New home setup av closet - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-21-2019, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New home setup av closet

I am going to put my rack in the AV closet upstairs. I only have 5.1 speakers running from the great room to the closet where I plan to put my receiver and other gear.

how do I connect my sub from the great room back to the receiver?
Tony Wong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 03:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Dargent0628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 123
How many feet from the sub's location to the av closet? How are you running your speaker wire to the receiver? Monoprice has 100 ft RCA cable for $25.00.

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk
Dargent0628 is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 05:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
nonstopdoc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Wong View Post
I am going to put my rack in the AV closet upstairs. I only have 5.1 speakers running from the great room to the closet where I plan to put my receiver and other gear.



how do I connect my sub from the great room back to the receiver?
If you cannot wire it than you can use a wireless adapter like SVS. Also, make sure your closet is adequately ventilated.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

My Build Thread
HT - Seymour Centerstage XD 2.39:1 133" W| JVC X790R | Denon AVR | QSC DPA 4.2 | ATI AT528NC | Procella P8/P5V | Revel C763L | Rythmik FV15HP x2
Living Room - LG OLED 65" | Yamaha 2060 | Monolith 3x200 | KEF Q900 L/R | Paradigm Millenia CC | Polk Surrounds | Monolith 12" Subs x 2
nonstopdoc1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bear123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2561 Post(s)
Liked: 4007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargent0628 View Post
How many feet from the sub's location to the av closet? How are you running your speaker wire to the receiver? Monoprice has 100 ft RCA cable for $25.00.

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk
If you run a long cable, do not run the bottom of the barrel cheapest product money can buy no qc 100 ft for $25 Monoprice. Its that cheap for a reason, and it isn't quality.

Go with Blue Jeans Cable LC-1 for a little more, but its the best quality you can get.
bear123 is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Dargent0628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by bear123 View Post
If you run a long cable, do not run the bottom of the barrel cheapest product money can buy no qc 100 ft for $25 Monoprice. Its that cheap for a reason, and it isn't quality.



Go with Blue Jeans Cable LC-1 for a little more, but its the best quality you can get.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-h...monoprice.html

Please preface your remarks with an IMO. Debates occur regularly about the relative merits of cables, wires and interconnects. I referenced the monoprice product merely to show the OP that connecting the subwoofer to a receiver at a distance is neither difficult nor necessarily expensive. There are probably a hundred choices... What someone wants to spend is their business. Personally, I have had positive results with Monoprice, Parts Express and Amazon Basics, and would never spend 5-10 times more for a run of RCA cable ( yes, that is your "little bit more...").

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk
Dargent0628 is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I think its maybe less than 100ft. but the walls are now closed and I cant run it through the walls. or I dont know how to.
Tony Wong is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 259
you may have to put a "line amp" / "distribution amp" into play. either that or use a "balun" ( RCA over ethernet/cat5). First off, test it out. I would stay away from the wireless options - I have tried a couple. most use the 2.4 ghz band and there is potentially a lot of interference in that band.

i am using on eof these: https://www.amazon.com/RadioShack-4-...s%2C206&sr=8-3

I only have to push the signal ~ 40'-50' ( wire length). my recviever was having trouble sending a strong enough sibnal to trigger the auto on function on the sub. I am using RCA over cat5 (110 block on the cat5 side). The line/distibution amp solved all my problems. I have a set of baluns, that I have yet to try...maybe today's the day for that?

update: these baluns work: https://www.amazon.com/HDTVhookup-St.../dp/B00D2172MS


good luck.

Main: Sony XBR75900E, Denon AVR-x4400, Denon POA-5200 (L/R(a) Goldenear supersat 60, (b)FW Boston acoustic Bravo 2. C Goldenear supersat 60C,
SSR DIYSG Volt 6v2. RSS Volt 6, Atmos(.4) Boston acoustics soundware XS
HSU research ULS -15, Episode ES-IW-Dual 8 / Monitor audio IWA 250 amp 2nd Rm: Visio E55, Denon avr730H, Boston Acoustics CR8, cr400 sub.

Last edited by smithsabom; 07-22-2019 at 02:21 PM.
smithsabom is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Dargent0628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Wong View Post
I think its maybe less than 100ft. but the walls are now closed and I cant run it through the walls. or I dont know how to.

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk
Dargent0628 is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 0
so I read and good rcas will run 200FT?
Tony Wong is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So there is no difference in term of quality if I use RCA Balun vs straight RCA cables?
Tony Wong is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-22-2019, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Wong View Post
So there is no difference in term of quality if I use RCA Balun vs straight RCA cables?
I couldn't tell you.
I would say test it out, test both, before running the wire through the walls. even all coiled up, 100' is a 100'...

Main: Sony XBR75900E, Denon AVR-x4400, Denon POA-5200 (L/R(a) Goldenear supersat 60, (b)FW Boston acoustic Bravo 2. C Goldenear supersat 60C,
SSR DIYSG Volt 6v2. RSS Volt 6, Atmos(.4) Boston acoustics soundware XS
HSU research ULS -15, Episode ES-IW-Dual 8 / Monitor audio IWA 250 amp 2nd Rm: Visio E55, Denon avr730H, Boston Acoustics CR8, cr400 sub.
smithsabom is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off