"OFFICIAL" 2019 Marantz "NR-Series"/"SR-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 248 Old 09-08-2019, 02:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAM4UK View Post
SR7013 owner...
Playing music via USB, I notice that only a maximum of 300 songs ever get put in the playback queue. Is this a flaw, or a hard limitation?
This thread covers the 2019 models. The SR7013 is a 2018 model discussed in the 2018 Marantz thread.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...sts-1-7-a.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 248 Old 09-11-2019, 03:35 AM
Member
 
tzydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Please note that the picture of the 5014 on the Marantz website shows that the new model DROPS the 7.1 multi analog inputs. This is a disappointment as a future "whatever" audio format may be available in a future streaming or disc player (in my case my BluRay player has Dolby TrueHD and analog inputs on my present receiver with analog inputs extended it's useful life when the new format was released. Marantz is one of the few that had it in all of the SR models, but one needs to go with an SR6014 to maintain the "future adaptability" when it comes to analog inputs.

https://www.us.marantz.com/us/produc...oductid=sr5014

As far as an upgrade goes, one will have to decide whether having eARC upgrade capability (SR2014) is more important than being able to deal with future audio format changes SR5013 or spending more for the SR6014. I'll never do Dolby Atmos so the extra channels are not an issue - heck the current receiver has 7.1 channels of which only 5.1 are used.

SR5014 - MSRP $999, 7.2 CH, 100W, HDMI In/Out (8/2) - avail July
Upgrading from the NR1710 adds HDAM Pre-Amp modules (provides for better 2CH music listening), 7.2 Main zone pre-outs, 7.1 multi analog inputs, a second Main zone HDMI monitor output and the better version of Audyssey MultEQ XT.
tzydzy is offline  
post #93 of 248 Old 09-11-2019, 04:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
^^
Good catch. I'll edit the above post.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 248 Old 09-14-2019, 06:03 AM
Member
 
Russ_64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Need some info please - what has changed from the SR6013 to SR6014? Sorry I just cannot really see what is "new/added".....


Also, here in the UK the SR7013 is now the same price as the SR6014 - I really am not keen on the Port-hole viewer. I am wanting to upgrade from my Denon X3300 - any advice?


Thks.

Panasonic TX-65GZ950B, Oppo UDP-203, Musical Fidelity M3i, Marantz SR7013, 5.1.2 - Dali Oberon 5, Oberon Vokal, Oberon 1, Alteco C-1, BK P12-300SB-PR, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q (UHD/Atmos), Sky Fiber Max (80/20).
Russ_64 is offline  
post #95 of 248 Old 09-14-2019, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ_64 View Post
Need some info please - what has changed from the SR6013 to SR6014? Sorry I just cannot really see what is "new/added".....


Also, here in the UK the SR7013 is now the same price as the SR6014 - I really am not keen on the Port-hole viewer. I am wanting to upgrade from my Denon X3300 - any advice?


Thks.
Review post 1 of this thread.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #96 of 248 Old 09-14-2019, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Russ_64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks, I thought that I must be missing something as basically, there is nothing really new. I will be better off with 7013 or save money with 6013.

Panasonic TX-65GZ950B, Oppo UDP-203, Musical Fidelity M3i, Marantz SR7013, 5.1.2 - Dali Oberon 5, Oberon Vokal, Oberon 1, Alteco C-1, BK P12-300SB-PR, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q (UHD/Atmos), Sky Fiber Max (80/20).
Russ_64 is offline  
post #97 of 248 Old 09-14-2019, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ_64 View Post
Thanks, I thought that I must be missing something as basically, there is nothing really new. I will be better off with 7013 or save money with 6013.
There are indeed a few new features on the 2019 models; however, if none of them are important to you, then yes, you can save money picking up one of the 2018 models.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #98 of 248 Old 09-17-2019, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
cavalier240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
"OFFICIAL" 2019 Marantz NR1510/NR1710/SR5014/SR6014


