"OFFICIAL" 2020 Denon AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-8) - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1868Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
JediFonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 57
thanks for all the replies. i assumed that. guess i gotta start saving $ for additional amps. i mean it aint a bad thing... it's just extra $ hahhah >P

i host a silent film podcast here:
https://anchor.fm/watchingsilentfilms
^that or everywhere podcasts are found. or find out where else here:
https://watchingsilentfilms.wordpress.com/
JediFonger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1267 Post(s)
Liked: 1542
So in a 7.2.6 or 9.2.4 configuration would the external amp be forced to be the one for Height 3/Front Wide? I've looked at the X4500H and X3600H manuals, which are other units with more channels than amps, and they only have the option of running Height 2 on the external amp.

I personally would rather have a beefy external amp for front left and right.
avernar is offline  
post #33 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Tanquen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 75
So I can go from my X6500H to a X6700H and no full 48Gbps ports and only one 40Gbps port? Just a few more speaker posts and then DTS and other stuff that could be a firmware upgrade to older AVRs but wont?
Tanquen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
So now you can have a profile for something like TF+TR and another profile for FH+RH? And you can switch them on the fly? Kinda what you can do with the Scenes feature on the Yamaha AVRs?
Correct.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #35 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
So in a 7.2.6 or 9.2.4 configuration would the external amp be forced to be the one for Height 3/Front Wide? I've looked at the X4500H and X3600H manuals, which are other units with more channels than amps, and they only have the option of running Height 2 on the external amp.

I personally would rather have a beefy external amp for front left and right.
No. You can also select "Front" to externally power the Front L/R speakers as well as has been true going back several years. Unfortunately this option is not listed in the Owner manuals.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 06-06-2020 at 06:37 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #36 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoeboo View Post
Do we know yet whether the "- Store two sets of speaker settings" feature is similar to Yamaha pattern settings where the designation of the height speaker can change from tops to heights or only the Audyssey calibration can change but the speaker designations are fixed.


Edit - Looks like it is indeed the case that speaker config is saved to preset based on user manual:
Yes, different speaker configurations with or without Audyssey (ie. might want to use Graphic EQ for one configuration).
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #37 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:08 AM
Member
 
GXAlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 34
x6700H manual is available for download.

One detail I noticed was that it doesn't do Audyssey + DTS:X>48kHz (which isn't mentioned in the X8500h or x6550H manuals). The question is if the older ones did it, or just didn't comment on it.

The other question is if the X8500h will gain Dolby Atmos Height Virtualization and multiple Audyssey slots with firmware upgrade + HDMI upgrade.
GXAlan is online now  
post #38 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXAlan View Post
x6700H manual is available for download.

One detail I noticed was that it doesn't do Audyssey + DTS:X>48kHz (which isn't mentioned in the X8500h or x6550H manuals). The question is if the older ones did it, or just didn't comment on it.

The other question is if the X8500h will gain Dolby Atmos Height Virtualization and multiple Audyssey slots with firmware upgrade + HDMI upgrade.
1. Audyssey has always down rez'd audio to 48kHz when used on all models.
2. Yes to Dolby Atmos Height Virtualizer, but no to the dual speaker configuration capability.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #39 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:18 AM
Member
 
LtroyalShrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 81
SO just so I understand correctly - The entire series of 2020 AVRs only has one HDMI 2.1 40Gbps input port? Thats seems odd. By end of the year with the new consoles and a PC ill have at least three sources that I want to connect to HDMI 2.1 ports.
AaronMK likes this.

The Shrimp Cave setup
Spoiler!
LtroyalShrimp is online now  
post #40 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by LtroyalShrimp View Post
SO just so I understand correctly - The entire series of 2020 AVRs only has one HDMI 2.1 40Gbps input port? Thats seems odd. By end of the year with the new consoles and a PC ill have at least three sources that I want to connect to HDMI 2.1 ports.
Correct.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #41 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:33 AM
Member
 
LtroyalShrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct.
That is disappointing. Luckily my LG CX has enough HDMI 2.1 ports to cover the anticipated connections but I would've liked to have them all plugged into the AVR. I guess ill wait for the 2021 versions.
AaronMK, NY Giants and Bryn23 like this.

