguyca likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-06-2019 at 08:29 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #84 of 153 Old 09-06-2019, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Closing the loop on my 6014 Xbox One X Atmos settings. I can only conclude there is a software glitch in either the 6014 or Xbox. Had no issue with Xbox Atmos being received by a Denon X2200 and 4500. To further support this, I upgraded to the 7013 for a host of reasons (including not a fan of the porthole), and immediately 7013 can receive Atmos just as the Denon's did.

All that to say I plan on returning the 6014 and am very happy with the 7013. Both 6014 and 7013, to my ear (and many others on blind test) sounded noticeably better than the Denon's with KEF speakers. I know to most they are identical, and looking top down, it appears that way, but for music and movies, there is simply no comparison with my KEF speakers. Denon sounds flat/dead; Marantz sounds much more alive and vibrant. Understand KEFs are a neutral speaker, but can only go on what we hear.
PhilH930 is offline  
post #85 of 153 Old 09-07-2019, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 99
SR7013 owner...
Playing music via USB, I notice that only a maximum of 300 songs ever get put in the playback queue. Is this a flaw, or a hard limitation?

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #86 of 153 Old 09-07-2019, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAM4UK View Post
SR7013 owner...
Playing music via USB, I notice that only a maximum of 300 songs ever get put in the playback queue. Is this a flaw, or a hard limitation?


How many songs do you need to listen to at any one time lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #87 of 153 Old 09-07-2019, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by ou8thissn1 View Post
How many songs do you need to listen to at any one time lol
A fair point; however, I have about 1200 songs on a USB stick, and I'd like them to play randomly. The SR7013 plays such a wide array of formats, including DSD and high-res FLAC files, that it's convenient and great-sounding to have those play directly from a USB stick. But having more than 300 songs total is apparently a problem...

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #88 of 153 Old 09-07-2019, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAM4UK View Post
A fair point; however, I have about 1200 songs on a USB stick, and I'd like them to play randomly. The SR7013 plays such a wide array of formats, including DSD and high-res FLAC files, that it's convenient and great-sounding to have those play directly from a USB stick. But having more than 300 songs total is apparently a problem...

its possible that there's some inherent limitation with music files on a usb stick. maybe your playlist would work better over a network attached storage device?
ou8thissn1 is offline  
post #89 of 153 Old 09-07-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by ou8thissn1 View Post
its possible that there's some inherent limitation with music files on a usb stick. maybe your playlist would work better over a network attached storage device?
I have a NAS, so I have tried to use it to work around this USB limitation. But the NAS playback on the SR7013 lacks a "Play All" option. So, I will create a work-around for the work-around, I guess...

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #90 of 153 Old 09-07-2019, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAM4UK View Post
I have a NAS, so I have tried to use it to work around this USB limitation. But the NAS playback on the SR7013 lacks a "Play All" option. So, I will create a work-around for the work-around, I guess...


Well on the HEOS app you can play all tracks if the music is on your phone. What you could try is creating a playlist on your nas with all the songs in it and see if you can play it back shuffled.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ou8thissn1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off