Denon AVR-3805 - Optical Terminal Input Query - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-23-2019, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Denon AVR-3805 - Optical Terminal Input Query

Can you please help?
I have a Denon AVR-3805, and an TV LG 65SM8100PTA. I want to connect an Optical cable out from the TV into the Denon Receiver.
Which optical terminal do I input the optical cable into the Denon?
The manual is very ambiguous regarding the optical terminals.
---------------------------------
Rear Panel Top section:
Terminal OPT-3 ?
Terminal OPT-4 is an Input
---------------------------------
Rear Panel Below section:
Terminal OPT-1 is an Output
Terminal OPT-2 ?
Terminal OPT-3 ?
Terminal OPT-4 is an Output
-------------------------------
Notes from manual
The OPTICAL 3 and 4 terminals on the AVR-3805’s rear panel
are equipped with an optical digital output terminal for
recording digital audio signals to a CD recorder, MD recorder, or
other digital audio recording deck. Use this for digital recording
between a digital audio source (stereo – 2 channel) and a digital
audio recorder.
Do not connect the output of the component connected to the OPTICAL 3, 4 OUT jack on the AVR’s 305’s rear panel to any other jack other than the OPTICAL 3, 4 IN Jack.


Which OPT terminal do I input the optical cable from the TV output?
Angel8888 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-23-2019, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 11,937
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 735
See page 14 of the Operation Manual...
1.Select TV as a SOURCE
2.Select OPT 1 as an Input

Connect the Optical cable from the TV OPT Out to the Denon OPT 1 Input.

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-23-2019, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
See page 14 of the Operation Manual...
1.Select TV as a SOURCE
2.Select OPT 1 as an Input

Connect the Optical cable from the TV OPT Out to the Denon OPT 1 Input.

Just my $0.02...
Just as I thought, the manual on page 7 diagram showed OPT-1 as an OUTPUT but in fact it should be an INPUT as stated in your post.
Thank you very much for your response M Code.

Further, any suggestion how to configure OPT-1 to work?

Thanks again
Angel8888 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 11-23-2019, 09:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel8888 View Post
Just as I thought, the manual on page 7 diagram showed OPT-1 as an OUTPUT but in fact it should be an INPUT as stated in your post.
Thank you very much for your response M Code.

Further, any suggestion how to configure OPT-1 to work?

Thanks again
The page 7 diagram actually shows OPT-1 as an "input" with the "output" of an external device connected to it.

On that same page, for Digital input assignment it refers you to p. 39, where you can see the image which shows you can assign OPT-1 to the "TV" source on the remote.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-23-2019, 11:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The page 7 diagram actually shows OPT-1 as an "input" with the "output" of an external device connected to it.
Thanks for the clarification. Now I understand what you mentioned above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
On that same page, for Digital input assignment it refers you to p. 39, where you can see the image which shows you can assign OPT-1 to the "TV" source on the remote.
Yes. 3-1 Setting the Digital In Assignment.

In Step 2 Display the Digital Inputs screen:
Showing:
Digital In
CD : COAX1

So I change to
Digital In
TV :OPT1

Is this correct?
Thank you jdsmoothie
Angel8888 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-23-2019, 11:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel8888 View Post
Thanks for the clarification. Now I understand what you mentioned above.


Yes. 3-1 Setting the Digital In Assignment.

In Step 2 Display the Digital Inputs screen:
Showing:
Digital In
CD : COAX1

So I change to
Digital In
TV :OPT1

Is this correct?
Thank you jdsmoothie
Yup.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-03-2019, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup.
I received my Optical Audio Cable today, and followed the setup responses by jdsmoothie and M Code.
It work fine. Thank you both. It is greatly appreciated.
Angel8888 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off