• 1 Post By KidHorn
  • 2 Post By bonscott

post #1 of 16 Old 12-05-2019, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Emotiva?

Guys I am a little new to HT and a lot of the equipment out there. However, Emotiva is a company that I have been aware of from some time not but I don't know much about them.

Wondering what everyone's thoughts are on their products? where do they fit in the HT market?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 12-05-2019, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I started buying from Emotiva around 2014. I saw them as "high-end on the cheap". The first item I purchased was their XPA-5 which was $799 at the time and a great deal. I later purchased cables, power conditioners, UMC-1, MC-700, speakers and a UMC-200. Except for the UMC-1 everything was very good for the money. I find their receivers and processors inconsistent and have a lot of hardware and software issues. My UMC-200 had a power supply issue they wouldn't repair. I can't sell my UMC-1 for anywhere close to half of what I paid because of the issues and their electronics seem to get more an more expensive. Speakers seems to be pretty reasonable, but they don't seem to stay around very long before getting discontinued. I would look really close at reviews and buyer feedback before purchasing. They have new processors, so I'm interested in hearing if these have similar issues, or if they've finally got a handle on QA.
post #3 of 16 Old 12-05-2019, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member

Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Quoted: 1983 Post(s)
Liked: 2802
Not sure what the status is today but Emotiva was pretty well-regarded a few years back, especially for their amps. (I've owned a trouble-free UPA-5 for years.) Their speakers are supposed to be pretty good.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 12-05-2019, 12:32 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 260