Can Proceed AVP still be upgraded to AVP2 ? - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 70 Old 05-27-2013, 01:02 PM
Member
 
tomorrowsbishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anybody has the sofware upgrade for the AVP can you please provide it. I have DTS Decoding problems. Also 24/96 and 24/192 would be nice.
Thank you!
tomorrowsbishop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 70 Old 05-30-2013, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomorrowsbishop View Post

If anybody has the sofware upgrade for the AVP can you please provide it. I have DTS Decoding problems. Also 24/96 and 24/192 would be nice.
Thank you!


Send me a private message with your email address. You will need a MS-DOS capable PC with a hardware serial port; a USB-to-serial adapter will not work.

bweissman is offline  
post #33 of 70 Old 06-01-2013, 05:18 PM
Member
 
tomorrowsbishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post


Send me a private message with your email address. You will need a MS-DOS capable PC with a hardware serial port; a USB-to-serial adapter will not work.


Thank you, It worked great!
DTS and decode 96k & 192k. A fix I needed.
Im also running 3 subwoofers. Left, Right and center. Im not a bass freak but I like pipe organs.

biggrin.gif
tomorrowsbishop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 70 Old 01-30-2014, 07:32 PM
Newbie
 
vwalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

bweissman

 

You posted a long while ago that you had the software upgrade for a Proceed AVP.   Can you still make this available?

 

AVPID:  12169812

Checksum:  DOF1

DSP ID: 070698

 

Thank you very much!!

vwalters is offline  
post #35 of 70 Old 01-31-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwalters View Post
 

bweissman

 

You posted a long while ago that you had the software upgrade for a Proceed AVP.   Can you still make this available?

 

AVPID:  12169812

Checksum:  DOF1

DSP ID: 070698

 

Thank you very much!!


Yes, private message me your email address and I'll mail it to you. You'll need a DOS-capable PC with a hardware serial port.

bweissman is offline  
post #36 of 70 Old 01-31-2014, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
vwalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

[email protected]

 

Thank you very much.

vwalters is offline  
post #37 of 70 Old 02-01-2014, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100

Well, that wasn't exactly a Private Message, but I emailed it to you anyway. :)

bweissman is offline  
post #38 of 70 Old 03-31-2014, 10:44 AM
Member
 
deseroner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mee too any recommended cable links sent you pm
deseroner is offline  
post #39 of 70 Old 03-31-2014, 10:45 AM
Member
 
deseroner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a db9 rs232 to USB will that work
deseroner is offline  
post #40 of 70 Old 04-01-2014, 04:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by deseroner View Post

I have a db9 rs232 to USB will that work


No. USB won't work. I emailed you the package. Let me know if you didn't get it.

bweissman is offline  
post #41 of 70 Old 04-04-2014, 12:22 AM
Newbie
 
sumonkabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, Just wanted to find out if AVP2 upgrade to AVP2 +6 is still possible. This processor is so good I just don't want to get rid of. But missing out few other codecs and good to have +6 analouge IN option. Any help would be highly appretiated.
sumonkabir is offline  
post #42 of 70 Old 04-09-2014, 02:26 AM
Member
 
tomorrowsbishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have more than 6 Analog inputs. Mr. Bweissman file is perfect. flash and cable schematic. Have to use Dos. No USB!
tomorrowsbishop is offline  
post #43 of 70 Old 08-19-2014, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Software update for Proceed AVP

bweissman

Hello now know its a long time since you last posted that you had the software upgrade for a Proceed AVP. But i hope you can help me
I have just bought me a unused Proceed AVP and it wold really need a update
Can you still make this available?

Greetings
Conny

Thank you very much!!

Ps. i hope you forgive me for my english I am a lot better writing in Swedish Ds
connycobra is offline  
post #44 of 70 Old 11-12-2014, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Proceed AVP firmware update

Anyone out there still have this update? I need to get mine updated. Please PM me if you can help. Thanks




AVP ID: 05090116
AVP CHECKSUM 97F2
DSP ID: 0374:6
skinnyman1000 is offline  
post #45 of 70 Old 11-29-2014, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnyman1000 View Post
Anyone out there still have this update? I need to get mine updated. Please PM me if you can help. Thanks

AVP ID: 05090116
AVP CHECKSUM 97F2
DSP ID: 0374:6
The way this works is you PM me with your email address. Then I will email you the update.
bweissman is offline  
post #46 of 70 Old 11-29-2014, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Andy Lammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just skimming AVS and my eyes catch "thread started by Andy Lammer"
Man I feel old ! I started this thread back in January 2005 !


- Andy
Andy Lammer is offline  
post #47 of 70 Old 11-30-2014, 12:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Lammer View Post
Just skimming AVS and my eyes catch "thread started by Andy Lammer"
Man I feel old ! I started this thread back in January 2005 !


