Do Pioneer receivers have breakers or fuses inside? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old Yesterday, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Do Pioneer receivers have breakers or fuses inside?

In a stupid move, I had my receiver volume up to high when I tried to connect my phone via headphone cable.


You know that awesome popping noise? My receiver shut down immediately and will not power on.


Good news .... it's not fried amplifiers or anything . Seems like the power supply is gone.


So, is this a breaker or fuse inside if I open it up? If not maybe I cooked the power supply?


Any advice? It's a cheap receiver but still ... $200 to replace is still $200. I only use this for music in my garage so I'd happily replace it with anything used/cheap as long as it has power and a subwoofer output. 2.1 channels is all I need/want.

Denon 4300 receiver. Infinity speaker setup (SM line which is SM-122 up front an SM-82 in the rear and ceiling) along with a center channel (not SM line but maybe I should swap it out). Xbox One S source for Blu Ray and 4K blu Ray. Sony XBR850B.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-24-hours.html
kfh227 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old Yesterday, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eriksells916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 191
@kfh227 maybe tell us what receiver it is and someone here will have some advice as to either fixing it or chucking it!
eriksells916 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old Yesterday, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 11,920
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1122 Post(s)
Liked: 732
An AVR is required by UL/CE to have fuse protection...
Also typically there are more than 1 fuse to protect the other AVR circuits, # will vary depending upon model/date of production, level of performance..
Download a service manual for more info, however note there is also a non-replaceable circuit breaker within the power transformer but this usually only goes if the AVR is under severe thermal conditions...

Just my $0.02...
M Code is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off