- SR5014 - MSRP $999, 7.2 CH, 100W, HDMI In/Out (8/2) - avail July
Upgrading from the NR1710 adds HDAM Pre-Amp modules (known to provide for better 2CH music listening), 7.2 Main zone pre-outs, a second Main zone HDMI monitor output and the better version of Audyssey MultEQ XT.

http://us.marantz.com/us/Products/Pa...oductId=SR5014

http://manuals.marantz.com/SR5014/NA/EN/


- SR6014 - MSRP $1499, 9.2 CH, 110W, HDMI In/Out (8/3) - avail July
Upgrading from the SR5014 adds a Zone 2 HDMI monitor output, the best version of Audyssey (ie. MultEQ XT32), Audyssey LFC, Audyssey Sub EQ HT (dual sub level/delay), eARC, 7.1 multi analog inputs, and the ability to expand to 11CH (ie. 7.2.4) by using a 2CH external amp. DTS Virtual:X (simulates height audio when using a 5.1 or 7.1 configuration and although Audyssey MultEQ XT32 is NOT disabled, all other Audyssey features are disabled). Lowest model that can pass PCM 2.0 audio from an HDMI source to Zone 2 and to HEOS wireless speakers.

http://us.marantz.com/us/Products/Pa...oductId=SR6014

http://manuals.marantz.com/SR6014/NA/EN/
JD - The SR6014 webpage says: "Enjoy 7.1 channel surround sound in your home theater and simultaneously play stereo sound from the same source or another source in a separate room. Simply connect a pair of speakers to the multi-room amplified outputs or hook-up an additional stereo amp and speakers to the Zone 2 pre-outs."

The SR5014 page says "Enjoy 5.2 channel surround sound in your home theater and simultaneously play stereo sound from the same source or another source in a separate room. Simply connect a pair of speakers to the multi-room amplified outputs or hook-up an additional stereo amp and speakers to the Zone 2 pre-outs."

Based on that, can the SR5014 also pass PCM 2.0 audio from an HDMI source to Zone 2 and to HEOS wireless speakers? You had mentioned in post 1 that the 6014 is the lowest model that can do that.

cavalier240 is offline  
post #99 of 248 Old 09-17-2019, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalier240 View Post
Based on that, can the SR5014 also pass PCM 2.0 audio from an HDMI source to Zone 2 and to HEOS wireless speakers? You had mentioned in post 1 that the 6014 is the lowest model that can do that.
Nope. As noted in the Owner's manual (p. 232) …

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	421
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	2616820  
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #100 of 248 Old 09-17-2019, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
cavalier240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Nope. As noted in the Owner's manual (p. 232) …

Interesting, since the spec sheet shows this under zone 2: Zone Audio Source: HDMI / Opt, Coax /Network, USB / Analog: • (2CH) / • (2 CH) / • / •

I think I found the distinction. The manual says: "You can simultaneously play back the same source in both the MAIN ZONE and ZONE2. You can also play back separate sources in the MAIN ZONE and ZONE2.

If the input for ZONE2 is set to “Source”, both digital and analog connected devices can be listened to from ZONE2.

If the input for ZONE2 is set to a specific source (like CBL/SAT), only connected analog devices can be listened to from ZONE2."

It then states that "Setting the input source of ZONE2 as the “Source” allows you to play the same content in MAIN ZONE and in ZONE2, regardless of the type of input signal." If I'm reading all of that correctly then, I could play 2.0 out through Zone 2 from an HDMI source as long as that source is playing in Zone 1. Correct?


That must be the only way to get 7.1 + 2.0 on the 6014 as well then. The 6014's manual states that "In ZONE2, the audio can be played back when signals input from digital connectors (OPTICAL/COAXIAL) are in 2ch PCM format.

In ZONE2, the audio can be played back when signals input from the HDMI connector are in 2ch PCM format. To play back the audio in ZONE2 irrespective of the input signal format, set “HDMI Audio” in the menu to “PCM”. Depending on the played back device, the audio may not be played back even with this setting. In that case, set the audio format to “PCM (2ch)” on the played back device."