- Andy
I know! Hard to believe people are still running these relics. I also pop in to the "Don't dump your CRT RPTV" thread once in a while for a laugh.
bweissman is offline  
post #48 of 70 Old 11-30-2014, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Andy Lammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW in the pre-HDMI era, the AVP2 was my second favourite pre-pro, my fav was Classe SSP-600.
A friend who also had the SSP-600 & AVP2 sided with the AVP2 as his fav.
I also owned Bel Canto PrePro-Gen2, Bryston SP-1.7 & SP-2, Parasound C2, and most every model from EAD. The only one on my wish-list that I never got my hands on was the Meridian 568 series.


Now -> in my theatre I went with JTR T12 speakers that are 102 db sensitivity, and a pair of Seaton Submersive-HP. I run the whole she-bang on a "lowly" Yamaha RX-A3010 receiver, and don't feel I'm missing out on too much for my Blu-Ray watching experience.


My pal who is a dealer still urges me to try a Marantz 8801 pre/pro ... maybe one of these days, but not really motivated.
Andy Lammer is offline  
post #49 of 70 Old 11-30-2014, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I like my 8801, but at this point it's probably better to get the 7702 or wait for the next in the 8800 series.
bweissman is offline  
post #50 of 70 Old 12-29-2014, 01:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
The way this works is you PM me with your email address. Then I will email you the update.
I'm still using the AMP as my preamp, can you help to share the upgrade software pls? my email: p4s2wd AT gmail.com, thank you!
p4s2wd is offline  
post #51 of 70 Old 12-30-2014, 04:38 PM
Member
 
mikeaymar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have the Proceed AVP with the latest software upgrade, but not the AVP2 hardware upgrade.
Can anyone provide a list of the audio formats supported with the latest software upgrade or point
me to the information location?
Thanks
Mike
mikeaymar is offline  
post #52 of 70 Old 12-30-2014, 08:32 PM
Member
 
tomorrowsbishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have it. I sent it to you.
tomorrowsbishop is offline  
post #53 of 70 Old 01-05-2015, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I need to get this software update but need more posts to send a PM, lol.
Nick Slusarczyk is offline  
post #54 of 70 Old 02-10-2015, 01:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomorrowsbishop View Post
I have it. I sent it to you.
I just got my AVP and double checked and confirmed it's running latest version ID: 06210211, DSP ID: 0374:6, I would like try to upgrade the machine from AVP to AVP2 with software, can you help to share the software pls? Can you kindly package the software with winzip or winrar and send it to p4s2wd AT gmail.com?
Thank you for your help very much.
p4s2wd is offline  
post #55 of 70 Old 02-10-2015, 01:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Slusarczyk View Post
I need to get this software update but need more posts to send a PM, lol.
I have the software, you can share your email and I will send it to you.
p4s2wd is offline  
post #56 of 70 Old 02-10-2015, 07:53 AM
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,866
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 527
Updating is really really risky. My dealer bricked his Proceed AVP during a firmware update
fatbottom is offline  
post #57 of 70 Old 02-11-2015, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
please help me
for latest software Proceed AVP

AVP ID: 05090116
AVP CHECKSUM 97F2
DSP ID: 0374:6
tanay41 is offline  
post #58 of 70 Old 02-11-2015, 11:25 PM
Member
 
tomorrowsbishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbottom View Post
Updating is really really risky. My dealer bricked his Proceed AVP during a firmware update

It's not. Its an eprom. You don't bricked an eprom. If its a bad flash it will reset to default software. Sound like he use phastlink input/controller input. You use rs232 6 conductor. He has a bad diode. $1 part a radio shack. That's how I got mine.
tomorrowsbishop is offline  
post #59 of 70 Old 02-12-2015, 12:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanay41 View Post
please help me
for latest software Proceed AVP

AVP ID: 05090116
AVP CHECKSUM 97F2
DSP ID: 0374:6
I can send the file once you provided your email address ;-)
p4s2wd is offline  
post #60 of 70 Old 02-12-2015, 01:43 AM
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,866
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomorrowsbishop View Post
It's not. Its an eprom. You don't bricked an eprom. If its a bad flash it will reset to default software. Sound like he use phastlink input/controller input. You use rs232 6 conductor. He has a bad diode. $1 part a radio shack. That's how I got mine.

That was way before dual BIOS. Back then, a failed EEPROM flash would result in a bricked item, until you replaced the EEPROM. If you're lucky, it was socketed. If not you'd need to de-solder it and refit a working EEPROM.

If you're lucky you could recover a EEPROM if you had a EEPROM programmer, and had another working unit to copy across from.
fatbottom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off