How much power does my audio actually draw? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By hodgjy
  • 1 Post By savage8190
  • 1 Post By KenM10759
  • 1 Post By MRAYB
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
How much power does my audio actually draw?

I've been trying to calculate my power consumption on all the devices in my home and I'm having trouble finding a straight answer on the home stereo. I am using a Denon X4100W receiver which is rated for 670 watts I believe, powering all 150 watt RMS Klipsch speakers (5.1 surround), and I have an SVS PB1000 subwoofer that is 300 watts RMS. Of course this is RMS...not peak which is much higher.

Now in typical usage these are all powered on for regular tv viewing at a moderately low volume. I'm obviously not using max wattage in this scenario, but what am I using? Is there any way of really knowing?

I ask because the electrical in our place is garbage. If it were mine I'd rip it out and rewire, but we rent. We are constantly tripping breakers because there is just not enough circuits, so I'm tying to spread out the loads as efficiently as possible and cut down my footprint where I can. If the power draw on this system is consistently close to max I may downsize...Its probably overkill for this place anyway lol.
savage8190 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
hodgjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 67
hodgjy is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Oohhh, that's cool. I could spend a whole day with that thing lol.
hodgjy likes this.
savage8190 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3437 Post(s)
Liked: 1916
At peak you might be pulling between 8 and 12 amps on a 15amp/120V circuit.

What else is on the same circuit? Keep on mind that same circuit doesn't always mean same room or even floor!
MRAYB likes this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red. Guest room: Hafler 300 L-R, KEF Reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, modded M&K V-90 sub, Bluesound Vault 2.
KenM10759 is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
So many things...our whole place, with the exception of the washer/dryer, furnace, bathroom gfci's, and stove, is on 3 15A breakers. It's 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, office, laundry room...it's just ridiculous. Right now I have the home theatre, main desktop computer, 1 bathroom, 1 bedroom, and half the kitchen on the same circuit. If I use the microwave or coffee maker, home theatre and computer have to be shut down.

The rest of the house is on 2 15's, that includes my office with a couple computers, bedrooms, bathroom, laundry room, and the other half of the kitchen with the dishwasher and fridge.
savage8190 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I should add the whole reasoning behind cutting the power usage down is my kids now want their own PC...I just don't think the circuit could handle it unless properly arranged and my usage is cut down. There's multiple tvs and xboxes and what not as well...I'm up against it lol.

Can't wait to move...but other than the electrical it's a nice place and it's cheap.
savage8190 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2334 Post(s)
Liked: 1663
Quote:
Originally Posted by savage8190 View Post
I should add the whole reasoning behind cutting the power usage down is my kids now want their own PC...I just don't think the circuit could handle it unless properly arranged and my usage is cut down. There's multiple tvs and xboxes and what not as well...I'm up against it lol.

Can't wait to move...but other than the electrical it's a nice place and it's cheap.
Adding a PC? That shouldn't be more than a few hundred Watts, unless you're getting some sort of monstrous gaming PC. I suppose that if the breakers are always popping, they'd open more.

A desktop replacement laptop, maybe? (I know a guy who buys them on eBay. 17" screen, heavy, pretty cheap.)
bobknavs is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,876
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1095
Wow, when was that house built? I'm in a 3BR/2.5BA townhouse/condo, and have more breakers than that. :-\

"Exceedingly odd," said the butler.
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Yup house is only like 10 years old...everything is shoddy. They've already had a couple electrical issues. If it were my house I'd redo everything, but it's not something they want to get into I guess.

I popped out and grabbed a power bar that monitors usage and sends it to my phone...pretty cool. Tried it out on a few things and seems like it's reasonably accurate. Receiver and sub are only drawing 80 watts/about 1 amp on normal load. That's much better than I was expecting.

As for the PC...it's a fairly high end gaming PC. Power calculator puts it around 500 watts; plus 70ish for the monitor. I'm curious to see what it's actually pulling with this thing.
savage8190 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 577
My 50 year old ranch style shares the back wall with patio. One 15amp circuit there. Small 115V hot tub right outside. Entertainment center just inside further down wall. Way too much. Had to run the hot tub up into attic to different circuit. All breakers and GFI did their job. Nothing like sitting in a giant bowl of water when you hear stuff kicking off and a breaker tripping! All safe now
KenM10759 likes this.
MRAYB is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-22-2019, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Pay attention to see if your circuit breakers are tripping on transients - likely when an appliance like an iron, or vacuum cleaner is switched on. In that case connecting that appliance to a surge protector can help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thebrieze01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off