[Question] Do I need a new receiver with more channels? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By philpoe

post #1 of 6 Old 05-27-2020, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
[Question] Do I need a new receiver with more channels?

Hello all. I currently have a Pioneer Elite VSX-LX103 and believe that I don't have enough channels (or power) to support the in-wall nor in-ceiling speakers for my future setup. I very much welcome your thoughts and comments on how to accommodate my future setup in a new house (not yet built). I am a newbie to this forum and to Home Audio but was told this is the place to post these questions. Thank you in advance for taking the time to respond.

Questions for new house preparation
1. Would my receiver support my in-wall or my in-ceiling speakers?
2. Do I need to upgrade to a 9.2ch receiver? If so, do I need one with 3 zones for 3-4 separate rooms?
3. I want to add ceiling speakers to my kitchen and a bedroom. How would I play music in the kitchen in-ceiling speakers?
4. How do I play music in the bedroom in-ceiling speakers?
5. It looks like the receiver could support dual-subs. Do I need to add an amp or would I be fine without one?

Current setup:
  • AVR: Pioneer Elite VSX-LX103
  • Center: Klipsch RC-52 II; however potentially replacing with an Infinity RC263
  • Subwoofer: Definitive Technology ProSub 1000
  • Towers: Klipsch Synergy Black Label F-300

Future setup: New home
  • Room size: 17’ x 15’ x 11'
  • AVR: Pioneer Elite VSX-LX103
  • Center: Klipsch RC-52 II; however potentially replacing with an Infinity RC263
  • Subwoofer: Definitive Technology ProSub 1000 [likely to replace with a Black Friday SVS sale]
  • Towers: Klipsch Synergy Black Label F-300
  • In-ceiling: 6xJBL 100-watt 2-way loudspeaker | 2 in the living room (with the rest of the sound system), 2 in the kitchen, and 2 in a bedroom