If I set my HDMI device to 2ch PCM for playback in Zone 2, then I couldn't have 7.1 in Zone 1, right? So really, if your inputs are set to pass the full audio stream, then the 6014 can't send HDMI to Zone 2 independent of Zone 1 either, correct?

...Sorry to hammer on this point, but given how I want to use the receiver, this is a major point for me and will determine which receiver I purchase. Thanks.

cavalier240 is offline  
post #101 of 248 Old 09-17-2019, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalier240 View Post
Interesting, since the spec sheet shows this under zone 2: Zone Audio Source: HDMI / Opt, Coax /Network, USB / Analog: • (2CH) / • (2 CH) / • / •

I think I found the distinction. The manual says: "You can simultaneously play back the same source in both the MAIN ZONE and ZONE2. You can also play back separate sources in the MAIN ZONE and ZONE2.

If the input for ZONE2 is set to “Source”, both digital and analog connected devices can be listened to from ZONE2.

If the input for ZONE2 is set to a specific source (like CBL/SAT), only connected analog devices can be listened to from ZONE2."

It then states that "Setting the input source of ZONE2 as the “Source” allows you to play the same content in MAIN ZONE and in ZONE2, regardless of the type of input signal." If I'm reading all of that correctly then, I could play 2.0 out through Zone 2 from an HDMI source as long as that source is playing in Zone 1. Correct?


That must be the only way to get 7.1 + 2.0 on the 6014 as well then. The 6014's manual states that "In ZONE2, the audio can be played back when signals input from digital connectors (OPTICAL/COAXIAL) are in 2ch PCM format.

In ZONE2, the audio can be played back when signals input from the HDMI connector are in 2ch PCM format. To play back the audio in ZONE2 irrespective of the input signal format, set “HDMI Audio” in the menu to “PCM”. Depending on the played back device, the audio may not be played back even with this setting. In that case, set the audio format to “PCM (2ch)” on the played back device."

If I set my HDMI device to 2ch PCM for playback in Zone 2, then I couldn't have 7.1 in Zone 1, right? So really, if your inputs are set to pass the full audio stream, then the 6014 can't send HDMI to Zone 2 independent of Zone 1 either, correct?

...Sorry to hammer on this point, but given how I want to use the receiver, this is a major point for me and will determine which receiver I purchase. Thanks.
1. Correct. On the SR5014, the only way to pass HDMI audio to Zone 2 is to select the "ALL ZONE STEREO" surround mode which then down mixes the source audio to 2CH PCM audio to both the main zone and Zone 2.

2. Correct. On the SR6014, aside from using the same "ALL ZONE STEREO" surround mode as above, in order to pass HDMI audio to Zone 2, the source audio must already be PCM 2.0 (ie. if you want multi channel audio in the main zone from a 5.1/7.1 source, then best to also add an analog audio cable from the source for Zone 2). Otherwise, if you want to pass HDMI audio to Zone 2 independent from Zone 1, the source must still be PCM 2.0 (ie. via optical/coax digital or analog).

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-17-2019 at 01:26 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #102 of 248 Old 09-17-2019, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
As an FYI, the <Center Spread> option when using the Dolby Surround upmixer has been dropped on these 2019 models per Dolby's new Dolby Surround upmixer spec.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #103 of 248 Old 09-17-2019, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
cavalier240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Correct. On the SR5014, the only way to pass HDMI audio to Zone 2 is to select the "ALL ZONE STEREO" surround mode which then down mixes the source audio to 2CH PCM audio to both the main zone and Zone 2.