The Shrimp Cave setup
Spoiler!
LtroyalShrimp is online now  
post #42 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
duncanvanderlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Because the X4700H now has adopted the DSP from the 8500H i'm very curious the same "Dialog Enhancer" feature from that model is also available on the X4700H That would be very nice.

Only the flagship models has that feature, cheaper Denon (and Marantz) models has the "Dialog Level Adjust" (pre 2008 Denon Models) or the "Center Level Adjust" (2018 Denon Models) setting, but that's just a option to change the volume level from the center speaker.
"Dialog Enhancer" just boost the vocal frequencies 1kHz-3kHz.
arcspin likes this.
duncanvanderlind is offline  
post #43 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:34 AM
Member
 
GXAlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Audyssey has always down rez'd audio to 48kHz when used on all models.
2. Yes to Dolby Atmos Height Virtualizer, but no to the dual speaker configuration capability.
1. I interpreted the manual as saying that the new AVRs cannot downres DTS:X 96 kHz to 48kHz automatically for use with Audyssey? Or is the manual just saying that enabling "Audyssey" will downres to 48kHz (as it always has done).

2. So, other than the AKM4490 dac, if you were running pre-outs and disabled the amplification, there would be no advantage to the X8500H(8K) over the X6700H and actually some usability limitations?
GXAlan is online now  
post #44 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
oniiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Audyssey has always down rez'd audio to 48kHz when used on all models.
2. Yes to Dolby Atmos Height Virtualizer, but no to the dual speaker configuration capability.
Thanks for confirming that, I'm assuming Sound United most likely will sneakily remove the DSU "Center Spread" Surround Parameter setting to adhere to the new 2020 Dolby mandate or are the 2018 & prior models safe?
oniiz is offline  
post #45 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NAPA, CA
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 120
will there be a X8700H??
rc-zombies is online now  
post #46 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:46 AM
Member
 
magic_carpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hi guys,
what "assignable" means for X2700H speakers?
Can I use them for height speakers instead of sorround back?
And according to your knowledge, all inputs will pass-through 4K/120, VRR and ALLM?


Thanks
M_C
magic_carpet is offline  
post #47 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1267 Post(s)
Liked: 1542
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The Owner's manual only shows the Height 3/Front Wide being externally amped, although the earlier models capable of expansion of also only shown the the Height 2 speakers as being externally amped for expansion. Note that Front L/R has always been an option for expansion (ie. on those models capable of expanding), I doubt this will change.
Yes, but I take it there's no way to reassign the internal Front L/R amp to Front Wide L/R. That way only one big external amp would be needed for 9.2.4 or 7.2.6 for those who want/need to have an external amp for the Fronts. As I understand it you'd need to have a beefy external amp for the Fronts and a smaller external amp for the Front Wides (or Hieght 3) leaving one internal amp unused.
avernar is offline  
post #48 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,857
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5808 Post(s)
Liked: 4162
I take it that being 2.1 that DV HDR will not be a problem.
wxman is offline  
post #49 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Yes, but I take it there's no way to reassign the internal Front L/R amp to Front Wide L/R. That way only one big external amp would be needed for 9.2.4 or 7.2.6 for those who want/need to have an external amp for the Fronts. As I understand it you'd need to have a beefy external amp for the Fronts and a smaller external amp for the Front Wides (or Hieght 3) leaving one internal amp unused.
Correct. Front Wide speakers must be connected to the Height 3/Front Wide speaker posts or via external amp to the Height 3/Front Wide pre-outs.

Only the X8500H has a custom AMP ASSIGN capability to reassign the on board amps. Refer to the bottom of post 2 in the Denon X8500 Owner's thread for details.
Baff likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #50 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic_carpet View Post
Hi guys,
what "assignable" means for X2700H speakers?
Can I use them for height speakers instead of sorround back?
And according to your knowledge, all inputs will pass-through 4K/120, VRR and ALLM?


