This makes no sense! Onkyo better than Marantz? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 49Likes

post #1 of 62 Old 09-17-2019, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Angry This makes no sense! Onkyo better than Marantz?

I'll get straight to it...

Today, I received my new (refurbished) Marantz SR6013 AVR. I replaced the Onkyo NR787. The main reason I replaced the Onkyo was for better room correction software. AccuEQ (on paper) seemed not up to par with Audyssey EQ XT32. Also, I'm a fan of Denon and because Marantz is owned by the same parent company, I chose the SR6013 over the x4500h to save about $250. Also, the only difference is about 15w more power from the denon, but... this is not relevant in the matter of my issue.

I am not a complete noob at home audio. I know what I'm doing for the most part. My process is: hook everything up then do a manual calibration first, before Audyssey. My speaker setup is (5) Polk Owm 5 for my mains. (4) Polk Owm 3 for my height (Atmos) and an SVS PB1000. The Owm5 go down to 80 Hz, so I set them there. The Owm3 are set at 120Hz. All speakers set to small. Now... the problem... LEVEL MATCHING.

I've always in the past set the master volume at -25dB and then adjusted each speaker until it was at 75dB on an SPL meter (C weighted/Slow). This Marantz can't even get to 75dB! I was shocked. It has more power (10w) and I assumed a better quality amp over the Onkyo. But, it just does not get loud...at all.

I set the master volume at -25dB, went into "level adjust" and with all my speakers set to 0dB, I began to increase the dB on the Left speaker. At 0dB, my SPL meter was reading in the low 50s, very quiet. I increased it all the way, as far as it would go, which was +12.0dB and I was just past 70dB.