2. Correct. On the SR6014, aside from using the same "ALL ZONE STEREO" surround mode as above, in order to pass HDMI audio to Zone 2, the source audio must already be PCM 2.0 (ie. if you want multi channel audio in the main zone from a 5.1/7.1 source, then best to also add an analog audio cable from the source for Zone 2). Otherwise, if you want to pass HDMI audio to Zone 2 independent from Zone 1, the source must still be PCM 2.0 (ie. via optical/coax digital or analog).
Thanks, JD. So then, what is different from the previous generation? And if this is the case, then is the webpage incorrect where it says "Enjoy 7.1 channel surround sound in your home theater and simultaneously play stereo sound from the same source or another source in a separate room. Simply connect a pair of speakers to the multi-room amplified outputs or hook-up an additional stereo amp and speakers to the Zone 2 pre-outs."

At the end of the day, I just want to play full surround audio in my living room (zone 1), and have it pass 2.0 audio out via HEOS to other areas of my house...

cavalier240 is offline  
post #104 of 248 Old 09-17-2019, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalier240 View Post
Thanks, JD. So then, what is different from the previous generation? And if this is the case, then is the webpage incorrect where it says "Enjoy 7.1 channel surround sound in your home theater and simultaneously play stereo sound from the same source or another source in a separate room. Simply connect a pair of speakers to the multi-room amplified outputs or hook-up an additional stereo amp and speakers to the Zone 2 pre-outs."

At the end of the day, I just want to play full surround audio in my living room (zone 1), and have it pass 2.0 audio out via HEOS to other areas of my house...
Nothing has changed. Connect an analog cable in addition to HDMI cable.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #105 of 248 Old 09-26-2019, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
atl001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazz063 View Post
Considering whether or not to upgrade from the SR7010 to the SR6014, just wondering if it's a backward/forward/sideway step?
I'd be interested to hear what you decide. I'm debating upgrading my 7010 to either a 7013 or a 6014.

-Drew
atl001 is offline  
post #106 of 248 Old 10-04-2019, 08:19 AM
Member
 
epepin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Picked up a NR1710 for my first grown up AV purchase. Couple questions:

1. I have it set as the default speaker for an Echo Dot. When asking Alexa for playback, it turns on the receiver and, by the app, I can tell that playback has started, but the receiver doesn’t switch to the appropriate source. It remains on its last source before standby. Is there a setting to have it select the right source?

2. I have two devices hook up with analog. One with component video and RCA audio and one with composite video and RCA audio. I’ve appropriately assigned the inputs for these sources and zeroed out the digital options for those sources. When attempting playback, I get audio but no video (just the Marantz logo). Do I need to enable up conversion for these sources?

3. Current set up is 3.1. I ran Audyssey and it claimed success. Speakers are set to small. When watching video, the sub is clearly working. When listening to stereo music (eg Amazon Music) I’m not convinced the sub is doing anything and it sounds more like 2.0 large on my bookshelves. If I change the sound mode to some virtual or Dolby something or other.l, the sub kicks in high gear. Do the Audyssey settings apply to music in that it uses it’s determined crossover or will stereo sound purely be output via R/L?
epepin is offline  
post #107 of 248 Old 10-13-2019, 02:43 PM
Member
 
RTPBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
7.1 Configuration Question

I have a 7.1 speaker configuration where due to speaker/room considerations the Rear Surround speakers are mounted on the ceiling. I'm looking at buying a new receiver and not sure about whether the better approach for the rear speaker assignment would be standard rear speakers, Dolby DSU or some form of Height Virtualization. Only the latest models such as the 6014 support Height Virtualization where the 6013 does not.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
RTPBob is offline  
post #108 of 248 Old 10-14-2019, 02:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTPBob View Post
I have a 7.1 speaker configuration where due to speaker/room considerations the Rear Surround speakers are mounted on the ceiling. I'm looking at buying a new receiver and not sure about whether the better approach for the rear speaker assignment would be standard rear speakers, Dolby DSU or some form of Height Virtualization. Only the latest models such as the 6014 support Height Virtualization where the 6013 does not.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
The first part refers to speaker configuration whereas DSU and Height Virtualization are DSP sound modes. Only you can determine which configuration (ie. 7.1 or 5.1.2) sounds best to you.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #109 of 248 Old 10-14-2019, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Superman07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I can’t tell from the first post. Is the eARC firmware update only applicable to the SR series, or did the NR receive too? I believe both came out of the box in their 2019 models.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Superman07 is offline  
post #110 of 248 Old 10-14-2019, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman07 View Post
I can’t tell from the first post. Is the eARC firmware update only applicable to the SR series, or did the NR receive too? I believe both came out of the box in their 2019 models.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
All 2019 models, both NR and SR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #111 of 248 Old 10-14-2019, 02:31 PM
Member
 