Thanks
M_C
1. Yes. The Surround Back speaker posts are assignable and can be used for the following configurations:



2. No. As I indicated in post 1, there is only ONE 8k HDMI input capable of passing 4k/120Hz.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	1810
Size:	19.8 KB
ID:	2737016  
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #51 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies View Post
will there be a X8700H??
Nope. The new HDMI 2.1 X8500HA should be released in December with a successor model not likely to be released until 2022.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #52 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXAlan View Post
1. I interpreted the manual as saying that the new AVRs cannot downres DTS:X 96 kHz to 48kHz automatically for use with Audyssey? Or is the manual just saying that enabling "Audyssey" will downres to 48kHz (as it always has done).

2. So, other than the AKM4490 dac, if you were running pre-outs and disabled the amplification, there would be no advantage to the X8500H(8K) over the X6700H and actually some usability limitations?
1. AFAIK, the latter with no change.
2. The X8500H has a number of additional features as noted in the Denon X8500H Owner's thread.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #53 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by duncanvanderlind View Post
Because the X4700H now has adopted the DSP from the 8500H i'm very curious the same "Dialog Enhancer" feature from that model is also available on the X4700H That would be very nice.

Only the flagship models has that feature, cheaper Denon (and Marantz) models has the "Dialog Level Adjust" (pre 2008 Denon Models) or the "Center Level Adjust" (2018 Denon Models) setting, but that's just a option to change the volume level from the center speaker.
"Dialog Enhancer" just boost the vocal frequencies 1kHz-3kHz.
Per the Owner's manual, it does not feature the "Dialog Enhancer" rather only the X6700H.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #54 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 317
So, the chart in the AVS article says only the 2700 has Dynamic EQ. What? I love DEQ. That and only a single HDMI 2.1 means I'll pass.
Spewdom is online now  
post #55 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1267 Post(s)
Liked: 1542
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Only the X8500H has a custom AMP ASSIGN capability to reassign the on board amps. Refer to the bottom of post 2 in the Denon X8500 Owner's thread for details.
Yeah, but the X8500H only has 13 channel processing so you wouldn't need to reassign the front amp to run 9.2.4 or 7.2.6 with the fronts externally amped.
avernar is offline  
post #56 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
So, the chart in the AVS article says only the 2700 has Dynamic EQ. What? I love DEQ. That and only a single HDMI 2.1 means I'll pass.
Every model that features Audyssey also features Dynamic EQ ... at least for the past 10 years or so.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #57 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Yeah, but the X8500H only has 13 channel processing so you wouldn't need to reassign the front amp to run 9.2.4 or 7.2.6 with the fronts externally amped.
Just to clarify ... only the X8500H has truly "assignable" amp capability to other speakers (eg. two sets of Surround L/R speakers for someone with multiple rows of seating in their home theater); however, as is the case with other expandable models in the past, the X6700H should be able to expand to a 9.2.4 or 7.2.6 by externally powering only the Front L/R speakers at a minimum (ie. other channels can always be externally powered as well).
Baff likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #58 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1267 Post(s)
Liked: 1542
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
the X6700H should be able to expand to a 9.2.4 or 7.2.6 by externally powering only the Front L/R speakers at a minimum (ie. other channels can always be externally powered as well).
That configuration is not show in the X6700H manual. So I guess they just didn't document it?
avernar is offline  
post #59 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,531
Mentioned: 852 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24612 Post(s)
Liked: 13841
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
That configuration is not show in the X6700H manual. So I guess they just didn't document it?
Read my response in post 35 to you again.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #60 of 1671 Old 06-04-2020, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Hawkmarket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
From the Techno Dad's youtube review they are also creating dynamic scene by scene HDR optimization.
This is a killer feature on the JVC NX series projectors. If this is implemented well it could be an excellent addition for those of us with projectors, or displays that don't necessarily meet the highest HDR brightness standards.

Is the receiver participating in the implementation of DTM or just passing it through correctly? There's a huge difference. As was pointed out over on the projector boards only JVC seems to have mastered this with any precision.
Mike_WI likes this.

Last edited by Hawkmarket; 06-04-2020 at 11:17 AM.
Hawkmarket is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4700h , hdmi diagnostic mode

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off