Lex22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Do the speaker binding posts accept banana plugs?
Lex22 is offline  
post #112 of 248 Old 10-14-2019, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lex22 View Post
Do the speaker binding posts accept banana plugs?
Yes.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #113 of 248 Old 10-21-2019, 10:37 AM
Member
 
nerdkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Hi JD. I was wondering if you could tell me if the SR6014 will output 7.2.4 if I use an external 2CH amp for the front L+R speakers. In other words, can the internal front L+R amp be reassigned to the height channels? Thanks.
nerdkiller is offline  
post #114 of 248 Old 10-21-2019, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdkiller View Post
Hi JD. I was wondering if you could tell me if the SR6014 will output 7.2.4 if I use an external 2CH amp for the front L+R speakers. In other words, can the internal front L+R amp be reassigned to the height channels? Thanks.
Yes, you can externally power either the Front L/R or the Height 2 L/R.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #115 of 248 Old 10-25-2019, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
I just received one of the new slim NR1200 2-Channel Marantz receivers. I have only had a day with it so I can only give my preliminary thoughts:

1. It will NOT natively play DSD files even though it is advertised as doing so. There is no DSD light. All DSD is first converted to PCM. The info button shows that the incoming signal is DSD but output goes to PCM first and it is not bitperfect after the conversion. Support level-2 does not know what type of DAC is in this model. Is it possible that they decided to use a DAC that does not play DSD?
The DAC inside NR1200 is AKM AK4458

The NR1200 slim stereo network receiver features high class 8ch AK4458 DAC configured in Dual Differential Mode, means two DACs are used per channel including the subwoofer channel. This design greatly improves the signal to noise (s/n) ratio, increasing the dynamic range significantly and is reproducing clearer sound even from sources with very low signal resolution.

Source: m.marantz.co.uk/uk/products/pages/productdetails.aspx?catid=hometheatre&subcatid=avr eceiver&productid=nr1200
Vedran ZG is offline  
post #116 of 248 Old 10-25-2019, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 183
That DAC will do DSD but they didn't implement it

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is offline  
post #117 of 248 Old 11-02-2019, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 396
JD:

seriously looking at the Marantz 6014. How does everyone access the setup menu on the projector since there is no input for using just a receiver as source... I will be using an Emotiva amp for the front L/R.. thanks in advance


Matt

taxman48 is offline  
post #118 of 248 Old 11-03-2019, 01:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
JD:

seriously looking at the Marantz 6014. How does everyone access the setup menu on the projector since there is no input for using just a receiver as source... I will be using an Emotiva amp for the front L/R.. thanks in advance


Matt
Press the <SETUP> button.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #119 of 248 Old 11-03-2019, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Orijen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Looking at the NR1200 to run a couple SVS bookshelf. 2 questions if anyone can help. 1) is this 75 WPC underrated, spot on or overrated? 2) How's the treble? What I mean is can it get piercing high if turned up all the way?
Orijen is offline  
post #120 of 248 Old 11-03-2019, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,107
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23206 Post(s)
Liked: 12732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orijen View Post
Looking at the NR1200 to run a couple SVS bookshelf. 2 questions if anyone can help. 1) is this 75 WPC underrated, spot on or overrated? 2) How's the treble? What I mean is can it get piercing high if turned up all the way?
There's a dedicated thread for the NR1200 --> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...tz-nr1200.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
hoes , marantz nr1710 , Receivers Amplifiers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off